Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Savona 4 stars

Via Roma 1, 12051 Alba, Italy

#12 of 12 hotels in Alba

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 425 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    4.6
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs urgent renovation!!! Both facilities and staff! Best review is the lyrics from this classic song: Last thing I remember, I was Running for the door I had to find the passage back to the place I was before 'Relax' said the night man, 'We are programmed to receive. You can check out any time you like, But you can never leave!'

    ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location with restaurants, shops and winebars at...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with restaurants, shops and winebars at walking distance. You won't find the cutting edge modern facilities but you step back into history of the hotel's glorious days of the past which gives it all its charm. Helpfull staff. Good breakfast. Spacious rooms and bathrooms. We liked the rooms overlooking the park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay for New Year's Eve (Capodanno)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small. The minibar had limited items and there were no tea making facilities in the room. Very pleasant nonetheless.

    Central location with free parking. Historic quarter. Excellent restaurant - the capodanno meal, music and festivities were superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    3.3
    WARNING: Be carefull of this hotel dirty, bed not for human use, bathroom is falling in to pieces
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very old and dirty with some of the fittings and appliances dangerous to use particularly in the bathroom. Booking.com should also be responsible for having in their list such rubbish hotel without checking them periodically after all they make money from us the consumers!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Our fourth time at Hotel Savona and we will stay there on our return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bells at night

    Great location near good restaurants and cafes, great helpful staff, great variety of food at breakfast. Comfortable rooms with large clean bathrooms.Parking is onsite and very safe. Always my first choice in Alba.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    We would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Alba.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was perfectly located though a little hard to find the first time. The staff was very helpful with directions to wineries that we were visiting. We were very glad that we reserved parking for our stay as it would have been hard to find on our own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    Too expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is clearly NOT a four star hotel!! Maybe a 2.5. Uncomfortable beds, used/shabby overall appearance in hallways, elevators etc. We would not book here again for that kind of price. Should be one third less.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Central Alba location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly old fashioned decor in need of a refresh. I would go out for breakfast in one of the numerous local cafes where the pastries were better.

    Excellent location in Alba town centre close to the station, shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Had a great time - staff was tip-top, location was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound from the old-fashioned door locks carried - there was no way to muffle by turning the handle and closing the mechanism. Hall noise was noticeable

    Location was excellent - feet from the Piazza of the old city. Staff was very helpful with recommendations for laundry and food, as we came on a holiday. Price was reasonable, breakfast included. Located by some very fine caffe and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    6.7
    The staff are lovely and the location is good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and really needed updating, especially the bathroom, we've stayed there before and went back because of it's location but the room really was not value for money.

    The staff are lovely and the location is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    I have been to more than 200 hotels in the past 11 years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are too small for my length. My feet had to fight gravity all week.

    I have been to more than 200 hotels in the past 11 years. This is the first time ever that sitting at the hotel bar made me feel at home. A very big thumbs up to Roxana for making this happen!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    great location, would stay again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    the room was large and comfortable, i would stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Old
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price of the parking ... But we're in Italy ...

    Location is excellent! Just the right place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Everything was superb excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Very pleased overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lack of Orange Juice at breakfast

    Wifi, location, price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.8
    My colleague double-booked his reservation, and I was charged for two nights instead of 1.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My colleague double-booked his reservation, and I was charged for two nights instead of 1.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection rather poor.

    Great location. Room was ok (bit noisy due to the proximity to the elevators, but overall quiet during the night).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Very back dated hotel with very uncomfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very back dated hotel with very uncomfortable room and bathroom facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.0
    Convenient for our business locally, brilliant staff but too hot for me in December
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overheated bedroom and breakfast room

    Convenience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Good location but very noisy in the morning with the trucks offloading the goods under our window
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy!!!

    Near the centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location in lovely alba.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking and the furniture was very outdated.

    The location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    I loved the old fashioned ambiance of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the old fashioned ambiance of this hotel. Definitely do not refurbish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Don't understand how it can be described as 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't understand how it can be described as 4 star.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Old and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    This property is in great location for visiting Alba.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is in great location for visiting Alba. While an old hotel was comfortable and good staff. Good parking for car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    Uncomplicated and central for a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the center and quiet till 6 in the morning

    Very uncomplicated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Very courteous and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very courteous and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.5
    Have stayed at the Savona many times but this time had a poor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lacked charm. It was at the end of the corrirdor was quite small and had a high ceiling and thus lacked balance

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Really good, would return.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small.

    Lovely, slightly old fashioned hotel, friendly English speaking staff. Great location in historic Alba.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard!

    Reception staff helpful and professional

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is well placed for pedestrians to reach the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We parked outside the hotel so that the three passengers in the car could take the luggage into the hotel and check in. I followed and my husband went out to pay for the parking. In the two minutes of that changeover we were fined 28 Euros. The hotel staff say that the parking attendants watch the hotel. This is not the fault of the hotel, but other clients should be aware that they must FIRST purchase a parking slip before doing anything else! The hotel is old and so some of it is a little shabby.

    The hotel is well placed for pedestrians to reach the interesting parts of Alba. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom perfectly adequate, with good hot water except in the morning when, we imagined, many people were using it and the supply was rather meagre. The breakfast food was varied and very fresh and the breakfast waitress was delightful. Our room had a nice view too.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Close from train station & city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No iron in the room and even at reception desk- this is not business travellers friendly. Smell of cold tobacco in the room. Leaking WC.

    Close from train station & city center

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Personal treatment from female receptionist, found us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant was not open due to annual holidays which we were not made aware off when we booked the hotel.

    Personal treatment from female receptionist, found us a place to dry our soaking wet motorcycle gear.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.5
    It was very close from both the piazza of wine festival and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not so wide and there was only a shower, no bathtub. I expected a little more since it was a four-star hotel.

    It was very close from both the piazza of wine festival and the station. The breakfast was gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    7.5
    All is great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No English TV channel

    All is great

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Great spot in the town, nice and clean rooms, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great spot in the town, nice and clean rooms, great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    5.8
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small rooms and bathroom. Very old.

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quality of breakfast

    The location

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.1
    Central location
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Getting a bit old could do with a renovation

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    Locarion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and the smiling helpful staff.

    Locarion

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.1
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lacking electric power service. Our phone chargers would blow the fuses for the entire floor.

    Location, location, location. Great city.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.8
    Great location, lovely breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The hotel looks like it had it's glory days long time in the past. Needs refurbishment. Price.

    Great location, lovely breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.3
    Great location, close to piazza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, close to piazza.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Very very helpful and efficient staff at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very very helpful and efficient staff at the front desk. Ahead of my needs even.Over my expectations.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.6
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was free and ... almost inexistent. I had to give up on using it

    Very central. Great room with nice decor.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    the location ls very good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the location ls very good!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    10
    Closeness of the Railway Station and City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing in particular

    Closeness of the Railway Station and City Centre

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: