Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scott House 3 stars

Via Gioberti 30, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#580 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1627 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle and aircon didnt work. But the room was cool. No early check-in as well.

    Very clean and friendly staff. Great location by the central station. Close to all amenities. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Clean and comfy room. Very close to Roma Termini so a great base. Walking distance to Trevi Fountain, Colosseum & Roman Forum.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a couple of nights in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few minutes walk from the Termini station, easy to find if you check on internet prior to arrival. A small lift to get luggage up to the hotel on 4th floor, a good selection for breakfast and clean bright rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location right next to train station and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of confusion over payment because they took half the money early without notice even though it was a free cancellation booking. But once I got to the hotel they weren’t aware so I still had to pay full price. The earlier payment was cancelled once I had checked in though. Also the bed was not comfortable, just 2 singles pushed together for a double and the one side was slanted and hard.

    Good location right next to train station and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Cheating of non-EU customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was cheated at my payment. Simply overcharged using double currency exchange which was totally unnecessary as I gave the receptionist my card in EURO. My Booking.com confirmation also indicated that I should pay in EURO. However my EURO card was charged in Russian roubles which was automatically converted to Euros again. All non-EU customers should be vigilant.

    The hotel itself is ok, clean and well located. Staff was helpful in general but sometimes try to cheat non-EU customers using the pretext that all non-EU guests should pay in their national currencies only.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended for families, it is like a motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is not a hotel. Is a flat. the beds are supper uncomfortable and the location is not safe and ugly, specially during the nights o early mornings. avoid it if you are with children.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    We were given the room on the top floor (6th floor) so we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choices for breakfast.

    We were given the room on the top floor (6th floor) so we needed to climb one floor as the lift only works until level 5. There was a big balcony which we liked very much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    I liked that the property was in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on Booking.com were not like the room. Almost false advertisement! The mattresses were horrible! The toilet leaked and the cleaning staff said it was from the shower, but it was definitely from the toilet. The hallways were immaculate, but the rooms..... a disgrace! This hotel should be a two star instead of a three. It shares a building with several other hotels! The building had trash all in front of the entrance! Do not choose this hotel! They must update their pictures, to reflect the reality of the properties actual appearance!

    I liked that the property was in a great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very close to Termini which was a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room is so small. Couldn't walk around much.

    The hotel was very close to Termini which was a great advantage. Breakfast was good, staff were great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the hotel took so much details to register our names and passport details (which I was not comfortable about). I hope the hotel will secure these confidential information. The hallway was a little bit dirty.

    Good location. Water pressure is very strong and enough hot water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.3
    The pictures about the rooms provided online are misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures about the rooms provided online are misleading. The beddings and decorations are outdated. The bathroom is definitely different from the one shown online. It is outdated and there is no room to move around even in using the toilet. Due to these and safety reasons, we moved to a different hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Saw prostitutes hanging around outside the hotel complex at night and rubbish bags were piled out front. Not a particularly nice area of Rome. Inside, rooms were clean but very small - there was no room to even open up our suitcases. Shower was even smaller. Very little natural light.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, and close to the central train station which makes it easy to get around. However, all main attractions are a fair distance away and most are too far to walk to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Good accommodation in a handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to Termini ( central station ) is great for travelers. Staff at Scott House were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Easy access location, friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although location is very accessible and convenient, neighborhood doesnt seem very safe. Also sign for the place is not so easy to find, so make sure you actually look for it. Overall room size was pretty small with tiny bathroom.

    Location, location, location. Located 3minutes walk from Termini. Very convenient. Staffs were very friendly, if you have included breakfast, but need to leave / check out the room early they make little BF package for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good destination
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its close to the cenrral station and metro the room is good staff were friendly lift is old and small good air conditioning and its close to many destination. Toilet is very small not suggested for the overweight people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed staying here location was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay a little bit less to choose from that I expected but still enjoyed the food.

    The location was excellent! Metro is 2 mins away and 15 minute walk to the colosseum and walking distance to everything else. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Value for money and close to Termini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is a bit iffy keep your valuables safe, rubbish on street and a beggar at the door, door to property has a few buzzers you press to get in then go up in lift to 4 th floor. After that all good. But it’s just not easily marked to do this for Scott house as there are other hotels in same building. We ended up pressing buzzer for another hotel to get the door open as we couldn’t work it out.

    Room was value for money and is very close to Termini, but in a poor spot. Breakfast was very nice. Plenty of pizzeria on every corner close by. Termini is literally 5 minutes walk from door to door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast spread is not fantastic but the coffee is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is too small for 4 of us. No space to put our luggage. I have to spread out my luggage on my bed in order to get things from it. Wardrobe and hangers not enough for 4 pax. Toilet / bathroom also very cramp. Some how the bathe water from the bathroom flowed out into the room.

    Location is good, just a stone throw away from Roma Termini Station. Staff are very helpful, helped me solved my air-conditioning issue, gave me plaster for my son's blister and masking tape for my damaged luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay for a site seeing city break in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy at night but that is to be expected given its location. Kettle and coffee but no cups or milk so difficult to make drinks.

    Check in was easy apart from the new printer not working but that was no real problem 😀 We were given coffee whilst we waited. Hotel is on fourth and fifth floors of the building and is by far the cleanest and most welcoming. The lift is small but was in perfect order the whole time we were there. The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom is small but perfect for a short stay. Towels are changed daily. The entire hotel was pristine throughout our stay. Breakfast was basic but adequate and varied. In all we enjoyed our 4 night stay and would definitely return due to the excellent location for all public transport and many reasonably priced restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    We loved Roman but not the street sellars waiting outside the hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities bathroom too small, we were in room 421 woken every morning before 6am due to noise from the kitchen. Breakfast selection extremely limited. Upon arrival the lift wasn’t working we had never stayed in a hotel that was just the forth floor there was building work on the floors below.

    Good location mostly friendly staff clean but small rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Good place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, Termini area. But can't blame the hotel.

    The young man in the reception was very friendly when we arrived. Clean rooms. Very good breakfast was a nice surprise. We just needed to sleep one night between the flight and the train journey, the hotel is good for that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The enterance area wasn’t inviting. The lift was old but the reception area was clean. The enterance wasn’t so inviting because it’s a shared area with other hotels

    Breakfast great and hotel staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Not for the next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small bathroom very small,the entrance without lobby,practically in the same building there are several hotels in different floors and this hotel is located in 4th and 5th floors!!

    The location, staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good, but not interested to do it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small bathroom very small,the entrance without lobby,practically in the same building there are several hotels in different floors and this hotel is located in 4th and 5th floors!!

    The location was very close to the train station and metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    For the price, it was a friendly hotel with easy access to all sights due to its proximity to trains
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated a better, more powerful hair dryer.

    Location: one and half block easy walk to Termini train station. Cramped but clean single room. Fresh towels every day. In-room refrigerator generates heat. Excellent continental breakfast. Adequate wi-fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    So so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC wasn't working properly with all the heat. And also they need to buy new towels as the ones we were or ripped or with holes.

    The staff were really nice and really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A great location if you want to walk around Rome, it’s easy to get to and from anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c system hadn’t been turned on yet, despite pretty hot weather - the fan worked fine though.

    Beds were very comfy and the bathroom was spotless!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location for Roma Termini station, but that's all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated inside a building occupying the upper 2 floors. A lift or stairs takes you up there. The area is a little dodgy, very busy, lots of beggars (but it's close to the train station) only a 2 minute walk. The room was very small, and the corner shower was very small with a consortina style door (like something from the 1960's) if you are a large person, you've got no chance. The TV was perched on top of the wardrobe....in fact you would only be able to see 3/4 of the screen as it was so high up! I think the hotel need to review the TV position to a lower level (see photo)

    Great location very close to the train station (if that's what you're after). Breakfast was ok, not much choice, but the coffee was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Not likely to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some staff is not so friendly. The shower unit was so small and water was splashing everywhere. No socket next to the bed, there was only one in the middle of the room.

    Location was great just a block away from Roma Termini station. Breakfast was not bad, just the girl was a bit arrogant girl.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    SPECTULAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THİS İS JUST AMAZİNG EXCATLY WANT I WANT I GOT IT I WISH TO COME THERE AGAİN ON MY NEXT TRİP FRİENDL STAFF THEY ARE JUST EXCELLENT ROOM WAS SO CLEAN BREAKFAST I DONT HAVE ANY WORDS TO EXPLAİN THİS SPECTULAR FOOD THANK YOU VERY MUCH GUYS...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    The breakfast was very good, the hotel was unusual because I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower stall was too small, kept hitting the tiles as i was taking a shower and the they was not creamer in the room for the room. Also the twin bed was to narrow, I couldn't roll over.

    The breakfast was very good, the hotel was unusual because I had never seen a hotel in a building with other hotels before but the place was exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Good stay in rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to climb up stairs b4 getting to the elevator.tolerable.just b ready if u hv many or heavy bags.

    Very near to roma termini n halal foods nearby.too convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the kitchenpersonel were unfriendly! a behavior we experienced in all of rome, italians hate tourists!..

    very close to colloseum and station termini

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Close to the railway station, quite, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You will not hear the street noise, but the inner walls are thin.

    Very close to the railway station, supermarket nearby. Breakfast was good (ham, cheese, salad, juice, bread, coffee, eggs). Wi-fi was fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful experience, good location- Rome is a magnificent city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good location, close to the metro and the railway station Termini, good breakfast, extraordinary staff, special thanks to the receptionist Marisa, very helpful and ready to assist us whenever needed, cute restaurants nearby, clean room even if not very big. I definitely would recommend the hotel to my friends .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location, very close to Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls between the rooms. The bathroom next door was very loud and when your neighbour was using then shower you just could not sleep.

    Good location, very close to Termini Recently renovated Good breakfast Friendly staff Room was cleaned every day plus fresh towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Value for money and the location but its not quite and you need to safeguard your items
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) The safety of your items. - During our stay, I had to put all the valuable items like laptop or iPad inside the luggage and lock it. Unfortunately, one day, I forgot to put my Samsung power bank in the luggage, so the item was on the bed when we left the room. When we came back, I could not find the power bank and I ran to the front desk to query about the thing. Then, the next day, when we checked out, I asked the front desk about the status of my query, and he said that the cleaning people did not see anything in the room. I should have asked if they have the security camera inside the room, but we had to go. So, lesson learnt, if you would like to stay at this hotel, you have to put ALL your valuable items in the luggage and lock it. 2) The size of the safety box - The size is minimal. You can still put your passports or wallets inside. They need to have a bigger safety box 3) The wall in between the bathroom and the next room is thin - You can hear the people talking from the next room as if that they are with you.

    The location is excellent. It is very near to the Termini Station. The room and facilities are good for the value of money. You can find a small supermarket nearby, KFC just in front of the place, and other small cafes close to the area of the hotel. It is important to note that it is also very near to the bus stop to go to both airports from the Termini station. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. However, I am not sure if the neighbourhood is safe but during our stay, we were okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is new, well-kept and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the room was cold. From the reception told us that heating system is central and it works for a few hours at the night. The air conditioner works only at cold mode. Except this everything was great.

    The hotel is new, well-kept and very clean. The staff is really nice and very helpful. They cleaned the room and change the towels every day. The breakfast is good - there was a few things but all of them were good. The staff make great coffee in the mornings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was pretty small. The mattress needs replacing (springs were broken on one side resulting in a slide).

    Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. The bathroom was great, although a bit small. Rich and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Near to Roma Termini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater in the room is not functioning at all. Breakfast buffet is very minimal and not really worth it. Minimal choices.

    Near to Roma Termini station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Good value close to Termini station and Rome metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy walking distance (1½ blocks) from the Termini train station and Rome metro. Safe and secure on the fourth floor of a large building. Small room, but modern, clean, and functional. Courteous staff. Good value for the price. Breakfast on-site €10 extra. Many people on the streets, lots of food options, good hub for touring Rome and vicinity.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Clean but too tight for comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was too small, maybe 6' X 6'. The shower in-closer no larger than 2' X 2' tucked in a corner between the commode and a bidet. To get out of the shower, one had to make a choice, which one to step into... There is insufficient shelving by the pedestal sink. Practically have to place your stuff on the floor or in the bidet! There isn't a single hook for a hand-towel close to the sink. The towel rack is so high up, that a short person can't reach them. During showering the water constantly changes from burning hot to cold, and remember there is no room to step away from it. They leave coffee/tea bags, sugar in the room only for the first morning, if you stay for several days, you have to pay for them or bring your own! If you get a street view room, the louvers are attached to the window, and can't open/close them separately. They are not adjustable either (painted shut). If one wants to look out, has to have the window open, or just forget the view. At booking ask for a room with the tiny balcony instead, that is much better.

    Proximity to the train/metro station. The property was very clean. The staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They control the heater so the room was cold and you can hear everything from the next room feels like we were all together, shower very small and the elevator small and unsafe

    Diferents choice for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Close to termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very flat.

    We chose this because we needed to be on a train early the next day. It was really close by and suited our needs. There were plenty of restaurants around. It was not a tourist hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    I just feel not comfort here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just feel not comfort here.Unfortunatelly,I already paid for 2 night. At the first, the staff are friendly. But after I complained about my room (cause this room was not like as my expectation, even not like the pict in booking.com).I reserved for two person,double bed.But i got the room for 3 person and i felt this room too old fashion(honestly little bit spooky). Then i complained about the room,and the staff asked me that at least my room bigger than my expectation.Ok please i do not too care about size.I was speechless. But lucky,finally they were change my room. And seems i made a lot of trouble for them.After i checked out,,,it made me feel uncomfort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    We loved Rome, worth visiting and for a pleasant stay and good location choose Scott House :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was a bit odd that we have received a room with toilet for persons with disabilities, which is not so comfy

    The hotel is super well located: near to Metro, train bus station and even walking distance to several main tourist attractions in Rome. We have enjoyed our stay here, the room was clean, breakfast good and the staff very helpful. Will definitely recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean and safe place,near termini station, perfect to go...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was quite small but it was ok for me.

    Clean and safe place,near termini station, perfect to go everywhere in the town. Staff is very kind and smily

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small room. The sink device in the washbowl in the bathroom was not good. It was fixed but broke down again, so I stopped using it. Male tourists beware: There are sometimes prostitutes outside the hotel. I have reason to believe they are also pickpockets. Don't talk to them. Ignore them completely and don't show any interest in them.

    Friendly staff. Exellent location. Many restaurants and shops nearby. The prices in the shops were low and you can get almost anything in them. If your trunk breaks down you can buy a new trunk just outside the hotel door, for instance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    The staff were friendly but the building and room were a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an early flight so organised a take away breakfast. Not worth worrying about - absolutely pathetic. The area around the hotel is a little dodgy (a bit like around Central Station in Sydney). I wouldn't stay here again but if you want convenience close to the station it is fine.

    The staff were friendly but the building and room were a little claustrophobic. Scott House is very close to the station so super convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Would recommend this hotel for convenience to Termini and easy walk to Collossum and Forum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    This was the only hotel we stayed at in three weeks in Italy that provided a kettle and tea/coffee. Australians are used to this and find it very annoying to have to go out and pay extra money (far too much) rather than in the comfort of own room. This was a huge bonus - thank you!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the elevator cannot use when I check in, we must to wait for long time till its can use. And when I check out it not working again and we must to carry all heavy language from 4th floor, we are 2 old lady and the staff not helping, so it make me nearly miss the train to airport.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Cheap no frills accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a family room on 6th floor. Reception located on 4th floor. Tiny lift that was not working properly. Lift would not open on the 5th floor. Had to take Stairs or get lift to 4th floor and then walk to 6th floor. Staircases stunk of cigarette smoke as smoking on landings was allowed. Lift was not air conditioned either. After sightseeing on a 38 degree day it was stifling.

    Breakfast was adequate. Would be nice to be offered a coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Reception staff are all very helpful and nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff are not friendly i even felt one of the chefs or waiters is hating what he does which makes mornings start in a not comfy attitude

    Reception staff are all very helpful and nice . Room is clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Cheap place to stay close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area didn't feel very safe at night. I was travelling with my husband and friends but I'm not sure if I would travel here on my own. We were also asked to wait quite a long time (30mins) in reception before we could check in (around 9pm) whilst the receptionist sorted out a problem with another guest so that didn't make a great first impression.

    If you want a cheap place to lay your head near the train station, you couldn't get much closer. Unfortunately the area is a little seedy especially after dark. I liked the price, but next time I would probably prefer to pay a little bit extra as there wasn't much space in the room. It was clean though and we had a good sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    It was a good experience. We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located close to termini station which provides easy access to all the attractions. Its a good value for the money for all the facilities the hotel has offered. The receptionists were so friendly and helpful in providing the necessary information. The best thing is that they speak well in English.i would personally need to thank the lady named "renette" at the reservation desk for her amazing service. I would definitely recommend this hotel for budget travellers. Grazie.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Scott House is a cool little hotel !! Great Managers & staff .. great breakfast!! Can't lose!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was on its last leg.. really!! ONE of the twin beds was about to fall apart! They are terrible!!

    Absolutely the perfect location for me.. 5 mins from the train station.. could take our luggage down the street with us!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.1
    + close to Termini train station (we travelled a lot)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - held from my card for 1 day after ~5 days of the booking - made us sign up the hotel policy that was written in italian - charged for the whole stay at check-in - gave a room with two single and pretty small beds - noisy area - scary old lift

    + close to Termini train station (we travelled a lot) + good breakfast + clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location. Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building a bit run down, corridors a bit grubby. People smoking in corridors. Room much smaller than photos depicted. Shower door terrible, water coming out onto floor. Tiles on the floor of the room all chipped and cracked. Need to be replaced . Breakfast was limited. Terrible toaster . One particular member of staff in the breakfast room was unhelpful and rude.

    Location was excellent. Beside the train/bus station and within walking distance to the major sites. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for short stay (1 or 2 days)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lounge or sitting area. Rooms and Bathrooms are very small. Not much option for breakfast.

    Staff were very cordial and willing to help. The location of the property is very convenient, easy to locate and very close to Roma Termini.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location just next to the train termini and restaurant...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of some customer when they close the door or drop sth. You can hear everything in you room especially on 4th floor.

    Good location just next to the train termini and restaurant around there. If you want to travel somewhere, staff can call taxi for u. Very easy for you to travel in the city or go to airport. They have train and bus station there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Close proximity to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited choice of cereals (eg no museli). We seemed to miss the fresh chopped fruit in the morning. Shower was a bit tight. shower head slipped , meaning we had to hold it during the shower.

    close proximity to the railway station. Escape from the bustle of the city. coffee. gay friendly. kettle available in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Location was perfect right next to the station and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may find the area a little strange but I had no problem because no one says anything to you and approaches you. Only thing I would say is that I heard girls screaming and crying I'm the middle of the night outside which was off putting not much the hotel could do about it.....

    Location was perfect right next to the station and you can't miss the hotel walking from the station. Hotel was very clean and in a good condition even for the price I paid. I had water I'm fridge and sky box for viewing TV..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    3.3
    Stay elsewhere!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was awful. The only thing Scott House cares about is making money off of you. Better walk an extra 100 feet and stay at the Hotel Contilia. They have bigger rooms, a better breakfast and value their customers -- not the bottom line. I will NEVER return to Scott House, and I am a frequent visitor to Rome.

    Nothing....rooms so small, breakfast okay, customer service was non-existent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    Fine for backpacking but not for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is very busy and more backpacker suited than for families. the hotel is on the fourth floor of the building with other hotels in the building as well (typical for Rome). The lift is too small and it took two trips to get the bags up. The room we got was a family room on the 6th floor so more stairs etc. I prefer not to go too negative on any hotel, especially when the staff are very friendly but I'm afraid we would not return here again and I could not recommend it to anyone looking to do a family sight seeing trip to Rome. We found lovely restaurants in Trastavere and actually walked all the way over there each day so staying nearer to there and the main sites would have made more sense.

    This was part of a bigger trip and we arrived from Pisa to Termini station. The hotel is very close to the station just off a very busy road (on another busy road) We chose this hotel as we knew we were arriving nearby and leaving again from the station so it made sense to be nearby. The location is therefore very good for that reason but it is not near the main sites. it is however easy to grab the metro to the Colosseum, Circus Maximus etc. Rome however is a stunning city to walk and we prefer to do that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place overall but one issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tobacco smoke was coming in from another apartment and the a.c. was not strong enough to filter it out. So we opened the window. But it was uncomfortable for my wife who is allergic to tobacco smoke.

    Location was near the train station and the staff was terrific. There were a lot pf eating places nearby. Room size was ok but most Americans might like a larger room. But for us it was sufficient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Small hotel in the center of Rome
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room - no space around the bed. Table too small for any work.

    Air conditioning works normally even when the outside temperature is 35 degrees C.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    It was close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area outside hotel was not the cleanest and it was a little sketchy, but otherwise it was ok.

    It was close to the train station. Easy walk to the Coliseum. Breakfast was decent. All in all good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Hotel Scott House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator left a little to be desired. Bathroom, especially the shower, was very small. The area outside the hotel was not very nice.

    It was very close to the train station and to other areas. The high ceiling in the room was a plus. The room was small, but nice and clean. The bed was not the most comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    When in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long queue at breakfast. Only one tiny toster for everyone resulting in long wait and space issues as it was too crowed to pass through. No mirror in the room. Only one in the bathroom. And the lighting there was poor, so not easy for us ladies to do our make-up in the morning. Also the toiletries selection wasn't satisfactory.

    The bed was big and comfortable. The location of the hotel was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Good budget hotel for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, but the price is fair for Rome.

    Very good localization near to Termini Station. Not so much noise around, could have a good night sleep. Very helpful staff. A place to store a luggage before check-in and after check-out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    A lovely stay and lovely hotel. Shame on location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of hotel isn't very nice but being so close to station it's convenient. Rubbish left outside building in big black bags. Prostitites on corner and outside hotel of a night. The area itself doesn't feel safe however we had no trouble. No outside area or balcony but if you are a smoker there are spots in ventilated areas you can stand. Tea and coffee facilities not changed and only one sugar per person however we didn't drink hot drinks in room. Mini bar isn't free and only two small bottles of water supplied, cans of drink charged at €2.50 however there is a supermarket and we did bring in our own water and drinks which is much cheaper. Breakfast is basic continental and breakfast serving staff a bit abrupt, however food was ok and coffee divine. Only one plug socket in room to charge phones, hair straighteners etc. Lift can only really fit two people and luggage and is old but works, however if it breaks down it's a long walk up to 4th and 5th floor where hotel is based. Safe deposit key €5 but you do get that back as long as you don't lose the key. All that really lets this hotel down is the location and feeling safe but once inside you are safe and secure.

    Room was kept beautifully clean and bed was made and fresh household goods daily i.e. Toilet paper. Air con worked brilliantly and was well needed. Staff friendly and good English spoken and asking questions wasn't too much for them on locations and how to get places. Tv for bed time worked fine as long as you work out how to translate to english and English Sky sattilite chanels. Baggage was held securely on our last day for us with no charge. Room spacious enough for two adults (in a double) with plenty of room. Nice place to stay if it's just somewhere to sleep and wash and change if you are going to be out all day. Extremely close to Termini station and only a minute walk to all main trains and metro. Safe and secure once inside building. Value for money. Good wifi access and hairdryer supplied. Room modern and clean. Alarm call if needed. Privacy respected and able to come and go as please.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    OK for our purposes but requires an overhaul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast adequate, but asked to pay for a second cup ridiculous. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Proximity to railway station, metro and buses great. Staff pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    2.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. Given this is next to the Rome Train Station (Roma Termini), this is in the ghetto area in Rome. I felt uncomfortable walking around there late at night. The hotel is somewhere inside a building that has other business. There were local people standing, smoking and drinking next to the hotel entrance, including peddlers selling selfie sticks. Pay extra and get out of that area.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.8
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just renovated but the building is a dump of old dodgy one star hotels. Rooms is small, the window didn't close properly, there were not enough sets for breakfast, personnel sits just outside the entrance smoking. Better avoid

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    2.5
    Don't even think to go to that hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a pictures you can see what they can do with your stuff if you invite your friend to your rooom! This happened when I was out traveling and come back at 8 pm to my room! My stuff was dissapered! And they stole my chain, ring and $200!

    The stuff is very rude! They took my stuff and kick me out of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scott House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: