Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santa Tecla Palace 4 stars

Via Balestrate 100, 95024 Acireale, Italy

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Pool area and sea area are beautiful, bar is good and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is cleared all up in 10 seconds at 9:30 sharp, food menu at restaurant is very limited and buffet is over prices

    Pool area and sea area are beautiful, bar is good and food is also good room is also clean and spacious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Great facilites, services need a bit of revamp though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its ridiculous the restaurant closes at 9:30 in the middle of August! lost customers that ended up in a nearby restaurant outside the hotel.. that closes at 11:00+ long queues at breakfast for coffee

    the pool was fantastic, with enough chairs and umbrellas and customary bath towels the direct and well aconditioned access to the sea for swimming was a bonus the room was very spacious and great bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    The pool and the common areas are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor is very simple, and there was a funny smell in the room. The breakfast was rather Italian style, so dont expect vegetables or salad. Fruit, yoghurt, Scrambled/boiled eggs, frankfurter and bacon were available. So the selection was limited but okay. It was rather the quality that was not fully satisfying.

    The pool and the common areas are nice. We loved the direct access to the rocky beach where you can swim with lots of fish if you like snorkeling. There were plenty of sun beds available all over the facilities. The infinite salt water pool is fantastic. The staff were also very kind and attentive. Efficient AC in the room. Cleaning service was always finished until noon/1PM so we could get back to our room after lunch. Breakfast was not particularly good, but you can ask for freshly made coffee from a nice lady, which was a plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no chair on the balcony, the breakfast was always the same. But still we liked it!

    Romantic seaside, nice staff, not so busy in July - we loved it. Easy to reach from Catania Airport. The Santa Tecla village has really good seafood restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok, but at the lower end of the 4* scale
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness could be improved in bathrooms, some reception and bar staff were not very helpful or attentive. Restaurant staff was often forgetful (or they were ignoring us)

    Location was perfect for our purpose (attending a family wedding) . Lovely pool and seaside facilities. The lifeguards were exceptionally attentive and friendly, as well as very professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    service slow, room above had owners dog barking from 7am every day! Breakfast terrible, restuarant food not a good at other sicilian restuarants locally

    the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Okay for pool views everything else didn’t meet expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought for a 4 star hotel this was not good enough for the money paid, the rooms are very basic & the mattress was hard. We got told off for bringing our own water to the room. There is also no lunch time food which isn’t good enough for a 4 star hotel out in the sticks

    The pool and views from there were great!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel and Staff in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very busy car park on Saturday until the conference finished. Need a room service menu - could order to room but not advertised. Needs a snacks "shop" for milk and snack food, and a kettle or coffee machine in the room.

    Lovely location and Deluxe sea view room on Floor 4 was fabulous. Staff were very helpful and restaurant food was great. Plenty of sunbeds around infinity pool and near sea access area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    The pool and the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic with a lack of information on facilities or the area. The hotel catered for a lot of weddings and occasions which seemed to take priority over its guests.

    The pool and the views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's a kind of outdated hotel that was popular 20 years ago among those who choose "all inclusive" tours. it's big, it has 90s disco every evening, it's unfresh, furniture is aged, towels are holey, etc. "beach" is closed from 7pm to 9am, and same for swimming pool - it's simply impossible to wake up and swim before breakfast. btw, if you want a coffee for breakfast - u'll need to wait - there is a special lady by the coffee machine and a 10 min queue. coffee is ordinary.

    i did not expect too much and it was fine to stay for one night before plane - it's 40 min drive to the airport. the pool has a nice scenic view, especially during sunrise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel in a pityful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast scrambled eggs were disgusting they literally looked like egg soup, fish restaurant selection was very limited - and what i hated most was the route to this hotel was like driving through a dumping site simply rubbish scattered everywhere

    The breakfast croissants and fresh orange juice was ok - pool great and location nice - reception staff were friendly, a la carte restaurant food was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Without the loud music in the terrace bar, our stay would have been perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For guests who don't want to spend the whole time in the hotel, there is practically no other way to move around than by car (if you don't mind the aggressive Sicilian way of driving) or taxi. There is even a bus but when we wanted to try it out, it never came... The other downside was the bar out on the terrace. Our balcony faced the bar, and 3 nights out of 7 we suffered from the very loud music that came from the loudspeakers directed towards our room until well over midnight. It was like having a disco in the room... When after 2 nights we complained, we were told that the nights in question (14 and 15 August), Italians celebrate the end of the summer and that after that there would not be any loud music anymore. Despite this promise, we suffered for one more night. I would suggest that the direction of the hotel goes and listens themselves in the rooms facing the bar when there is music playing. They might be surprised!

    The hotel is very nice and well kept, pool is very nice and there were always available sunbeds. In general personnel was very friendly - a special thanks to Chiara at the reception who was very helpful and always smiling!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.6
    Nice pool, far from city, bad food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff is rude - Extremely limited breakfast, in 7 days every day same selection: from heated meal only scrambled eggs; pastry, cereals, 3 types of fruits and no veggies at all - that's it. - In hotel restaurant has barely passable food, ate there 3 times - regretted each time :") But the view is beautiful.

    Infinity pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    We really enjoyed our trip to Santa Tecla Palace at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pool is stunning however it is a shame that this facility closes at 18.30 when there is still sunshine on the pool, at 18.20 they come round an collect the towels from us at pool side. There is a lack of lunchtime menu options, which is limiting if you do not have a car. At the end of the week, 2 coach loads of tour groups arrived and the whole vibe of the whole hotel changed, the luxury seems to disperse, we came down to breakfast, suddenly tables were assigned, the fresh fruit had been replaced with tinned, disposable plastic cups for fruit juice, and the coffee machine had been replaced with coffee and tea urns. We work in the hospitality industry, so we do understand that you have to adapt to accommodate a coach load of guests however this shouldn't be detrimental to your individually paying guests, it was a little disappointing given the high standards that had been set at the start of the week and in fact, we were a little relieved to be checking out 2 days later due to the drop in standards.

    We really enjoyed our trip to Santa Tecla Palace at the start of the week, it was a gorgeous hotel, peaceful and felt luxurious, for example the large glass of freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast as well as the delicious coffee and great selection of fresh fruits. The pool is stunning however it is a shame that this facility closes at 18.30 when there is still sunshine on the pool, at 18.20 they come round an collect the towels from us at pool side. The rooms are lovely and clean, the air con is great as it so hot!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Stunning views and extensive fish menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew going there that the hotel was somewhat isolated which I was happy with but looking back I would have preferred if it wasn't. I would have enjoyed more choice food wise in the hotel and around ( not a major lover of fish).

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff, very clean, comfortable, great pool/sea area and stunning views. Food is suited very much to fish lovers in the hotel and the village of Santa Tecla. Hotel is great if u don't mind being isolated or if u have a car ( we didn't). Fabulous restaurant about a 3 min walk called La Solitaria. All of our courses were fabulous there. The downside is we had to run back in the dark! Other than that it's worth the trip!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Everything you need for a restorative and relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at a loss for "minus points" if we have to nit-pick, I hope you decide to open the front restaurant for breakfast - - it would be such a wonderful way to start the day!

    The breath-taking sea views: from the rooms (with a stunning sunrise), from the hall, from the terraces, the 2 restaurants, the pool.... The infinity pool filled with sea water The undisturbed peace and quiet of the sun-bed lounging area 1 step from the rocks The private access to the sea In terms of facilities, this hotel is a true hidden gem on the Acireale coastline - the staff is attentive (some even remembered us from last year), they go out of their way to cater to simple small things you might desire. The restaurant "La Rada" has a limited menu which changes every evening - this guarantees fresh fish and gives breadth to the chef's creativity. The maitre deserves special mention, as he was very attentive. The rooms are clean, with a soothing sober design; the beds are potentially hard for some travellers, but truth be told I've only been experiencing hard orthopedic mattresses during my entire 15 day trip around the island...eventually you do start feeling the benefits. Parking is ample and easy (not something to underestimate here!). All in all, we came here last year and will continue to return in the future. I picked this hotel to start off a sicilian experience trip with my partner and friends, and it was a great start!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location on the seafront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking area not clean. Some small maintenance required in the bathroom.

    Excellent location on the seafront. Good breakfast, very nice swimming pool, good sunbathing facilities. Scenic overlook on the coast. Rooms were ok with good bed, safe, wifi, etc..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.1
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not available until 4pm which spoilt our holiday. No furniture on balcony and no tea making facilities in rooms. Smell from septic tank at times. If staying during their conference events you are overrun with people.

    Size of the room and bar staff. Views across sea are brilliant. Cleaning staff excellent and whole hotel immaculate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Vista mare location splendida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vista mare location splendida

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening meals not the best

    Amazing pool and views - very relaxing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Empty terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Empty terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern room. Great shower. Attentive hosts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.5
    Italian movie hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    An ideal hotel for a perfect relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location, the views, and the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too hard.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    All
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.0
    Private parking but still got robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the property has private parking we still got our car robbed... A real pity...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    The Crew is very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Crew is very kind and helpful. The view is amazing. Bar is excelent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room too hot, air conditioning should improve

    fantastic location, excellent staff, excellent outdoor restaurant osteria antonio

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    An unforgettable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exactly what I wanted! Comfort, beach , swimming pool , sea! And a very pleasant companion. And if you rent a car everything is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location away from the main tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say about the hotel. But you do need a car to get there and to visit other parts of Sicily as it is quite isolated. No access to the sea but the pool is fantastic.

    Quiet location away from the main tourist areas. Fab infinity pool filled from the sea. Balcony overlooking the sea. Beautiful breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was beautiful with very nice staff and we had a...
    • Couple

    Only the tiny TV could do with updating but with those views it wasn't a big deal.

    The hotel was beautiful with very nice staff and we had a lovely room with a fabulous view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    For us it was perfectly located, being able to swim in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An idealyicd setting for outdoor restaurant but service did not match the setting.

    For us it was perfectly located, being able to swim in the Med and a great hotel pool. We had a hire car so access was OK. The hotel was well set up and met our 4 star expectation.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.2
    Peace and tranquil location albeit slightly inaccessible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inconsistent wi fi in room and very small tv

    Peace and tranquil location albeit slightly inaccessible unless you had a car Brilliant staff service Great sea facing room No traffic noise Brilliant sea water infinity pool Lovely large areas to relax both outdoor and inside

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    Staff, especially Chiara at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kind of commercial with big groups around.

    Staff, especially Chiara at the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location with great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location with great value for money. Nice pool and colorful family friendly hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.3
    Swimming pool with sea water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was not very clean and also sea view from our room on first floor was limited and not very nice (roofs)

    Swimming pool with sea water

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    5.8
    Pool and outside area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is the worst I've ever experienced and breakfast is very very limited

    Pool and outside area

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Santa Tecla Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: