Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sant'Ambroeus 3 stars

Viale Papiniano 14, Milan City Centre, 20123 Milan, Italy

#278 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 844 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room is very basic. Breakfast is everyday the same and is not at all good. They are still on traditional way of working. I asked for invoice to be mailed to me but they could not.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the breakfast very Italian, which is sweets and mostly only Italians have sweet breakfast. Too many cakes and cookies in my opinion! To be more international as a hotel should be you could offer eggs, toasted bread, chopped fruit (definitely more welcoming than grabbing giant apples to peel them yourself)

    Staff very gentle

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs modernization, a little tired looking but because hotel was clean we were happy enough to overlook it

    Staff extremely friendly, room was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed most of the time, one of the receptionist was a bit rude as was busy, but local supermarket is well stocked ;)

    Staff mostly very friendly, good location, metro station 5 min walk takes you to duomo and central station in 10 min, very clean, one of the male receptionists was very informative and friendly, my request for room with balcony on upper floor was met, would stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place and good value, just think they should have non Italian English speaking TV channels, so when non Italian Guests have been walking all day sight seeing around Milan they can go back to their Hotel room after a long and relax watching TV

    Good value, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The conditioner did not work No electric kettle in the room No information that the hotel is just in front of the prison Breakfast could be more varied for 3-star hotel Limited number of TV programs, only in Italian

    Staff is very pleasant The location of the hotel is close to the center and to the metro; one supermarket is close, too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic hotel, very old fashioned. Worst detail: the quality of the beds. Very old, hard beds. Both me and my travel partner weren't able to sleep well.

    The first night we had a room close to the busy street. Luckily we were able to change without extra costs to the back side of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small, but otherwise nothing else bad to report!

    The breakfast downstairs was nice.. there were some great pastry options and cafe on demand! My room was ready early, too which was nice. The hotel is very close to the Metro with connections to the station to get the Malpensa Express, so connecting to Milan Center was not an issue! The staff was very nice and accommodating throughout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit dated, feels like Id been transported into the 80's. Other than it needing a modern makeover, I couldn't really fault it.

    Great location, good friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillows were a little to hard for us. The room was small but we were able to work around it. The hotel is a little dated but we did not spend to much time within the hotel.

    We liked that it was close to the metro (3 blocks away) and close a supermarket. The breakfast was very good and the staff wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is well out of the city centre in an area that lacks restaurants. However, it's easily reached by metro only three blocks away.

    This is a well-appointed and operated budget hotel in Milan. The rooms are clean and comfortable and well-serviced, and the staff are very efficient and polite. Although I didn't access it, they appear to offer a substantial breakfast at nominal additional cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no blankets in the rooms but were provided on request.

    The place is very well communicated. Very close to the metro station of Green Line 2 Sant'agostino. The staff were very kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unpleasant and seemed mindless for the smallest question. The elevator was really small, nothing for a person who is afraid of small spaces. The breakfast was not good, the coffee old and not drinkable. We left the breakfast still hungry. Does not recommend this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for only couple nights so I'm not sure but I didn't have any problems there

    The location was perfect for me close to the metro so I could go anywhere without any problems :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - air con could be stronger - shower cubicle wall didn't touch the edge of the bathtub properly so we kinda flooded the bathroom anytime we had a shower - one English TV channel would have been nice

    - free wifi - good breakfast - metro station close to hotel - helpful and friendly staff - air con - fridge - many plugs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to use metro for going to city centre, but metro station is near to hotel.

    Old school, clean and nice hotel with kind staff. Hotel's location is not noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing bad.

    Nice and helpful staff. I arrived to the hotel very early(7am) but i was able to get my room easily. Hotel has a very good breakfast, especially coffees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there was nothing too bother us, all in all a very nice experience

    - very good location, close to the metro station - breakfast was good, including also some salami and ham, which is a plus for an Italian breakfast - the room was really nice, with comfy bed and nice decoration - very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even if the balcony was specified at booking, the room had only a simple window. And no slippers. All the other features are available! The shower is a bit small, but it has a safety system (if needed)!

    The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the metro station, with good connections in any direction. The Navigli area is at a walking distance of the hotel. The staff is extremely kind. They know English and even French. Everything is kept clean. The breakfast is varied and for all tastes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly and unhelpful, hotel is outdated, it was a cold night in spring and they wouldn't turn on heating.

    Shower pressure. In my opinion this is a hotel for a single person with very low expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, facing the street, was a bit noisy during the night.

    Very good value for money. Helpful staff. Metro station close by. There is also tram 10 which takes you directly to the canals where you have a lot of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didnt have the stic (if you don't wash your hair you must use the shower cup)

    Comfertble clean friendly old school hotel. Location was good ( 5 min to metro, 15 min to navilio) it is on a main street nothing sspecial Room was small clean cozy with small balcony . Breakfast basic Nice italien coffee & toast, No eggs but for me it was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard and there was a problem getting ice and there was no English TV. Other than that we were very satisfied. The staff was very helpful and polite

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast,have no variation of food.

    The room and the bahtroom is clean,the bed is comfortable.The location is good ,near with metro station,only have to walk 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are pretty hard.

    The price-quality is just what you can expect with a fairly good room and everything you normally would need. The breakfast has all the things you need, but dont expect too much from it. Its fairly close to the metro and if walking is not an issue; close to all attractions.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too cold in Milan and the hotel was controlling the heater. They used to turn it off at night or very early in the morning! I used to call them several times in order to turn it on again!

    The hotel has a perfect location and its staff are so friendly!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, there are a lot of points like : very bad soundproof of windows and walls ( if you stay on the street part, You can hear all the cars noises and that's very disturbing ) Cleaning, not for a 3 stars hotel Not central position like in description Etc

    Staffs, the front guy from desk , the breakfast personal ( with a big note for the old guy )

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small but you're also not paying a jackpot. I also think they overcharged me for things from the minibar. A €2 euro Coca Cola became €2.50.

    Good location and wonderful staff. Price is also very reasonable for what you're getting. Connection to public transport is good and there are lots of good things within walking distance. Supermarket around the corner also doesn't hurt.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room which we were primarily given smelled of cigarettes, even though it is not allowed to smoke inside. We moved rooms, and on our second night there someone decided to smoke inside their room again, making the entire corridor stink, and the smell got into our room as well. It has been handled quickly after contacting the reception, but I think that they should come up with better prevention methods. Better smoke detectors maybe? The city tax came out to be quite high for the time that we were staying there, compared to other places. Additionally, it is quite far from all the major /most important places (e.g. cathedral, larger shopping areas, etc.)/centre of Milan, so considering the overall quality and location of this hotel, we believe that it should be cheaper.

    The beds were very comfortable and big. The staff members in the breakfast area were very nice, especially the man making coffee and tea. Overall, it was very quiet at night, and we were never bothered by anybody.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I received room with double bed but with two mattresses, they were constantly drifting apart (sic!). Next morning I received brand new room where everything was okay, that's the reason for my overall mark.

    Good wifii coverage.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small - too small. It was a shower only, toilet handbasin and bidet. No handrails. They could do with having air conditioning. We had to open the window at night and I was bitten by mosquitos as result.

    It was near a metro stop. It has a market down the street on Tuesday and all day Saturday.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a residental neighborhood and a little boaring, but it was near center by metro

    Clean, near metro stop, near a grat super market, breakfast was average, the price was fair,10 minutes to milan Doumo by metro

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the heavy blanket that was in the room wasn't comfortable.

    The staff at the front desk was very friendly. Being a minor I need parental consent to check in but the staff was cooperative and gave me time to send an email to them.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the mornings the breakfast was running out of supplies some good half an hour before its announced end (maybe due to a large group of tourists but still not an excuse).

    Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can be better than this specially the coffee was poor quality

    Staffs were so friendly and helpful. Hotel is close to metro station and few stop to Milan central. Good value for money. The big supermarket near to hotel. Quiet room and clean bedroom. Good conditioner. Recommend to all young people

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had the worst experience and treatment by one of the hotel "staff"... He should not have a place in hospitality. I deeply regret staying at this hotel..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast from 8:30, it is too late to start a day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi required signing up to marketing emails / giving social media accounts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little expensive

    Room and breakfast is beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small closet space.

    All I needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    design of hotel very dated

    practical location good value for money at the busy time of the Salone del Mobile clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price/quality did not match. I do expect higher prices during Milan Design week, but this price is outrageous for what you offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't sleep for all the traffic noise....woke at 6am!

    checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small

    Very helpful personnel, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast selection. Very accomodating staff. Close to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room interior, no slippers

    Good bed, good central heat, clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Iron in the room, thin walls.

    Price and access to Metro

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some noise do to location on the road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise in room was loud with window shut. We were on 3rd floor.

    Staff on reception were very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, cleaning.

    Staff, location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their B&B was awful. They did not provide cooked breakfast .

    The cleanliness of their rooms .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice

    Nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    LOCATION BREAKFAST STAFF OVERALL EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot and A/c was awful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and location

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super helpful staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in the room.

    Breakfast included and staff availability

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not as near as the centre as i expected but there is a metro close by.

    Close metro station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    acoustic of the walls were not good, you can see everything of next room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DIDN'T EXPECT WAS NON INCLUDED BREAKFAST, but it non depends on the Hotel : your booking confirmation was non clear about.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hear some noise in the other room

    The breakfast is really good and the receptionist is very nice...the place is very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    camere piccole e "datate"

    rapporto qualità prezzo cortesia staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's courtesy and good location. Worth money value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more variety.

    Location was perfect. Staff were friendly and kind.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too firm for my liking.

    The staff helped me with the language barrier, parking, use the Metro, find the bank, food, and drink.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't the best. Bathroom was cramped.

    Decent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for the quality (but that is common in Milan)

    Not far from the center and close to a metro station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was tiny and very dated

    Free WiFi Extra pillows and bedding in the room 2min walk to the Metro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the street side and traffic was quite noisy.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sant'Ambroeus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: