Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Scalinata Di Spagna 3 stars

Piazza Trinita Dei Monti 17, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#82 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 721 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    We were a very happy and satisfied family of 5, along with my parents we loved it xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a brilliant location, staff super friendly and always ready to help. Found private guides and gave great tourist advice and knowledge. Rooms perfect and great value, very very happy family of 5.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a good room with a private balcony. Breakfast was good and service prompt. Great location to most historic sites. Two train stops to the Coliseum. Under excellent management.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Rome is wonderful, This hotel a good launchpad to go anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Classic Room up on the top floor of an adjacent building was cramped and had a very small bathroom.

    Excellent location and you pay the price for it. Service is good and staff helpful. Restaurant at Piazza Del Trimonti between the hotel buildings not the one next to the boutique serves very good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great location on top of the Spanish steps. Enjoyable breakfast and rooms were small but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Connecting Rooms (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and offered something for everyone pastries, croissants, eggs, bacon, juices etc.. Also sitting on the rooftop terrace was relaxing in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ideal if traveling with a push chair as there is a short walk to get to the main central areas... not much but still not the most convenient... also the hotel has no lift so if traveling with a stroller best to request a room at ground level...

    Staff were extremely helpful. Hotel was clean and central (unless travelling with a push chair)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Located at top of Spanish steps.Nice well appointed room .. old world style but a modern bathroom and nice breakfast and breakfast room Concierge was very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Look forward to a future stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For visitors who take the subway from the rail station or the airport, include directions that an Elevator/lift is available from bottom of Spanish steps to the top.

    Assisted with directions. Arrange for transportation to airport. Excellent service and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    wonderful place. would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was very friendly and helpful. hotel very clean and comfortable. great location. nice breakfast and drinks and snacks in mini bar cabs always outside if need transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Near train station and Spanish step
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door at 1floor so much loudly all night when some one open and close.

    Location very near Spanish step but we must calmed to shopping and take a train.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Friendly & helpful staff. They even keep a wine bottle opener handy at the reception! Extremely convenient location (right on top of the Spanish Steps). Nice breakfast spread in the terrace room with a view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    The people that work that are spectacular!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car that picked us up was really old. I didn't expect a limo, but expected something a little more professional. The driver was great pointing out landmarks.

    The management was fantastic. They had our room ready hours before check in. The car was waiting for us on time. Fabrizzio gave us great restaurant recommendations. They made the effort to have breakfast ready ahead of time because of our tour. We did not expect it, and it was a great surprise in the morning. Someone else made the effort run out in the rain to give the taxi driver directions in Italian to ensure we made out tour on time. Great effort by their team really made the experience special!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    I have chosen this hotel mostly for its excellent location,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have chosen this hotel mostly for its excellent location, just above the Spanish Steps in Piazza Trinita dei Monti. The room was large and nice. There is also a terrace with views towards the Vatican.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    What a great spot
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should add a second satellite receiver for the other TV so the kids can watch something different at night time after a long day of walking around the city

    Very nice breakfast to fuel up on for the day to tour the city. Rooms were very clean. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and very personable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Great cosy room in a terrific location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Note that this is more similar to a B&B rather than a hotel - also there are quite a lot and quite steep stairs to walk up (4 flights) which wouldn't be suitable for anyone elderly or unfit. A late check in costs extra which we were not informed of but charged for

    The lady who met us was very lovely and the room looked exactly as it does in photos. The location is literally RIGHT next to the pantheon which is great and within walking distance to everything you would need

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a little small in the winter as its too cold to go outside, so guests had to queue for a table.

    Great position. Great Staff Comfy bed Excellent Wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - if you are at your own car, plan additional 30-45 minutes for getting to parking and back.

    Location is great. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Rooftop breakfast - with great view!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a pull out sofa bed which was very uncomfortable. Not supportive in the middle. There was a keyhole for a separate door at the side of our room which had people going past it. The door was out of use but on a few occasions we saw someone looking through the keyhole

    The location of the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass shower box could have a better fit in the designated space.

    Excellent location. Coffee and tea machine at the guests's disposal. Friendly and attentive staff. Huge and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    We had a great time would stay here again great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooftop dinning room was a little small,

    Great location 10-20 minutes walking distance from most of the major attractions , metro 2 minutes away. Ideal if you're into shopping all the top fashion shops are very close. Lovely for eating out plenty of choice nearby. Hotel was very clean comfortable good variety breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Everything we hoped for and more!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great - wonderful views, easy to walk everywhere and also close to the Metro. Everyone is extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Little touches such as free bottles of water in the fridge in our room, and tea and coffee whenever we wanted it. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.4
    Very good location, good connection to the Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast, no luggage room, while on website was written that there is one. Unfreindly and not kindly staff: when we asked the hotel manager why there is no luggage room "..he said angrily "It is like that in Italy..don't tell my what to do at my home As a result, we left our luggage at the hotel's corridor all day long. Room was small, broken lemp, air-con was not working durring 3 days

    Very good location, good connection to the Metro We were very pleased that we got drinks and snacks for free in the room's mini-bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming City Hotel in central,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and choice at breakfast wasn't of good quality. Breakfast room/ terrace too tiny. No real coffee, only from a machine (and this in ITALY ???)

    Stunning view and terrace from the Penthouse Suite. New furniture, fantastic bed, perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location. Even more beautiful and comfortable than the photos show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's so amazing when the room booked looks better in person than in the photos. Perfectly comfortable, perfectly located. Just perfect. The location, the breakfast, the free-stocked mini-fridge, the staff. We couldn't have asked for a better stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    This is a great hotel in a fabulous location and well worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stocked mini-bar is a little misleading, but it did have a good assortment of drinks and was replenished daily. Just having it included as part of the room rate was a nice perk.

    Location is outstanding - right at the top of the Spanish Steps. Cabs easily available - metro station on the other side of the Steps. Restaurant next door was great. Breakfast buffet was extensive. Very safe, quiet hotel - will stay there again if I travel to Rome for pleasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel and highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was rather week.

    Arrived well before check in time and owner offered us a room upgrade which was available sooner at no extra charge, with own veranda. He also offered breakfast on our arrival date also at no extra charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Everyyyyything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everyyyyything! The location, the room size and the staff alllll excellent!! They even upgraded us to triple room which was very very spacious and the rooms are very beautiful. Staff was very friendly and super helpful! Loved everything about the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Fab break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel couldn't be more centrally located. Didn't stay in the hotel building itself was in an annex next door. The bed was fine but bathroom was very cramped. Could only just move. I guess when your there for 3 nights it's ok. Any longer and it would have become a problem. Breakfast was pleasant and plentiful. Would book again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in the heart of Rome 🇮🇹
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but adequate.

    Super cute rooftop breakfast garden with great breakfast selection. Right next to Spanish steps so short walk to anywhere in Rome. Parking was local but quite expensive. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners take great pride in their hotel. Constantly making sure that everything functions and looks right. Very clean, neat and tidy. The owners and staff are also super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Suite with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is basic

    The view (from the panoramic suite) was wonderful. Our terrace was large, had shade and was furnished with an outdoor setting plus sun lounges. Great location. Even though we were so close to spanish steps, it was quiet and private. Very comfortable room. The hotel is tucked in between two restaurants. We thought the one to the right (closest to spanish steps) had good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Location Location Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Trip was too short (2 nights)

    Superb location to explore Rome. Free water/snacks etc in minibar (a 1st for me from many business and leisure trips) Nice personal service Taxi rank outside door (literally)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION PLUS GREAT PEOPLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    "Classic" room was nice but small. Larger people would have a hard time

    Excellent staff - very good recommendations for restaurants and transportation; Rooftop Garden breakfast room - cappuccino available 24 hrs; location - top of Spanish Steps

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    I would stay there again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Suite with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like most of the places we stayed in Italy, WiFi signal was weak.

    Great staff, good breakfast in wonderful setting - choice of indoor or al fresco seating. Super convenient location. They purchased tickets for several attractions for us in advance of our arrival and had them waiting for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Good sized room in Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility to Rome is fantastic. We stayed for a short stay - 1 night only and the hotel was as described on booking.com Easy to find, standard room, clean and a good size for room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Very Comfortable hotel and facilities are kept in good order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very Comfortable hotel and facilities are kept in good order. Excellent location within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. Staff is friendly. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    The property was in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a perfect location. Very easy access to several great restaurants and to many of the best sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Rome value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, directly at top of Spanish Steps. Access to restuaurants and shops was excellent. Room was very comfortable - spacious by European standards. Comfortable bed and pillows. Referigerator and safe. Bathroom had good space and included a bidet. Breakfast included European and American menu items and was served in roof top facility that had indoor and outdoor seating. It is 2.5 miles to the main train station and there are always taxis at the front door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.0
    It's location is quite central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn't justify the value for money paid over 3 nights. The service was average to below average at times and the rooms were not clean (we arrived to the room and found other people's clothes still in the closet!). The breakfast was quite limited in its offering as well (it was mentioned as a buffet...)

    It's location is quite central

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Comfy and Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My family loved this hotel. It was exactly as advertised. It felt like a bed and breakfast really , so quaint. The location for our family was also very good. If you don't want to climb the Spanish steps at end of a long day you just have to walk around another way to come up the street. For our first time in Italy, we are very happy we stayed here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Spagtastic Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cupboard space a little limited in theroom we stayed in.

    Staff very helpful. Location great. Right at the top of the Spanish Steps. Spagna metro station very close by with a lift to the top of the steps. Great as a base for exploring the city. Room was very clean and views across Rome from the breakfast terrace were super.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location ,friendly staff , very expensive and a tiny room with a sofa bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed - it was a fold out sofa bed,not what you expect when you pay £700 for a room. The size of the room and toilet. I have to say that I have never been in such a small toilet , you couldn't turn around in the shower. There was less than 12 inches between the end of the sofa bed and the wall so walking around the bed was comical The exchange rate changed which meant that it actually cost £200 more when we checked out than when we booked the room. The breakfast, if you go to the roof garden after 09.00 most of the food had gone.

    The Hotel is in a perfect location right at the top of the Spanish Steps .We walked everywhere from the Hotel as everything was in a 1.5 mile radius .The roof garden for breakfast was amazing .You have views right across Rome. Staff were very friendly and spoke English very well. The room was very clean but this is not a hotel room as you know it ,it was an apartment,not that that really mattered. Having had my moan below I have to say that was a friendly but very expensive hotel for what we got.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room modern and very clean, bathroom very small. Was not aware that the bed would be a sofa- bed and not a regular double bed. Booked standard double room.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    My place in the world in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location, beautiful hotel and most of all, the staff were so warm and efficient that I felt completely at home. I will definitely return again. A truly wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    A good choice for Rome trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, convenient for shopping, going to restaurant, waking to different places of interest, close to the metro's elevator, safe, nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.5
    There was a free coffee machine available 247.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bath; was very small. The view was that of roof top/washroom bang opposite!!

    There was a free coffee machine available 247. Staff were nice and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Intimate boutique hotel. Excellent location at the top of the Spanish steps yet a bit removed from the tourist crowds. Good continental breakfast on roof garden terrace with free minibar refreshments and 24/7 access to good coffee an added plus. Helpful friendly staff. Room was nicely appointed, very clean and bed comfortable. All in all a good value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the old and new hotel sections are not connected to each other, to get the breakfast you have to go to the old section from outside.

    Friendly staff, 24 hours coffe machine, and the location was supereb.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Lovely weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little stale, it would have been nice to have fresh pastry's each day available not left overs from the day before.

    The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    2.5
    No more! Mai piu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Oh well I don't where to start. I will never return to this hotel and the reasons are: 1.Most staff not very welcoming. They hardly smile unless you smile them first/or say hello. 2. The room was dirty. The carpet was dirty. There were hairs stuck in the basin and bathtub which was disgusting. 3. The minibar s just a rip off. Few bottle of water and few beverages. 4. I stayed there for a few nigths and every morning there was not hot water for the shower. I had to wait 30 min until the temperature of the boiler was up (that s what they told me). 5. One morning with several electricity cuts which was not great. 6. Breakfast very boring. The only good thing was 24 hrs coffee machine! 7. I found it very expensive for the price I paid for the staying.

    Receptionist were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Perfect Stay in a perfect, sweet little Hotel in Roma!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Hotel and very friendly empoyees! The Hotel is absolutely clean and very comfortable - i would always recommend this Place to my good friends!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Panoramic suite worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Suite with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have called directly rather than attempting email. I would have gotten a better deal.

    My wife and I have stayed here several times. The panoramic suite was unknown to us. The view and the deck are absolutely amazing! Not to mention the spacious modern room. We shared the view with our friends every night with wine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Sweet time on the "Steps"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We received a nice upgrade and liked our sweet little terrace outside the room where we could have a fine breakfast. Large, comfortable double bed, rare for a mid-price Rome hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    A convenient pleasant stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of shear curtains to reduce the light coming through the windows at night as we did not want to use the black out curtains. The sofa bed was adequate

    Breakfast was good with ample choices; location was great; easy access to metro. In addition location allowed walking to many sites.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay when in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 18 had slow wifi internet connectivity - weak wifi coverage. Room 16 is ajoined to it with better connection. Patio has too much vines and plants. Could not hang out there for a good city overlooking view.

    Cozy rooms with medieval feel. Cable service has multiple selections especially for English speaking customers. Dual toilet seats. Free wifi. Unlimited free tea, coffee, milk all day. Free breakfast during hotel stay with variety of continental selections. Located centrally with accessible routes to train and bus stations. Excellent customer service, very nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.6
    An amazing little boutique hotel at the Spanish Steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved the perfect romantic location, the staff, the greeting, the way they went out of their way to make any and all necessary arrangements, their patience with the language differences, the morning breakfast, the Italian time :-) and that rooftop terrace was amazing and beautiful. I would and will come back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    A lovely start to our Italian holiday in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and very helpful It is in a wonderful location and we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The hotel also arranged our transfer from the airport

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    7.1
    I feel cheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not in hotel but building next to it. It was procedure to go to have breakfast in the morning. Room was narrow and bed was made up from sofa. Bathroom was very small. Breakfast could be better. If you book make sure it is in the hotel.

    Clean, free mini bar an coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    highly recommended hotel in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vagtables at breakfast but you can buy at a nearby supermarket and make your own salad at the breakfast room which is open 24/7

    Very friendly and helpful stuff in a lovely family hotel. The location is perfect. The nice breakfast room is open 24/7 with free coffee/tea and available plates and cutlery (if you buy food from the supermarket)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Modern rooms, great location, and excellent hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was newly refurbished, very modern and clean. The owner was extremely hospitable and sweet and took the trouble of taking us up the elevator every single time (since my mom has phobia of being in the elevator alone). We forgot to request a room on the lower floors... Breakfast was great, and was served on a beautiful terrace! Would stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Indulge in comfort next to Spanish Steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning unit is placed just above the king bed, so one have to turn it off while sleeping. Breakfast is good in terms of food quality, but poor in food assortment.

    Excellent boutique hotel next to Spanish Steps. Very welcoming and customer-oriented staff. We liked very much our room (no. 1) - it was spacious enough for 3 of us, elegantly decorated and quite quiet at night (which is rate for Rome city center).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Un posto eccezionale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More bath products -- because I loved them and there weren't enough for three guests, but we were quickly accommodated when we asked for more. :)

    Excellent location, friendly service, a comfy room, a great breakfast on the rooftop terrace -- and three very happy travelers!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager was great and moved us to a regular room with a nice view in the annex after we'd been given, late the night before, a studio (in the annex also) with an uncomfortable sofabed and kitchenette by mistake (apparently the wrong info was on booking.com). The location is fabulous. The breakfast is served on a beautiful small terrace upstairs in the main building.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Perfect Roman Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved every minute of our stay...we only wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for your amazing hospitality! You ought of everything and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    10
    Free Minibar, the owner was very nice, great location and other additional service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location was in the city center, there was a small mini bar for free, the owner was very welcoming, and there was a midday tidy up for the room - the extra kind of service that not other hotels provide.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Ditch the chauffeur but hotel staff excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked receptionist to organise a taxi to take me to the airport who would accept credit card. Receptionist used some chauffeur service. Chauffeur turned up with fly undone on his trousers, drove badly, than insisted on cash not credit card. I strongly recommend that the hotel not longer engage the services of this particular chauffeur.

    Bed comfy. Pillows fluffy. Breakfast better than usual hotel breakfast. Staff helpful not bureaucratic.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    5.0
    Overpriced and under-delivered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, except the cappuccino machine and hard boiled eggs at breakfast. We had room 9 - it is a dungeon and for A$700 a night, I expected more. Fabrizio the manager was rude and hated tourists. We hated it so much, we left and went to stay at Hotel Valadier, room 411 - cheaper and fabulous.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great location and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast in the rooftop courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Rooms (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in the rooftop courtyard Fabulous family adjoining rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I loved the location at the top of the Spanish steps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was difficult to use but adequate

    24 hour coffee and hot chocolate was a real bonus Enjoyed having breakfast on the outdoor terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely rooms lovely and clean, 24 hour service if needed, coffee facilities and mini bar all free, will definately go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable. Excellent staff. Wonderful breakfast included. Great up scale shopping area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    Small, but beautifully appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift but the guys behind the desk took up our luggage

    Great location, room was big and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Just one of the receptionists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one of the receptionists. The others were delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Best location and the staff were very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location and the staff were very helpful with everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    The terrace breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Scalinata Di Spagna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: