Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savoia Hotel Regency 4 stars

Via del Pilastro 2, San Donato, 40127 Bologna, Italy

#5 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2412 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff in a hotel with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful. The hotel was particularly clean. Good choice at breakfast. Food and service in the Restaurant were both excellent. The swimming pool was a major reason for booking and we were very pleased with it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel, our family loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel just outside Bologna. Easy to get into Bologna and easy to travel to other places like Ferrara and even Florence. Hotel itself had a good pool with sun loungers, a bar and food. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Bologna.. Whats not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On 2 occasions we were told the bar wasn't serving lunchtime snacks but there was no problem with us eating our own snacks. Noisy on our first night and asked for a room swap due to a noisy boisterous family in the next room. No kettle, tea or coffee making facilities in room. Lack of more informal eating options particularly for younger families Dont know about Genius Perks

    Light & airy public areas & rooms spotless. Garden areas & pool were well maintained. Staff pleasant & very helpful. Food in restaurant was very nice but again this was a more formal dining experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Excellent polite and discreet service at all times and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in a thunderstorm - but that wasn't the hotels fault of course !

    Excellent polite and discreet service at all times and extremely comfortable room. Would love to stay there again !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    First class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was very much to our liking.

    On arrival late on Wednesday night we were upgraded to a beautiful suite which was very comfortable. The staff were excellent and allowed us to park our car in the car park until we were leaving later that day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    We had many lovely moments in this hotel that could not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had many lovely moments in this hotel that could not be expected, having a very romantic fine dining with quality foods, enjoyed swimming with other guests & their children, rided bikes for city tour, etc. It was regretted to stay there only one night but their quality hospitability is in our minds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing great value, service and location!

    Location is great. Only 15mins from the airport which is around €20 Euro. Bus stop right next to the hotel €1.50 and 20 mins into town. Plus it’s right next to FICO for food fans! The on-site restaurant is very good quality and not overly priced. Bedrooms are big and clean. I have a bad back and found the mattress very comfortable which was a real surprise. Overall we were impressed with the hotel for the price. We would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, easy to get into city on the bus which was 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from the eggs at breakfast were very over done!

    Great hotel, easy to get into city on the bus which was 1.50, also taxis very easy and affordable, lovely swimming pool, great clean rooms, really tasty restaurant. Comfy beds. Relaxed and friendly staff. We loved this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit out of Bologna. 15€ for a taxi. A local bus service next to hotel too. We were charged 1€, per item, for the bar staff to serve your drink to the table! We ordered at the bar and collected the items ourselves.

    Spacious, comfortable, clean room. Well planned with hooks, shelves and a drying line in shower! Delicious breakfast. Fresh and varied. Restaurant was amazing. Great food, lovely restaurant and well priced for the high standard. Nice pool area. Lots of loungers. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. The pool is great for a family, with good pool bar & plenty of loungers. It is more of a stopover location than a holiday location. A taxi into Bologna is easy, cost approx €15 in and €15 back.

    Clean rooms, smart hotel, good facilities. This was perfect as a stopover hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing hotel in Boy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor - very little choice. Scrambled eggs and bacon kept in a warm container - limited fruit & cereals and some cakes. Self service tea & coffee and always a queue. Pool area very dated and have to pay/day for towels. Bedroom tired & balcony although large was covered in bird droppings. Also there was some building work going on while we were there and the noise was deafening. In the room the fridge and tea/coffee facilities were not replenished daily.

    The on site evening restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't comment because we liked everything.

    The hotel and staff exceeded all expectations to make a very enjoyable stay and I would certainly make a return visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice property, clean rooms, nice and relaxt pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location: hotel is about 4km away from center and in the neighbourhood not much to do, but with bike / bus it is only a short ride to city center!

    Very nice property, clean rooms, nice and relaxt pool, excellent restaurant!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Glad we were only staying one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price paid we had expected it would be one of the more modern style rooms. We wouldn’t have booked it if we had known the room looked like it did.

    The breakfast was nice and food in the restaurant was also nice although the service was a little slow.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Still my favourite hotel in Bologna
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I offer this as constructive feedback, only, since I really liked my stay. Having returned multiple times, you get a bit of an impression that some things are starting to become dated, and would benefit from some renovation. Given the new competition from other business-oriented hotels near the Tangenziale, it may be useful to consider some action. For example, the exercise room machines could be changed; some are starting to become a bit old and hard to operate. The weights for example are a bit of a mess as they seem to have been bought from different suppliers at different times, and so there are multiple incompatible sets. It is also becoming too hard to get time in some of the machines, in the morning. Perhaps the management could consider buying extra bikes and treadmills (popular items), substituting the set of weights for a new one from a same supplier (will save space), and maybe include a rowing machine. As another small suggestion, maybe increase the number of non-decaf pods for the coffee machines in the rooms. 2 per day appears to me as insufficient for Italy. Finally, is it really necessary to charge for the pool towels? Could it be better just to provide one for each guest at check-in, and charge only if the person wanted it changed?

    I have returned to the Savoia several times over the last 5 years as I find it a very convenient and comfortable place for extended business trips to Bologna. The free parking is essential for my purposes. Given its location near the Tangenziale and within a short drive of the city centre (particularly the University quarter), this makes feasible having a rental car as a main option for transportation. The suites are spacious and are well serviced every day. The breakfast is also excellent, although I noticed that the coffee machines provided in the breakfast area are not among the best I have seen in Italy. Wifi is fast and stable. The staff are very polite and give attention to requests. The air conditioning was also very good (important in Bologna's summer). The bar downstairs (in the pool area) is pleasant and charges reasonable prices. I will certainly still consider the Savoia my preferred option if I return next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is good and the room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is actually quite small and not like in the pictures.

    The hotel is good and the room was lovely. The hotel restaurant was a highlight and great valkue for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    elegant place to relax, very good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could need a restyling with more attention to functionality: the combination of bath tube and shower in one is not the most comfortable.

    hotel is an old fashioned building and has excellent location in a green, quiet area near the highroad exit San Donato, very easy to reach by car. Parking is gratis and big enough. Room was clean and comfortable. In summer it is possible to breakfast outside in very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location for us as we were driving from Bologna to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for us as we were driving from Bologna to Tuscany and it was an easy stop near the highway. Having free parking was a great bonus too. The room was nice and included a large balcony. The breakfast was a generous buffet and we enjoyed using the pool and gym. There was a great restaurant just across the road too which was super convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the food at the resteraunt was a bit novel cusine food by the pool was not impressed catered to a lot of bussiness meeting during the day so often it was busy

    breakfast really good bus stop just outside for bus pool beautiful rooms really comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Very clean staff at desk & bar friendly & helpful. Can’t say the same as regards the Restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only having one very expensive restaurant in situ, plus not child friendly. €30 For (return) taxi into city centre. Receptionist at restaurant left me with no dinner (room service) 2nd night!!

    Clean & fresh lines every day Breakfast very good Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything you'd want, but book dinner nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazed to find this large hotel was fully booked in its restaurant at 7pm for a resident! However, they quickly arranged a fabulous meal nearby. Bravo.

    Nice quiet room, good aircon, large and spacious hotel. Close to Autostrada. Superb (sister) restaurant a few yards away - Danilo & Patrizia - best meal of our 5,000 km tour. Great value, service and quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, comfy firm beds, slept two adults two kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was somewhat tricky as mounted on the wall in the bath rather than at the end of the bath which would be more logical

    Excellent stay, comfy firm beds, slept two adults two kids very well, great pool for kids, superb evening restaurant onsite, and brilliant breakfast with indoor and indoor/outdoor seating for breakfast. Great stay as arrived late in the day and stayed one night and all was provided to a very good standard with very good service from all staff as well!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Easy access to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out is at 11am which is too early. 12 noon would be better.

    Easy access to the centre. A spacious property with a reasonably sized pool and good parking. There is a restaurant just outside the grounds called Danilo & Patrizia which is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent for one night before going to the airport, would stay longer another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful setting, good pool and surrounding area. Breakfast had good choices and was very casual for a four star hotel. It was very laid back especially as they had a wedding and a conference going on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Savoia Regency Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was abit pricey....€8 for a burger

    Fabulous hotel, really beautiful setting, comfortable room, lovely pool and pool bar, fabulous outdoor area. Staff were very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Could it be the best all-round hotel in Bologna?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Because of the splendour of the hotel and its grounds it’s a very popular conference, holy communion and general party location. Be prepared for a busy hotel in the common areas day and night in the summer. Holy communion parties will occupy/reserve a lot of common space in May/summer on Sundays during the day and, with a new large conference auditorium under construction, be prepared to mingle with numerous well-dressed Italian business groups and their coffee, lunch and dinner gatherings regularly throughout the week. On rare occasions the hotel restaurant can be fully booked, having to deal with guests and conferences alike - but that’s life. Having said all that we’ve spent about 5 weeks there over the last couple of years and love the quality of the hotel, staff, rooms, dining and location.

    Wonderful staff and a spacious elegant hotel with a restaurant serving a great selection of reasonably priced dishes served promptly and with style even when appearing to be very busy. There’s also a splendid restaurant just over the road (Ristorante Danilo), extensive parking and convenient transport links to the city (bus no. 20 getting you to Via dell’Indipendenza/Piazza Maggiore in about 30 minutes every 10 minutes or so for €1.50 or less with a pre-paid card).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in all of Italy, we hated the constant smoking allowed at any outdoor area.

    Excellent stay. Room small but fabulous terrace off of the room & very clean. Restaurant & bar were convenient with good prices & excellent food. Loved that they had Vitello tonnato which was wonderful. Terrace, pool area, & grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Savoia Hotel Regency - Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a taxi ride into the city, but taxis only take 10 minutes and cost about 10€ each way.

    The Pool, the cleanliness of the room and the public areas. The restaurant - food was really good. Sensible prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel, highly recommend for drivers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would be good to see smiles during check in - we are not so scary. Pool is closed, in spite in hotel description it should be opened in these dates.

    Good hotel, highly recommend for drivers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Conferences
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of conferences going on during stay so felt a bit out of place at times. Also waitress looked.us up and down when trying to go to restaurant for lunch. Were properly dressed but in flip flops. Delegates from conference there having lunch and in business attire we left and spent €100 relsewhere instead! She asked us to change! We were paying residentisl.guests. It didn't spoil out stay and will go back again as hotel lovely and spacious.

    Excellent size rooms and convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    very nice hotel, servoce is very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    maybe some more vegetables and less sweet things for breakfast

    Breakfast was ok, restaurant was beyond expectations, very good quality for a very good prices Fish in salt for 16 euro , starters for 11 euro and the quality of the food was excellent , also service very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Would stay again - excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and facilities were excellent and good value for money paid. Also close to motorway on way to Ancona for ferry to Greece. Would definitely use again. They also had secure parking at 16E extra but worth it for peace of mind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely breakfast and a great restaurant for dinner too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast and a great restaurant for dinner too. The hotel has free secure parking. There is a bus stop close by so its easy to get to the centre without the hassle of driving. We also liked the garden attached to the property with a little children's playground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    We look forward to returning next Soring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities fir a snack lunch. Although the staff produced a reasonably good toasted sandwich.

    Very comfortable room and good breakfast. Excellent position near the motorway with good parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was all you need, the staff friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was all you need, the staff friendly and the room realy spacious with a lovely view. Even that we couldn‘t use the pool because it wasn‘t that warm it still look nice for the summer. We are definitely coming back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Both adults and kids loved the hotel for its style and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kettles to make tea/coffee and free mineral water might be provided in the rooms.

    Beautiful, stylish and spacious hotel with free parking. Very helpful staff. Quiet surroundings. Highly recommended for a shorter or longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel! Excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elegant hotel. Nice and comfortable room, very clean. Staff always ready to help. Breakfast ok: continental, staff very carreful not to miss anything. Easy to reach the city via taxi or bus. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Wspanialy pobyt
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Elegant hotel, very easy to reach from the highway, but also well connected to the city via public bus. Very convenient family room for a good price, good restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Bologna with Savoia Hotel Regency - a great and lovely combination.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful hotel, in the middle of a lovely, little garden, excellent staff, perfect service and comfortable bed in a clean room. An absolut wellness-feeling.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Fine hotel next to the highway
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the free parking lot is not easily intuitive.

    Good value for money. Perfect for those traveling by car as it right off the highway. Breakfast is above average.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall a really lovely stay and had the worlds biggest balcony which was a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of conferences at this hotel and unfortunately we were unable to get lunch which was a shame as it was fully booked with conference goers. We had had lunch on our first day which was delightful and were so looking forward to our second sitting. They should maybe reserve a few tables for house guests maybe?

    We actually liked staying outside of the city as it gave us an extra excuse to eat more from the fantastic breakfast buffet. It was a good 35min walk into town but we enjoyed our daily stroll heaps. You could always catch a taxi but what’s the fun in that 😜

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    wonderful for short stay or business travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Love this hotel- we have been staying here at least twice a year in the last 3 years. Location is great as it is near the airport, yet you do not hear any noise from it or indeed from the motorway Everyone is always friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Great way to spend the last week of 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge hotel with big rooms, extremely clean, very friendly staff and fresh breakfast. Great location if you're Road tripping as it's in the outskirts of Bologna center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall a really good hotel. great staff at reception and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location . Hot water unit very noisy in bathroom

    Staff at reception professional yet friendly, good quality beds and rooms. just a little too far from city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very average and that there was no gym.

    I got the silver room which was a suite. It had its own balcony and a hot tub. The space was ample and really comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a good hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good hotel in a convenient location. Rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel restaurant is EXCELLENT, good food, elegant and not too expensive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    Old Family Hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff at the reception. Strained staff at the overcrowded breakfast room. Only Locals have been offered local Coffee. The bathroom needs renovation.

    Windows in the room can be opened. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Just about right for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom was the shower poor - the door didn't close completely and the spray of the water was poor; I guess because of the clotted shower holes.

    Bed was big and comfortable. A variety of TV programmes to choose.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    A very relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit away from center.

    The excellent breakfast and restaurant, nice landscape, courteous staff. Few minutes from bus stop. We got a room with nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Spotlessly clean hotel, very spacious rooms, great breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michelle, at reception, was extremely helpful to us. He recommended a wonderful restaurant, Ceasarina, in Bologna town centre and helped us with routes. Excellent all round hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.8
    A very unremarkable hotel with no atmosphere clean rooms breakfast ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable lounge area it was like sitting in a corridor felt only like a conference centre which was obvious, not pleasant for private travellers . Toilet paper was dreadful, not enough info in room no obvious room service TV did not initially work was advertised as close to Bologna centre but was about a 15 minute drive

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel on the outskirts of Bologna. Easy to access if travelling by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit dated, but well maintained.

    Friendly staff and we were able to check in a bit early. The breakfast was good, wide variety, lovely fresh fruit and orange juice. Secure parking on site. Spacious room for the four of us, with tea & coffee making facilities. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast rushed and not so friendly particulatly on one morning when clearing away began extra early. Coffee machine very slow!

    Very comfortable suite. Friendly reception staff. Excellent restaurant. Very good orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Extremely nice with the upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closer to center city

    We were upgraded to a suite for no charge. The suite was incredible. Very large and private balcony with a Jacuzzi. 3 rooms and an awesome bath.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They say the Hotel provides bikes free of charge. The bikes they were dreadful. They had bikes with flat tyres, no brakes and dangerous to ride. Do not provide bikes nobody could care less about. I would expect better from a decent hotel

    It is a nice hotel and well presented

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel both for business or pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area could be improved and also the breakfast wasn't as good as we were expecting.

    Excellent restaurant for dinner wuth great service. Had a great suite on the third floor with sitting room, bedroom, dressing room all with doors opening onto roof terrace with hot tub, plus large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Cant wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked one room with twin beds and unfortunately arrived at about 6pm to find it was a double and despite being assured it would be corrected had to ask twice further until eventually at 10.30 it was sorted. The Hotel sign over the pool was tacky and should be removed.

    The restaurant is outstanding in both the service and quality/ choice of food, I would highly recommend visiting purely to eat if nothing else . The hotel is located 15 minutes by car/bus from the centre which may not suit some however although a little tired in places its a beautiful hotel, both spacious and tranquil. The rooms are large and well equipped and the inclusive breakfast taken in a separate dining area was exceptional. Parking was free,safe and extensive I will most certainly be returning it was a joy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Michel on reception was exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dutch Stag Party spoilt quiet time by pool. Restaurant service was not up to expected standard.

    Michel on reception was exceptionally helpful. Location ideal for visiting Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and convenient in between transition from one long flight to another.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility to have a computer available WITH a printer was definitely lacking. The ancient PC computer in the basement is an embarrassment to a hotel that is otherwise so good. Particularly the absence of a printer made it difficult to print boarding passes. Also the Italian keyboard without the @ symbol made it difficult for visitors to communicate.

    Environment around the hotel. Felt you were in the countryside away from noise and pollution and reasonably close to the airport. Outdoor sitting area was pleasant and did not feel rushed or crowded by other guest. Dining are was ample and menu substantial. Champagne started was a welcome addition to the atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Great don't be fooled by location when you first arrive .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could get my head around to controller ( being picky) by staff very helpfulr .

    Great don't be fooled by location when you first arrive . Great for access into Bologna . Restaurant amazing eat in . Would not hesitate to go back 😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    One of the best meals we had in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fountain doesn't stop until gone midnight so if you are a light sleeper ask for a rear facing room as it is loud and very annoying. Also, the night staff were unhelpful and refused to allow me to make a complaint, mostly, about his dismissive attitude.

    The room and bathroom were spacious and clean, the restaurant is amazing and the pool was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    one word: bliss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. all is wonderful!

    a beautiful, lovely hotel. excellent service, superb restaurant, extremely friendly staff, great breakfas and rooms perfect. easy to get to the city center. best hotel I stayed in so far!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel in good location would return on next visit to Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel, friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant supplemented with a choice of great wines. Whilst outside of the city it was only a short taxi ride into town. Pool was an added bonus

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    We felt lucky to book this hotel for a very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally prefer a softer bed, but I guess that is hard to find in Italy.

    The place has a luxury vibe, the breakfast offers a lot of variety, and the hotel offer bikes (it is a short ride to the city centre). The restaurant Garganelli is one of the best we have found on our trip to Italy. It used to be quite a expensive place to eat, a resident of Bologna told us, but nowadays it is affordable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Overrated place - nothing wrong with it but also nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the 'junior suite' but it was nothing more than just a spacious hotel room with windows to the car park. No table, no bath tub, not even a proper writing desk. It had two bunk beds so I would rather refer to it as a family room - definitely not the standard of a suite! Breakfast is pretty mediocre. Long queues in front of the coffee machine for not Italian quality coffee - the orange juice is some fizzy water that only shares the colour with its original. Fruit and cooked breakfast not recommendable - not the standard of a four star hotel. One starts wondering how this place got these fantastic breakfast ratings!?! Car park is not sun protected so don't leave any food or other heat sensible items in the car and wear shorts when you come back. Even though you are in the northern part, it's still Italy... ;)

    The place is fine; there is nothing wrong with it, but that's all - nothing particularly special about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, poor restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. The restaurant is not that good than our last visit. We specially booked this Hotel for the the restaurant, the food is just a fraction of a few years ago. Very busy at the pool. Needs an update or at least a renovation.

    Good and quiet rooms. Bathroom is clean and modern. Nice staff. Helpful and friendly. The busstop is just 3 minutes from the entrance. A ticket to Bologna center will cost about 2 Euro. Close to the airport but no noise at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    will defenitvly book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilette had a very strong smell from shower drain hole , damaged screen shower . I think we were given a room with a disable toilette. Location a bit to far from center but easy reachable via bus . Bus stop is just a min walk from the hotel €1.50 for the bus ticket. one way.

    very spacious room , large bed , working air con, nice bar and swimming pool, friendly staff. breakfast was excellent lots to choose .Huge car park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Great venue will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a two day stay the hotel staff were very helpful. The facilities were great and the venue was very comfortable. Given the temperature at the time of our stay the pool was great and kept our grandson very happy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Dated mass tourism hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place feels a little dated and in need of a facelift. The rooms are nice, but basic without any personality. Breakfast is a fast lane service with basic food offer and again almost no personality of any extra details that make a hotel special. The swimming pool is really small and with a lot of people using it becomes an oversized bath tub. Good for kids, but not really a place to take a proper swim in. Sunbathing in one of the numbered sunbeds is OK if you don't mind the surrounding residential buildings eliminating the resort kind of feeling.

    Typical big scale hotel on the outskirts of Bologna. Close to the highway and not too far from the city center, but far enough not too walk there. There is a free parking on the premises and rooms are decent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect and couldn't be improved . It was a 15 min bus ride into town but we chose this as we wanted a pool.

    It was a beautiful hotel and we had a deluxe double with a massive balcony overlooking the pool. Staff were friendly efficient and very helpful. Lovely restaurant and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Pool area was lovely with plenty of sunbeds and the area was kept very clean and tidy. Everything was perfect and we would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A comforting and luxurious stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We arrived at the Savoia, tired and happy to have finally arrived at our destination. We were instantly surprised at the space and overall design, we were pleasantly content. We soon made our way down to the pool and lounged on the lovely shaded wicker settees. The following morning we enjoyed a healthy and hearty breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Lovely location, service and accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had booked to stay here longer.

    We were given an upgrade to a wonderful suite with a private terrace and hot tub. The shower in the suite was amazing!! Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gosh this Hotel exceeded what we were expecting, a fantastic Hotel in everyday and the restaurant was top class, amazing service and the food was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful room with huge terrace, nice pool, fantastic restaurant, cleaning lady's bad behaviour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a shocking experience on our last day, when we were taking down to our car our luggages, that, while we went down (for 15 minutes) with the major luggage, the cleaning lady went into our room, opened up our bags on the table (still waiting for us to bring to our car), taking away our olive oil, our bottle of wine and other tangible items.... We still did not check out, and all are things were on the table, obvious that we did not just forget them.... For our request, one by one, she gave our things back. But we were truly shocked, how she dared to go into our personal belongings... I have never had this at any hotel in the past 35 years, travelling around the world... It was a shame, as we enjoyed everything else in this hotel...and this had to be the last experience before we left...

    We had a wonderful room with a huge terrace. Very comfortable, overlooking the pool garden. The hotel has an amazing restaurant. The best risotto con frutti di mare, we have ever eaten!!! Very helpful staff at the reception, at the bar and in the restaurant. Comfortable room, clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel close to the centre and the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on the terrace wonderful... except juices (orange and ananas), awful...

    Very nice hotel close to the centre and the airport Easy access by bike as well Breakfast on the terrace wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Savoia Hotel Regency traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: