Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental Genova 4 stars

Via Arsenale Di Terra 1, 16126 Genoa, Italy

#11 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1812 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.0
    Good brekfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After registratios we must wait two hours thought we must be in the numbers at 2 p.m. we became only at 4 p.m . The movie doesn't work, the new movie bring to us only after 15-20 minutes.

    Good brekfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stay to connect with trains in morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to walk down three flights of stairs when lift refused to stop at correct floor

    Executive room on 3rd floor overlooking the Principe railway station very spacious & clean. Nice quirky 3d fish wallpaper. Comfy bed & decent size TV

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing, helpful staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning needs adjusting as very noisy

    Great executive double room - very tastefully & colourfully decorated. Brilliant location for us as doing a train trip. Safe area to walk through. Helpful staff. Great facilities in sister hotel as in roof terrace, spa & bar. Restaurants looked good but didn't try.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa could’ve been hotter so we didn’t use it and it’s location near the restaurant wasn’t a great idea

    The location to the bus stop train station was great , we loved the breakfast and the grand style of this hotel. Stroll to the marina was excellent too ! Great restaurants and pretty views in the evening also

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Clean, Kind, and GREAT location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything, the hotel, overall, was spectacular. The rooms were spotless, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the spa area was to die for. Will definitely be retuning in the future to stay at the Hotel Continental.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The definition of a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. 10 out of 10 all the way.

    We booked the Continental in Genova as starting point for our 4-week-trip through Italy. It couldn't have been a more perfect start. The Continental is just a couple meters away from the Central Train Station and close to the top attractions of Genova like the Via Garibaldi, the Acquarium or the Museum de la Mar. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When the AC in our room didn't work, we got a discount for the first night (which we chose over moving to the Savoy next door) and were moved to a different room the next day. Both rooms were very nice, with big Smart TVs, nice shower and just perfect beds. Haven't slept that good in a hotel bed in a long time. Also very nice was the small terrace on the first floor ("Smoking Area" which was rarely used for this) and that you were able to use the facilities of the 5*-Hotel next door. Including the Yakuzis on the 7th floor and the great view over Genova from there. Breakfast was also excellent. The Cappucino very smooth, the egg & ham nice, even the bread was good (we Germans are very particular with the bread). On two evenings we had dinner in the hotel-restaurant "Tralalero". The pasta was really delicious, my wife had fish and was very pleased with this. Only the entrecote was "just" good+. But as this was overall in the mid-price range, that was all absolutely okay. So overall really an absolut pleasure to stay in the Continental and we would choose this hotel definitely again if we come back to Genova.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    The night from hell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the air conditioners, vents and air ducts, the fake plants blocking the light, the heat in the room as the air system did nothing. If you can sleep through anything and don’t mind sweating all night then you will wonder why I am complaining. If you are unfortunate enough to be allocated room 138 i suggest you run for the hills!

    The location was great for the station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Ok for what was required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your booking stated city tax included but we were charged city tax on final bill at 3 euro per night Finally the taxi ordered by the hotel was expensive some 10/12 euro above normal taxi rank cost and there were no traffic hold ups

    Location was good easy access to most areas opposite the station Details of facilities are at sister hotel nxt door

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Our first visit to Genoa and our hotel added to a very positive experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall very satisfied.

    The location near the train station was excellent and our room overlooking the square was great. Braekfast very good, overall very comfortable. Roof restaurant in adjoining partner hotel was excellent and highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is they need a shelf in shower as nowhere to put shampoo and soap apart from the floor

    Close to railway station and metro. Good restaurants within walking distance. Helpful staff, clean rooms, comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely liberty style building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would have been good. Jacuzzi in public restaurant areA Lift delay if someone doesn’t close door

    Lovely liberty style building Close to station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    The old listed building is very pretty inside with a superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a hundred meters away, which proved very bad at check out as it was raining and we got wet trying to load the luggage, totally unprotected. The staff provided many umbrellas to all visitors waiting at the lobby, but could not save much of it.

    The old listed building is very pretty inside with a superb old OTIS elevator that travels you almost a century back in time. The interior decoration of the rooms, with the exquisite floors and the 2 dimension abyss fish on the wall behind the bed was a surprise. The mattress and the pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom elegant and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some small problem with the lighting system which failed but was remedied when we notified the reception staff. No view from the bedroom. Personal preference is a bath but shower worked very well.

    Comfortable bed and room. Breakfast was very good. Well positioned. The dinner in the adjacent trattoria was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Icing on the cake during holiday travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our superior stay. Actually, our room was upgraded to room at Grand Hotel Savoia due to our wedding anniversary. Luxery room, perfect breakfast. It was one of the best hotels in our travel experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can grumble about was the guy who was in reception when we arrived. He wasn’t the most welcoming and didn’t give us the basic information of the hotel. I had to extract it from him but the other ladies and guys that were on were nice.

    The room and ensuite were of a good size and clean. The breakfast was excellent with a great selection. It was within walking distance to the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Excellent 3 night short break in a lovely little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area could do with a makeover

    Fabulous room , excellent bathroom, comfortable big bed, staff, and the wonderful old lift . Plus hotel is very close to the train and bus station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Dave and Chez Europe trip July 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    The location directly opposite Genova Piazza Principe and within walking distance to the cruise terminals was a marjor attraction for the Continental Hotel. The room we had, staff and breakfasts were also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit out of the town. The buses were a little confusing as couldn't get the same one back as we got in and had quite a walk to find it. The room was a little bit dark.

    The large comfy bed. The bathroom was nice. The restaurant for the evening meal was lovely. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    We had a good time and we saw the beautiful view from your sister hotel. We will come again. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Group of noisy visiteurs graping all they see at the breakfast table. I am sure they took all the little bottles of jam because I saw nobody eating bread and jam .

    There is a good choice of bread ---especially Brown bread and seasame bread including croissant and cakes. Fresh fruits, yogurt,hard boil eggs,cheese and smoke ham. Good coffee. 3 choice of juices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Very close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff could be more sympathetic. But I have to discount the fact the reception is in an odd place and the working conditions do not help.

    Very close to the train station. Breakfast very good. Room was clean and well maintened. It is within walking distance to the city center, if you like to walk. If you don't, there are frequent buses going to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, professional service, centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    OK, I feel the need to defend the elevator. An elegant, historic, wooden Otis elevator enclosed in steel cages that is really beautiful and merits much appreciation. However, it appears to be a sign of the times that if one must close BOTH the cage door AND the elevator door such a task is beyond the capabilities of many guests. In that case, the elevator is stuck wherever the distracted person left it, and stair climbing ensues. I fault the guests, not the elevator or the hotel.

    Centrally located near the train station, beautiful classic hotel in Genova that has been tastefully updated. Breakfast was very, very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was kind of a handful and small. However it got a certain kind of charm to it. The breakfast room was kind of boring and not so good breakfast. The dinner restaurant was really sad and the staff were kind of lost and didn´t seem to care about the guests.

    I really liked the fact that you can get entrance to the hotel next door. We really enjoyed the pool on the roof and the drinks were really nice. The room was neat and had a really good climate control unit. The staff at the hotel were also really professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location if you’re going for days out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door didn’t close, on website it says €2 per night for city tax so I put that aside for when we checked out but was informed it was €3. On a couple of occasions the maid just walked in without knocking. Receptionists not particularly friendly, found it hard to say buon giorno

    Location to the train station . Staff at breakfast very friendly and nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Grand hotel savoia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded and we were booked into their sister hotel next door. It was the grand hotel savoia. It must of been the best hotel ever. I would highly recommend it. The roof bar and the city view is out of this world.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is problaly the best hotel, we have ever stayed on. We had booked for Continental hotel and was upgraded to Hotel Savoy. Everything at the Savoy is excellent, from the bed to the breakfast (were you can sit and watch over Genoa) and the Staff, This is the place to be when you are in Genova - THE SAVOI

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Hotel Continental with easy access to Coast of Liguria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    All staff very helpful and accommodating. Room very comfortable and quiet. Good choice for breakfast. Excellent location to train station enabling easy access to other areas of Liguria. Quite a walk into the city centre but bus service from Principe Station good. Metro also available. Volabus from/to Airport, in 15mins, for 6 euros each person, each way, also very useful. Bus Stop immediately outside arrivals at Genoa and drops off outside entrance to Principe. Very short walk across the road to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi doesn’t work so well as expected when it saids to be high-level

    Room was clean, big and bed was comfortable - You got used two pillows which was luxurious. Breakfast was very good (also many gluten free products available) and they made you cappuccino if you want it. There was a panorama terrace on the roof of the hotel. Piazza Príncipe trainstation was outside the hotel and it was a walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was supposed to stay in this hotel but as they found out it would be my dad's 70th birthday they upgraded us to their 5 stars sister hotel Grand Hotel Savoia. So I can't really comment about the facilities of Continental but the service was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful clean 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the bath tap wouldn’t let the water run hot but only leuk warm and there was work being done in the foyer so when we checked out and had to wait for our next train we couldn’t wait in the foyer but had to use the neighbouring hotels.

    A beautiful clean 4 star hotel! Nice staff and beautiful furnished room. Location is a bit out of the old city but located very conveniently next to the piazza principe train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Finding the hotel was a bit challenging as we were directed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the hotel was a bit challenging as we were directed there from our original destination which had closed down. This hotel is deep in the urban center of Genoa so it was different from the rest of our trip which was more rural and country locations. There was a very nice rooftop bar with great views of the harbor and train station below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet connection

    This hotel is amazing value for money. Across the square from the train station. The bedroom and bathroom were huge. The breakfast was fantastic. Staff very professional. Shares facilities with the hotel next door, which has a beautiful downstairs bar but also has a roof terrace bar for wonderful views across the City. Towels and bedding changed everday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great sized room for 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great sized room for 4 people. Very clean and comfortable with a great sized bathroom. Nice to have a fridge for keeping drinks & food cool. The staff were great, very helpful. Amazing rooftop bar on the 7th floor, great place for a drink and the views were great. Nice and close to the train station too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, got a complimentary upgrade to the executive...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, got a complimentary upgrade to the executive suite and that was a nice surprise. Great place to stay, near public transportation to get anywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Actually Continental is closed and all clients are to live...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsatisfactory time for expecting coffe at breackfast.

    Actually Continental is closed and all clients are to live in Savoy next door. Not bad, but it would be usefull to say that in advance, as if you arrive at night you can spend some time undersatnding where you should go.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good Breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. Good location opposite Genoa Principe station. Had dinner three times at the on-site Tralalero restaurant where the food was good and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    We were upgraded, so it was a pretty good surprise: we stayed at the Grand Hotel Savoia (next door). The hotel has nice comfortable spaces; it is full of old Italian charm, with very helpful staff. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is copious. The jacuzzi on the top is a +! The location is good for Genova Piazza Principe station / Volubus airport bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street, noise from the corridors where are no carpets to suppress the sound of the steps and luggage of other visitors, noise from the elevator when opening and closing the elevator doors and it going up and down

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The room was tasteful and extremely comfortable, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tasteful and extremely comfortable, and the location this brilliant about 200 metres from the hotel which was extremely useful as we traveled to a different beach each day. We also ate in the hotels restaurant next door and had an extremely pleasant meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    We were upgraded to the sister hotel next door - the Grand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had been done up but in my opinion a wasted opportunity, I suppose old fashioned ‘kitsch’ really . At breakfast we arrived a bit late,10am , faced with what would have been a great buffet but much of the food , cold meats / Hot food was depleted and not replenished . Perhaps we were just unlucky with the timing ! Slightly curt receptionist when we left .

    We were upgraded to the sister hotel next door - the Grand Savoie. They also then upgraded our room apparently, So of course we were very pleased. They took the car and parked it in a secure garage which was helpful. We arrived late after a long drive and were still able to get some food at 10.45pm. We had a large comfortable room and huge TV. The roof top bar / restaurant was very accommodating , even late at night with interesting views of the harbour. We didn’t use the swimming facilities there. Breakfast was from 6-10.30 on the top floor and a big buffet . All the staff were very professional and the room very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel in Genova
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of the beautiful historic elevator at 7am.

    I liked the traditional atmosphere of this hotel and a beautiful historic elevator (it may be noisy, but this does not diminish its beauty). The room was huge for single use (would easily accomodate 3), and very clean, with comfortable beds. Hotel Continental is very conveniently located, just a fews steps away from the main station, and 15 min walk from the Aquarium or cathedral. The breakfast was nice and the service very good and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Staff very pleasant, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very pleasant, very helpful. Local knowledge good. Breakfast really good. Great selection of food, and lovely coffee. Hotel convenient for the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful and attentive but we were unsure of what to do. The double bed was two put together and the split down the middle quite uncomfortable an extra mattress topper would have helped

    Period features friendly staff and some nice touches in the room. Excellent location opposite the rail station and next time we will have a drink in the beautiful bar lounge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful old world charm in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was supposed to be a pool but it was 2 fibre glass spa pools side by side located on the top floor. The shower was small and the shower rose was defective.

    We were directed to the Savoia Hotel right next to the Continental Hotel which was an old world, dignified, lovely Hotel. Views from the 7th floor were sensational. Our room was spacious. The hotel is located almost directly opposite the central station of Genoa. We caught the train to Santa Margherita which was a lovely town on the sea and then walked to Portofino which I highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient hotel with a lovely restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were steps to the room, which was a little challenging carrying large suitcases.

    The location of the hotel was great, just opposite the Principe Train station. The old style lift was a little cramped but characterful. We had dinner in Tralalero which is part fo the hotel, and had excellent and reasonably priced food. We had a family room, which was very spacious accommodation in two large rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay with a firm but comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Great location to the Central train station and a short walk to some historic attractions. Breakfast was good and Restaurants at the Hotel and others nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay made special by the upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded from the Hotel Continental to their sister hotel, the five star Hotel di Savoia, which was next door, for a one night stay. Facilities were excellent and the breakfast was truly five star. Hotel was near the old port so great for a quick look round and next door to main railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Actually we were upgraded to the savoy next door while...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Our best experience in northern Italy.

    Actually we were upgraded to the savoy next door while renovations finish. So maybe I should review the Savoy?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely room even though it looked into a central area. The bathroom was spacious. Great shower. Very well maintained. Clean. Great staff. Walking distance to main railway station. Lovely trattoria attached to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A free upgrade on our 1st night, plus super service, got our Italian holiday off to a great start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    My wife and I travelled with two friends from the USA. The hotel we'd booked, Continental Genova, was undergoing some refurbishment, so we were offered a free upgrade to the sister property next door, the 5-star Grand Savoia. This property was immaculate and well appointed and offered an extensive breakfast buffet. The Front Office staff could not have been more helpful and professional in offering advice on local restaurants and walking routes. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    I am completely satisfied with my staying in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main facade was under restoration, so it was uncomfortable to enter inside the building.

    The location was great, all the places of interest were located in walk-distance. Delicious breakfast, cosy room, clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We were upgraded to fabulous Grand Hotel Savoie next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last morning of our stay while we were having breakfast the cleaning person had already entered the room and started cleaning it and changing bedsheets, even if we were about to check out soon. It was a bit awkward as we had to ask her to leave so we could pack our stuff, and had to use the towels that had just been changed. Better internal communication needed in this sense.

    In fact, we were moved and upgraded to the next door Grand Hotel Savoie, so the review is about that hotel, not Continental. Savoie is a beautiful old style hotel with a lot of character. Very good breakfast. We also had Easter special dinner menu which was excellent and very good service, and had drinks at the cocktail bar which is a nice place too. Location very convenient for the ferry harbour and train station but a bit further away from the old centre and the cathedral area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Got to love an upgrade!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked into the Hotel Continental but because of renovations we were upgraded to the sister 5 star hotel next door at no extra cost . Bonus! Just a short 300 metres walk from the Genoa train station and not far to the Port All very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Continental alla Genovese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No such thing

    Every little thing of it! The perfect location right near the central station (literally, 5min walking) and in front of the gorgeous statue of Columbus, the gorgeous antique Otis elevator inside the hotel (there's also a modern one, but you probably wouldn't want using it), great, spacious, crystal clean rooms with great interior design, high-quality toiletries provided; amazing, very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    They upgraded us to the hotel Savoia at no extra charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is currently going renovation but even staying next door we didn’t hear much noise.

    They upgraded us to the hotel Savoia at no extra charge. I was truly impressed why their service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Close to the station, good clean and comfortable room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast included for the price but that is my only criticism.

    Close to the station, good clean and comfortable room with tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    I know that the website said there was renovation work BUT ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know that the website said there was renovation work BUT this was not there when we booked. We also found a workman outside the window which was not good, we should have been advised the time they would be there. We would also have appreciated being told about the facilities that we could use in the next door hotel as the bar faculty would have been nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Great city for culture, history and architecture plus great access to beautiful coastal towns
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a pity the view from the hotel room was obliterated with scaffolding due to the renovation project, however the sister hotel the Savoie is stunning . Be on the lookout at night for unsavoury characters, keeping to the main roads and avoid the narrow alley ways which during the daylight hours lose their sinister atmosphere. (If you venture to the harbour at night go to the Aquarium area though we went during the day)

    The hotel is in a fantastic location ... right next to a bus/train station/city tour bus stop/ the Royal Palace is a must see and the harbour/aquarium 10mins away.Hop on a train to St Margherita and then bus to Portofino! !!! BAR CAVO 10 yards away serves Genoese food specialities ... absolutely delicious plus friendly staff ... highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Loved the Samurai gallery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The historic nature and old world feeling. Modernized and very clean. Brilliant breakfast and wonderful staff. Front desk was extremely helpful and Alexandra in the restaurant was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great to be close to the station, v helpful staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like the over exhuberant jazz music at breakfast, so adked for it to be turned down/ off

    I liked the super large bed but my partner found it too hard - room a generous size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful comfortable rooms delicious breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was difficult to leave..

    On checking in we were upgraded to the Grand Savoia, after booking the Hotel Continental Genoa. With comfortable rooms and beds, beautiful bathrooms and toiletries. Helpful and patient staff, we had lovely breakfasts, and dinner. Enjoyable and comfortable for quiet drinks in the hotel bar and library. Close walking distance to sights and museums in Genova. A beautiful stay for two nights

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Business trip to Genova
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was broken for nearly the entire week I was there, the staff elevator that started at the first floor smelled like sewage. My room was very small. My colleague paid the same rate and his room was nearly double in size. In addition the entire outside of the hotel was covered in scaffolding due to construction work. The rooftop bar was closed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Not a pleasant experience....no apologies from staff ... overpriced for the current conditions
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole of building covered in scaffolding with builders banging and shouting from 8am...if we had known I would not have booked this hotel. Lift not working from reception so you have to carry bags to 1st floor and use what seems to be a staff service lift....a lot of the time you can’t get into the lift because of staff

    Clean tidy room good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel - don't have breakfast there, and check they have removed scaffolding from front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was provided next door at Hotel Savoia. No mention had been made of this beforehand. Nor apparently had the staff at the Savoia been briefed on this arrangement. On our first morning the dining room manageresss was openly hostile when we told her that we had been sent by Hotel Continental. Only after an angry phone call did she relent and admit us to the dining room. Second day confusion reined and the waitress was genuinely puzzled as to how to respond. Very embarrassing for all.

    Our room was well furnished and comfortable and the bathroom very modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Thanks Continental Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking fee of 25 EUR per day. More that the cost of the car rental !!!

    The hotel was under renovation so they transferred us to the neighboring Grand Hotel Savoia. This hotel was fabulous. Squeaky clean, big room, excellent bathroom, SUPERB breakfast. I am sure this must be the BEST hotel in Genoa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great! Our room was very clean, charming and we appreciated the attention to detail. This is a great property. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    The location was central -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was not very friendly (recetion and breakfast staff) and they changed our towels every day, which is not very eco-conscious... we left the car for parking and when they brought it back they left it in the middle of the street and didn't tell us where is was

    The location was central - one day they made the room, then we came back for a nap and they made the room a second time without us asking for anything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    If it was a different time of year, a probably would recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were renovations in progress which mean noise and building workers everywhere (including outside of our windows). We were redirected to different hotel for 1 breakfast and the breakfast there was great, on the other day we were redirected back to our hotel and there the breakfast was only acceptable in comparison.

    Hotel was nice enough, room was clean and comfy and 1 of 2 breakfasts was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice and central “Art Nouveau” style freshly refurbished Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t stable. Interior room is large nice but kind of dark during the day.

    Almost everything was great. Nice refurbished hotel, “Art Nouveau” restyled interior design. Pretty maintained old Otis elevator. Huge room and super clean. The hotel is communicating with Savoia Hotel for the breakfast service since it was with ongoing refurbishment works but 100% functional. Location is very central.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Historical building, beautiful bar and ground floor sitting...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wi-fi throughout the hotel.

    Historical building, beautiful bar and ground floor sitting area. Genova was disappointing, but this hotel is a gem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.0
    Good but fair for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Better if the air cond could have worked stronger. On cold days, still cold with 25 settings.

    ー Very close to the station. - Nice breakfast - Flexible assistance for laundry.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Most pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was closed for renovation and we were moved to Genova Savoie next door which was absolutely first class. The breakfast was excellent value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    A perfect stay in Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Hotel was being refurbished so checked in at Grand Hotel Savoia next door. Check in was very easy and Valentina on reception was really nice/helful and advised that we had been upgraded as well. The rooms were fantastic. Rooms/Beds very comfortable and shower was great. View from balcony was impressive. Will come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Good but overated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy, trading on past, needs modernising.

    Location was good but not five star , reported when we were said to be upgraded. The room was a bit noisy. We had to wait quite sometime before being served coffee in the bar lounge area. And they got a little bit uppity when I ask to be served after waiting twenty minutes. Otherwise great location and would stay there again. One recommendation- if paying on arrival keep you receipt handy when checking out. As on a previous stay the argued we hadn’t paid when had. It meant retrieving the receipt from a packed case to prove payment. And we received no apology or compensation for their error. Otherwise ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Loved the beautiful room with floor to ceiling windows and electric window shutters. The huge bathroom had a floor to ceiling window as well and electric shutters.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    The Grand is superbly elegant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were placed in the Grande Hotel next door so the rating is of this hotel. The Grande is a truly grand hotel.the facilities are excellent the room was great and the staff particularly Eros in the restaurant and Ketlin on reception

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Continental Genova traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: