Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Maria 3 stars

Vicolo Del Piede 2, Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy

#5 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    You were within a short walking distance from the nightlife...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn’t like and to no fault the hotel is that some taxi drivers were lazy and not knowledgeable and would drop you off kind of far away and want to get paid for the full ride but the good taxi drivers would give you door to front gate service

    You were within a short walking distance from the nightlife and restaurants and laundromat while being totally secluded from the noice of traffic and the nightlife,like a hidden gem, only about a 15-20 minute walk to the Vatican

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    The property is secluded and along an adorable corridor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the morning is very loud and disruptive to sleep. The church bells ring every 15 minutes (literally 15 min!!) and seagulls have found their home nearby as well. Sleep was impossible. I also think it is priced too high - there are many more modern styled hotels and facilities for the same price and sadly I wish I had chosen differently.

    The property is secluded and along an adorable corridor. It feels like it was previously a monostary. The courtyard is adorable. Breakfast was also tasty. All of the staff was friendly and approachable - they were the best part!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place in Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular

    Excellent location in the middle of trastevere, the heart of Rome. Staff were super nice and helpful, the hotel is very nice, seems to be surrounded by nature in the middle of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small husband 6 feet 3 shower not fitting him. Room hot opened winder loud birds and cats screaming all night not able to sleep.

    Staff very helpful. breakfast wonderfu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    We 'll come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing special

    A very nice hotel, in a very typical district of Rome. Location is 50m from the Santa Maria dei Trastevere's place, and the oldest church of Roma. Really beautifull. The room was perfect for our stay, 2 adults and 2 children of 10 years old. 2 rooms and 2 bathroom. The breakfast was also perfect with a very good typical itlian coffee. Staff is really friendly and helpfull. The situation is perfect to visit Rome, 20 min of walk to the Vatican, the Colliseum, really close to all main sites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Charming, beautiful, outstanding for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fairly loud, with guests walking along the corridors outside the rooms, and church bells ringing each quarter hour.

    Staff were extremely friendly, charming and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic, as advertised! Perfect for fuelling up for the day. The hotel itself was beautiful, with outside seating areas and privacy from the city outside. The hotel is secure, with a locked gate and a buzz-in system, giving peace of mind. The room was small, but decorated in a charming manner, and well-appointed. The area is lovely, with lots of excellent restaurants less than two minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small.

    Good walking distance to most major attractions in Rome. Choice of many very good restaurants nearby. Good happy atmosphere at hotel. Would be lovely in the gardens in warmer weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Excellent service, location and nice sized room, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper you may not like the church bells which ring every 15 minutes.

    The staff were excellent. Location was near the Santa Maria piazza which made it easy to find a place to eat at night. In the evening the Hotel had an open bar and free snacks which was a lovely bonus. We were given a bottle of Prosecco to celebrate one of our birthdays. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Probably the most enjoyable place I have stayed in in Rome in terms of location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't much like body wash/shampoo combined but that's a small gripe and it's easy to take your own.

    Staff were very helpful, location superb (Trastevere has a bohemian feel to it) and the room was well-appointed and comfortable. It's pretty easy to walk anywhere in Rome but facilities and restaurants were close to the hotel and I have found one to which I shall certainly return in the shape of Essenza wine bar just around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    When in Rome....stay at the Santa Maria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What a gem of a find. Great staff, excellent value and super location. Loved it. Breakfast set you up for the day. Felt traditional rather than modern hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Great value for money - great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet - great venue and handy to a plethora of restaurants and cafes. Walking distance to all the major sights. Service and compassion is outstanding. All the staff are friendly and eager to please. This was one of the best of best hotels I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Quiet oasis in busy, noisy, trendy Trastevere. Large room, convenient location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location in the trendy Trastevere district of Rome. Busy restaurant and street scene but the Hotel Santa Maria was a quiet oasis with multiple outdoor patios surrounded by orange trees. Large buffet breakfast & happy hour 5:30-7 with free buffet with purchase of a drink. When the staff found out it was husband's birthday (I had asked for birthday candles the day before) they surprised us with a bottle of Prosecco. Also, walking distance to fantastic restaurants in the area and tram stop to central Rome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Beds hard and small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds hard and small. Locale great. Ability to be part of Italian life. Service was best we had in Italy by far. Food very good especially enjoyed bread from bakery. Staff helped us navigate Rome. Quiet. Really enjoyed roof top terrace and other outdoor spaces. Staff in breakfast area very friendly. It was my second time staying there and really looked forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and beautiful, serene setting. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. We loved the outdoor options for eating and relaxing. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    We loved Rome and staying at Santa Maria added to the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taxis didn't know how to get to hotel. Taxi from airport dropped us in Trastevere no where near hotel! Take hotel's offer to take their transportation.

    Santa Maria Courtyard was lovely and meeting other guests made the experience richer. Enjoyed breakfast and cocktails at the end of each day in the Courtyard. Rooms were clean and staff was excellent and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable ! Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great !

    The perfect haven ! Lovely rooms , great breakfast & happy hour wonderful staff & owners ! We felt so welcome and had a wonderful stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Loved it. A secret and serene little slice of heaven in the heart of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not so easy to find and parking was a little bit of a challenge but turned out fine for us in the end. You can't pull up in front of the building worth a car so if you have a lot of luggage, just keep that in mind.

    Beautiful place, quiet but in a very "happening" neihhborhood. Awesome location, wonderful staff - very friendly and helpful. Room was perfect. Clean, spacious, a fun space of 2 rooms,1.5 baths for us and the kids. Lovely breakfast in the orange tree filled courtyard in the morning. We definitely recommend it and would go back again in a heartbeat

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Loved it, will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was wonderful. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The hotel was like a little retreat in the midst of a very busy area - it was once a convent! Location was great. Weather was in high 90s and orange trees sharing the courtyard was super nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended! It is a gem in the heart of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is just a gem! It is in the heart of Trastevere, but since it is a bit secluded it is very quiet. It seemed as stepping in a parallel universe, with orange trees and silence. The members of staff are very welcoming and friendly. The Hotel is extremely clean and the rooms face the internal court yard, where we had a delicious buffet breakfast. The room was comfortable and clean, not too big and not too small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Quaint peaceful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location , great security. Excellent dinner recommendation. Breakfast in the pretty courtyard was superb. Air conditioning worked like a dream.Walking distance to lots of eateries. 15/20 minute walk to Vatican etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    An oasis in a busy city. Perfectly located and quaint. Fantastic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A swimming pool as we went in august so that would of made it the perfect hotel! After a long trip around Rome seeing the sights in 33 degree heat that would of been perfect to come back to.

    It was just special and you were made to feel so at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were fantastic and so friendly and nice. Lovely place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. It is in a great neighborhood full of energy and you c
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was full of charm and at the same time full of modern conveniences. There was a cloistered area in the middle of the hotel with orange trees that allowed you to step out of time and enjoy a luxurious and fully transporting experience. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in a very genuine manner. The architectural details showed an absolute concern and love of the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    This place is a gem! Loved everyone there and everything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    This is a quiet little sanctuary in the middle of a very busy place! Everything was wonderful! Breakfast plentiful and delicious, bar happy hour fantastic, staff friendly and very helpful, rooms clean and showers great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is wonderfully tucked away behind a secure gate in the middle of Trastevere, an oasis away from the hustle and bustle and noise. They have a wonderful outside seating area under a little orchard of orange trees. All makes for a perfect place to stay in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful facilities with a real Italian flavor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Only thing I disliked is that I could not stay longer ;)

    Beautiful facilities with a real Italian flavor. Best cappucinos I had in Rome. The staff is amazing. I'm celiac, and they also had gluten free options for me during breakfast. I needed help scheduling other trips and their staff was extremely helpful. This hotel is really close to all the action in Trastevere, but on a block that is quiet at night. So, there is no bothering noise at night, and I was able to sleep like a baby. This property is a 5+. Great value!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Look No Further--Pick This Hotel and Be Happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could've been better unless they'd let me stay for free forever.

    Everything about this hotel was special. From the moment we arrived through the gates we were well tended to by a very accommodating and friendly staff. Extra kudos to Norman and Conrad, who were so delightful at breakfast and happy hour. Breakfasts are sumptuous with GF options (yeah!). Our room (#1) was small but perfect, and it was tucked away off from the courtyard with its own patio, so it was completely private and lovely. Easy access to sites; no more than 20-30 minutes walk from everything. And whether you arrive by plane or train, you can get to the Roma Trastevere train station and then take a 5-10 minute taxi to the hotel. On our arrival day (when we didn't know better), our taxi driver took us a gratuitously long way to the hotel, but that's certainly not the hotel's fault. Learn from our mistake and know your route beforehand so you can remind the cabbie it's pretty much a straight shot to the hotel. The hotel's location couldn't be better--after a day of Rome Crazy you return to an enclave of quiet where the only sounds are the church bells, the sea gulls and the crunch of your own footsteps across the pebbled courtyard. I'd live here if I could.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, lovely staff, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was fantastic and everything was as we imagined. The location couldn't have been better as it was surrounded by bars and restaurants but was so quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    The place to stay in Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. It was all great

    The staff was so friendly and helpful including servers. Made special accommodations for our early flight including car service and early breakfast. They also made great restraurant recommendations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    A true gem in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Staff were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms and courtyard was amazing. Very charming and relaxing. Happy hour was wonderful and a special treat to sit in the lovely courtyard at the end of the day. Location was perfect. Breakfast was delicious. The strawberries and special breads were delicious. Great service at breakfast. Staff were very responsive and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    This hotel is a great quiet island in the busy area of Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Great quiet hotel located at one of the best areas for night life and eating. The hotel is the relaxing island in a busy great area of Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Nice atmosphere, staff very helpful,quiet but near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast good but would have liked plain yogurt with fresh fruit in morning! they served only pre-mixed type,

    Nice atmosphere, staff very helpful,quiet but near everything. Staff recommended excellent restaurants,tours and sightseeing ideas. nice breakfast and happy hour. we would stay here again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Oasis in a bustling city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is my second time at this hotel and I've recommended it to several people, who've also liked it. It's a very short walk away from the big tourist attractions and yet it seems like an oasis in a bustling city. It is charming, immaculate and the staff are pleasant. The breakfast and the service at breakfast are beyond excellent and accommodating. The happy hour snacks in the bar make for a nice way to unwind after a long day touring before going out for a nice dinner. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    #1 in Rome for me.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe the cleaners could start a little later?

    All was excellent; now this would be my first choice for Rome: great location, free bikes which I used most days, excellent breakfast, quiet rooms, nice courtyards, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Perfect atmosphere and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were all helpful and polite, the hotel was an oasis of calm whilst being within walking distance of so much of Rome, and right in the middle of bustling Trastevere area with loads of restaurants around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The short stay :)

    This is a wonderfully friendly and cozy hotel to go home to after a busy day of sightseeing. The decor has a lovely old fashioned feel but perfectly maintained and the gardens are very well kept with pretty potted flowers everywhere and of course the beautiful orange trees full of fruit! Even the old dog adds to the atmosphere. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast staff greeted us with smiles every day and served delicious meals and coffee. We loved the location as it was not in the very busy center of Rome but still within walking reach of all the sights. The neighborhood, with its quaint little restaurants and shops, was lovely to walk around in during the evenings. One can see Hotel Santa Maria is truly loved by its owners.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    A gem in the heart of Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were small.

    Hotel is small, only 22 rooms, unique (not like every other hotel), with a lovely courtyard. It's in a fabulous location in the heart of Trastevere, but was wonderfully peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Tranquility in Trastevere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not lock the door from the inside - just a small thing - although with our two young boys I never know what stunt they will pull next .

    Stayed in the junior suite with our two young children - room for the 4 of us and a great shower. Staff on reception and at breakfast very friendly and helpful. Great location in the middle of Trastevere and only 20 minute walk to Roman Forum . Nice touch in leaving 2 teddy bears for our young boys.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    A paradise within the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful. The location is outstanding! You really feel like you are in Rome. To have your room open up to the courtyard with orange trees was so relaxing after being in the hustle and bustle of the city all day. A little paradise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Our Rome Adventure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This trip was our frist family trip to Rome. The staff that runs this hotel, are so helpful and caring, always available to assist us in any way, since it was our first trip, we would always ask the staff for directions and suggestions, we loved their dining recomendations. Always on point 👌🏻. Walking distante to most of the tourist attractions and to public transportation. Breakfast was plentiful and very satisfying to us, loved their coffee. Don't forget to visit one of the oldest basilica in the world, right around the corner from the hotel! Their charming bells might keep up at night if you're a light sleeper, but you'll get used to it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Skip all the tourist traps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very low ceilings, so good thing my husband and I are not very tall!

    A perfect little hideaway in the best part of Rome. Lovely staff and very clean, cozy, quiet stay. We got a much appreciated complimentary upgrade to a bigger room. Grazie!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Choose Hotel Santa Maria and you will not be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was not open late at night as advertised, perhaps because the hotel was not full and there appeared to be no need.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the service friendly and helpful.Nothing was any trouble. The room was cosy and warm and the water hot with good pressure. The location was superb. The grounds are beautiful with lots of orange trees and other flowers.It is a beautiful and quiet spot in the middle of a busy neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    secret garden in the heart of lively Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to find a flaw, eventually the bathroom could be refurbished and more complimentary products provided

    very conveniently situated right in the centre of Trastevere and at the same time very quiet. The hotel is hidden in a magnificent secret garden. The management and staff are extremely helpful and experienced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    A Very Smart Choice for a Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are slightly smaller and more functional than luxurious, but they are comfortable and clean. Because they are arranged around a pretty courtyard, there is a need to ring from the street to gain entry but in practice this is not problematic - you are just aware of it. The hotel is located in the heart of Trastevere which means it's not immediately adjacent to the major historical sites, rather it's nearby and within walking distance. We've stayed in more dramatic hotels, but actually the essentials are all covered in this one. For a stay of 3 or 4 nights, it's a very smart choice.

    We liked the quietness, the feeling of safety and security, the friendly hotel staff and pleasant atmosphere, and there's a pretty good breakfast buffet - the bread is excellent and the coffee good as long as you request Italian coffee, not American! (For a proper Americano, ask for a double espresso or a lungo and hot water and just mix.) There are plenty of cheap restaurants in the immediate vicinity - and some lovely sights if you seek them out. Remember, Rome is a city you can walk around so nothing is really too far away; yes, Trastevere is on the 'other' side of the river as its name suggests but it is still central Rome, about halfway between the Vatican City and the ancient centre. Overall, the hotel is not expensive and it is well-situated and well-run. The consistently good reviews are understandable!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    An oasis of calm in buzzing Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We started to feel a bit cramped with the four of us in a junior suite after the first few days.

    Loved this hotel as did my nine year old twin boys. I thought the room was a bit cramped for the price, but the facilities overall were lovely and impeccably kept. The staff was welcoming and helpful without exception. And I did not even mention the amazing breakfast and happy hour buffet, which were highlights of my boys' days! The location is amazing, so serene and tranquil but convenient to the wonderful Trastevere area and within easy walking distance of many of the city's sights. I hope to return and will recommend highly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Home away from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps they could have had a breakfast buffet with little bit more variety.

    My favorite part was the courtyard with the lemon and orange trees. It made me feel like home . The room was very cozy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have had the happy hour or something like that...if even just a little wine.

    The courtyard was lovely! Excellent staff...very helpful. Central location in a quiet but charming neighborhood. Oh and the teddy bear was so nice...we forgot to thank the staff!!!!! My son was thrilled :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Great stay in a great hidden away hotel close to everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly / nine of our party had any complaints !

    Friendly, attentive - staff wished one of our party happy birthday with complimentary prosecco - we hadn't highlighted Birthday they had picked it off passport scan. Nice buffet for happy hour - beautiful courtyard

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    I want to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather :)

    The place is absolutely charming, off the beaten path but still walking distance to almost everything.. I loved the court yards and orange trees and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    A fabulous find in the heart of Rome's Trastevere district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, we had a ball in Santa Maria, would love to go again.

    Beautiful courtyard in the centre of the complex. Full of charm and character. Fantastic staff, really friendly and helpful. Happy hour from 5.30 to 7.30 before we went off to find dinner from dozens of local restaurants. A few steps and you're in the Piazza S.M. which is vibrant, lively and exciting, loved it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices was a little high for the booking.

    Staff and owners wonderful. Very well maintained. Away from the hustle and bustle of Rome but close enough to get there in ten minutes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    A beautiful paradise in the middle of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I dislike.

    The family atmosphere and friendly environment provided by the staff and management towards their guests. Especially when they provide nibbles for happy hour in their beautiful orange grove courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This was a great hotel that to me was a hidden gem. The driver that dropped us had never even been there before. The rooms were clean and perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    When in Rome…You should stay HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible! Amazing service, delicious breakfast, old-world charm. It's JUST as good as it looks. Even nicer. You won't be disappointed. Ciao!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    An amazing Italian experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent Overall. Thank you. All of the staff were extra nice. We thought Santa Maria was an amazing Italian experience , we will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    excellent hotel, but in touristy Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is a problem that isn't the fault of the hotel. Even thought hotel is quiet and off a pedestrian path, Trastevere is tourist central. Once you leave the hotel, you enter the madness of tourist crowds and junky shops. I would definitely stay there again but for the location. Next time I'll look for a place near the Borghese museum or in Testaccio, which is more like a normal Roman neighborhood.

    Great environment with very good room with a great bathroom. There's a beautiful courtyard here where one can have breakfast and happy hour. Excellent service, esp. Claudio.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Great, relaxed place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was lovely the way it was.

    The accomodation and staff were lovely. They even gave us a free upgrade to a much larger room. It's so close to so many great cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely Rome neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our room was a bit worn out.

    The grounds and courtyard were beautiful, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. The Trastevere neighborhood was very fun and lively, with lots of great bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Many restaurants at walking distance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Peace and tranquility in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful central courtyard, great to relax in the evening, with lots of super restaurants on the doorstep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Great location and secure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great coffee!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    BEST KEPT SECRET
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Everything! Friendly staff, clean, many extras, convenient to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The very quiet location and the friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    It was perfect for walking everywhere and the hotel itself was charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like an oasis of calm to come back to after a day of site seeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely little place to stay in the heart of Trastevere - a great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, location, amenities (bikes) and courtyard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Amazing x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to come home!

    The staff were amazing! X

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    An oasis of charm in a vibrant, buzzing area of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant staff, fantastic shower, capuccinos which are works of art , excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe should be better if rooms are little bit bigger.

    The most beautiful was concept of the hotel amd gardens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Such a lovely hotel, with warm and friendly staff. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little hard for me - that's just my personal preference.

    The room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Definitely would come back here if I go to Rome again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at breakfast were terrific.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in Trastervere and so quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Quietness of the hotel considering its central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way! Would highly recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location, facilities, staff, the bed, the room was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Amazing typical Roman jam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sevice, warmth and welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast, very peaceful, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, very peaceful, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Excellent place for English-speaking tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Good service and friendly, helpful atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Maria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: