Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Caterina Hotel 4 stars

Via Santa Caterina 42/b, 95024 Acireale, Italy

#6 of 10 hotels in Acireale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 447 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for only one night after a long week of travel through Sicily. The hotel and the grounds are very nice and modern. We were really pleased with the atmosphere, the grounds and the room accommodations. The pool was especially lovely and relaxing after a long day of travel. Our room has a small patio for sitting which was especially nice to unwind in the evening. My family and I also ate at the hotel restaurant which was wonderful. No real complaints on this end.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms and I feel this would have made a difference, for this reason I would not come back (silly but it's a pain when you have to wait to go to breakfast before you can have your first hot drink in the morning). Think the staff could have been more informative about the area, we had to discover for ourselves that we were actually only a short walk from the town centre which turned out to be lovely! The bar staff need to learn how to make a cup of tea! they got it wrong every time!

    Breakfast was nice, buffet style and all fresh. Restaurant in hotel was excellent, would highly recommend eating there. Pool area was nice and lovely and quiet, although trains ran behind the property about every half an hour, but was not a bother though. Rooms were very clean and tidy, shower excellent although plumbing in sink was blocked, my families rooms said they experienced a little mould in their showers though. Clean towels and bed was changed once over our 3 night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff allowed a large group (20+) of students run wild in the pool area which prevented other guests from being able to use this facility. The students were drinking from 10am and playing loud music outside at all hours. When the staff were informed they did nothing about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of service. No lunch meals provided. Poor restaurant. No assistance with tours.

    The hotel is acceptable. However, the location is poor. There are no restaurants within easy walking distance. The surrounding town has poor facilities. The hotel restaurant is poor and only open for dinner. We arrived at approximately 2 pm and the hotel could not provide any lunch and could not recommend anywhere to go locally, except drive down the coast 5 or 6 klms and may be a fishing village will have somewhere to eat. The room was clean and tidy but plants on the terrace were dead or dying. In advance of arriving we had sought some assistance from the hotel in respect to day trips to Etna but it was ail too hard and they failed to provide any assistance or recommendations. I do not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bedroom with chair and table outside. A 7-8 minute walk into town which has a baroque centre. There is a decent choice of restaurants in town if you don't want to eat at the hotel. I thought this hotel would be difficult to find but our satnav took us to the door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop was all closed off due and the hotel restaurant only opens for lunch on a Sunday which we had't realised. This made it quite difficult to feed the kids when we arrived around 2pm as no where local opens until around 7pm - event the local supermarkets are closed over lunchtime. It is of course there culture but if travelling with young kids I would recommend you stock up on snacks/ food for the room/ pool area.

    The staff were lovely and accommodating - the room set up was as requested. The views from the hotel were lovely and we managed to hire a car through reception. They also provided us with a GPS system which was really handy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    great location (10-15min walk from center) and close to restaurants, great service and the restaurant was top! the pool was a wonderful addition we took advantage off...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very spotty. Had to log on all the time.

    The location of the hotel in the area made it easy for us to drive to different towns and cities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The town of Acireale is a bit sad, and choaking in traffic fumes. The streets are narrow and some don't have pavements, and the volume of traffic is intense. Yet it's a lovely old baroque town. Hard to see how it could really be nice for visitors until they close some streets to cars. Then some new businesses might be attracted to the town and some of the empty shops might open up again. However, the little port of Santa Maria that you can walk to is a lovely spot.

    Our room had french windows onto the front garden with our own table and chairs on the patio. The view is straight onto the sea. The swimming pool is beautiful. The food in the restaurant is first class (tuna en croute de pistache!) and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to have breakfast on the terras which was not allowed, room was just below the restaurant which caused some noise at night & in the morning

    Friendly staff, good parking & good size room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The immediate area around the property is a bit run down, and that is a huge shame because this hotel is an "old school" gem. No fault of the hotel itself, but unfortunately might leave a so-so first impression for a first-time stay. But stay anyway, for sure!

    The whole character of this hotel and enclosed restaurant "Aqua del Ferro" has the "old school" charm, hospitality, and authenticity that my parents introduced me and my siblings to in the 1960's. The fine art on the walls, the tasteful, reserved decorations and wood surfaces and ceilings, the extremely helpful and cheerful staff, are all jewels in the rough of a somewhat faded glory for Acireale itself. The restaurant is a special pleasure with a serving staff of great attentiveness and professionalism, something so rare in North America. The food was all of local delicacies, many of which I had not ever tasted or seen before, despite multiple trips to Sicilia over my lifetime. In particular, the chestnut gnocchi with the pea sauce was a revelation— far lighter than typical potato-heavy gnocchi and so easy to digest. Don't miss the Amaro al gusto di arancie rose— an after dinner liquor that truly aids digestion and far more refined than most limoncello's.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Food was excellent ,The location is very central , an asset as parking was no problem and the room was with view and clean. Hot water in shower in abundance . Staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect, directly next to the main road, and the center is in walking distance. Great sea view. Breakfast is amazing with lots of fresh fruits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room with seaview, which I didn't get. Most rooms on the down floor are a bit depressing, cause you can net see anything. After asking many times, I finally got moved to a side room on the upper floor, which was a lot nicer cause I could see the sea.

    Short walking distance of the very nice town. Great view!!! Nice pool, when its sunny. Fresh orange juice with the breakfast. The showerproducts smell great. Just make sure you get a nice room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little bit more diverse with different items on different days.

    Room was clean and very nicly decorated. Verandah was accesible and appreciated as an open air space to relax, Not all rooms have this facility so I feel we were lucky in the choice of room. Food and service at the restaurant in the evening is very good. Hotel is quite accesible by car and situated on a main road with easy accesibilty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is slow. Missed brown bread at breakfast. Spider webs in my room. Cars on the road make a lot of noise. I could not sleep with the door open.

    Sea view rooms if you stay on the left side part. Bar. View from the restaurant. Good bed. Delicious breakfast. Fresh juice. Close to the centre. Nice staff. Great shower and foam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All members of staff were helpful and friendly. In the evening, the restaurant had a great buzz about it, even though it was end of October, lots of locals use it. As a base to drive up and down that coast and easy access to Etna, it was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seaside and Catania is relative far

    Beautifull restaurant terrace, very frendly stuff. That is super arrive place from AirPort and ideal start point to Etna or Taormina

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really worked, air conditioning control panel, hair dryer, key to terace door.. Room with old and dirty stuff, courtains, shower head, etc.. The restaurant is above the rooms so you cant get quiet evenings The hotel is located between a railroad and a highway

    The staff were friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surroundings are ugly, property is not maintained, the curtains were not clean, the walls are tearing apart, the shower was holding the water - the drain probably clogged and did not evacuate. You can see though that the cleaning persons are doing their best to clean the room, the bed shits while the property owners forgot to re-fresh it in years. So, well done for the cleaning people considering the management of this property is far from concerned! 😂✌🏻

    We thought a place between Catania and Taormina, for our last night in Sicily will save the last part of our trip. We were wrong. The place is ‘beautifully’ framed by railroad and highway, the property is old and poorly maintained. Services are by far the worst we got in Sicily. We wanted to change our room to be closer to our friends, but we have been told the place is fully booked while we saw just 10-12 people during our stay there, so my guess is they are cleaning and using just 30% of the place. Breakfast was acceptable, but I would really consider renovating this place or closing it down.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses weren't comfortable. Worn out. Noise from road below when balcony doors were open.

    Staff at desk was very helpful and restaurant staff was nice at night. Breakfast staff got our coffee but need to smile more. Not very friendly. As we say, not "warm and fuzzy".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is actually between a freeway and a train track (a few trains a day) which we did not see when we booked but it is quite quiet. The pool is in the shadow by noon so its a bit cold. The wifi is... inexistent ! We couldn't do much (hard to send an email). Do not go there for a business trip.

    The hotel was really well located and the view was nice. The rooms were really clean (cleaned every day) and the staff really nice. The hotel has its own restaurant (pretty good pizza). We add a good stay in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We arrived after the restaurant and kitchen had closed but the staff happily rustled up delicious toasted sandwiches for us! Above and beyond!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -wear and tear shows - particularly in the bathrooms! Time for a refurb. -roof terrace was closed!

    -a nice, somewhat secluded and self-contained hotel overlooking the sea -tasty, varied breakfast -nice, stylish design and decor. Some great photos of this part of Sicily on the walls. -very friendly, helpful and flexible staff -good location - easily accessible with the car, and only some 10-15 minute walk to the centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave. There was nothing to dislike.

    Friendly helpful staff, great receptionists, booked trips for us, nothing ever a problem. Bedding, towels cleaning all first rate Great value and quality lunches and excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a wonderful hotel. Clean, quiet, nicely decorated and friendly. We slept really well, and had a really good time. The staff helped us with restaurant recommendations and itineraries. The breakfast was also excellent. Acireale is small non-touristy town, and the hotel is in a great location to walk to the center. But you need to drive to visit other places. If you want to be in a touristy area the town is probably not for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little tight but we were driving a van!

    The restaurant is a little pricey but the food was excellent! I would recommend staying in at least one night. Service was great and the rooms were beautiful and clean .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was difficult to find on Garmin using the coordinates, so we called and they sent us a motor cycle escort to get us in. Approach from the sea side.

    The breakfast was really good, but the restaurant for dinner was really wonderful. The pizza was great. I ordered a filet of wild boar which was too gamey for me and when I said I did not love it they took it back graciously at no charge. Wine list was excellent and reasonable. The service and staff made the dinner memorable. The pool area is perfect. I could spend a week there sitting at the pool. Staff is beyond great, sweet and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noice from the Streets .

    The hotel was nice and the Rooms okay. Good Breakfast . Nice view from the restaurant . Acireale was fun to visit. Very authentic and cosy at Night when all the restaurants open.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location-between railway and main,town road. No have a nearest "beaches"-only one on 3km but the reach ONLY in taxi/car and second it is possible to reach walk but is hard. On the area not have a sandy beach,just rocks! It is very hard to rent car,scotter,bike etc. just need to assistance from hotel. In all town area DON'T SPEAK ENGILISH-just Italian and it is very hard to find something,ask some for info or help.

    Nice,comfortable room.Good view,small but nice balkon.Beatiful pool area and hotel facilities. Good,rich breakfast-but only one option,not changed-everyday is the same meals. Nice,helpfull staff,especially Valeria :) Cleanest room-clean every day and on 2 days change the sleepwear!Big and clean bathroom. Ilfaro Capomolini "beach" is great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We brought our own kettle, not one in room. Note that beach is rocky shore at bottom very long steep cliff road, and access to see is via a wooden boarding on rocks. Car essential to get about.

    Lovely small and friendly hotel, with attached superb restaurant. Good breakfast scrambled boiled eggs cold meat croissants bread toast fruit really hot water for tea. Room's French doors opened to small garden area sea views. Lovely pool, plenty of sun all day. Bar for evening. Easy access autostrada and other locations. Friendly helpful staff. Fridge in room. Lovely bathroom shower. Acireale is a pleasant short walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the center with a dangerous street to take to walk to the city center. The staff did not give us any information about the place, they did not even show us the pool

    Nice view from the terrasse, nice pool on the back of the hotel. Comfortable place

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know it is not a standard piece of furniture in a hotel bedroom, but we missed an armchair in our room. Also if the hedges were trimmed down, we would have enjoyed a better view from the ground floor bedroom.

    The breakfast room/restaurant/wine bar is lovely, with breathtaking views. Breakfast itself is good and generous, not the mention the food at the restaurant and the wine selection. The staff were all very helpful. Given that we were travelling by car, the hotel is very well located, close to great places to visit, easily accessible from the motorway.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in my room are getting a little dirty. In my opinion it is necessary to paint the walls and some new furniture.

    Very nice staff. Very good breakfast. Comfortable bed and a nice, large bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rain shower head might not be all that comfortable for everyone especially those not willing to wet their hair (my wife) every time they shower. I suggest also installing a hand held shower head. for the rest ... perfetto :-)

    Restaurant & kitchen staff were really helpful and available (with a smile) to organise a late fish lunch for us after 15h00 ... and what a lunch ... amazing !!! Same thing for the same evening where we were served a late dinner just after 11h30. I do not recall having such a service elsewhere !! The hotel only has 23 rooms although one might think it is larger. Rooms are spacious, decor is nice, loads of place where to unpack your stuff. Really nice place to stay. To be recommended 100%. Well done to the guys who run this place but foremost to the staff who gave us such a 5 star service. Complimenti ... Bravi :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough space to park your car on Saturdays when restaurant is busy.

    Good breakfast with fresh fruits and good quality products...spacious room..the pizzas of the restaurant are to die for.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt cigarette smoke when we went to bed. It disappeared only when we turned AC on. All other doors were closed. I suppose that AC pipes are not isolated from neighbour rooms.

    Nice stay for two nights on our way from Taormina to Catania. The room was good with the door to the shared patio with a nice view to the ocean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some renovation and painting should be done at the hotel. Chair in our balcony was broken and there were mould in the shower walls.

    Really good breakfast, nice pool area and big room with own balcony. Food in the restaurant was also really tasty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird location. Totally bleak. We only stayed here because it was easy to get to the airport in the morning. Having said that, it was a quick walk into town.

    The pool was ace, quiet, private and very chilled. The breakfast was surprisingly good. The room was comfortable. If you get the chance, eat at 'La Locanda Dogli Abbatazzi'. Best food we had all holiday and it's only a short walk in to town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Boring breakfast (2 types of ham and 1 type of cheese every morning for a week...), mosquitos, the hotel is between the main road and the train. Noisy airconditioning.

    Good pool, nice staff, good restaurant, comfortable rooms,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can be more friendly , breakfast can be bigger , wifi not working .

    Perfect location to Acireale , nice room with little terrace and sea view , free parking and free breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower room had nowhere to hang wet towels, the floor got wet every time you opened the shower door, shower enclosure designed for a wet room? very tight to get in wardrobe

    staff extremely friendly would go out of there way to help, food in the restaurant was really good and the wine was very palatable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming poor needs urgent tile repairs. 2 of us cut our feet in the pool where there were missing tiles on the steps and pool floor. Big patches of missing tiles in places.

    Staff were great especially the restraunt manager. Rooms were comfy and a good size.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool has many small tiles missing. A lot of these are along the front steps and are quite sharp. I sliced my toe on one of the areas where they are missing.

    The setting around the pool is lovely. Staff are very friwndly amd helpful. The rooms are a good size, nice looking with plenty of wardrobe space and a large bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from small town with not much to do. Scrambled eggs for breakfast. If you just want to relax this is a great place for a few days. If you want more excitement in your Holiday head to Taoramina Mt Etna 30 minute train ride, it is amazing and had everything going for it!

    Very charming hotel lovely quality sleep and linen overlooking an outdoor green grassed area. Staff at Reception were Very helpful especially when I needed a Dr & translation to English. The restaurant was probably the best in area and good plentiful & good. Attentive wait service and great balcony overlooking water to enjoy. Good breakfast with fresh squeezed juice. Train accessible to travel be prepared for a long hot walk though. The pool area was a bonus to relax and they served s great cappacino too. Convenience store close by too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Liked every thing drinks were a little expensive but it was because they were running a very popular restaurant so where in line with the menu.

    Loved the breakfast and the location. The pool was always quiet and you had a sun lounger. Facilities where great for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    We stayed 2 nights in one of their junior suites, the rooms itself is very comfortable and also the bathroom is very spacious, everything you need + a Jacuzzi! We also had a small balcony with a nice sea view, the bed is very comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and good variety (continental), fresh fruit juices etc. The breakfast room has a very nice view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was next to a busy road and a railway line but noise of both were not bad enough to keep you awake. Hotel is not in a location where you could go for an after dinner stroll.

    Hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly. A comfortable hotel. Nice views out to sea. Nice menu, good food and nicely presented.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little loud, since it is near the highway.

    The view is phenomenal. Very nice modern bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quiet pool...clean and hotel restaurant very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is noisy, because of the road nearby.

    Gratulacje restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant within the hotel is really good / tasty

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking and WiFi available. Nice views from room. Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have already been at the hotel some time ago and we are happy to have visited again. We look forward to visit again soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Carnival was the feature of the town, but it was below expectations, at least what we saw.

    Hotel’s restaurant was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restourant is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast low level atmosphere standard hotel between highway and train station . difficult to get there

    close to the town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet very slow

    Beautiful view from the dining terrace. Good rooms with garden access and outside table and chairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Good location, nice pool area, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice to be able to eat a light lunch overlooking the swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, nice restaurant with delicious food and great wines

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard for me.

    A very good hotel only a 10 miniutewalk from the historical centre. Good parking and wifi and an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We highly recommend this hotel. Very convenient when visiting Acireale. Easy parking. Helpful staff and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds a bit small. Breakfast very basic

    Location - very nice views from terrace. Spacious room and very clean/modern bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nice and helpful staff, great view, beautiful area with pool and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast and the pool area is perfect for relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entrance was difficult because of the stairs.

    Everything, especialy breakfast and the pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Train noise,dated rooms, a bit scruffy,

    Convenient, helpful staff, ideal pool,easy parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel with proper location and private parking facility. Direct connection to the garden, nice view of the sea ( especially from the restaurant at breakfast time!) Nice and variable breakfast, kind and very helpful staff. Walking distance from Acireale town and the rail station ( recommended to reach Catania and Messina, to avoid problems with parking)

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking is difficult on saturday evening/night as people coming to the restaurant take all the places

    delicious breakfast, nice view, comfortable beds, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Very memorable stay. Easy parking. Large comfortable room with shower. Very warm and comfortable. Good internet connection. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant service at lunch time so if you want to spend a day lounging by the pool you must leave for lunch elsewhere. Breakfast was exactly the same for 5 days in a row. Scrambled eggs inedible (grey & rubbery) & not much variation. Restaurant most food good but pasta disappointing. When I was asked why i did not eat it & if everything was ok, I said that pasta & sauce where not cooked well together. I was still charged €15.00 for it & not offered anything else instead. Also seafood in pasta was not fresh but frozen - something which i do not expect from a €15.00 plate of spaghetti. Other things like our pool towels were not changed daily. we used the same one for 3 days. Not exactly 4* and not worth what we paid for.

    The view at Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find with Sat Nav when driving but secure parking was a benefit

    Fantastic staff, restaurant and pool! Had a room directly on the garden and was perfect. Extremely nice to see so many locals dining in the restaurant also.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Santa Caterina Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: