Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Zulian 3 stars

San Marco 527, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#257 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1444 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Property was weirdly laid out (elevator and then stairs to our room) - Breakfast wasn't great and simple. - no shower curtain so the floor got all wet when showering

    Property location was amazing... So close to St Marks Square but far enough to not hear it. Comfortable room, nice AC.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite rude front desk. Cramp room. No coffee-water heater in room. Value for money is not worth. Avoid. Many other alternative cheaper hotels nearby.

    Near San Marco, restaurants and souvenir shops nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the location, the continental breakfast was OK, the afternoon front desk manager was extremely helpful and very professional. We didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel so we are unable to comment. Room 153 was great, large with a spa bath, a little dark and hard to get to but you're in Venice... What do you expect. We recommend San Zulian highly for a short stay of 2 to 3 days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    people used the courtyard to smoke and our air con then sucked in the cigarette smoke. We did found it difficult to find as the front appeared to be a restaurant, but after consulting the photo from our booking, we located it.

    Breakfast was basic but sufficient - no gluten free - cereal, tea, coffee, scrambled eggs, yoghurt The staff are all friendly and helpful, carried my heavy bag to my room. I like that you get your own little apartment round the back away from the busy streets,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was poor. Breakfast room appeared to be too small for the number of guests. When food ran out , ages before replacements came. Selection of items poor,no variety of fruit and no concession made for coeliacs. There was yogurt and fruit. No water available, small common area for relaxation. When hotel informed that they did not provide for coeliacs, I would have cancelled but this information came after payment

    The staff were helpful and pleasant. At breakfast seemed at times to be understaffed and stressed. As we had a very early start on the day we left we asked for a wake up call. Fortunately we had set alarms as the call did not come! The location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be better, more fruits. Access to the room was a good leg exercise (positive)

    Beautiful room, clean and spacious. Personnel was friendly and serious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, was also rude. I've never stayed anywhere like it. So so bad

    Super basic extremely rude staff. Apparently due to the building structure, the rooms smell like cigarettes smoke and there's nothing the can do about it. DO NOT STAY HERE. Breakfast is also not worth the money at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and price of this hotel. The staff are all friendly and helpful, even carried my heavy bag to my room. I like that you get your own little apartment round the back away from the busy streets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning or a least they said it could not be used They said the government dictated the use of air conditioning. If that is so they are the only hotel in Italy being controlled. It was very hot and leaving the window open resulted in being eaten alive by mosquitos. Also the bed was very uncomfortable. Finally my room was over the cafe so having to keep the windows open made everything in the room smell like charred beef of fish.

    Location was good. People were accommodating and breakfast was OK

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast every day was the same

    Very close to major sights like San Marco, Rialto and gallery of Academy. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the second hotel of four that we stayed in over a two week period. Three days prior to our arrival(as we arrived at our first hotel) the hotel declined our already authorised card and demanded that we pay for the first night even though we had opted for non-prepayment, which was confirmed. We obliged and updated our details to enable this to enable some security, however the hotel then cancelled our original prior booking. We did however rebook at a much cheaper rate. With the exception of one staff member who we met on reception, the staff on reception were absolutely appalling. The rooms were quite shabby and the furniture needs updating asap! The bed especially, has given my wife back problems.

    Location for the price paid was excellent. And the bathroom was one of the best albeit a little small, which is to be expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was disappointing, mosquitos everywhere in the room and restaurant area,as well as bugs.air con didn't work. When asked about it was told by staff at front desk it was because of "the low"?????

    Checked in early thankfully and location was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of the front desk guys were pretty rude. We wanted to pay for our hotels separately and they would not let us. Told two out of the three of us that our cards were declined. Phone calls to bank proved this to not be true.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn`t good. My room was exactly behond the receprion and always noisy specially during breakfast, we bothered with noise.

    Location was just perfect. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which you are putting in your room details was wrong! The room is very hot! There was no air conditioned! We didn't sleep well because it was too hot and there were mosquitoes and bugs! When we woke up in the morning we have bug bites everywhere especially my 2 sons! My lilttle one's face is full of bug bites!

    Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the breakfast it was a few and bad quality options. The coffee was burned in Italy that cannot happen.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. Also the WiFi has a good speed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in bathroom could be improved. Breakfast was continental therefore sparse. Bedroom should have had a dressing mirror.

    Room was recently renovated with high ceilings and above standard decor. Bed super size and comfortable. En suite facilities above standard. Superb location offering better value for money compared to peers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was close to a church so it could be quite noisy every time the church bells toll.

    Location: walking distance to the Piazza San Marco and the Rialto The receptionists were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure you can do anything about it but I did not like the shower in the middle of the bathroom....everything ended up wet! While we appreciated being in the ground floor, it was remarkably noisy in the morning and late evening. Some of that noise was the staff. Early one morning somebody turned on the vacuum!!!!!

    The staff at breakfast was extra attentive. She knew after the first day that I wanted de-caf coffee and brought it without being asked. I appreciated that. She was a very hard worker!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were given room 207. The smallest room we have ever seen. A tiny room with tiny bathroom. Right next to the lift so you could hear the lift all night. We thought that perhaps all rooms were this size but after walking around the hotel it seemed not. Most rooms were much more spacious. We asked to move rooms and thankfully we were moved. New room 202 much more spacious with a much bigger shower. No kettle in rooms which would have been nice. If you’re not on your own. Say no to room 207. Only suitable for a cat! Also they hotel should invest in some mosquito plugs. Even in March, a lot of mosquitos in the rooms. Nothing a whack with a pair of trousers couldn’t solve.

    You get what you pay for and this is a reasonably priced hotel with a fab location. Rooms pretty basic but good for the price. Staff were friendly and breakfast simple but satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Loved it all!

    When we arrived the gentleman on the front desk was so welcoming and spoke perfect English. He showed us to our room which was in a separate bit of the hotel so felt so private and secluded. And the breakfast was yummy!!! Couldn’t recommend enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was away from the hotel and the room was dark and very noisy. The breakfast was rubbish and everything needs updating. When we checked out the man at the desk just took our key and wasn’t bothered with us. Very rude. I wouldn’t stay here again if you paid me.

    The closeness to the area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative things

    Everything met our expectations. The staff were friendly from the arrival to the last day. The breakfast was great, they offer some sandwiches, croissants and yogurts, tea and coffee. The location is excellent, the hotel is located in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast area had a terrible musky smell. Coffee could be better considering this is Italy. No eggs offered. Selection is very basic. Check-in reception was welcoming and eager to brief us. All other front desk staff did not even bother to greet us whenever we leave or arrive at the hotel. Room has outdated TV model. Bed looks old and saggy. Beddings used are like in a budget motel. Refrigerator was not cold enough. Some thoughtful considerations & improvements would have made a huge difference to offset room size. Expect noise from outside depending on your room. For the same price, twin room seems much bigger that a double bed/queen room.

    Proximity to San Marco & Rialto. Elevator is a plus esp. with the luggages.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices are scary and the quality of the room didn’t match the price. The location is what you pay for. Breakfast wasn’t great either most of the staff was kind though.

    There was one gentlemen who was super friendly. I wish I got his name because he was amazing but the older man that was at the reception was rude. Location is great but the room was ok. I believe there where spiders or bed bugs because my family and I were bit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff being unfriendly - not even a receipt of payment. No maps available. First time being treated like a stupid tourist who doesn't understand anything. Breakfast - disappointing.

    Bathtub with jacuzzi function

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was supposed to be bigger and also have a double bed. it had a twin bed and it was very wobbly. It kept splitting in the middle. The bathroom was smaller than we expected. It felt very cramped. The room that you see in the pictures is not the one that you get. The croissants at the breakfast were not fresh, they were put on a plate from a bag from shop.

    The location is central. The staff was helpful. They changed our room in order not to wait any longer, as majority of the people opted for a late check out and our initial allocated room was one of the last ones scheduled to be cleaned. The room was clean. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room that was provided was not as depicted in the photos on the booking site at all. Not spacious and smelt like dranage, couldn’t sleep for the most of it. Tries breakfast once at the property (which was included with the room), did not eat breakfast from the property the trip... the hotel was too dirty in general!

    Was very close to all main attractions around Venice including vaporetto and other transportation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs up to the apartment. slight smell from the plumbing. But in all. Would stay here again.

    Beautiful large room styled exquisitely in the Venetian style. The apartment is separate from the main hotel but worth the seclusion considering the size. Try the Pasta to Go in your alleyway. It is well worth it and crowded for good reason.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We probably had the smallest rooms in the hotel, the furniture was somewhat outdated, bathroom was small and the fridge had a leakage, but we didn't stay there much.

    The location was great, close to St Marc's square, and still in a relatively quiet area. There were some good restaurants and wine bars close by. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. Not helpful or friendly at fri t desk. When we checked in staff said he did not have our booking. Then he said he found it but it was the wrong room, finally he realised he was looking at the wrong date for checkins. Finally I was expecting a note re my Pick up service. It was delivered in the morning and if if did not check With front desk About 9 pm they would not have given me the letter!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the hotel. When we got there, they gave us a room at different hotel. They just asked us to follow a person at the reception and took us to a different hotel a block away. I asked them why and was told that there is no room at San Zulian. The room they gave us so inferior. 5th floor without elevator and so steep and holes on the wall. It was dangerous. What happened was they overbooked.

    The location was good, very close to San Marco but I realized that Venice is so small. Everywhere is walking distance. So distance does not really matter. Also noisy. Bar downstair

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Excellent location but hard to locate from the railway station. The breakfast room was horribly cramped and the breakfast lacking in adequate choice especially fruit and meat

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite unhelpful and our room was dark and dingy. The walls were covered in dark fabric and we had two tiny windows one of which had frosted glass. The beds were very uncomfortable and the hotel was general in a poor state of repair. I would say that this hotel is massively overpriced.

    This hotel is in a fabulous location for all the main sightseeing attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark, weird smelling room. Not clean at all - black hair on the floor, in the bathroom - awful! Beds not comfortable.

    Very good localization - the only pro of this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We received a nicely decorated room, very clean and quite too. Location-wise the place was surrounded by many restaurants and boutiques. Overall, we were very happy with the setup.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complimentary tea and coffee in the room. Electric kettle and electric iron at the facility if not possible in the room. Comfortable bed/beds.

    The location is very handy for a tourist, however, it was not the worth of money. The bed was not very comfortable and complimentary tea and coffee was just not there. No electric ironing facility in the room or in the hotel. When we reached the hotel somebody guided us through lanes to another hotel with a different name "San Marco." We have aa feeling that San Zulian had no place and they just traded us to another hotel. The only thing good at San Marco was the breakfast which was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly ventilated room Breakfast was below average Dark room Strong smell of bleach used to clean bathroom "Fridge" was interesting Hallways were dingy with mould Most of the stands were pretty miserable

    Location and one member of staff was really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was old in every way, rooms dark and dingy, shown on the photos as being reasonable reality was the whole of the hotel was past its best and in need of a complete make over to bring it to a modern facility. Price was high for what the hotel is. Staff not helpful and had cant care less attitude when confronted about the state of the hotel.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible coffee in the morning at breakfast. No kettle in the room & the safe was lose & could've been carried out of the room !

    Location, church bells & staff. Great to have a fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of money for what it was and no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, which would have been nice!

    Location was great in the middle of to San Marco and the Rinalto bridge!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited. Elevator needed servicing. Noise from room above. One of the Desk Agents was always rude & inconvenienced while other staff was excellent. His attitude ruined the moment several times. He doesn't need to work in customer service. Would have given Property high 8 had it not been for his attitude.

    Great location - very convenient to both San Marco and Rialto. Most of the staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk reception when I checked in lacked tact. The front desk persons didn't even greet us as we enter the premises. Not friendly.

    The stay included breakfast which provided a lot of choices. The location was perfect because it was at the heart of San Marco.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows where like rocks, 2 single beds placed together, not ideal.

    Great location close to San Marco and Rialto side of island. 10 meters away from private water taxi. Great restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a cooked breakfast or a more generous provision of fruit. Because I don't do cereal or bread, it was a bit limited. Not a huge problem just worth mentioning though.

    Location was excellant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problems with a private property on the last floor of the hotel with noisy people. Staff were very helpful to solve this delicate problem. The choice of food at breakfast is a bit limited. The seating outside the hotel is restricted to morning hours only. We tried the restaurant next door and I certainly do not recommend it. Food sucks there (we almost got a food intoxication) and the Pakistani staff is rude.

    Beautiful room. Very friendly stuff. Outstanding location. The lady organizing breakfast is adorable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude. We had breakfast daily as it was included in our room rate, until we checked out and we're required to pay 9 euro per day for it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom shower head did not work properly. As so happened it was a very hot week when we were there and it was irritating that I could not take a proper good shower. Reported to the desk but nothing happened.

    Location is excellent. Surrounded by restaurants, shopping, historical sites. Very close to St. Mark square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Careful of the restaurant prices if you choose to have dinner there. Watch out for hidden extras.

    The room had a fridge in it, and the bathroom was well-appointed and super-clean. The location was fantastic for accessing St Mark's Square and the helpful staff gave advice and help when I got lost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little more extensive!

    It was a quaint older style Hotel. Location was excellent . Staff not unpleasant but not very welcoming! Breakfast choice was very limited. Shower was very good - hot water plentiful. Bed very comfortable and towels a good size. Room clean and well presented just older style. Shower and lifts were very small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff. Beds and pillows too hard. Wifi poor. Air con not cool enough. Tv didn't work.

    Location. Breakfast. Fridge in room. Lots of coat hangers!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi in the room almost didn't exist: our devices could successfully connect to the router but 90% of time could not get into the internet - most probably some configuration issue at router side. The WiFi in the main building (lobby and breakfast areas) worked fine (not fast, but we could connect at least), but not in the room. The bed was not comfortable: it was not actually a double bed but rather two singles placed together and covered by a single sheet. The room had a mini-bar-sized fridge, but it was empty. The included breakfast was very basic: some ham, some cheese, yogurt, sweet croissants and cornflakes - that's better then nothing but I'd expect to get a bit more in Italy.

    Location is excellent: really close to San Marco, very convenient to walk to all major destinations. When we arrived we were given an upgrade to a "junior suite" room, which was large, had a jacuzzi and overall looked great (attached a picture). However, this room was located in a different building about a block away from the hotel itself, so we had to walk for the breakfast (not a big deal considering the amount of walk you will do in Venice anyway). The street is very quite (and the walls and windows have good noise protection). Air conditioning was also quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is very poor. Moreover, we were asked to move to table for 2 persons, even though the breakfast area was empty at that time. Also, the beds are not comfortable at all.

    Location is very good: shops, grocery stores, restaurants and, of course, some of the main sights are situared nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was dirty with black mold between the tiles and hair in the shower plughole. Room was not in the hotel, it was located around the corner down a dark alley. Room was cramped and expensive.

    Nothing, best to avoid this place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my needs there was nothing I didn't lkke

    The room was comfortable with a small fridge and a modernised bathroom. There was air conditioning (much needed as it was in the thirties) and enough closet space for two. The location was perfect - a very short walk to St Marks Square Breakfast was good with two cereals, Orange juice, fresh morning rolls, ham, cheese, vanilla croissants filled with apricot jam and of course good coffee. The dining room is narrow and a bit cramped and sometimes replenishment was a little slow but I was on holiday so it didn't matter All in all a good hotel to stay for a few days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed & pillows were very uncomfortable The blanket under the top cover of the bed was gross Air conditioner didn't work all the time Front desk day shift we're not helpful at all. I felt we were bothering them. When asked for a restaurant referral, staff responded they're only allowed to refer to the hotels restaurant The entire hotel needs drastic and emergent upgrading. Very expensive for a 1 to 2 star hotel but rated 3 stars on booking.com

    Checking out!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This is the WORST HOTEL EVER ! The room was dirty when we got there. The staff isn't friendly at all, breakfast was served from 7-10, my friend and I got there at 9:45 for breakfast and the chef didn't allow us to eat. She was yelling in Italian so we couldn't understand. Look like she was really mad even though there were still people eating in the cafeteria. WIFI DOESNT WORK IN THE ROOM JUST IN THE RECEPTION ROOM. I couldn't call my boyfriend for 2 days ! Plus they have hidden fee of 14€ when you get there BE AWARE. You're better off booking else where. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the room was newly decorated it was dark and uninviting. Located in a new part of the hotel, it was accessible via an unfinished stone staircase, which gave the impression you were going into the basement. The facilities in the room were basic - mini fridge was not stocked and there were no tea/ coffee facilities. Breakfast was very basic. This was our third stop in Italy - having been to Rome and Florence first and it was a disappointing end to our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very cold staff, receptionist have problem to greet when you enter the hotel - only cold breakfasts- no scrambled eggs, bacon or other stuff - room 99 was very small, but I believe they have bigger rooms there

    + good position of hotel + rooms look nice and are "old fashioned" + I think it was a good price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue we faced was trying to figure out where to board the private water taxi to take us to the train station.

    The staff was very helpful. The location was really good; halfway between San Marco square and the Rialto - both within 10 minutes or less walking distance. It was also somewhat off the beaten path so it was quiet in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Terrible, terrible, terrible!! - Double bed was in fact 2 singles joined together. - No kettle or water provided - No iron or ironing board in the whole hotel, and no care shown by thr staff when raising this as an issue - Terrible old school TV in the room where most of the channels dont work Apart from thr location.. this place is terrible and i believe that Mickey Mouse could do a better job in running this hotel, and atleast getting the basics right.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The younger staff could have been MUCH more helpful...one young gentleman knew nothing & was not very helpful either time I asked him a question. The older gentleman with glasses was friendly, EXTREMELY HELPFUL, & VERY ACCOMODATING!!

    The location was WONDEFUL!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy and there is not an elevator, moreover, the breakfast could be a little bit better.

    The location is the best you can have, in the middle of Rialto and S.Marco close to restaurants, shops, and Gelaterias.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They changed our hotel to Antico Panada with words "We made a mistake." In new hotel they gave us smoking room instead of non-smoking, room was uncleaned, towels smelled as they were washed few weeks ago, minibar was on request and we went to our room almost 5 minutes via several staircases and 2 lifts (no information boards how to get to our room).

    nice breakfast 5th floor with a view at San Marco

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was ok but bedroom could use an update and would be great if it had a safe. It's ok for Max 2 night stay.

    The property was in a great position.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find particularly as at the front there is no sign to say 'Hotel' , it is next to the restaurant San Julian, but the entrance to the hotel just looks like part of the restaurant which is why we were very confused ! Breakfast could've been better not much on offer, coffee not great.

    Comfy bed. Pleasant room. Good location. Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning cannot be regulated -- either full blast or nothing at all. The personnel at the desk and in the breakfast room never smile or any sense of making guests feel at home.

    The hotel was next to piazza San Marco which is an advantage but it can mean that the area is full of tourists and all the restaurants are oriented toward tourists. The room was surprisingly big for a Venetian hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located in the heart of San Marco. Literally steps away. Very convenient for seeing the sights and getting around on water transportation. Great restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel doesn't offer free maps of Venice. Print one before leaving home.

    This is a great hotel that has a city feel. Situated a 6 minute walk from the San Marco ferries and 7 minutes from Rialto. The area around the hotel is filled with restaurants and shops. Great spot to walk around and enjoy the city. Free breakfast included. The staff is attentive and keeps the food stocked. At various times there was always coffee, juice and plenty of food. Any problems, just stop at the frontdesk. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and glad to help you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel San Zulian was beautiful, but you may not get what you pay for.

    I booked with San Zulian but they sent me to another hotel that was not as nice and located in a dark alley without consent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - first got a room vastly different from what they present in photos - it was small, dingy, mouldy and the bathroom was a conversion (ceiling not higher than 1,9 m or sth about that) - asked for a change immediately, the staff first ignored it for a couple of days (!), then acted offended by my request but I finally got a different, ok room. They were not gracious about that at all and I felt very uncomfortable. While I get that tourists are the modern plague in Venice - please be nice if you work in a tourist-oriented place. - very basic breakfast and the guy who was supposed to make fresh coffee usually nowhere to be seen, so effectively coffee from a heated dispenser

    - good wifi - great localization - AC mostly working properly - good pressure and temp of water - asked for an upper storey room and the hotel took that into account

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ask the reception about the time of boat and when the last one will left. she said they stop working at 11 am so I need to take a private boat. but anyone can simply check the website !! and also I was in the wheelchair and they didn't tell me that public transport is free wheelchar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast waitress is a hater, rude and not willing to help. breakfast it's terrible. bad Coffe, no fruits, no eggs, no vegetables, bad bread, no toaster. the room smells like old and no fresh air. we asked for king bed and we had two small bed together, soft and now we are in pain. I asked for a fork and the restaurant waiter said no, I had to scream on the reception. basically all Venice it's a scam for tourist. it's sad.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is described as a hotel with bar, when checking in there is a reception desk and that is it , the bar was next door . We were then taken about 15 min walk to our 2 rooms which we at the top of a building , this wasn't what I booked . Very disappointed , it is inaccurate on your website . I wouldn't book with you again I

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff treated us like lepers after we complained about the room.. As I did yell and scream at them about the room and what we had paid and about my request for a higher floor etc. Which they denied that I had requested as they said they had no record of it..Bookings.com forwarded my request and I received an email back from them.

    It would be hard to like anything about the property as we put into a very small room wedged between an outdoor cleaning room with mops and buckets and the kitchen outside of the hotel in a small alleyway. That was miscoto infested. We were shocked when we were given this room as we had specifically asked for a high floor. The room had no windows. I could go on.. And what bookings. Com showed and what we were given was nowhere near the same room.. And just look at the price we paid.. Top $$$$$$$$.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Zulian traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: