Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Scilla 3 stars

Via Rodolfo Siviero 3, 58010 Sovana, Italy

#6 of 9 hotels in Sovana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Super serviceminded person in reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was nice and comfortable, only minor point to mention originates from outside. People talking loudly in street cafe/bar right under our room windows until late. Difficult to do something about when visiting turists enjoy life in this lovely little town.

    Super serviceminded person in reception. She was using google translate in order to cope with my missing Italian language, and her missing english. And when this method was not sufficient, she went to somewhere in the small town Sovana to fetch an english speaking person. - Only in order to be sure, that no misunderstandings had occured regarding my enquiry. I love such service efford to help a danish guest, with a non standard enquiry. Thank you. Good parking space behind hotel for guests. Nice breakfast selection, and when cook starts the days labour, scamble egg can also be served - if asked for. Hotel restaurant focus on grilled meat, but menu selection for vegetarians could be better or kitchen a little more open for special inquiries (given Sovana is in Toscana with many local speciality). Waiter tried her best. There is an other option for vegetarians in the small town. In Sovana "Do as the locals do" is an advice from me. Go in direction of the church, and use your senses of hearing and smell. You may be able to find a table in a busy family place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    A little bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room really to small. Just ok for one night but not more. We never find out how to use the air-conditioning

    People were very nice at the desk and happy to help. The restaurant was good and not to expansive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value hotel for heavy sleepers in this pretty little town, light sleepers beware
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed when I booked asking for a quiet room and later re-emailed to confirm this and I asked when I checked in. But the room i got overlooked a wine bar that was still noisy at midnight on a Sunday evening. The other side of the hotel faces the hotel's own bar and restaurant which might close earlier. (??)but, speaking to a pleasant lady at checkout it became obvious that they must know that many (if not all) of their rooms could not be described as quiet. This is a pity as otherwise the hotel offers great value in a lovely little town that looks quiet and sleepy. IF you're a heavy sleeper you'll get great value for money

    Great location with easy parking in a beautiful, charming litle town with historic features. the room was clean, the air conditioning worked (but silently!) so we had to leave the fan on in the bathroom to provide white noise to muffle the noise from the bar ten feet away on the other side of the medieval lane. breakfast was good.Good value for money (apart from the noise)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel, good staff, great location. Restaurant good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is mostly sweet options - a few more savoury choices would be good

    The hotel restaurant was good. The staff made undercover parking available for our 2 motorbikes because it was raining most afternoons. Sovana is a very nice small town with good restaurant/cafe options and is a good base for exploring the surrounding towns and area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Sovana is a beautiful little village!! It was particularly peaceful and quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was set very hot in our room on our arrival. Maybe some people enjoy that, but it was difficult to regulate.

    We were welcomed even though we arrived an hour before check in. The parking lot is very close to the hotel! Very convenient!! The bar fridge was a good size and worked very well. I really liked that it had space for ice blocks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    Our room was in desperate need of renovation, the bed head...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in desperate need of renovation, the bed head fabric was filthy, the window glass was disgusting and so was the mirror and there were several cracks in the wall. The wooden floor was scratched and the furniture was old and smelly. Also there was no phone in the room. The building was beautiful and picturesque from the outside but in order to reach our room, we had to climb a very narrow stair as there was no lift. We had booked for 3 nights but after seeing the room, we decided to stay only one night. We were offered to change for another room but this was pretty much the same. The hotel management agreed to charge us only for the night we stayed there. Breakfast was good with a varied selection of home made cakes and fresh coffee served from a good expresso machine, fresh fruit and savory choice also available. Free parking provided as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel in idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was a dribble. Staff spoke no English, and when there was confusion over our bill ( we had booked half board, but were charged for dinner) this was hard to sort out.

    Pleasant accommodation, with a sunny garden, a lovely old stone fireplace in the lounge, and onsite parking. Idyllic location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    Small walled village in a serene & beautiful environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small and with a couple with kids in the next room, it can be quite noisy...

    The village. It is incredible serene around there. The hotel is an old cloister and if you like it, it is wonderful. The breakfast is good with a great view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Sovana is a perfect little gem
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice. Clean. In the one of the most beautiful little hamlets in Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    The village is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi signal in the room.

    The village is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Location splendida in un Borgo meravigliso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nulla

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Scilla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty place, comfortable rooms, friendly and effective staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Right in the middle of town. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit moldy smelling

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was warm in winter time. Great location. View of cute town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    La location fantastica
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La location fantastica

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    quiet and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    good cakes for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Centrally located nice place to stay.But help is needed to carry suitcases to&from the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs to the rooms need help carrying the suitcases.

    Very central location. Breakfast quite satisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    The bathroom was not so clean, there was a mould on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not so clean, there was a mould on the walls... Restaurant in the hotel is so expensive compare to other restaurants in the village.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    On a envie de revenir
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superbe resto i merli

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    4.6
    The location is good to visit the nearby must see places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wonder you cannot post picture of hotel. I booked for Taverna Etrusca and this is not where I stayed. Owner has changed recently and Taverna and Hotel Scilla are under same management. I stayed at Scilla. On second day the owner had "broken" his credit card reader and I had to go get cash to pay at checkout. But is not the worst ( can happen). The worst is that on Saturday night a kind of Lotto event was organized in hotel's restaurant and there was a guy on a loudspeaker from 9PM till passed Midnight! Just under our rooms windows. At passed Midnight I stood up and went down to tell my dismay at the utter noise. They just did close the doors from the restaurant veranda and it went on till about 1 AM. Never seen or heard anything like it and never experienced such a lack of consideration for hotel guests! They did not care, and owner was obviously more concerned by filling his tables that with comfort of his hotel guests. He did not even show up on Sunday morning when I checked out. I promised to his assistant I would flame their rate here. So be it. They don't deserve to stay in your choice. Not professional at all.

    The location is good to visit the nearby must see places such as Pitigliano or the Etruscan necropole. By car everything is nearby. Free parking at hotel. Fuel station in village with good price.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    quite and picturesk location in a lovely small museumvillage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms are quite small

    quite and picturesk location in a lovely small museumvillage. A good location the explore sothern Tuscany.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel Scilla traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: