Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Scalzi 3 stars

Via Carmelitani Scalzi, 5, Verona Historical Centre, 37122 Verona, Italy

#24 of 68 hotels in Verona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1449 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    It’s a unique building with lots of interesting features .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but could be better. The bread and the pastries weren’t so fresh.

    It’s a unique building with lots of interesting features . Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    A great base to explore Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was charming it’s only 15 minutes walk from the station then another 15 minutes into the centre of Verona Great staff decent continental breakfast comfy beds and showers and efficient air-conditioning and great value for money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Little Gem in Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small, but its not a major train smash. Im used to small bathrooms in Europe.

    Bed was comfortable, very nice and clean, great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location and stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint was the struggle with the lighting in the room when getting ready. It was quite dark in the bedroom and too bright in the bathroom.

    The room was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The location was slightly out of the centre but ideal if arriving by train with about a 10min walk and very easy to find your way to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.3
    It smelled bad in the room, like old celler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled bad in the room, like old celler. Our room was situated in a garden, disconected from the rest of the hotel and there were no fire escape signs. In case of fire we would have been trapped. The hotel should take this seriously and fix this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel with lots of character in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Rooms were a little small and quite basic

    An old palace with lots of character. We could walk to the train/ bus station. Great selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A Good hotel in a great location, fantastic staff, good breakfast - lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - all was very good.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They all spoke perfect English but were very happy to let me try my very poor Italian. The hotel is located close to the centre of the city but far enough away to be in quiet neighbourhood. Plenty of cafes and bar in the local area with the arena only 10 to 15 minutes walk, if you don't stop for coffee or wine! Our room was very clean and of a good size with, a good shower and very welcome air conditioning - the weather was very warm during our stay. Breakfast was very good - typical continental cold meats, cheese, bread, etc... - great! We took the bus from the airport and got off at the Porta Nuova rail station - 5 minutes walk to the hotel. We visited Desenzano del Garda by train - good place to visit. Great hotel, great wine - great trip!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect room, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a fridge in the room.

    Big comfy bed in a clean room, excellent location to the city centre (10 minutes to the arena). Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic and a perfect hotel for visiting Verona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old building so sometimes you can hear your neighbours but that wasn’t a deal breaker.

    Fantastic location for going round Verona which is stunning. Close to the old town as well as the railway station (went to Venice for the day). There was air conditioning which was great as it was hot. WiFi worked and it was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    - close to the city center and railways station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - minimalist room - small bathroom - room close to the stairs, lot of noise from the corridor

    - close to the city center and railways station - nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great location within easy walking distance to Arena and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location within easy walking distance to Arena and all other sights, restaurants and main shopping street. Behind an unasuming, big wooden door awaits a lovely hotel with a patio and lots of plants. Our room had the bathroom and living area downstairs with the bedroom upstairs which is a very nice and romantic setting. Breakfast buffet was very good with good selection of sweet and savory food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel , great value and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor criticism, a full length mirror on one of the walls would have been a good idea .

    It was a lovely friendly privately owned small hotel . The owner herself was extremely friendly and so were all her staff . It was great value for money and lovely breakfast in the secret garden . It was great location from the tran station and only 10 mins walk into the historic town centre .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Quirky room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although only walking distance hotel was slightly too far out of historic centre. Would have preferred a hotel near piazza bra or delle erbe

    Quirky room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location, just around 10 minutes walk to old center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very rude staff at breakfast, we waited 20 minutes for free table in courtyard and when we started to eat then come waiter to us and moved us inside because some other people want to sit outside. Breakfast very poor. Some people sitted down in front of our superior room in courtyard and smoked. Very uncouncomfortable bed.

    Perfect location, just around 10 minutes walk to old center. Parking is near, 200 meters walk to hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    No elevator, narrow stairs to carry up luggage, no help with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, narrow stairs to carry up luggage, no help with luggage, and small room but not shabby. Free parking but three blocks away in underground. Quaint place but just too many negatives.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic beautiful boutique hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small with room for only one person to hang or shelve clothes from case. No kettle. No lift

    Fantastic location we walked to the opera. Beautiful ‘secret garden’ for breakfast- stunning outdoor area. Delicious range of food and coffee/tea. Charming staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated near to the train station, airport and the centre of Verona. The hotel is in an historical building, which is fabulous. The rooms were great, clean and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was great lots of choice and I was offered gluten free like I had asked for, which was fabulous. Patricia the owner was lovely, she chatted to us about Verona and was she extremely helpful. Thank you we had a fabulous stay at your hotel. Julie

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic small hotel with bags of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this bijou hotel!!

    We had one of the suites- the decor and layout are fantastic with the bed on the mezzanine floor. The room was quiet and not overlooked despite being one 'wall' of a courtyard. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the arena. We hope to go back there again the next time w visit Verona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    Not value for money as a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a hotel but a bed and breakfast facility. The is no bar or lounge to sit and have a drink or read. Certainly not a facility worth a lot of stars.

    The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    City Getaway at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel an oasis in the middle of a busy road! So well decorated and comfortable! Great toilet and toiletries provided! Staff very polite and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    The Hotel is situatated closed to the Arena, 7 minutes walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is situatated closed to the Arena, 7 minutes walk. We booked also a place in the garage which is closed to the hotel and easy to locate. Many thanks to your friendly staff at the reception, she offered extra pillows for our visit in the Arena.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great old building with character and comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great old building with character and comfortable rooms. The city centre lies within a 10 min. walking distance. Breakfast was good, considering Italian standards, "ok" for international standards. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and I´d give them a proper 10 for their work. Definitly a place I´d re-choose if I return to Verona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Thouroughly enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny ensuite. However, still functional.

    Lovely breakfast. Very friendly, helpful staff. Central location. Walking distance to restaurants and centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant small hotel with good facilities and access to the centre on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To channels were poor if you are from the U.K. But minor issue as you don't go on holiday to watch the tv

    Hotel was very nice and although I was only there for one night I would stay there for longer if the opportunity arose the balcony quiet area was lovely especially after a busy day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The way the property was kept in the traditional way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking allowed in the secret garden where breakfast was served - although it was outside it would have been nice to sit outside to have breakfast without anyone smoking. we had to sit inside which was a shame.

    The way the property was kept in the traditional way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    A very pleasant experience and we would definitely go again. Would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning being on in the communal areas.

    Breakfast was always fresh and a good selection. The staff were excellent. They were helpful and friendly. Gave good advice particularly on a local restaurant for dinner. They could not be faulted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A great short break in a very comfortable hotel just short distance to the historic centre of Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No critical comments.

    Great location in a charming old property. Staff excellent and very helpful in terms of information; room very clean and comfortable with a very good breakfast served in a courtyard. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    We had a suite in the court that was very quiet despite the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast only one cappuccino is served and the second is charged separately. And this is written everywhere. In this country of coffee competence this is weird.

    We had a suite in the court that was very quiet despite the central location. Very friendly and helpful receptionist!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Location perfect for access to tourist spots -just a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room to keep drinks and food cold

    Location perfect for access to tourist spots -just a short walk. Also close to the train/bus station for days trips out of Verona. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the courtyard was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is too small / water from shower always splash out. No elevator since it is an old building

    Breakfast is good. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Good location with walking distance to historic area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is an old palace, but room are modern and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn’t work. The rooms are not very well isolated.

    The hotel is an old palace, but room are modern and very confortable. There is a parking very closed to the hotel. The recepcionists were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This didn't bother us because of the Pizzaria, bar and ice cream shop- but there is no bar or restaurant. You could buy drinks from the reception to have in your room or lounge area. We would describe this as a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel.

    Easy to walk to from the station-10 minutes. Arena was 10 minute walk, Juliet's house was about 20 minutes away. There was a really nice friendly Pizzaria to the right as you walk out of the door across the crossroads, next to that was a fab ice cream shop open until midnight, and a small friendly bar-all 1 minute walk away. Clean room, quiet but we were at the back. Breakfast included was a continental buffet, which was in a lovely courtyard if you wanted. Staff were helpful. We sat in the upstairs lounge area which had a chess board and lots of books. A Spar supermarket is about 5 minutes away on the way to the arena.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful... Would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, location, breakfasts and hot showers! We were a group of 4 female friends who had rooms 2 and 4 opening on to the shared terrace. Wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Pillows a little too hard

    Excellent location easily accessible to the main attractions and a short walk to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant hotel serving a good breakfast in a good location away from the tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bed was on a mezzanine floor; although plenty of room, only one collapsible rack for a suitcases and we had one each which meant one was on the floor; not sufficient light over teh shower in the bathroom; toilet roll holder was on wall behind the toilet so you had to be a contorsionist to reach the paper; no soap dish; collection of mixed plastic hangers in wardrobe like you'd get at the dry cleaners; no hangers for trousers; only one small bin in bathroom and none other in room; room damp when we arrived - hadn't been aired properly. Quite a few minor niggles which if they can correct would elevate what they offer.

    Breakfast was good. Boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereals and pastries etc. Very complete offering. two affordably price and good restaurants nearby. Near the station. Well placed for public transport. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    I travel a lot in Europe for business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel a lot in Europe for business. but I have never had such a bad room. The room is barely larger than a shoe box. even when I arrived, the floor in the bathroom was totally wet. the toilet is leaking and water leaks out. The air conditioning also does not work. For 100 euros at night, I expect something different. Good that I only stay 2 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in the superior rooms they were definitely worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the superior rooms they were definitely worth the extra as a friend had a single room and it was a lot smaller and less comfortable. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Traditional style hotel near the heart of Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very firm, so not the most comfortable.

    The hotel is located on the oldest street in Verona, which is a brisk 15 minute walk from the old town. Our room rate included breakfast which was a good selection and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable, friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clearly new and had everything we needed. However, the shower screen wasn’t wide enough to protect rest of bathroom from the spray - consequently lots of water everywhere!

    Our welcome was particularly warm and friendly. We were presented with an lively itinerary suggestion along with a clear plan which helped us make the most of our one limited time in Verona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice small hotel with good atmosphere and location, off from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice small hotel with good atmosphere and location, off from the crowded center - easier to find parking when travelling by car. Close to the station, in a quiet area. Good value for money. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic Location in an Old Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had ants which was a shame and our Air conditioner didn't work

    The location was great. Just a short walk from the Station and Shuttle bus and only 5 mins into town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend was a nice, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the hotel a little hard to locate, once we found it we were very happy with our room. Except for the wifi which we couldn't use inside our room, we had to go outside in the courtyard to get a signal. Breakfast was basic, but adequate.

    Our room was large, with a lounge room and table and chairs, so was extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and gave us a good itinerary of things to do, as we were only staying one night, which proved excellent advice. The parking was a little away from the hotel and not included in the price but was off street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot. About a 10 minute walk into town. Apart from that brilliant.

    Great staff, always helpful. Rooms spotless. Excellent facilities. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed everything about it. Would surely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handsoap in the bathroom would be pleasant. :)

    Very charming and charactered place— Every space made its own statement! Staff are very welcoming and warm as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, very friendly, individual & relaxed. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a couple of mornings the coffee wasn’t great, but it wouldn’t deter me from returning.

    Lovely personal touch from the staff on my husband’s birthday. He really appreciated it. All staff were very friendly & welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Loved most about the hotel, would recommend it and will be back too
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was at the front of the suites and we had noise from the street. Please note there is no fridge in the room. Carefully read the description of the room before booking. You need to be ready to carry your suitcase up and down the stairs as the hotel does not have an elevator. I would prefer a brighter light in the room.

    Pleasant stay in a sweet, small room. Good hotel in a fantastic location. Great for easily walking to main sights and Porta Nuova station (about 10min). The room was small but comfortable and warm. Heating was excellent on a very cold Verona holidays (during Siberian Buran). The shower was really hot. Our room was clean and washing items always available. The staff was very friendly and accommodating! We asked for a cattle in the room and they bought it for us and also provided us with cattle adaptor. The hotel offered a good continental breakfast with unlimited caps of coffee. The lady who serves breakfast is really kind, she speaks Italian and Russian.))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel, in a great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description in booking.com said there was a bar at the hotel, in actual fact it was just a fridge with various drinks which you could choose from and take to your room then add the cost to your final bill. It’s not a massive problem just came as a surprise.

    The rooms were lovely and clean. There was a wide range of cereal, toast, and continental breakfast choices. The staff were so helpful and spoke good English, they even organised a taxi for us to go back to the airport. The location is brilliant just a 5-10 minute walk into the city centre by the arena.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for hot water for tea (we had our own tea bags) and they charged us 5 Euros each time. We felt they should have told us ahead of time there would be a cost.

    Location, staff was helpful and friendly. They provided us with a map of all the places to see and gave us good restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staff with amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though breakfast WAS GOOD, it didn't have many options. Hotel had a specific time for cleaning in the morning and staff would knock on the door to see if you are there and want the room cleaned or not (missed the "do not disturb" door sign).

    This property simply has the BEST Location. Walking distance from pretty much anything you want to see in Verona. The Staff was also super nice and helpful. They went above and beyond preparing a surprise gift for my wife's Birthday. The room size was also a good surprise and everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything

    Everything was excellent, people working there were super helpful and nice. Room was great and a great value for money. Willing to come back again soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Great!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The owner of the hotel is a wonderful lady!!! All the tips hit the nail on the head and the pizzas at Bella Napoli were superb. Would stay again if I return to Verona.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Verona is a must see
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a kettle in the room

    Excellent location. Hotel was lovely and the room was a nice size and very comfy. The breakfast room was gorgeous and the breakfast was very nice. Staff really good especially Patrizia who works during the day. She was absolutely lovely and very helpful. Great stay and Verona is wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.2
    The location was just a few streets back from main centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nothing like in photos was very worn and just about passable . No tea or coffee facilities and not really anywhere to put your clothes just a couple of shelves. The bathroom though was new . Curtains were very old and grey and carpet very worn. Breakfast was very poor with very little choice and of poor quality. The bread was stale and the toaster was so poor it dried the bread out more rather than toast it crumbling like powder. I watched the same selection of cakes and bread put out every morning uncovered and touched by everyone for 4 days . Coffee was cold and had to ask for an alternative. We decided to try the cold booked eggs and even those were uncooked so had to discard them too. I don't mind continental but my husband has diabetes and everything was sugary. Alternatives such as fruit salad was poorly presented and was just apple and orange . I was disappointed by the overall feel of the place it was such a shame a lovely building with so much potential

    The location was just a few streets back from main centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't like the 1 coffee policy at breakfast.

    Lovely room with a really comfortable bed. Bathroom new and with a great shower. Breakfast was good. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant and content stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area and entrance could do with a nice warm welcome feel. It was a bit dark and cold due to little natural light/or heat.

    Lovely room, friendly staff and breakfast good too. I had a great night of sleep too (the best throughout my trip).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was not at all like the photos from the website. It was an old apartment. While big, the furniture was outdated and it was connected to the breakfast room which was not soundproof and we heard lots of noise and smelled coffee/food starting at 7:30am on a Sunday morning which was very disappointing.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Amazing stay and the good points definitely outweighed the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast although seemed a lot of choice wasn't to a very high standard, very basic. The coffee which was something I would of expected to be great was of poor quality. The room very very cold at night, to the point where we needed to put our hats and gloves on to go to sleep even with the extra cover.

    The level of customer service from the staff at the hotel was outstanding! they could not do enough for you and there was a always a warm welcome from whoever was on the reception desk either in the morning or when returning from the day of sightseeing. The location was perfect, literally a seven minute walk into the main centre where the arena is. Everything was very easily accessible and within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    One big room which is good for us with couple of big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is bit smelly and there is no table (even a small one) in such big room, not convenience at all. In booking.com website, car parking charges is Euro15 per night but actually is Euro17, wrong information.

    One big room which is good for us with couple of big baggages.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    The room was just refirnished and breakfast was ice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and, commun areas as corridor and little sitting area up are too old so before we discover the room we were quite worry about the room...

    The room was just refirnished and breakfast was ice and located in a beautiful part of the building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    We were given the garden "room" which is actually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Missed the hotel entrance when first walked past in the street - it's through a small wooden door within larger wooden doors. All good after that......

    We were given the garden "room" which is actually a ground-floor suite off a courtyard - separate living room to the bedroom and bathroom. Most spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.0
    Bathroom was very new and modern albeit a little dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room opened onto a courtyard and the breakfast room. To get daylight we had to sacrifice privacy. Also bed was upstairs, bathroom down. Inconvenient for frequent pee-ers.

    Bathroom was very new and modern albeit a little dark.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Charming accomodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, charming accomodations, excellent breakfast. Also, they opened their full breakfast early, and served up cappuccino, too, on our day of departure to meet our schedule!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, excellent service and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit small. Had to squeeze past sink to sit on toilet.

    Loved the rustic feel of the hotel and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was a good continental. Great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money. We will stay here again if in Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift - but it was in an historical building that had been sympathetically converted.

    Location - Shops, bars and restaurants were all close by. Accommodation - The bedrooms were modern and clean. The staff carried our cases up to our room. The first room we had was very quirky - more like an apartment. As I have mobility problems the lady on duty changed our room to one nearer the stairs. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold buffet style.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    OK but won't be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, dark with a lot of traffic noise. The courtyard was only available at breakfast. There was no lift and the breakfast was uninspiring

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Prime location in Verona is provided by this friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be difficult to locate hotel as small sign over door.

    Doesn't look like much from the outside (difficult to locate) but I love how they have decorated the interior. Prime location means easy walk to restaurants and main square. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great buffet breakfast to start your day. Also they were able to a place for bicycle storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Very helpful staff, but let down by the location on the main road and the noisy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my room was very noisy due to the various fans/air conditioning units in adjacent rooms. Also the hotel is situted on a busy main road, so traffic noise was an issue for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel with welcoming staff and Italian charm in abundance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was an old palazzo and had a lovely Italian charm. The staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and was in a lovely little room, with an external courtyard if you wanted to eat outside. I had read previous reviews and was a bit concerned, but the hotel is an old building with all of the charm and quirks of ancient building, so if you are looking for a Travel Inn type hotel this is not it. We enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in the lovely city of Verona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and did not have a desk or facilities to make a hot drink (no kettle, no coffee and no tea in the room). With no facilities to make a hot drink in the room I was surprised that the hot drinks we had in the hotel lobby were chargeable (and expensive).

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and organised transfers from and to the airport. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a good start to the day. Overall a very good hotel in a reasonably quiet district with restaurants and a few bars and only a ten minute walk into the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Verona is a beautiful city. Staff at hotel very accommodating but facilities a little basic for 201
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Our room was located at the end of a long, narrow, winding corridor. Beds were narrow. No safe to store valuables in room and the storage at reception was of unacceptable standard as we had no receipt of items kept there.

    Proximity to restaurants and friendly welcome by all staff. Easy walking distance to tourist sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, just 10 minutes from station in one direction and the arena in another. We found a delightful restaurant 10 minutes walk away too. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Polite and very helpful staff who recommended an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in the financial sector of the city, not the really old part. I did not realise this when booking but that is MY fault, not the hotel's!!! No elevator, which may deter those with heavy luggage.

    Polite and very helpful staff who recommended an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    I think the price was a bit high for that accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been better, was not many choice. Parking was not too easy as in the garage there have been no signs how to get out.

    I liked the balcony we had and the decoration of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    We would definitely return again on a European holliday, just the character we look for to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, building so very old they had beautiful alfresco and the front door was enormous - so full or character. the food was delicious so we dined the 2 nights we stayed and just around the corner is a pastry shop that specialising apple strudel for late night strollers

    Good choice for breakfast, well presented. Beds fairly comfortable . Outstanding superior studio with a mezzanine floor and sitting ,bathroom downstairs. You had your own little courtyard or join the larger courtyard for breakfasts, very leafy and cosy. Yes I would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice staff. Easy to buy water coffee wine or drinks on the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little space for clothes and shoes. No place to makeup yourself. Very thin wall to next room. Did hear other quest to talk and coff.

    Breakfast at the garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Scalzi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: