Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Chiara & Residenza Parisi 4 stars

Santa Croce 548, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy

#169 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 851 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The staff was super helpful and accomodating. Th is hotel was perfectly located to catch the bus back to the airport or catch the train to the cruise ship pot for only 1,50 euros. Our stay here was very pleasant! Also right next to water taxis to take you in to the city. I will definetly book here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Love the new wing of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be a bit more friendlier

    Love the new wing of the property. The bed was comfortable, the automated touches made me smile eg. blinds, lights in bathroom, music in bathroom etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect; close to the train station and public transport facilities. The hotel is clean and is much better than many hotels we checked in the area. It added much to our experience of Venice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all there were no,disappointments with this room

    We were in the annex ,very quite large room very comfortable easy access to the valporetta transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location. Well worth the extra $ for the proximity to the bus station. Quiet rooms despite overlooking the busy Piazza. Friendly, helpful staff and great breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of my room was the same as the baths...my bed was comfortable but it looked like a couch....

    The location was perfect...the staff was very polite and friendly....the bed was comfort....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints whatsoever !

    Hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard .Room had beautiful silk fabric on the walls, an exquisite large chandelier , super furniture etc. Was like living in a small Venetian palazzo . Bathroom was very modern. Large bed with spotless good quality linens. Elegant breakfast room with good choice and helpful staff. Our room ...207...also a small balcony with a side view of the canal. Though not big enough for chairs, nevertheless was good to have. We found all staff throughout the hotel to be extremely pleasant and very helpful. Close to all transport links.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Harassing baggage carrrirs, outside railway station. Scammed by guy who pressured us to carry our suitcases, charging 20 euro, for a few minute walk. Local authorities should clear them out of the area. Gives Venice a bad image. Happened arriving and they tried it on again, as we left, but we had become streetwise by then.

    Location, hotel, local restaurants,historic sights and locals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic hotel to use as your base in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel!

    Wonderful property. Steps away from Piazzale Roma where the airport shuttle bus is located and situated right on the Grand Canal next door to the Water bus station and water taxis. The hotel has been renovated so everything is modern, stylish and functioning including two modern, spacious elevators. Breakfasts are inviting and delicious served in a breakfast room overlooking the Grand Canal with outdoor seating available. Staff were extremely helpful in matters related to hotel services and facilities as well as identifying local attractions and restaurants. A wide range of restaurants are located close by - from quick snacks to fine dining. ATMs are close at hand - less than 200 meters away - as is a modern grocery/deli store. For anyone using the PeopleMover to get to the cruise terminal, you can’t find a more conveniently located hotel. The Hotel Santa Chiara is the perfect place to stay while visiting Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    3.3
    Misleading advertising booking information
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only after I arrived and made the check-in I had realized that I would be staying not in the main building, but in an annex located 200 meters from it, in a busy area and without a view. The first day, the receptionist showed us the way to the other building and gave us two keys with a big key-ring, one to open the lobby door, other to open the room door. We had to climb the stairs because there was no elevator. All rooms showed on the site were beautiful and recently renewed, however, the room where we stayed in was old fashion, and the carpet was not clean. Moreover, the satellite of the TV was not working properly.

    The localization, near the bus station and the vaporetto

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Watch extra charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge. I asked if they had wine glasses in the room and if I could get ice. They said no problem. They took me into the bar and they gave me an ice bucket and two glasses. On my Bill, they charged me 5 euros without telling me there would be a charge. Rip off. The check in and check out process was also very slow.

    Location and large room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Shut up, put up & pay up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Their booking.com add spruiks private parking but fails to disclose this is a paid extra - $35Euro extra per day. This is misleading. They are in the middle of a large renovation. In neither their add, nor any correspondence following our booking was this disclosed. We arrived to the sound of jack hammers and angle grinders. We were woken both mornings of our stay by renovation works. This was deceptive. They are a hotel with neither an ironing service or even a simple iron for me to do it myself. With everything else going on, not one of the front desk staff had the initiative to simply take my shirt and get it ironed. I was pointed across the square where I had to take it myself and, of course - pay more. They did nothing for our 20th wedding anniversary. No complimentary or discounted dinner, no cheap bottle of champagne, not even a lousy flower or a card for my wife. No one even said congratulations. And yet our booking was made with notification of this significant event. This in the so called “city of love”. The concierges’s had no idea even what kind of rates water taxis charge. In Venice? Where probably every second client will want a water taxi at some stage? At breakfast both mornings many guests waited for food and service. On the second day, we had to clear our own table. The wifi is unreliable and your log in process is over complicated and does not work once completed. Our experience with Santa Chiara was - shut up, put up and pay up.

    Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    From a disabled point of view, the location, though being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They blatantly lied in the advert, stating that the disabled block was 100m away when it was in fact 200m away. What they also failed to mention, is that it is not even in the same building, or building area, as the main hotel, and was accessible only by entering through a very heavy and stiff metal gate. The disabled block was very inaccessible, as the door opened onto the ramp which prevented access to the hotel. The disabled chair in the bathroom is cheap plastic and would have broken if sat on. In the same vein, the other stool in the bathroom was cheap plastic and fell apart when lifted up. The plug sockets were loose and hanging out. The dining room in the main hotel is not accessible by a large disability chair. No English channels on the TV.

    From a disabled point of view, the location, though being far from the main hotel, was directly opposite the waterbus station that is the first stop and last stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Can walk everywhere from this hotel as long as you can do long walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on bus terminal side and where walking bridge was and heard all the street noise and people talking even at 3 am. Ask for different side of hotel at check in...we were only there for one night as we were taking a cruise.

    Bed very comfortable and bathroom and lighting was stunning. Updated, large TV and was very happy with the hotel. We were taking a cruise and it was an excellent location. Just use the people mover tram and not a taxi as you save a lot of money and it is easy to use...costs very little and I even had 2 suitcases and 2 carryons and very easy to maneuver from hotel to people mover and 5 min later you are at the cruise terminal. Easy walk to check in to terminals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location! Venice glimpse and easy way to the Cruise ship harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very comfortable, considering that in Italy the space is always an issue. Also the bathroom was very modern and clean. The location is also a plus, considering that it's very close to bus station and also to to train station that goes to the Harbour. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    We were bumped up to a nicer room without extra charge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were bumped up to a nicer room without extra charge! It had just been renovated and was lovely and comfortable. The hotel was amazingly quiet in spite of it's central location on Piazzale Roma. Taxi to airport was right outside the front door and excellent restaurants were close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    We will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little confusing when we arrived late at night as the hotel appeared to be locked up. The gate isn’t locked though, it just looks that way.

    Loved this hotel. So easy to to navigate the city from here. Venice is beautiful and this very reasonably priced hotel is ideal to see it from. The boat stop, train station and bus stops are right outside the hotel so very easy to get from the airport as well as sightseeing . We stayed in the hotel and not the annex. The rooms were lovely and the bathroom was very modern. The lights and music system was a bonus. We did not have breakfast in the hotel so cannot comment on that. Couldn’t ask for more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    It was the best hotel experience we had in our 2 weeks and 4 hotel stay in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a canal front room and we enjoyed watching the canal on our downtime. The staff at the hotel goes over and above, from the front desk to the breakfast staff. They are all so willing to please the customer and do it with a smile. I had email communication even before our stay and they responded quickly and professionally.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was iffy - kept dropping us. The pillows were extra-extra-firm. We stayed in the annex, which fronts the Piazza Romana (where the buses stop). I would not consider the view inspiring but the location was excellent, especially if arriving by train or airport shuttle.

    Good size very clean room in the Annex with king bed, twin, and trundle. Large, immaculate ensuite bath with good water pressure. Just off the plaza where the airport buses arrive; Santa Lucia train station is just across the bridge. Supermarket and vaporetto stops just outside. Delicious breakfast with lots of choices. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Lacking in empathy and customer service !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely noisy work being carried out , we could not sit outside for noise and dust. Disgusting coffee with no milk provision. charged an extortionate amount for biscuits which we thought were complimentary

    The room was clean and comfortable . Really close to transportation links

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel . Expensive (as all inVenice) but worth of the money if you want an hotel in Venice itself near the lines of buses , Vapporetto and cruise terminal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    3.8
    Very Poor! Wouldn’t recommend to my friends or family as they advertised Wrong !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff no response and wrong choice we paid high euros and ended up in a cheap room which adviertosed 4star but no star at all ! Staff doesn’t care and not appropriate ! Staff when asking where about questions very irresponsible and no response. We paid €590 and ended up in below budget residence very pathetic! I need my money back for adverstisong wrongly showing wrong pics and providing us wrong room !

    Close to train ,bus and boat terminals and no need to take water taxi!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    - Good 3 beds room (but not deluxe, in my oppinion);
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Good 3 beds room (but not deluxe, in my oppinion); quite tight space in the closet for 3 people, no sleepers or robe or something to clean the shoes after a rainy day. - Lack of salads and more vegetables at breakfast (only tomatos and cucumbers). - Little care to prepare the cold food package in a early morning departure case. The water and yogurts remained at the airport checkin, so for 10 Euros we had 1 apple, biscuits and 3 small jam boxes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of shower screen made the tiled floor a death trap Blood stains over material walls We were so far away from the actual hotel it’s self

    Bed was comfortable Room was big Bathroom was huge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No windows and only a door which couldn't be opened because it gave access to a public area. Enough light but we had to keep the curtains closed at all time. When we arrived the receptionist told us that we could have breakfast for 10 euro. We decided to go out for breakfast. When leaving we paid the 10 euro as well because we booked "breakfast included". OK, I forgot that, my fault, but the receptionist shouldn't have given us wrong info.

    Bed comfy, a lot of space, excellent bathroom, espresso machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent holiday and very happy with our hotel choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think minor improvements but definitely would stay again. So don't be put off. 1) bath robes in deluxe rooms would be nice. 2) bath plug doesn't quite seal in rooms 316, 315 and 312 (the rooms we all had) - it let out a small trickle of water so you had to top up bath a couple times. 3) at breakfast a small bin/container on the breakfast table to put your small rubbish like used butter wrappers and sugar sachets once used.

    This was a lovely hotel. We stayed in the deluxe double with canal view and were very impressed. Geographically it is at the area where the busses and cars come on to the island. It we found it to still be quiet enough inside. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Perfect English. Breakfast very good. Would go again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Good place to start in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, at the corner of the bathroom, doesn’t have curtains. Half of the bathroom tends to be drenched unless you’re very careful with the shower heads.

    The location is good. Easy to find. The staff are nice, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    A perfect hotel - with just one issue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi was terrible. i got on once during our stay - for 5 minutes only. Even if they had charged a fee for it, i would have gladly paid. Wifi is so important nowadays - flight boarding passes, reservations , etc.

    the location is unbeatable !! the hotel is a great choice for venice - so convenient. great room, great facilities, super-quiet. !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Good, but make sure to know your charge per night, since weekend paid extra and nothing in return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We paid for a room for 3 people, family room :), one bed was amazing, and the other was disaster though, and for the money paid wasn't worth it, when you move or turn it squeeze noise and was so uncomfortable !! For some reasons during the WEEKENDS - FRIDAY and SATURDAY we were paid two times extra, and nothing special in that day happened during the hotel. NOT fair because we were charges 424 per night on those 2 days, while the other usual charge was of 242. for 424 per night on weekends you expect better !!

    The Breakfast was DELICIOUS :D We had quite a good range of breakfast - from bread to pancakes, drinks, warm drinks, cereals, Fruits, and last and not least, Dishes such as; great mashed eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, range of different type of breads and some snack !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Staff were very accomodating and pleasanr chocolate santas nice touch at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath was really deep but unfortnately it was pretty upright Little hard to lie down in

    The staff deserve a 10 out of 10 They were welcoming, accomodating, Helpful and very polite The lights in the bathroom were pretty impressive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel not so great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff interactions. Very controlling. Insisted on taking passports to copy and return later. Would not give information regarding internet insisted on "doing it" on my phone. Everyone seemed annoyed and bothered by any questions or needs. It is a shame because it is a lovely hotel with a great location.

    Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Rather sufficient and comfortable if most of the time were to be spent outside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel could have provided better services given the high traffic of tourists visiting Venice. Poor attitude was witnessed on several occasions.

    Property was located at a convenient spot even though it was a distance from the main touristy attractions. The room was sufficiently comfortable with good bathroom facilities provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.4
    Not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost everything. Not clean, not comfort, and the location is not where the say in the website. Internet is so poor and everything is pretty much terrible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location, hotel facilities could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea making facilities should be given. At least an electric kettle for hot water especially since we are staying in the residency away from the main hotel.

    The staff at the breakfast room was very friendly and attentive. breakfast was value for money. The location is excellent as the vaporetta stop is right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    A good base for a few days in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower luke warm in the mornings. No kettle, but the staff went out and bought one for us so well done. The English need there early morning cuppa!

    Very convenient location for arriving by bus/taxi/train. Water bus stops outside hotel. Fine breakfast and lovely views of the Grand Canal from the dining room. Staff very helpful. Big room and bathroom (612)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Easy to find, great transportation nearby, clean, comfortable large room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That room temperature had to be changed by computer at the front desk.

    Can't beat this hotel for location. So easy to get around Venice from here. Great lighting.Huge room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location for the mobility impaired, but the disabled accommodations are not as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I requested a handicapped accessible room and was told I had one. Although the room was accessible by lift, it contained a soaking tub with an extra high side. The absolute reverse of handicapped accessible. When I went down and asked for the roll in shower advertised on the website I was told there was only one of them and that room was booked. Furthermore, my son was staying in a different hotel. The staff knew this as we asked for directions to the hotel. Even though they knew he had a room at a different hotel and we were not trying to sneak him into our room or anything, they refused to allow him into the hotel, making him wait outside for us. It was incredibly rude and unfriendly.

    The bed was comfortable and the location was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Older hotel, that was convenient but you paid Venice prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite large as was the bathroom but the place was a bit tired in terms of older furniture. There was a very strange set up for the shower that led to water spreading all over the bathroom floor. It was quite a nuisance. But there was lots of hot water. To fix the problem, hotel staff gave us extra towels and said to use them on the bathroom floor to prevent the water from spreading.

    The location was good since we had to catch an early flight home and the Taxi stand was very close. We were also right on the Grand Canal. However the area was near the Train Station and the Bus Station so the area was very busy. Staff responded to a concern of ours about luggage and we were satisfied with their response.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Best hotel, location, friendly staff and view in Venice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, it's fabulous!

    This was our second time staying at Hotel Santa Chiara and it's the best Venice has to offer! We chose it because it's right on the Grand Canal, across from bus drop off and mostly for people unable to carry their luggage up and down stairs, there are no stairs to get to the reception and of course, an elevator inside. The staff is excellent, breakfast very nice and we had a fabulous view of the Grand Canal from our room. You almost hate to leave your room it's so nice. It's a little pricy like all of Venice but we love it here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower flooded bathroom as there wasn't a shower curtain.

    Well appointed and spacious room close to supermarket. Great location for ferry terminal and hire car drop off/pick up. We were in the annex a little away from the hotel but that wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good value for 10 euro each.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    3.3
    We were located in the Annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were located in the Annex...quite far from the hotel. Room had mould...bathroom, ceiling corners of main room, very dated décor...it really wasn't very nice but we wanted the convenience of the location and couldn't be bothered to change.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent hotel - a perfect end to a perfect holiday !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps the fact that we were outwith the main building but as we were only staying one night, it was really no hardship.

    We were in Annexe and may have preferred being in main building. However, the room was excellent - very spacious, spotlessly clean and very quiet. We were disappointed that we were unable to have breakfast as we had to leave early but breakfast room looked lovely and I'm sure that judging by everything else within the hotel, the breakfast would have been lovely. We were only staying one night having left cruise ship. The hotel is in an excellent location for such travellers as we were able to walk from the cruise terminal but again there are various modes of transport on offer and the distance is minimal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Only one night stay but excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy re traffic, but that's a price worth paying for a hotel that cars can get to re airport transfers etc.

    Excellent location and facilities Access to cars , trains , water buses and water taxis and close to the port as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel served its purpose. A two night stay before our cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the "annex". A 2 minute walk from the main building. Fortunately the hotel porter took our bags while we followed. The standard room air-conditioning was barely sufficient. Rather basic amenities, with no comfortable airchair. Just dining-type chairs. For AUD300+ dollars/night it was expensive, but it is Venice & in a good location.

    Good location for arriving by plane as taxi can drop you virtually at the door. Unusual in Venice. Good supermarket right next door to the hotel "annex".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay if you come to Venice by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little pricey.

    Very convenient if you come to the island of Venice by car. The hotel has private indoor parking. You may not know how to enter it-it's an elevator in the middle of the sidewalk, but the hotel staff has been very helpful in guiding me onto the elevator; then they took it from there. Very cool experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable, with a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the annex of the hotel, we would have much preferred to have been in the main building We found the bar was small and cramped, we had intended to have a drink there after we ate in the evening but I found it quite claustrophobic, so we abandoned the idea.

    Breakfast was excellent, the accommodation was okay, we only stayed for one night so we little chance to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer. The staff reception were very good and we appreciated that they transported our baggage the 150 or so metres to the annex.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Missed our prepaid boat transfer back to the airport because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed our prepaid boat transfer back to the airport because the desk clerk didn't give us are faxed confirmation. When I confronted him he said the hotel doesn't have a fax. Well they sure have one listed on there website. So I'm out $113 because of him.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    art, culture, passion - need I say more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tourist like restaurants on the front of the grande canal - just horrible!

    The small little restaurants away from the tourist area serves food with love, passion. The food is authentic, fresh and very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    The location and the comfortable bed made it great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a water damage hole on the wall in the bathroom. I was disappointed that there wasn't any helpful documents in the room - not welcome or info with wifii or even the list of how to reach the front desk. A little something would have been nice since I was in the Annex.

    The location was amazing! My room was plain but large and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable especially the amazing king sized pillows! The staff was great!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location for access by car. Rooms clean and nice. Their single room was very small. Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness below expectation. The single room cost me €220 for one night and was tiny. They wouldn't allow me more than 5 minutes beyond 12 noon checkout time.

    Location. Rooms were nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    A tick mark on my wishlist to stay one night in Venice....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much.... I would rather have tea/coffee facility in the breakfast room kept for guests to have when they arrive, rather than wait for a waiter to take the order & then bring it... I feel it would be more convenient for guest...

    Although from outside it does not show the recent renovation, but they have done a marvelous job of a complete new fittings & state of the art facilities... rooms are a bit small, but breakfast was well served. Excellent location, walking distance from the train station as well as to the cruise terminal, which is a plus point, otherwise one needs to pass thru quite a few bridges, if the bags are heavy...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    I will come here next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first they said one of our rooms are not in main building,, we were tow family and booked three rooms. After we reached there they changed and gave us all rooms in the main building thanks

    Everything was OK in this hotel thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    We loved our stay here! We will be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great!

    the rooms were modern and very cool! loved the cool lighting, the ac was great, and room was very clean! The breakfast was also amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Rooms were outdated and horrible decor. GROSS! But great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms outdated and old Lack of light in rooms Need a major renovation

    The hotel and rooms need a major facelift and renovating. Very old and outdated and lack of light. Dingy and gross. The location was the only thing good about this hotel as you don't have to walk over any bridges with your luggage and close to mass transit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel ok, annexe not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred not to be in the annexe, no facilities regarding coffee or tea, lighting not goodHotel

    The breakfast was excellent and Chef Dhenis very welcoming and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    We were in a family room in the annex which was a good size,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a family room in the annex which was a good size, quiet and close to the Vaporetto stops. The staff were very welcoming and helpful especially with storing our bikes in the underground garage and getting them out ready for us to catch an early train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice for a short stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't clean the bathroom so it was very dirty. A lot of mosquitoes so bring your insect repellent.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient for travelling using public transport - bus and vaporetto. Right next to a massive supermarket. The size of the room was very big in the Residenza Parisi. The bathroom was very big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location with a car park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication of the staff wasnt great - especially the night shift (arranging the car park over the phone and then explaining the move from 4 to 3 stars accomodation). In the booking description was a 4 star hotel but we lived in the 3 star branch of the hotel that wasnt clearly communicated. We received email that it is going to be a Residence hotel but nothing about downgrading to 3 stars.

    Great location with a car park. Daily staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Great access for all forms of transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been to Venice a number of times and like others have experienced access problems to various hotels. Santa Chiara is extremely well position for access by trainor road and connection to the airport. The hotel has a new wing which has been finished to a high level.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was not working too well, disconnecting ofter so it made it difficult to work from the room. Also, breakfast could start a bit earlier for those people staying at the hotel for work and heading to meetings early.

    Perfect location, close to the bus and train stations, and steps away from the city centre. Because of this central location it's a bit noisy in the morning, but windows isolate quite well. Very good breakfast with grand canal view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    I don't like being called a liar that I don't know...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like being called a liar that I don't know how to operate a shower drain when our rooms shower was clearly backed up and we didn't notice it till we got back for the day! I also didn't like when I asked for them to call me a taxi they arranged a private transfer that charged a flat rate. Hotels better step up their game or everyone will be switching to vrbo's been here two weeks doing vrbo's only complaint is from the hotel room we decided to splurg on go figure

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Good choice for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with close proximity to vaporettos and easy access with luggage. Would be perfect for anyone with mobility issues due to easy access and lifts.. Pleasant stay and helpful pleasant staff. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Recommended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.4
    such a bad service for such a high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking: We booked this hotel because it offers valet parking service, but as we arrived they told us that the parking area is out of service and that we should park our car in a open public garage. We said ok, at least it was close to the hotel. Personnel: Not friendly! 1) In the first day, we asked about Gondola tour and they showed us a brochure which includes a tour with a cost of 32 Euro per person. I asked if it is the cheapest one that we can find and they surely confirmed so we paid and booked. Then when we went to the city center we saw that gondola tour costs 80 Euro for 6 Persons, which means they charged double money from us! When my husband called the hotel to say that we want to cancel it they told us it is non-refundable but he insisted and they argued on the phone and the hotel personnel hang up the phone which is unacceptable! Then we called the agency of this tour and told them the situation and they told us that the hotel will give us the money back. When we arrived in the hotel in the evening, we asked the reception and they refunded the money finally. 2) We had a nice room with a canal view for which we paid 370 Euro per night! And they told us that we can use the coffee machine and coffee capsules in the room. In the first evening we tried to make a coffee but the machine was not working properly. So we called the reception and a personal came to our room to have a look. He had such a rude manner, first he told us you should do like this and this as if we have never used a coffee machine in our lives! We said we tried already and once he tried he said "it is broken, tomorrow someone would come and repair" and he left. This behaviour made us mad as in such an expensive 4 star hotel, at least he could have sent us a coffee from the kitchen or so. it is not about coffee, but it is all about the manner!! And it is not over yet. The second day when we arrived in the afternoon we tried to make coffee again and it was not repaired!

    The location of the hotel is good as it is not in the center of the most touristic area, but still it is possible to reach everywhere by walking. it is also very close to water bus station Hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. but noisy. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    It was modern - extremely clean - excellent front office...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    It was modern - extremely clean - excellent front office personnel - bed = pillow very comfortable so central to everything - boat rides - people mover - buses....great location great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    We were in the annex 100 meters from the actual hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Depressing room.

    We were in the annex 100 meters from the actual hotel. Big ground floor disabled room with a view of the entrance passage. Expensive, better value options are near by. Clean & tidy. Staff were ok. location good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tiny for checking in, lounging, & deciding where to go for the evening. Bar was also tiny.

    Hotel required little walking from taxi to hotel.....excellent location....a special acknowledgement to Vincenzo who I emailed him various times with questions. He answered me in a timely manner. I was glad to meet him that evening. Breakfast area was lovely with many selections to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    One person can spoil good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person at desk acted very superior. Asked him for help getting to cruise ship, he got us a taxi that over charged us. He converted our bill to dollars from Euros and we paid premium conversion charge. We have Venture card that would have converted for nothing. This was all our fault because we are novice international travelers but if the desk clerk had helped us instead of taking advantage of our inexperience we would have used this hotel again and recommended it to our friends. One other warning, if they put you in the annex, it is nice but is about a 1/4 mile walk from main property and has no elevator.

    Large room, comfortable bed, good wifi, convenient to transportation, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for overnight to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I stayed for more than one night, I would have chosen the main hotel rather than the annex. The annex was just a bit remote from the hotel.

    Though the room was in an annex away from the hotel, it was very quiet in an otherwise bustling area. It was just what was needed after an exhausting cruise (in a good way) and very early morning flight the next day. The hotel made arrangements for a taxi at 4 am the next morning. However, the taxi did not show up, and the young man who was working the "graveyard" front desk worked furiously to find us a new taxi and did so successfully after several attempts with different companies servicing the airport. He was wonderful! If I were to return to Venice, I would stay here as it is easy to walk over the bridge to the island yet is across the street from the ground transportation hub (buses, taxis and railway). The water bus and taxi docks are near the back of the hotel on the Grand Canal. I have already had the magical experience of staying almost a week next to San Marco plaza, so do not mind staying in a less enchanting, but more convenient area to ground transportation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    A great short stay after getting off cruise. Perfect position for water bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    State of the art modern room with electric blinds, curtains and modern light switches. Amazing bathroom with wonderful lighting, bath, separate large shower, bidet, loo. Double basins huge mirror.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    VERY comfy bed - Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the "annex" which is basically a 3 star hotel 500M away from the 'real' hotel but once that surprise was out the way - we actually preferred this hotel to a more expensive one (San Sebastian) which we also stayed at.

    VERY comfy bed - Great location. Pleasant Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    The best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The service was very impressive, and the little things were handled as if they were all that mattered. The gentleman that checked us in and out was a true hospitality professional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great spot to start a Venice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the annex which is a couple of blocks from the main hotel.

    The ability to reach the facility by taxi and not have to drag several suitcases over several bridges.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    4.6
    The annex part of hotel was far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The annex part of hotel was far away. rooms were clean but sparsley furnished. We stayed at another hotel for basically the same price for 2 days prior to this hotel in Venice and there was absolutely no comparison. would not recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant Stay but without tea/coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no tea/coffee making facility and no direct telephone number to the reception to ask for anything!

    Location was great, next to super market, Bus & Water-Taxi stations. Accommodation (Annex) was roomy, quite & comfortable. It had a mini bar to keep drinks/snacks cool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel but avoid the annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Annex is not 4 star - not even 3. We had to move after 1 night because there were bugs in our bed and we were bitten. I think they were ants. Staff were not sympathetic to what happened and seemed to doubt us. Very expensive to transfer to the main hotel.

    Once we moved from the annex everything was great. Breakfast was excellent, location is great and the room was the best we had in Italy.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Chiara & Residenza Parisi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: