Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Marina 4 stars

Campo Santa Marina 6068, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#215 of 310 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was ok nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm...checked-in, the staff (white male) was rude and was not helpful at all. We mentioned that we was here on our wedding 1st anniversary..he turned around and said this is peak time if you want a better room you will have to pay more (that's what they call good will gesture). My husband asked for any good food places and what would you recommend, the staff looked at my husband 'I don't understand' and his face said it all he did not want to help us in any way of form. To be honest if the room had not been nice then I would have checked-out and gone to another hotel...lucky our room was on the other side and did not have to see the receptionist. We was taken to our room by another worker he was ok, as we walked in realised the socket was 2 pin and we did not get an adapter with us so my dear husband asked for an adapter. The nice guy said yes I will get you one....3 hours later my husband called the reception (unhelpful guy answered) said 'no there's no adapters all our guests have taken it, if you want you can buy from the shops'. Ignored that again. The next night as our phone charge was really low my husband decided to call the reception one more time. This time someone else answered and seemed quite helpful over the phone. He said if he can get an adapter he will call back. Within 5 minutes he called back and my husband said he will come over to collect it. Went to the reception (black male) handshaked my husband and said 'adapter is mine and keep it until you check-out I will wirte it down in the book', because of that one staff both of us was really happy and he made our trip even better in venice (cos i'm not going to lie, after the treatment we got felt like vencie was not for us) but a huge thanks to that one wonderful guy! I'd go to venice again but not to this hotel...NEVER AGAIN to santa marina

    Breakfast was ok nothing fancy. The room we really liked it, the view was good which was the cherry on top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    position, clean, staff, quiet, not on main tourist routes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast should be with more variety. still ok but could be better

    position, clean, staff, quiet, not on main tourist routes still very close to main spots by walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay, good breakfast and great location being at a walking distance to most attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my room's bathroom I had issues to shower as the shower head is in the middle of the bath tub and the shower glass screen only went half way so my bathroom floor got all wet.

    The room is very big, at least in comparison to many other hotel rooms in Venice where you can't fit anything. The bed and pillows were comfortable, there was a nice closet and the wifi worked great. Plenty of sweet options for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection is very poor and their excuse as to why is even worse. Front desk staff are sulky, cold. They seem to just not care. And getting a thank or a smile from these people... forget it.

    Location, it's clean, it's silent. Comfortable bed. Very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, only 2 minute walk to Rialto bridge. Good size double room with outstanding views of a canal. Very good breakfast serving both hot and cold meals, perfect way to prepare for a day of sightseeing. Bathroom was great with good powerful shower and a jacuzzi bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is in a great spot, the breakfast was good and the staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit patchy in our room, it worked near the front door but not in bed.

    The room was comfortable and clean, the hotel is in a quiet area but not far away from the grand canal and public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Adequate but quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening manager was arrogant. Lighting was difficult. Finding the room required a guide.

    Room small but usable. Very clean property. Breakfast room crowded but breakfast was terrific. The place is much like Venice: a bit like a rabbit warren.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    2.5
    Do Not Book This Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rude Staff....Unreasonable rules....Unresponsive to requests or questions....beware if you book this property.... reservation deposits not refundable, cannot even change a reservation to a different date if you need to without losing the entire amount paid for the first reservation. This hotel is very uncooperative. Find someplace else with reasonable cancellation and change policies. Find someplace else that will actually communicate with you and that believes in all around customer service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really a 4 star, more like a 3 star, but we still had a pleasant stay.

    Hotel has a very good location, only a few minutes walk to St Mark's Square.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    the food was of good quality everywhere we tried, but a bit...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    avoid if possible the water taxi or travel in groups on them - prices where exorbitant - journey from & to the airport 120 euro each way- so travellers watch your flight times in and out as when the public transport goes off - there is no other option but to use them

    the food was of good quality everywhere we tried, but a bit pricy depending on where you ate. Hotel staff very helpful , the room was very clean and breakfast was pretty decent too -

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice cosy hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have been better with more variety and fresh fruit.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, room always clean. Any request was dealt with immediately and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel located near Rialto Bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to find the hotel, especially if you arrive at night. Walking to the hotel we need to go through dark alleys, which is quite scary in Venice at night.

    Breakfast was nice, love the croissants. 5 mins walk from Rialto boat stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Good location to discover Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny and bathroom very dated. Definitely not the one which has been displayed on the booking website. Breakfast was more then disappointing, I would expect in 4* hotel more variety in food

    Once you mange to find the hotel and what is around it the location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.1
    Good location for amenities and exploring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of urine in the bathroom even though it was clean that lasted the whole stay. Very very noisy in the streets outside from very early on from the carts.

    Delicious large selection of items for breakfast. Food and drink was all very good. Room was nice. Room service tidied and changed bed daily. Opposite bakery/cafe and supermarket. Excellent restaurants nearby (Rossopomodoro)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering the quality of the hotel as a whole, breakfast could be improved.

    Very beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Helpful staff and a nice room, which although small remains comfortable. All in all, superb choice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is hard to be found for first timers .. it's better if hotel provides a detailed location map or suggest the water taxi

    The cleanses of the room and the comfort also the staff were very helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect spot for a stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Avoid room 615 - it is like a furnace in the basement with hot pipes under the floor. Was impossible to sleep in this sweltering room, even after the nice staff brought us a fan.

    Beautiful hotel, great location a short walk from Rialto and San Marco, fab breakfast of sweet and savory, but more importantly - fantastic staff (who moved us to a new room for night two) who were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location and overall experience was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of a wall (sewage pipe running down the wall)

    Breakfast was very good. Bit cramped in the breakfast area but manageable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Short: I will come again to this hotel if in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and cosy hotel in the heart of Venice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect little spot to appreciate venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been more diverse

    Extremely comfortable bed - close to major attractions and friendly helpful staff couldn’t ask for more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff and localisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expert to have better Breakfast with fresh fruits , real orange juice 😳

    Staff and localisation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Very close to Rialto and easy to find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator and narrow stairs.

    Very close to Rialto and easy to find it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds were uncomfortable

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    This was not our first stay at Hotel Santa Marina and I'm sure it will not be our last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints!

    amazingly we were upgraded to a suite, thanks!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel with the wow factor!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Inside decor of building/rooms. Excellent food.knowledgable staff. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Overall we loved Venice and will go back, would probably choose another more modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was smaller than expected and it was awkward tackling staircases to the room.

    Good location and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.0
    location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad Internet , four star hotel should offer free natural water

    location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice cozy hotel, centrally located with nice personel and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast Excellent positioning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Great location and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not amazing but the comfort of the room and location made up for this :)

    Super room and super location, loved the room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.1
    Central location, lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    综合下来还不错
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is not stable very well

    the breakfast was so good,room is clean,i will choose here again when i come to vience next time

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    3rd stay here. Second time outdoor area was unavailable. Staff not friendly like other times. Asked for quote to stay in end of September with 2 other friends. Price very expensive. Made a comment and told it is peak season. Got 400 euro cheaper with a suite elsewhere. Very disappointed this time.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    5.8
    Good location - close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible noise every night and every morning - due to flatboats picking up the garbage and providing hotel with food. We couldn't sleep at all even with earplugs.

    Good location - close to everything

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    The Hotel was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only slight problem was we had a room on the front and when tourists or workers went by in the early hours of the morning they could be loud and disturb our sleep.

    The Hotel was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. I have never seen such a good buffet breakfast laid out and there were plenty of choices. The lounge was nice to come back to and have a drink/coffee.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent, very convenient, central but quietly hidden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast seems to be not quite on par with the hotel of such a class. One suggestion would be to serve prosecco at breakfast, just as many hotels in Northern Italy that we visited do. This would make the guests much more happier right away, without whole bunch of investment. WiFi speed in our room was rather slow, and the signal was weak.

    Excellent, very convenient, central but quietly hidden location. Staff is nice, and is efficient and helpful in finding solutions to problems or requests.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    The room and bathroom were really lovely and excellent value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was the only thing a bit disappointing as fruit juice tasteless, food a bit boring and room rather dull with strange light caused by overhead heaters!

    The room and bathroom were really lovely and excellent value for money. The square was pretty with lots of good shops, bars and osteria nearby.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    10
    The staff, the location and the hotel itself are just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The need to fix the wifi connection, but this is the only thing that we didn't like.

    The staff, the location and the hotel itself are just amazing. We will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful. Room was immaculately clean and very luxurious. Only spent one night there but would highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.5
    Lovely room great location helpful staff breakfast not great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely room great location helpful staff breakfast not great but fair

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    7.5
    Lovely room, well decorated and nice and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People talking outside under our window.

    Lovely room, well decorated and nice and cosy.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    The wifi works poorly
    • Couple

    The wifi works poorly

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Brilliant position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Brilliant position. Close to Rialto but secluded enough to be peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful and convenient location, friendly staff, air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    intermittent wi-fi

    Beautiful and convenient location, friendly staff, air conditioned rooms

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff. Comfortable room tastefully decorated. First rate amenities

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    Impossible to sleep with the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Impossible to sleep with the noise Very poor quality Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    Nice hotel & staff,nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed & pillows to firm.

    Nice hotel & staff,nice room. Good location yet quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    7.5
    Clean and quiet area,super market opposite to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff behavior,pillow too hard,far from city center,

    Clean and quiet area,super market opposite to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    6.7
    friendly staff on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast not the best but ok

    friendly staff on reception. nice & quiet location

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.9
    Staff was friendly, breakfast was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Was difficult to find, come prepared with a map and an exact location on it.

    Staff was friendly, breakfast was decent.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    The location and the staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location and the staff were great. Good value for money. We will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    4.2
    Carpet was so dirty and breakfast was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet was so dirty and breakfast was poor. Room was smelling.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location Ambiance Comfort Character

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.9
    Nice clean comfortable hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice clean comfortable hotel in lovely location. Would visit again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Our room overlooking the canal was just how i imagined in my dreams.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: