Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sarah Sun Island

Check-In at Fondamenta Beata Giuliana di Collalto 1, Isola di Saccafisola, Giudecca, 30100 Venice, Italy

#363 of 375 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    The location is brilliant very easy to and from boat taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a bit more information on Venice on boat and selection of drinks as twice I asked for drinks and had neither the rooms are very small but ok

    The location is brilliant very easy to and from boat taxi and staying on boat gave you lovely views it was basic but what more do you need as you are out most of time

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Everything else was great , the location, the staff ( Fiona)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiny bathroom , but it was a boat . The bedding was damp and when I pointed it out they changed it for us , but in Italian they said we had spilt Vino , and I understand Italian and pointed out it was not Vino because the bottle was still full .

    Everything else was great , the location, the staff ( Fiona), the breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Treat yourself to a yacht in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit late check-in time and the breakfast was rather conservatively continental. Apart from that we enjoyed the experience immensely.

    We had a fantastic experience at Sarah yacht! The captain’s room looks exactly like on the photos, gets crisp-clean linens and amazing view onto Venice bay, not to mention a direct access to the top deck right from the room and a separate private WC. The boat is moored at Guidecca, a calm and neighborly island away from touristic madness of Venice, with interesting historic background and very much recomended for exploration! The water transport station is few steps away, which is very convenient (get yourself a 24 or 48 hour ticket at your first ride - it’ll save you much in Venice). We were glued to the window starring at water and passing cruise boats most of the hours. Being on a yacht in Venice was extremely exciting, even spoiling, and yet felt true to the city. It also proved to be a good choice financially, considering that breakfast is provided.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean, tidy and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was exactly what we needed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome. Breakfast was ready earlier than timetabled to accommodate a few guests who needed to depart earlier for transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.9
    Don't Stay Here Rude, Deceiving Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the bathrooms wreaked of mold, and the ceiling leaked into our bed, causing us to switch rooms, the part if staying here that ruined it for us was the staff. There was one you don't woman who at least smiled and was kind while she was being unhelpful. But the others, especially the captain and first mate were rude, mean, and they had a complete disregard for customer service. We stayed two nights and the first morning we woke up and they had a sign posted saying the boat we were staying on (there are two) would be leaving until midnight that night and that they had to move our rooms again. When we got back after a day of touring around 8pm, the boat they moved us to had no AC. Being that it was August the heat and humidity was unbearable to sleep in, not to mention the bugs biting, and the fact that they took all the deck chairs and tables along to the day cruise boat, it was extremely uncomfortable for the next 4 hours trying to wait for they came back to see if we could have AC to sleep. (There's not much else on the island) When they arrived they avoided us for another 45 min. Then laughed in our faces when we suggested a refund since we had to leave at 4am and it was 1am before we could talk to them. The captain told us we could only be refunded through booking, which isn't really possible, and then as we were trying to ask how to do that he grabbed his bags and said he was going home, and left. Absolutely rude.

    They offer a small breakfast. The coffee was not great, but doable if you drench it in milk and sugar the way I do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall it is a novelty experience and is fun for a night as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was quite poor, there were no plug sockets in the rooms, and the bathroom is very small and is a wet room without a separate shower stall which were not things we were expecting. Also, the boat is docked on another island so you must have a ticket for the waterboat everyday to get to the main land which is very pricy. The sizes of the rooms seem to vary quite a lot so booking a larger room would be recommended.

    Overall it is a novelty experience and is fun for a night as long as you don't get seasickness, but perhaps not for longer stays unless you really enjoy boats. The staff are nice and so is the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Walker family in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Cabin on Boat
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a big guys so the toilet was a bit of a struggle, but hey it’s a yacht so you need to set your expectations and you can always use the toilet on the main deck which has plenty space

    Superbly quirky yacht setting overlooking the Venice shy line 3 min walk from the sacca fusola waterbus stop which took you to anywhere in the city... breakfast was great continental style with plenty food fruit tea and coffee... and you could sit on deck any time drinking wine and chilling... I would go back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    5 Star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Yaught is beautiful, comfortable and convienient. The water bus stops 20 yards from the boat. The breakfast was lovely and we were spoilt as we were the only guests on board.A little bit of luxuary and very fitting for a city on water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Very nice location and easy to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Troubles with air-condition, so it was very warm in the cabin. Could only open one window to let air in.

    Very nice location and easy to get around. It was nice to be able to hang out on deck.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Quirky but fantastic place to stay in Venice!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms you ha to use a bathroom outside your room and on the boat next to it.

    This is a quirky place to stay in a fantastic location for a trip to Venice. The staff were first class. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The property was clean and it was wonderful being rocked to sleep every night. You have to remeber that it is a boat you are staying on so if you are looking for spacious rooms and big bathrooms then this is not the place to stay. There are bunk beds in some rooms, a double bed in some rooms and the bride room is a triple room. The rooms and toilets are compact, but have everything we needed including a wardrobe and some cupboard space for our clothes and luggage. There is power points in each room to charge phones and I found the WiFi here to be the best I could get in Venice, I could video call home and share all my holiday news. The toilet and shower are like a small wet room they are compact and small. However the water is always hot and they were kept spotless clean. Lots of clean towels were provided also. The breakfast was lovely. There was a buffet with ham cheese and salami. There was a choice of juices, teas and coffee, milk and chocolate milk. There were crackers and soft cheese. A section of cereals was on offer, eggs, fresh fruit and cakes. You could not complain about the lack of choice. There is a bar facility and on top deck of the sister boat there is a pool in the form of a hot tub effect. I am not sure if it is cold or hot water in it though as I didn't use it. We are used to camping and caravan parks so this would be similar to a lovely caravan but on water. The location is fantastic as it is 5 stops on the water bus from St. Marks Square and takes aprox 10 minites to reach it from hotel. All in all we loved our stay on Sarah Sun Island and would highly recommend it for a quirky fun holiday place to stay. It is fantastic value for money. If I ever get back to Venice I would book Sarah Sun Island in a heart beat again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    2.5
    WARNING! Do not stay!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting. Mould in every room, tiny rooms not like an pictures. Horrible smell. Horrible breakfast. No room for a bag let alone more than one person to stand!! The mattress was covered in mould and the walls. Leak from the ceiling (past a light point!!) that soaked our bed, damaged our clothes and our property. The shower is above the toilet, you have the remove your toilet roll to have a shower!! Most useless staff and been a nightmare to get anything back. DO NOT STAY! Please!!

    It made me think prison might not be that bad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Brings out the feel of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a different kind of stay option than what you may expect. You get a small cabin in the boat with a private bathroom. If you don't get seasick its definitely worth a try. The property can be easily reached from the Venice station by a single boat ride. The upper deck has a good view and the staff is friendly. The breakfast is also nice with fresh juice, milk, toasts etc. Brings out the feel of Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.2
    WET BEDS and FAECES AND URINE SPRAYING IN OUR FACES!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room on this boat for our honeymoon months in advance. But then the day after our cancellation period ended, we received a message from to say that there would be renovations taking place during our stay. I complained that they had been deceptive by only telling us this after we no longer had a chance to cancel our booking. They then emailed us back to say that the renovations are now complete so we will not be disturbed by them during our stay. When we arrived we realised that they had OUTRIGHT LIED TO US as they were still renovating the boat during our stay. The boat DOESN'T LOOK ANYTHING LIKE THE PICTURES. This is another lie. The boat is much older than the boat in pictures provided and is in much worse condition. We were first placed in a cabin next to the wooden staircase (cabin number 2). It was small and extremely damp and the smell of faeces from the toilet was just terrible. We asked to be moved as our pillows were just centimetres (and a thin piece of wood) away from the staircase which was incredibly noisy with other guests walking up and down the stairs all morning and at night. We got back from our day of sightseeing to find that we had been moved to an even smaller and damper room (cabin 7). It was so small that we could not both get dressed in the room at the same time. One of us had to lie in the bed while the other one changed clothes. This smaller room had no window or extractor fan in the bathroom so after just one shower everything in our room was wet. Then it started to rain and there was water leaking through the roof and onto the top bunk bed. This explained the terrible damp smell in the room. The owner seems to be aware of this and doesn't have problem renting out WET BEDS! All our clothes were really wet during our entire stay and smelled terrible. The toilets in both of the rooms we stayed in didn't flush.

    The breakfast was very good. It was a continental buffet breakfast but it included a really good variety of choices and the food was of a good quality. The location was ideal. It was removed from the main tourist centre so it is not too noisy and busy but it is close enough that you can reach the centre by taking a short ten minute waterbus ride. There is a waterbus stop just a two minute walk from the boat. It is very convenient if you have a pass for the waterbuses. One of the staff members was helpful, especially the girl who was there when we arrived. The rest of the staff was dismissive at times and made me feel like I was being fussy for expecting basic things like a dry bed and a flushing toilet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    A memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the check-in time was limited and caused some discomforts. there was no public WC at the hotel which could have been helpful in some occasions.

    the hotel was wonderful. it was quite an experience, Staying in a boat is sure a great adventure. breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    3.8
    Not so good experience:(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unfriendly, the room's humidity was very high and a powerful smell of mold. Even they said that is a number to contact them anytime, they didn't answer. I texted them, it was the same problem, no answer. Breakfast was too poor. Be aware of your things from the room, some of them disappeared.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Pros and cons here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had confirmed an early check-in for 3pm (we wanted to drop our bags and head out since we only had 1 day there), however, no one showed up until almost 4:30. Also our room air conditioner was just blowing air and was not cool at all, basically slept in a sauna all night. It was so hot we could barely sleep.

    The staff was nice and the breakfast was great. It was a cool, different experience to stay on a boat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    It was a fun way to stay in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t expect anything fancy, it was basic. We stayed in the wheel house and it was difficult getting in and out of, but it was fun.

    It was a fun way to stay in Venice. You need to be fit to climb the stairs around the boat. Breakfast was ok, staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Unless you’re desperate, try somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really slow check in, really really slow check out, they made mistakes with the payments so there was a lot of confusion and we were late because of it. Toilet wouldn’t flush. Locks and general security poor - we decided to take our valuables out to dinner with us. Acoustics were poor, you can hear everything and everyone on the boat.

    Nothing, but price was reasonable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough security.Take care of your personal possesions in communal areas as we had some things stolen by two other guests. The staff went above and beyond to help us though. Need to put camera's on exits and entrances as soon as possible. Door handles/locks in need of repair very urgently as one couple got locked in their cabin.

    The staff are great especially Greta and Margahrita! Thank you girls for looking after us :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    I really don’t like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both room and bathroom are very disgusting, WiFi is useless in the room, lots of worm in the room!! Every tourist shares one hairdryer, the air is bad,never have seemed a hostel like this The picture looks clean,actually it’s not

    Totally nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    2.9
    Sarah Cockroach Bad Smell Inc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the bed, toilet. Bad smell everywhere. Dishonest owner: an email offering free cava was sent as an apology for reparation works in progress, however when asked for this complementary cava, the owner told to waiters not to serve it for free as works were complete. Trust is about zero!

    Only location is worth staying here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.3
    Venice is beautiful. This place is horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is extremely dirty. I chose not to shower my entire trip because this seemed much more clean than actually using the shower. Toilet doesn't flush so tiny little toilet/shower constantly stinks. Very cramped and very unclean. Location is also in the middle of the ghetto away from everything and a two hour bus ride from the airport.

    Juice at breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    A fun experience on the boat but I would not stay here again. Venice was lovely though!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The description of the accommodation when I booked should have been better. We had the Captains room which was above deck and we had our own bathroom. The room had cream blinds but really needed black out blinds as they did not block the early morning sun at all. What the Booking description did not say is that our bathroom was on the adjoining boat that was accessed via a wooden plank between the two boats & no handrail. Not easy to walk across especially whilst carrying anything. In addition (maybe I should have done more research) the Booking description did not say that the 2 boats were moored right on the side of the Grand Canal & so there was a lot of boat traffic into the late evening & early morning - this meant that our boat moved a lot more than I had imagined & so sleeping at night was not easy with all the heavy rocking of the boat. In terms of décor the 2 boats were very "tired" looking with flaking paint, some rotten wood, tired flooring, heavy rust in areas of the bathroom. They had refurbished the top deck of one with new seating etc that was nicely done but that was the only area that looked fresh. There was no mirror in our bedroom and when I asked the staff for a hairdryer they said yes they had one - took it from the cupboard & then said "But it's broken". I did not complain whilst I was there as most of the things I have noted here were not anything that the staff could have done anything about anyway and really some of it was quite funny. I just think that the details given at the time of booking should have been better.

    A good location just a short water bus ride from the main areas of Venice. Lovely to have a quiet place and be able to sit on deck in the sun at breakfast and for a relax after a busy day sightseeing. Despite my negative comments it was definitely a fun experience for a short stay (we were there 2 nights).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.3
    Very poor! Rip off.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money. No Wi-Fi. Breakfast choice was poor, buffet not re-stocked, no cutlery and no staff to ask for help. Tables not cleared, no where to sit. Boats in a poor state of repair. Pictures on booking.com must have been taken at least 10 years ago. Toilets don't flush properly. Rooms not made up. All in all very poor and simply not worth it.

    Location. Nothing else to like!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    It was okay; need to ensure before booking you do not get sea sick as water is very rough at times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was horrible: information online leads you to think it'll be normal but the toilets don't even flush. The plug sockets in the room didn't work.

    The location is ideal with beautiful views of Venice main island. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no wifi on the 2nd boat, supposed to be coming by the end of the week but of course didn't. The shower and basin drains blocked, supposed to be fixed, they wern't. Overall condition of boat, under maintained

    Location.....The promenade past the Hilton is really nice, quiet, nice galleries and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible, mold infested, dilapidated sweat hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in want until 4 pm. We showed up at 2 to drop our stuff off and hey we’re painting something on the outside of the boat. The entire boat smelled like a combination of dead fish and sweat, plus it was a thousand degrees in our room. We couldn’t open any windows because they didn’t want mosquitos coming in. The entire boat was a piece of crap really. The chairs were a mess, half broken, mold on literally everything. You had to walk a plank from one boat to another trying to manage your luggage and not fall into the water at the same time. There is a ferry point not far but not much to do near the boat at all. The ferry is super confusing and nobody in Italy seems to understand it either when you ask them. We went to bed at 930 pm because we were bored and woke up about 3 am to the bunk bed above us slamming down and scaring us to death. Apparently it opened and came about 2 inches from crushing me in the night. Literally worst experience of my life. Pictures must be from about 10 years ago. Unless your idea of romance is the smell of butthole, sweating and mold I would avoid this place.

    The girl hat checked us in was the only plus side of this place. She was super friendly and helped us get hot water for our ramen as well as a place to refrigerate our beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place! Really helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was pretty warm. It was about 22 degrees when we were there and pretty warm. I think it would get very hot in the summer and with no aircon it could be uncomfortable. Just a forewarning.

    This property offered good value for money. We found accommodation in Venice to be reasonable and this was a good price. Whilst the rooms are small, as you would expect on a boat, the bunk beds gave us more room to move around. Staff were super helpful and friendly and even gave me a bottle of fizz for my birthday which was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Not a bad accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, bad smell in the room and bathroom. Almost no daylight in the room. Not recommended for people with claustrophobia

    Good location, good breakfast, nice staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Unique hotel despite the late check in rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was next to the ferry station. Overall a unique experience. The breakfast was not fancy but it was ok.

    Since we checked in at 11 pm we were charged 15 € extra saying it was a late check in!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.3
    Horrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was horrific- firstly we had booked a different boat only to be told two days before our scheduled arrival that we had a change to the accommodation- there was nothing we could do - we were not given any safety briefing (and considering we were on a boat this was not acceptable) the cabin was cold and very damp! The bathroom was not fitted out correctly and I had spent over 7 years living on ships and have some experience of how it should be looked after! The breakfast was ok - but overall the worst stay I’ve ever had in my life!!! I am expecting a full refund

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Unique experience in a boat, but there are better places to be in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom we're old and not very well taken care of. Communication with the property before arrival was poor.

    It's a unique experience to be in a boat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.2
    THERE'S NO TOILET! THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT PEOPLE, JUST MONEY!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THERE'S NO TOILET DURING THE WHOLE CARNIVAL!!!! When we arrived, we had to pay 30€ for the late check-in. Ok, first time I've heard that but ok. Then, the girl from the boat told us that we can't throw away the paper in the toilet, that i has to go inside the trash. What means that our fluids have to stay there for the whole day! Later, we go to sleep and the toilet kept making noises the whole night. They came to repare it so well that actually it got broken so if we wanted to keep doing our BARE NECESSITIES we had to use a mini-shower to make our stuff go away. We were'nt able to do anything with that so we had to use the public toilets in Venice (1,5€ each time) to be able to use a convenient toilet. The last morning the girl from the boat told us that there wasnt any toilet during the whole carnival!! I asked them as compensation to refund us at least those 30€ of the late check-in, that its more or less the equivalent that we spent using the public toilets. First, the girl told me that she was going to give me the email from the boss, then she came back while having breakfast and told me that the boss would be there at the boat when we'll be back to pick up our luggage. We were there at the time and the boss was nowhere to be found. Even the girl from the boat wasn't there. the only person that was there was a worker doing I dunno what! What means that our luggage was left alone with a stranger during I don't know for how long!!!! Plus, there's way too much humidity in this boat and in the rooms. I know what I talk about because I work for a french cruise company. My nose bled every single morning from the congestion during the 3 days we stayed there! I have slept in boats before but this one was the worst. Too expensive for the quality, professionalism and politeness of the place. If I ever go back to Venice, wont staying there never again, that's for sure!

    Breakfast was quiet good even for vegeterians

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Amazing staff, very friendly and helpful with where to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, very friendly and helpful with where to go and what to do. Not in the centre but easy to get to and away from bulk of tourists. Breakfast is awesome. Bathroom is tiny but can’t really expect more on a boat. Very cosy and warm. Value for money. All in all, definitely recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good, the common space was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were expecting it to be humid (it is a boat!), but the (loud) airconditioning is not optimised: the bathroom got dampened immediately, and more than 24h later the water drops were still everywhere.

    Breakfast was very good, the common space was comfortable. Everything is very clean. The room is small but enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good room and small Toilet with showerhead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is literally a shower head in a toilet. You can be seen from the restaurant coming out of the shower/ toilet.

    The location was close to Venice train station but far enough to not be surrounded by tourists constantly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    3.3
    we made a very bad decision staying here, thank god we were only there for one night!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was in a terrible state of disrepair, it was awful, nothing like the photos shown on the Internet. By far the worst £100 I ever spent!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - by the week terrible! Crackers with boiling eggs, some sweets. No butter, no water or some juices. Normal breakfast was only by the weekend when came more people. This time owner swich on wifi as well 🤔 Another things realy bad smelly and rusty bathroom. Rooms too small 4 one not for 2 people. Heating not working and when was air condition swich on I had serious breathing trouble - permamently cough

    Hard to say.. maybe dinning room only

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.2
    Not a pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The boat ceiling was leaking. In the evening, water fell on the bed blanket. I told the staff and nobody solves this issue. It was very cold and smell bad at the end. Very terrible experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.8
    /!\ Avoid this property/!\ otherwise your stay in Venice will be a nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /!\/!\ Do not book this hotel /!\/!\ it is more confortable to sleep out side in the street than in this property, shame on the owners ! Bad experience : rooms smelling bad and problem with plumbing thus umpleasant smelling everywhere and dirty rooms. Stuff are incompetent and dishonest regarding the organization of the property. In addition I consider that it is an Unsafe property, since it is on board, no safety instructions are given to the new guests (lifejackets boxes, emergency & evacuation alarm ...etc.)

    Stuff are neutral, they knew about the problems in the boat hotel and they keep taking reservations. /!\ Avoid this property/!\ otherwise your stay in venice will be a nightmare

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for shower either of the mornings we stayed.

    We stayed in a boat as we wanted to so we kind of knew what to expect in terms of space, the only disappointing factor about the accommodation for us was that there was no hot water to have a shower in the mornings, however in the evening this didn't seem to be a problem. Other than the shower issue I would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice budget stay with very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room was little damp and smelly - The connection between 2 boats is little risky. They could have made it little better - There is mosquitoes in the room (not many, you can count them like 1,2,3...)

    - The location of the House Boat was spot on. Just a little away from the main venice in a quiet Island. But can be reached by Boat in 15 mins. Don"t forget to buy the pass for 2-3 days. You will need it always. Normal ticket costs 7.5 Euro per person per trip. - The breakfast was awesome. We liked it very much. - Staffs were very good - Though there was some rocking motion because it is a boat. I recommend all to take lower cabins as the motions is less there. - Unique experience of staying in a Boat in Venice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.2
    Booked for 6 days stayed for 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you head down to the rooms you have a damp smell which isn't too bad you could live with it for a few days.... then you get in the rooms and you have an awful smell from the bathroom and it doesn't get any better... the sheets always have a damp feeling to them... my book curled up because of the moisture. We don't mind the swaying but the noise from the other boats rubbing up against the Bois didn't help the sleep. The mattress was so thin it was look sleeping on a wooden floor.

    It was in a fairly good location, easy to get to the hot spots.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.8
    Venice was amazing, but accommodation was awful, had we been there longer we would have moved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom, bathroom.

    The bed was tiny with thin mattress, two tiny sachets provided in our (private bathroom) of shampoo for three days, toilet seat had a bolt missing one side and loose the other side, I tried to tighten it but constantly moved, had to hold shower over our heads to wash after hot water eventually coming out, had no drink making facilities and was not told that we could purchase any on board. The restaurant we were given a 10% discount in was closed! There was nothing to do in the vicinity other than 3 restaurants and a few small takeaways.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Very reasonably priced, but not for everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't very comfortable, a better quality mattress would have helped. Water leaked in from the room above us. The boat moves a lot during the night, and noise from other boats going past meant we didn't get much sleep. My husband had several insect bites on his face and neck in the morning.

    Quirky overnight accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Location is great, staff were very friendly but the boat is very shabby and bathrooms unhygienic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole boat needs a revamp.

    The bathrooms are disgusting with terrible drainage and horrible smells coming back through the drains. There are bad damp issues in the bathrooms. The overall look of the boat is very very tired compared to the photos put on Booking.com. The gang plank between boats was very rickety with no hand rails. The staff were friendly enough and the breakfast was more than adequate, the pricing was adequate but call me old fashioned I expect to get what I see in the photographs and this was no where near the beautiful boat in the pictures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.8
    Adequate budget accommodation if you are two sharing a room that doesn't leak or get condensation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a single room in the prow of the boat next door. This boat is considerably older and doesn't live up to the image created online. I had to walk across a moving plank between the boats with no side rail to get to my room. The bed was very high and the mattress was worn out - it was thin and hard and I constantly felt itchy in bed. There was no light switch by the bed, just by the door. You had to climb onto the bed to get to the cupboards. The bathroom leaked in rusty water so all the towels became rust coloured and soaked, after leaving them on the ledge in the bathroom. The toilet was uncomfortable and wobbled around. And there was no room to keep your suitcase, in fact there was very little room to move at all. The extra cost of my room was considerably higher as a solo traveller (it was classified as a single room) so I was paying almost double the price of individuals sharing a room. There are no shops or restaurants immediately near the boats, only tenement block buildings - the island was much nicer further down, at the next vaporetto stop.

    The staff were kind and friendly. The breakfast was good and kept well stocked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Fun place but beware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The same ferries and cruise ships made for a very rock and rolling effect. The cabin was extremely small and smelled of mildew. The bathrooms were typical boat bathrooms. Everything was dated and shabby.

    The staff was wonderful. The breakfast was tasty. The view from the top deck was wonderful. We watched all the boats and ships pass by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Awesome place in awesome Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cabin on Boat (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that some of the other clients didn’t respect - perhaps for lack of understanding - some of the basics related to staying on a boat

    The wxperience of staying at a functional and comfortable boat on a canal in Venice. Great breakfast, calm and easy to access to anywhere location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    2.9
    If it had been earlier in the day we would have gone somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of damp hit us like a brick wall as soon as we walked through door which explained why both port holes in the room were open when we arrived. The floor was also broken to the point it is a hazard. We left within 5 minutes to find somewhere to go to get out of the damp smell but were forced to stay due to the time of day and the lack of hotel/airbnb alternatives. Booking.com should not be advertising places like this until they are brought up to scratch, it was not 85 euro well spent!

    The boat upstairs is quite nice. Based on some of the other reviews it must be a game of Russian roulette as to whether or not you get a good room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.8
    Decent value for money, good food! Needs major refurbishment . Wouldn't stay again at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Fabio is very rude, basically telling me I can leave if I don't like it! Reasons , toilet was broken and flooded the room, no hot water from sink tap because it was turned off underneath the sink, when turned on that also leaked and soaked the bathroom. Shower head wasn't fixed so that flicked up and soaked you're clothes ! Grubby bathroom, not clean !! Door to bathroom didn't close because it has deteriorated through constant soaking. Constant smell of toilet waste throughout boat ! When complained about Fabio the owner gets annoyed and basically says leave if you don't like it! We moved to another room which was better in the bathroom but still grubby . Needs refurbishment soon!!! These boats don't move or go anywhere, they're static. One has a big tarp overtop of it, looks like a mess! Pictures on booking.com must be at least 8 years old as this accommodation is nothing like the pics . Dinning area was good though, nice!

    Breakfast was good, plenty of it! And receptionist was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    If you're looking for a bed, shower and breakfast, then this is the best value in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I didn't like the Sarah Sun, but a few things for future travelers to consider: * this is a boat so expect some rocking motion * the space is small

    Sarah Sun, being on a boat is unique and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    A fun experience to enjoy in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not possible to ventilate the room thus there was some humidity in the air and the bed.

    The price for such a good location is really low. It's a really fun experience for a maximum of one or two nights. The breakfast was varied (sweet and salty food). Our room had a private bathroom with a shower. I really enjoyed the feeling from the waves while sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Sarah Sun Cruise , She's A Shady Lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected quirky rooms, but this was something else, we were in a deluxe room...The Captains Cabin...up some weird stairs, through a hatch in the floor, into the bridge. A tiny bed for two adults, but it was comfy. The kitchen was under our room and we were woken at 7am each day with cupboards being opened and coffee smells. There was no air con, (as advertised) and we were boiling hot on a quite cool night. Very poor privacy too, with the entrance to our "exclusive" bathroom open for all to see from the breakfast room. To get to the loo though , you had to climb over your partner, drop three foot onto the floor, you had to open the hatch, go backwards down the stairs to a cupboard with a toilet, shower and sink in it. The shower had to be hand held, but there was hot water...the supplied toiletries were two sachets of gel, and then we were asked to put used toilet paper in the bin..not down the loo...If I had known this in advance it would have made my mind up. add this to the very a very loose toilet seat, broken door beading with sharp edges. It was awful.We actually found a nice toilet in a shopping centre to do our daily business. HOWEVER! The lady who booked us in,stated without any sense of irony that the best thing about this room is the private terrace....through a 4ft door to the top deck of the ship, full of knackered old furniture, cobwebs and tarpaulin, a totally unpleasant area. (see Photos).Pictures of a bar and a hot tub were not lying..there were both there on the deck,, both closed. The boat next door..same boatel, was accessed by a plank of bouncing wood...no handrail..and as the boats were moored next to the canal they never stopped bouncing..so if you have the slightest bit sea sick steer clear, it was like something out of Alton Towers, and i don't mean in a good way. The saddest thing is that with a tiny bit of effort , this could be a gem!

    The saving grace of this boatel was the Continental Breakfast buffet, which was nice and plentiful. It was also very near to the water bus stops for two major routes and the night bus. The area was quiet and mainly residential. The room was clean, the sheets were clean and two clean bath robes were supplied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.3
    Makes a change from repetitive hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boat was very aged on deck, needs some tlc. Ants on the boat, we had lots on our bed one night, not treated too seriously but removed or the next evening.

    Great views, novel experience, top breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet/ shower room in total disrepair Access to room very awkward and not private at all and we supposidly had the best room on boat(captains room)

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.4
    It is a gem but has not been well exploited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a gem but has not been well exploited. It could be hetter kept. Claeaning ladies and breakfast ladies very nice but reception guy...minimum effort. The room they gave us when we got there was not the one in the photos. The washing basin yad a leak, to wich the guy quickly answered by giving us another room, better kept although still not the oneninnthe photo

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    It's a crouser boat, so if you need extra space or big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit damp and your room shall rock'n roll once in a while....but it's a boat !

    It's a crouser boat, so if you need extra space or big bathroom, it's not your choice. But if you are ready to enjoy an exceptional stay at Venise, the canal city, you will enjoy it. The hotel staff is very friendly and caring. I appreciate their kindness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Overall a fun experience. Only two nights but was enough for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Private External Bathroom (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walking of the plank between boats was a bit strange at first but we got used to it. Think we had it a bit more than other guests as our toilet / shower was on the opposite boat. Mosquito bites from a team of them in our room.

    The location was good. For access to the main sights . Just 3-4 stops of the water bud.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    The buffet breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on show do not tell the story the rooms are small the beds where hard and the aroma on the lower deck was lavatorial.the air con didn't work and the toiletries consisted of 2 packets of shower gel. I could say more but as an experience it will be long in the memory

    The buffet breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.9
    Please avoid.. not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a joke this place is !!! Had to wait for two and half hours on the island to check in after a long journey as the yatch was out on a cruise...no apology offered..accomodation was horrible..found bed bugs.. towels and bed linen were not replaced despite requests..fortunately, it was a short stay..Im not new to being on a yatch or out at sea but found the experience here horrible...please avoid this place

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    little trickery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I read few reviews about getting room at another boat so thought it won´t happen again. And it did, no matter ours arguments, we had been told it´s sold out anyway. All pics are taken at boat Sarah which is nicer, newer, cleaner. The boat next to is old, not well cleaned outside inside, strong drain or mold smell. We stayed cos it was late nite, planned fun and experience so give up meant bigger dissapointment than go to usual hotel room. City tax € 2 per person/per nite

    breakfast was fine, funny experience sleeping with waves from active boats around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    A fabulous way to stay in Venice, especially if you're on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rocking motion took some getting used to, as did the tight space in the cabin toilet. But that's all part of the boating experience!

    What better but to stay in a boat in Venice! Felt like such a novelty and adventure. Was great fun trying to find my 'sea legs', climbing up onto the top bunk and skipping along the wobbly ramp from the harbour to the boat. And fab to watch all the boats go by! Never had to wait more than 20 minutes for one of the public ferry buses to take us to or from Sacca Fisola, the nearest stop on the amazing Venice water bus system. Breakfast was nice too, especially when seated on the upper deck!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    2.9
    Cheap and breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat is not moored on the main island, there is a lot of noise at night, and the owners appear to have let it go into disrepair. Checked out after 1 night.

    Cheap and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.8
    Would never stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cabin on Boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disappointed to say I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. We stayed in 2 different rooms over our 3 days at Sarah Sun, and both were very disappointing in both cleanliness and maintenance. In both rooms we experienced leaking bathrooms and no working lights... as well as an extremely questionable smell from the air con .. or at least I hope it was just the air con! the property as a whole looks nothing like the photos, it is in no way set up for guests to use all the facilities pictured and advertised... I would love to know where the bar and restaurant were?! We thought we had an amazing bargain looking at the photos and what we paid, however we left feeling extremely ripped off and a little sick... literally, I have left with an eye infection and bites all over my face and body! Ew! I would not recommend the Sarah Sun to anyone.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disappointed to say I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. We stayed in 2 different rooms over our 3 days at Sarah Sun, and both were very disappointing in both cleanliness and maintenance. In both rooms we experienced leaking bathrooms and no working lights... as well as an extremely questionable smell from the air con .. or at least I hope it was just the air con! the property as a whole looks nothing like the photos, it is in no way set up for guests to use all the facilities pictured and advertised... I would love to know where the bar and restaurant were?! We thought we had an amazing bargain looking at the photos and what we paid, however we left feeling extremely ripped off and a little sick... literally, I have left with an eye infection and bites all over my face and body! Ew! I would not recommend the Sarah Sun to anyone.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.3
    SARAH SUN??....RUN!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately everything was a nightmare. 100 euro a night for a room too small to fit 2 people and their luggage comfortably (really expect to not be able to move around each other), leaky bathrooms and sewerage system which you can smell at all times. Late check in was a bit of a waste although they let you leave luggage to continue with your day - but one of our bags was open when we came back. The Sarah sun advertises Jacuzzi restaurant and bar, the jacuzzi is inflatable and doesn't operate, there's no restaurant and the top of the boat which we most looked forward to to escape the sewerage smell had nothing on it AKA a total scam. The bar isn't a bar, it's just the concierge who leaves the boat as quickly as he can (but I don't blame him). A pillowcase for a pillow and no dry towels each day which is the least you would expect when you pay 100 euro a night. The location is good because it's close to water taxis but you could get 5 star in the heart of Venice for the same price. Spend your money elsewhere!!!!

    The location the packaged Nutella (safest thing to eat at breakfast) and the teabags.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Me and my partner enjoyed the stay. Fantastic Views, Some Good Restaurants Around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The boat is on a separate island so you are supposed to have a ticket to reach the main island but no one really checks them and if you are going to Venice then obviously a lot of money is recommended so prepare to wipe your wallet off. The toilet is pretty small but this is something out of their hands as it's a boat. We were put on a different boat next to Sarah's Sun Island, I'm not sure exactly why was that but it didn't bother us that much. If you don't like small spaces then I would advise to get a land hotel instead however if you want something different and enjoy ships then definitely have a go.

    View from the ship is simply amazing, there is a lot of chairs on top so you can sit down and enjoy the view with a cuppa. There is a water bus about 150 meters from the boat to the main island and some good restaurants are in S. Basilica and San Marco. If you want to reach S Basilico take the waterbus 2 from Socca Fisiola (where the boat is) and if you want to go to the centre like grand canale or piazza san marco then take 5.1 or N or 2.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    All that aside it was a lovely experience staying there for those who like boats.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cabin on Boat with Bunk Beds (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were poor and very thin in our cabin.no ladder available to climb to top bunk. Second boat showing wear and tear with a poor bathroom and worn out chair coverings.

    There was plenty of breakfast and the views from the boats were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.3
    Horrible experience - Stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Cabin on Boat (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was far too small - Floor space was less than 2 meters squared. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting, all the fixtures on the walls were rusted and worn; the shower holder was broken and fell down on us. The bedroom had air-conditioning located under the bed - It kept the room cold from knee height down and the rest of the room a hot muggy sweat box. Would never stay here again and recommend everyone to look elsewhere for accommodation with a company that looks after their facilities.

    The "novelty" of staying on a boat - But this "novelty" was soon taken away when we seen the facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Room was great had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cabin on Boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not great, small (as expected), shower was the tap and we had to hold it over each other with we showered. Funny smell in there too. Top decks not as nice as they look in the pics.

    Room was great had everything we needed. Breakfast good continental. Great being on top deck in the sun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Great experience, but needs some improving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be more attention with the decks ( being two iahts there.. ) to be more clean,tidy and to add some life there ... is shame to not do something there more nice.. overall is a great experience. The iahts move a lots in one side and another , but this is life on the water 😬 The toilet thing is a bit more weird ( to throw your toilet paper In the bin!!! ) and the smell in the room is too much , a bit of improving here will be great 😊

    The experience is unique! The view from the up the deck is great , in the morning when you can take the breakfast up there or in the evening to see the sunset and relax, is great !! Is a quit corner with a view to Venice. The water bus very close , 2 minutes walking distance. The breakfast was ok , enough choice there to start up your day😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    There are marks or rust from old water damage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are marks or rust from old water damage. During our stay we experienced one of the worst rainfalls in Venezia and there was a little leak from the ceiling in our cabin. We stayed in room number four. A word of caution after a few days you might experience seasickness but depending on the length of your stay it will pass, and you will adapt to it. Also one thing that is not mentioned in any information on the hotel but was just a part of the experience is that all toilet paper/waste must go into a separate bin and cannot be flushed in the toilet. However, the staff is keen to empty that bin every single day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Opera and Venice break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door handle of the bathroom came off on our arrival and having mentioned it twice it was still unmended when we returned 3 days later.

    We are used to being on boats so we felt at home! The location is brilliant as it was quiet and away from the hustle of the city but near a waterbus station so we could get into it quickly. There were a lot of good restaurants nearby as well. The staff were all lovely,friendly and helpful. It is clean and very comfortable with the most amazing breakfast buffet and sunset seen from the top deck. We would like to return and would recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    Not as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • classic cabin on boat (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not as pictured, we were put in the left hand yacht with the tiny cabins and miniscule corridors. My partners shoulders quite literally touched each side of the corridor in the walk down to the cabin. The downstairs of the boat was run down and everything creaked. The cabin was minuscule and there is no space if you have brought more than a rucksack as luggage. There is no proper plumbing, which was to be expected, but the bathroom was literally a tiny toilet with a hole in it, there was no hatch like in a caravan or flush, you could not put any loo roll down the toilet which we didn't and it still blocked which was repulsive because the shower is simply a shower head attached to the wall next to the toilet. Also, we thought this yacht would be perfect with not too much movement as it is slightly away from the main island of Venice, however the waterbuses run all night so not only is there the noise of this frequently throughout the night the boat sways quite violently each time.

    The yacht was definitely an experience, but not one I would endure again. It was amazing to sit on the top deck and watch the sunset with a drink from the relatively cheap bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sarah Sun Island traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: