Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Marta Suites 4 stars

Via Santa Marta 4, Milan City Centre, 20123 Milan, Italy

#19 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 557 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not nice when people are smoking on the small roof top restaurant!

    Very nice and tastefully rooms, lobby and restaurant. Also very nice small roof top restaurant for a drink or evening meal. Perfectly situated in center of Milan. So welcoming and warm atmosphere. Room was big as we where upgradedi to a room no.1. Will use this hotel for sure next time in Milan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not possible to turn off the bathroom light over the mirror.

    Hotel was very quirky, staff very helpful. Greeted with a big smile and offered beverages upon arrival. Then we were taken to our room, which didn't have much of a view but the decoration was very extravagant. There is a roof-top terrace for drinks and nibbles. Restaurant is empty for the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second stay at Hotel Santa Marta Suites in Milan. The hotel, located in Milan's historical district, is absolutely beautiful and charming. Every aspect of Hotel Santa Marta Suites is exquisite, including the stylish interior decor; scenic rooftop terrace; well-appointed, luxurious rooms; and classy and chic first-floor restaurant. Upon our arrival and without request, our room was upgraded to a magnificent, palatial suite replete with elegant amenities, including antique furnishings and flourishes, cozy sitting and terrace areas; a spacious bathroom equipped with grooming sundries and robes; refrigerator; wine refrigerator; mini bar, refreshments; TV; WIFI, and a large, sumptuous bed. It is the most beautiful hotel room in which we have ever stayed. We felt like European aristocrats! Not only are the accommodations top notch, the staff is warm, friendly, helpful, sophisticated, and accommodating. At check-in, the concierage confirmed train schedules for our itinerary and provided recommendations for non-touristy gelaterias within walking distance of the hotel. At check-out, the concierge provided detailed information to ensure our successful arrival at the Cardona train station. We highly recommend Hotel Santa Marta Suites for anyone visiting Milan. The accommodations and staff are outstanding and the hotel is centrally located within walking distance of all the major sites, including DaVinci's The Last Supper, La Scala, the Duomo, and Galleria. The hotel is a gem! James and Jeanne Rowlee, Miami.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Santa Marta Suites is a beautiful, sophisticated centrally-located hotel in walking distance of the main sites in Milano, including La Scala, the Duomo, Galleria, and DaVinchi's Last Supper. Our room was well appointed with nice amenities, including a refrigerator, bar, and spacious bathroom. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful venue for relaxing, dining, and enjoying a panoramic view of Milano. We had a delicious breakfast in the quaint restaurant on the first floor. The interior decor of the restaurant and hotel is magnificent. The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concept of your breakfast table was not acceptable. Sweets and sugar and salty foccaccio toi Michelin. No normal bread, no low-calor and plain yoghurt. Make it more simple and healthy and the customers will come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on Suite 1 & its TV. Lack of sound, i asked them to fix it ,honestly they tried with no improvement..... For me it is soooooo poring to watch movie or program with out hearing any thing!

    Hotel classic warm decores are fabulous, i like every detail

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to drive around small streets with a car, small room that is showing its age. Breakfast was average.

    A historic building in a good central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise during the night as we stayed on the last floor, meaning the A/C was working right above us. The noise went for the entire night...

    Beautifully decorated, right in the city center of Milan (walking distance from both cathedral and castle). Great accomodations and nice balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were continuously making sure that everything was going well. From small attention (coffee on arrival, tea with honey when I was doing my emails in the lobby) to great service, everything was great in this small property. Location is also great if you are searching for public transportation as well as shopping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely boutique hotel full of old-world charm, large rooms with modern bathrooms and English TV. Close to the Duomo, friendly staff and great coffee. Decent WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For this size and price of room we would have appreciated a bath tube instead of a walk in shower. We had a very warm and efficient check in by a lady that help and ensure that our stay was perfect. Sadly I have to mention that the other staff encounter during our stay werent that pleasant.

    Centrally located, close to "El Duomo". the hotel is furnished with antiques furniture’s from different times. The atmosphere from the reception to the room is great. We didn’t had the opportunity to try the rooftop as the weather wasn’t great during the weekend. The suites was equipped with a large Balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a great place, with the only quibble being a minibar at room temperature. Expensive drinks should probably be served chilled.

    Charming rooms, professional and helpful staff, wonderful location, stunning rooftop terrace, great bar on the next corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was really not staffed so that it was hard to get everything that you wanted for breakfast.

    Our room was large, comfortable, and fantastic. We love the location of the hotel. Very very close to the Duomo. And the staff was totally accommodating. They did anything that we asked to have happen. We really appreciated their treatment of us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other hotels should look to the model of Santa Marta Suites

    The accommodation is uniquely stylish, yet comfortable. The team, led by Luca are virtually tour ambassadors for Milan-expert knowledge of Milan, which is tailored to each visitor’s requirements. No request is too difficult. A venue to be returned to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no view, it was looking at a back yard, it was dark. The room was not very clean and there was a spider in my bed. The price was very high for the comfort you get. The reviews on booking.com were misleading for me, I did not like the hotel.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is lacking in atmosphere. It feels like 1988, and does not reflect the more lively modern feel of hotels. The restaurant has a major problem. Again, very traditional and a bit stiff, acceptable if the food is good. It wasn't. The night I ate in it I was on my own in the restaurant until 9.30 when another 3 came in, and it was completely empty the next night. Meanwhile the restaurant opposite the hotel had a queue, with no tables until 10.30. There's a message there.

    A nice, comfortable, traditional room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Automatic light in bathroom

    Suite was beautiful, well located - a bit noisy in the early morning hours if you have window open, but the hotel can't help that I think

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredible, very friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurant was excellent and they have a fantastic chef who uses the most fresh ingredients to cook delicious food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't complain about anything. If I could suggest anything, 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water would be nice.

    Already directly after my booking I had a very pleasant email exchange with the reception staff about details for the dinner for our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we were welcomed in a most friendly and helpful way. Everyone we talked to was extremely nice, helpful and competent. I asked for a tea kettle - got one, and also white china cups and plates with a gold rim "like Grandma's". Every service was just perfect. The intimate restaurant on the roof, canoe-lit at dusk, has a stunning view to the dome and over Milan's rooftops. The room was an exquisite retreat, quiet and kept with a moderate temperature (smooth air-conditioning) while we had over 30 degrees Celsius outside. I was glad not to have a room with a view, the backyard was ok for me in this heat. Very good mattresses, an elegant room, antique style floor and modern bath with many mirrors and a huge shower. Parking is easy and safe in a public underground parking nearby. The town centre and the dome are within walking distance. It was surprisingly quiet (not noisy) in the streets, although there was a reasonable crowd of tourists. The hotel has its own good restaurant with creative and rich dishes, also a menu accompanied with different wines by the glass, but the staff would also gladly recommend other restaurants in town. This romantic hotel is a reason for its own to come back to Milano!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is lovely but a bit expensive assuming the hotel is not cheap itself. You can't control air condititioning itself and the windows open to the yard so we felt some lack of fresh air.

    Beautiful room and furniture and overall hotel decorations. Lovely toiletries. The staff is absolutely outstanding - great communication and advice abour eveyrthing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a double bed and got two single beds made up together as one bed. For couples who do sleep together, this is a very uncomfortable arrangement. When we noticed this, the staff quickly moved us to another room. But I'd check availability before booking if this is potentially an issue. We've stayed in Milan before and thought that this place was overpriced.

    The staff are amazing. They were friendly, very helpful and very keen to resolve any issues we might have had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    The staff at Santa Marta Suites were beyond helpful and kind. I arrived early for check in and Silvia looked after me with tea and a place to work. Nicolo took great care when my family arrived later that afternoon with drinks, restaurant booking and taxis. I can't recommend this hotel enough! My room was a beautiful suite and one night there was too short!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for my car was within 200 metres of the hotel. The hotel is idealy situated for access to many of the interests in the area around the Duomo, whether it be for site seeing or shopping. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing and air conditioned, (we upgraded to a suite) and the hotel has kept much of the history of the building intact ,whilst still providing modern day service. Short walk to the Castello Sforzesco. Note, if you require breakfast on the rooftop terrace you need to first select your breakfast at the restaurant and the staff will deliver to the terrace. The terrace is a nice area for evening socialising with views of the Duomo and surrounding the area. Strongly recommed to anyone as a great place to stay in Milan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is much to like about this charming small hotel with helpful staff and a small, but perfectly formed, roof terrace with views over the city. The ideal spot for an evening aperitif. The hotel's location makes it handy for Milan's tourist attractions - the Piazza del Duomo is just 10 minutes' walk away. Being upgraded to a suite was a bonus - a large room with a comfortable bed, decorated in keeping with the building's history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This boutique hotel is gorgeous, if you like something different. We were upgraded to a suite and it was fabulous. The bedroom was so spacious and beautifully decorated with amazing furniture. I loved it. Lovely bathroom. Staff exceptional and I found the area great, fab bar at the end of the street with great cocktails. Really enjoyed staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lighting was a little dark

    The hotel is a small boutique hotel roughly 5minute walk from the duomo, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly which was a nice surprise. The room was lovely, not huge but cosy and very well furnished with a nice bathroom and they had a wonderful little rooftop terrace that you could have an apperitif overlooking the duomo. We missed breakfast so can't comment but they also gave us great recommendations for dinner. Overall a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice terrasse on the 6th floor with a view over Milano. Good apéritif there.... Beautiful decoration and high comfort room with a sweet expresso machine! Great breakfast although a bit expensive....but wonderful room. PERFECT location! In summer heat we enjoyed the air conditionned room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight miscommunication with waiter in the santa Martha restaurant. Despite that, very good food.

    Facilities were excellent. Beautiful refurbished former Palazzo. Staff in Hotel incl Manager very attentative. Strongly recommendable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely pleasant and desiring to assist in any smallest question. The suite we got was fantastic with two bathrooms. I would definitely return to Santa Marta Suites !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the 5th floor (top), and unfortunately, our air conditioner struggled to get the room temperature down to a comfortable level. Lighting in the bathroom was poor, especially if you were applying make-up. The foam mattress was past it's best, as it had a large dip in it on one side. The carpet in the elevator needs replacing sooner than later as it did not look that clean and seemed to have a bad odour to it.

    Generally, staff were very friendly and helpful. A very delightful boutique hotel which is in easy walking distance to many major attractions and shops. A great restaurant and staff to go with it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we had a delightful visit.

    Small boutique hotel in central location. Family hotel. Excellent staff, friendly and very helpful. Delightful roof terrace, great for evening meals and a direct view of Duomo. Gret breakfast and restaurant. Many restaurants and bars close by. A historic site st almost very turn. Close public transport. We loved being close to Duomo, La Scala and Galleria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a fantastic find in the heart of Milan! The location is great-walking distance to all the major sights, shopping and train stations! The rooms are elegant, clean and comfortable and the public rooms are interesting and quirky. Have cocktails or dinner on the terrazzo and enjoy the breathtaking view of The Duomo. Chef Stefano Urso treated us to off-menu Italian delights and wonderful signature dishes-make sure you try the molto deliziosa cotoletta alla Milanese! All the staff were super-friendly and so helpful night and day. Thank you Lucca, Sara, Ruggiero and Francesca for going the extra mile to make us feel at home in your lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed only one night and wish it could have been more. Room was very spacious and bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Staff very helpful with travel and where to go shopping and where to eat. Great inexpensive coffee bar on the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility may still be breaking in its digital/sensor based electronics. Thus, lights shut down in stair wells while the room air conditioning had to be reset on the second night after a warm first night stay. All of this is fixable but it is best that management is aware of the issue.

    Conveniently located in the center city within walking distance to the Duomo as well as Milan shopping areas. Well appointed rooms with antique furnishings and a friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful with taxis, luggage storage, finding locations to mail packages home, etc. the hotel is finely decorated and has an excellent rooftop terrace with a great view, which can be used for meals as well as drinks and relaxation. Small number of very nice rooms. Location is close to the Duomo, the underground lines, and particularly, the Via Dante pedestrian mall -for dining and shopping. The location is just out of the way enough to make it private and special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not included, and if consumed on the terrace - there is an additional room service charge. Stuff, although friendly, at times are not on top of things - left without towels overnight; when asked to book a restaurant, not informed of the booking until 15mins before the actual time of the reservation, and even that after a repeated inquiry; ironing service not available after 3pm.

    Location, great historical building, exceptional decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    zero

    Faultless service, location, room comfort, and meals. The chef even came out to our table and explained his menu and how he had hand picked the ingredients at market. They have a magnificent roof top terrace for dinner or cocktails. The most amazingly comfortable bed we have ever slept in. It was like staying with family. The staff could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Always happy and helpful. It is an easy 4 min walk to Domo, and Milan's main Tour operator, Zani Viaggi, is an easy 10 minute walk. A casual Pizza restaurant is just across the quiet laneway. If you want the authentic Italian experience, this beautiful small hotel will not disappoint. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and Surrounds not quite as glanerous in the real !! Very expensive for what you get and..... they have the cheek to charge $20 each for continental breakfast / hot food extra ? Also very noisy at night ( bar at end of laneway ) and bin/ recycling trucks right under your balcony very early in morning. Again a big negative not allowing guests to iron own clothes ( fire risk ) although every other country we have visited this is standard room facilities.

    Reception staff and restaurant staff lovely and alway helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not work out the heating system

    All the rooms were very individual and and tastefully decorated. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for an extra 50 Euro

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairway to roof is winding metal and pretty hard to navigate, but worth the climb for the panoramic view of Milano.

    We had reserved a room but took the suite when offered. Large with beautiful furnishings and totally modern bath. Service impeccable and amenities perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect.

    Everything! We received a free upgrade to a lovely suite - grazie Luca! The accommodation is perfectly placed in a quiet street within a stone's throw of the Duomo. Spotlessly clean with a lovely rooftop terrace. The staff were kind and charming. Would return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other half of the stuff - the bold guy said that broken wardrobe is part of the design, non working safe box is that we can't read the instruction, the need to leave a key at the entrance, broken window locks, short bed, view...

    Location, half of the staff (lady was extremely nice and helpfull)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit overpriced. Pictures of the lobby do not correspond to reality or at least not to the expectation they create

    Centrally located. Friendly personnel. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was baking hot and no way of controlling the temperature. However we called reception and they adjusted it.

    Decor was so quaint and charming. Staff knowledgable and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative.

    Immaculate hotel, beautifully decorated, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, central to everything you want to see, but quiet and serene! Go visit and stay here!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    photos and information on booking.com website did not match the room assigned (and this even if the staff said the contrary). the bedroom window overlooked ... the lift! we had to ask for another room (a suite .. because all other rooms overlook the elevator!!) for which there was a charge of 50 euro per night; around 6:00 in the morning we were awakened by loud noises (garbage trucks, works); the behavior of the staff was only apparently polite. Hôtel not recommended POST SCRIPTUM:I would like to thank Booking.com for giving me the opportunity of this post scriptum. This refers to the reaction of the hotel to my negative comment: I never said, as affirmed in the above mentioned reaction, that "suites are regular rooms for us politicians". In fact I am not a politician. Most probably, the hotel confused me with another client. Regards.

    Position

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will definately stay there when I go to Milan. Very nice,warm atmosphere and always smiling and helpful employees. Specially we have to thank the manager Luca,you can understand he is passionate about his job and dealing with every detail to make comfortable. We didn't eat in the hotel,I will review food at the end of march hopefully

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible mattresses (my wife could not sleep all the night). Noise from hotel ventillation system. Poor breakfast. Booking policy (non refundable for the whole period).

    Location: 5 min by step from centre (Duomo).

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Great suite, lovely staff and near to the main attractions. In particular I was impressed with how the manager dealt with a very obnoxious man complaining about a triviality when he was dealing with three other clients. He would have been justified in telling the incredibly rude man to foxtroct oscor. Instead he dealt with the situation with great decorum and professionalism. Next time we go to the Opera we will be staying here.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was non existent. The room we got was overlooking a dark and narrow courtyard.

    Location and the staff. Alessandro was very nice and professional. Beautiful view from the rooftop terrace that would be great to hang out at during spring and summer.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Congestion pricing is in effect on weekdays. Luckily we were there on a Saturday and Sunday morning. Last time I was in Milan I ended up with 2 tickets driving into the regulated zone by accident, +45 euros.

    They upgraded us to a lovely suite on the top floor. We had to leave a little to early to try their breakfast. Parking is expensive 27 euro for about 17 hours.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right next to the elevator. I could hear it going up and down with people chatting all night. I didn't sleep. In addition there is an automatic fluorescent light in the bathroom that can not be turned off. So the bathroom door must be kept closed since any tiny bit of movement will turn the light on. Even rolling over in your bed turns this obnoxious light on.

    Comfortable beds and a maginificent patterned Parquet floor made the room appealing even though there was no view. The reception was enthusiastic and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful and lovely. Except I had prepaid for breakfast for two and unfortunately I had not calculated that I would have to leave for the airport before breakfast had begun. I wish they had been willing to offer a refund or some kind of compensation, like a piece of fruit and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of bathroom switch is difficult to find behind the door (there is also a sensor that turns it on automatically but it also turns it off in the middle of the shower... so make sure you pay attention to the instructions on where the switch is at check in). Staff is very friendly but not receptive to positive suggestions for improvement such as better location for the bathroom switch or a written sign. They also seem obsessed with pushing you into putting in a good review and can make you miss your train... listening to suggestions would help much more for a good review rather than arguing why they think they are right... but overall a great place and I will go back for sure

    Room was fantastic so romantic and cozy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girlfriend and I had requested a twin bed and the hotel confirmed we were getting one before we arrived. Once there they gave us a room with a queed bed and a little bed in the hall at the entrance of the room. The bed was clearly designed for a couple traveling with a child. When lying on the bed are legs did not fit in the bed. We complained to the manager and the owner and both insisted we got what we had requested. We found out from another employee that in fact they had rooms with twin beds but ours was given to someone else. The owner was rude and not accepting of their error. The rooms are expensive and you would expect a better approach with dealing with customer dissatisfaction.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you go for the great food of the restaurant, ask the waiter always for the price . without this they will serve you the best, which is obviously always the highest priced wine or dish.

    Very friendly staff who gave us a very enjoyable good service. Cosy terrace on the top floor of the hotel. typical Italian restaurant, perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only low point, and this was minor, was that the heat was not controlled in the room. For us 24 is too warm. So we had to call down to have it reduced each day.

    Alex in reception was particularly helpful and courteous. The hotel was a beautiful blend of old world charm and modern facility.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't figure out how to control the temperature in our room, so we were hot at night. The bed was a little hard (I generally like a hard bed).

    Staff was super, super nice and helpful. The location is very convenient and the room and bathroom were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's all about the suite on the 4th floor and Trattoria Milanese across the street. Lovely quiet side street, terrific staff, excellent bedding. Gorgeous room. It's my spot in Milan from now on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If anything could be better: maybe a hot meal for breakfast

    The servive at the desk was excellent and helpful. All over. The rooms and the roof terasse gave us the little extra after long day of walking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish our double room wasn't so dark, as it is not possible to have a window to the street, but the ambience of the room still made it worth it. If you can afford it, get a suite! There is more light. Next time! We will be back here.

    This is a gorgeous small hotel, beautifully decorated in Italianate style with a bit of modern mixed in. Amazing rooftop lounge with a panoramic view of the Duomo and all Milan. I loved our stay here. The staff was extremely accommodating with everything. It is located off a tiny street in the historic center which also makes it quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb, friendly, attentive staff throughout the hotel and restaurant. The front desk staff were especially helpful with specific sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. Their beds and pillows were by far the most comfortable of any Italian hotel in which I stayed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was divine. I have been upgraded to a Suite. The staff was amazing, from the reception desk to the room service. High quality service. Breakfast is excellent. Lots of taste in the decoration. Classic decoration with a touch of modern art. Amazing roof terrasse. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a fancy coffee machine in room charged per pod. Would like to see Free Tea and coffee making facility.

    Great staff, Roof top restaraunt excellent with good food and service. Breakfast very good a variety of goodies. Great location. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was inadequate and it was quite hot when we were there, so that was the one downside.

    The location is terrific and quiet. The restaurant was excellent, especially the opportunity to sit on the rooftop and enjoy the night air and the views over Milan.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Air con poor. Breakfast a bit odd. Didn't offer a cooked option until another couple asked and so they asked us as well. We upgraded to a suite but it was a disabled setup so not perfect for us. Waste of money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very friendly small hotel. And a brilliant little roof terrace. The attention to detail and service make you feel at home instantly. Will be back again and again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting on roof terrace could be adjusted to work better for diners. As it is, it shines down either in people's eyes or casting shadows. Otherwise, lovely experience.

    A lovely, unusual property with high level of design, including what looked like Gio Ponti chairs in our beautiful suite (fifth floor). Excellent staff. Fantastic location. Luca, the manager, was a wonderful host. We did eat on the roof terrace and the food was better than we'd anticipated. I wish we'd have had more than one night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couples things unfortunately : - mediocre check in - misleading information regarding the address of an open air market - no food menu was offered on the roof even though it was said to be an option - worst was motion detectors lights turning themselves off while showering. Good luck getting out the shower in the complete dark so that the lights turn back on - overall many distressing details for the price that force me to write this review which is very unusual for me.

    Very nice rooftop view / vue sur la terrace du toit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn't bother us but if somebody wants a nice view from their room beware that our room (nr.1) was facing the small but nicely arranged courtyard. The air conditioner is placed at the bottom instead in the upper half of the room. As it was very hot (36 degrees Celsius) it didn't cool down suffiently. Also, whenever you leave the room the electricity is cut off and so is the air conditioner. The room though stayed cool.

    It was our first time in Milano and we chose the Santa Maria Suites due to it’s central location. The welcome was very friendly thanks to the staff who were all very helpful. They all spoke very goog English. Our room was spacious and clean. Only the air conditioner was a little insufficient as it was very hot. The highlight though was the rooftop terrace and it’s view overlooking the surrounding area and the Milano Duomo. We didn’t bother to look for a restaurant in the evening but chose to stay “home” in our hotel and were served very good dinners both evenings on the terrace. But beware although you are in the middle of a city nature strikes an about 9:30 p.m. when little flies invaded and stung but with a good anti mosquito spray (bring your own) the problem was solved easily. When we will visit Milano again we will surely come back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location - you can't ask better, 3 min walk to the Dome or Metro. The Suite was exceptional. Proper designer boutique suite, with lots of Vintage details and very modern as well. Spacious and exceptional clean. Will definitely come back, and will recommend to everybody. Especially I wanted to tell about the stuff, which is very friendly, polite, good mannered proper professionals. Explained how , when and where to go in the town even draw it on a map....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a suite for free. The bed were very comfy and the bathroom was very nice and clean. The staff was also very friendly and supportive. But all this is to be expected for this price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a bit of a construction area (temporary, no doubt), but that should not deter anyone. A short walk in any direction easily allows exploring of the city. The ONLY thing I thought could be improved was to replenish the coffee capsules each day. The second day, there was no coffee in the room in the morning. Very minor change can fix that with no problem!

    The hotel was extremely nice. Perfect location and amazingly helpful staff. The dinner on the roof terrace was completely worth it. We were able to check in early, and the front desk even offered coffee and water while we waited. Very much first-class treatment!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be in the room price

    Beautiful hotel in city centre, very quite considering location where is situated. Great personnel, very helpful and pleasent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bathroom could be improved.

    Excellent hotel. Small but very comfortable and quiet Staff very helpful and friendly. Aperitifs on the roof terrace not to be missed, lovely view of the Duomo from the terrace. Rooms very clean and nice comfortable bed. Very central, great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge to reserve breakfast of the rooftop.

    Extremely nice and helpful staff, Luka was above excellent. Beautiful rooftop. The beds were very comfortable, we did not want to get up!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Santa Marta Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: