Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Select 3 stars

Via G. Galliano 24, 50144 Florence, Italy

#317 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 593 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    It was clean and everything went smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty far from the center and it took us a bit to get to know the public transport.

    It was clean and everything went smooth. The evening staff was a bit grumpy but the morning guy was very cheerful and a lot of help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was fine for the price. Staff were very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good continental breakfast. Would have preferred a cooked breakfast.

    I am not a lover of continental breakfast, but the selection of fare was good at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay in an otherwise lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It states that tea and coffee are on offer in the room but fails to mention that you have to pay extra for this. When I asked for these facilities to be brought to our room they agreed to do so but failed to actually do it. It states on their website that it's a ten minute walk from the train station but is actually around 20-25 mins. Poor attitude from most staff - not very welcoming. Some quite rude. Limited toiletries available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Relatively close to the train station and had bus stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel the springs in the bed, staff moderately warm, air con did not work well

    Relatively close to the train station and had bus stops nearby, breakfast was ok and was included in the price, wifi was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    All was fine. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection in the room was really poor but not a big deal for me. We came Firenze to be outside, not to play with phone or notebook in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Excelent! Very clean. Friendly staff. Close to the city center. Good breakfast. We really enjoyed out staying at Hotel Select. Thank you Hotel Select!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    2.9
    The personnel was ver bad, impolite, not professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel was ver bad, impolite, not professional... I booked the room via booking, but the booking was in their spam and because of this we waited 2 hours at night with small children... They tried to cheat us, they wanted to take more money for parking...My children are 10 month and 4 years old, we drove 600 km, I asked them to give us the room till they see the booking, but they didn’t allow us to take the room... Then another person came, found the booking in their spam and did everything to host us.The breakfast was awful, so it was the worst hotel I have ever seen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    -Do not accept the rooms on the ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Do not accept the rooms on the ground floor. There are discussions, noise. If you complain in the middle of night, you would not even be said ` Sorry` , but "aggression" will be the reply of the desk. - They also do not use blanket cover. Unfortunately, we discovered something on the blanket in the very early morning. We did not complain about it since we wanted to get rid of the place as soon as possible. -The air condition is a centralized system with hot air puffing. It makes noise and your respiratory system gets blocked during the evening. -The heating in the bathroom was not working. You need wear your coat to go in there. -It is far from the train station. Since there is construction right now, it is difficult to reach the hotel. -City tax might be considerable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.8
    1 star hotel max with the price of 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel which requires fullrenovation. Aweful beds, hard old mattresses, plastic curtons. 0 noise cancellation-you can hear everything what happens at reception, on the corridors, another rooms. Our room was on the ground floor in the corner with cleaners closet nearby and it was constant noise. I don't understand how hotel could charge same price for that room in the closet as for the other rooms.. I booked the room more than a month in advance with request not to be on the ground floor but received that room in a closet.. Poor breakfast - no hot meals, only cold snacks. Which is more amazing in Italy - that was the only place we have been where was no fresh bakery! Only precooked croissants (e.g. from Carrefour or other chains) and toasted bread from the bag... so far the poorest hotel I have booked on booking. 1 star max with the price of 3 of 4.

    Not a thing..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good customer service. Well done by your front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk to central Florence...and neighbourhood at first seemed a little intimidating.. but after that first walk, we felt comfortable and safe.

    The service was excellent. Had to add an extra day (after airbnb was cancelled) and staff were amazing and helpful. Very early plane departure 5am. Staff arranged airport taxi and packed fresh croissants for my mom and I.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    the toilet in our bathroom did not flush.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet in our bathroom did not flush. also we told the receptionist twice, nothing was done. we had to use the toilet in the cellar every time we had to pee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Very old property and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old interior and in general all property, beds exremely old and u feel metals in your back while sleep, not comfortable. Place is noisy surounded by streets and train station area. For urban and modern people not recommended.

    1.2 km walk from train station Novella and 25 min.walk to center. Breakfast enough normal. Clean, but old property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    overall a fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    overall a fair value. the folks working were very nice but location did not allow for direct walking to major sites and the breakfast was not very good. the foods seemed stale, the milk was warm and the coffee was not real good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    lt is a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean and the location of the hotel is really close to the station. The location of the hotel seems safe. l like the breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff in hotel, very helpful even borrowed us an umbrela during rain and help me to park my car in garage that is only 3 minutes walking from hotel because my van was to long for garage in hotel. Very good value for money, breakfast, room, wi-fi...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Room 105
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take room 105 and 106, every other room upstairs is better , you will not get any sleep in those two rooms,

    Room, breakfast, and staff was ok, changed my room after request, could not sleep , :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    5.0
    If you can't find anything better you can stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old. Very, very VERY old everything. uncomfortable room Extremely uncomfortable bed Breakfast (poor even for Italian standard) Thin walls

    staff, not so far from city center, No cigarette smell (common problem in Italy)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.2
    Good Room | Good Staff | Fair Location | Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cozy and spacious, bathroom was clean, staff was awesome they speak english and answered to each of my questions even the silly ones :) and the breakfast.... No mosquitoes when I traveled [Jan end].

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Good way to walk a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could be difficult to park a car in the street close to the hotel. 20-30 min walking to the downtown.

    Good breakfast. Room was spacious, good bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Great people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Awesome staff. The people are really great, very friendly, helpful, and accommodating! I can't stress this enough. Clean rooms, quiet, great internet. Location is in a nice quite area, about a 5 minute walk from a bus stop (2 actually), and 20 minutes from the city center. Could be closer to the city center, but the area is nice and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    nice hotel but uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really too far from the city to walk. About 17mins from train station and 30 mins from city. Bed was really uncomfortable

    Wifi was great, staff were lovely, clean and tidy room and great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.3
    It was ok except parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking place is very expensive like 16 euro/day, they don't say that on web site it is just an anounce on the front desk. I did not pay it after I told them that is not written on the website when I book it.

    It was ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.1
    Descent Hotel for this price in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in my room, that was next to the main building in the top floor. I could hear everything from the room next to mine. Parking on the streets just for residents.

    Descent breakfast. Kind staff. Good double bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    The room was clean enough, large and comfortable with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer the breakfast room to be little more bigger

    The room was clean enough, large and comfortable with nice furnitures The staff was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Near to city park.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very "continental" breakfast, broken toaster. Overpriced car park (16 euro per night).

    Spacious room and bathroom. Really clean place. Nice staff. There was no problem with our dog which was treated like a real guest:). 2 km to old town and 1,5 km to city park. Good air condition.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    It was inexpensive, clean and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was inexpensive, clean and good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    OK just.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In a rather dirty far out neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    far away to city center by foot wifi connect problem

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.4
    The wi-fi did not pull from the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wi-fi

    The wi-fi did not pull from the room. The central was too far to city central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Not returning to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was badly isolated, shape of the room was very strange, fridge was empty, poor facilities in general, WiFi is terrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Its ok for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice is quite limited...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    It was nice staying at this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor

    The location, the rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.9
    Hurrendous rooms,beds and beddings, hurrendous breakfast, very cold, very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to like

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    large room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    large room and bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    wi-fi wasn't working in our apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi-fi wasn't working in our apartment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend is vegetarian and we would have liked more fruits for breakfast(they just had apples) and some soy milk!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Friendly stuff, close to the railway station (10 min walk), nice interior.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too small

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    Beds were terrible. Breakfast not too good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. The Italian look of the decor and room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.8
    这家差的一逼
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service (could be racist), bad sound insulation, bad attitude, not so good location

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.3
    Good option for 2 day trip in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have more variety!

    Location 15 min to center, nice spacious rooms and good value overall

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are good and Go for it guys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Away from the central location so its good and bad both

    The rooms are good and Go for it guys

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast, fast wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too thin walls.Can hear noises from other rooms.

    Breakfast, fast wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every think was gut

    The bed was excelent, also receptionist was very kind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    Best of the whole journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transportation nearby is not sufficient.

    The room was clean, large and comfortable. We are lucky to book this at a low price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    5.0
    friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    air conditioning wasn't good poor wifi connection only one socket is working charge for kettle no milk for making tea far away from the town centre

    friendly staffs breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    3.8
    There were many Moskitos in the room, the toilettes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were many Moskitos in the room, the toilettes weren't clean, Parking situation is complicated or expensive if you choose the hotel own parking space.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.5
    very good staff, all amenities were fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was slow and very inconsistent probably because it was not password protected. though neighborhood is good, restaurants are far away.

    very good staff, all amenities were fine

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is very close to the city centre, in a nice area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slight smell of mould in one of the (underground) rooms for breakfast. The other room was fine.

    The hotel is very close to the city centre, in a nice area full of good tavernas and restaurants, frequented mostly by locals, as it is not in the touristic part of town. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was cozy and clean. Dog friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.1
    The Staff was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The furniture is old. The A/C didn't work. The breakfast buffet is very poor. The safe box is with a key which is handled by the hotel.

    The Staff was very helpful. The location is moderate, near to two bus stops-different lines. The cleanliness is very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit more room to move in the breakfast area. Very cramped.

    Nice breakfast. Clean rooms. Working lift. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.3
    Quietness and good breakfast at a very low price for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To find a parking for my car

    Quietness and good breakfast at a very low price for Florence

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.3
    Value for money location do not expect more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Value for money location do not expect more. Old place

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant people, ready to help any time on any question.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud air condition/heating as for me avoids good sleep

    Pleasant people, ready to help any time on any question. big room

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    8.3
    comfortable, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking was difficult and wi-fi inconsistent

    comfortable, clean

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    5.4
    poor breakfast, room for breakfast look like 40 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast, room for breakfast look like 40 years ago. poor wifi access. 16€ for parking?

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.1
    Good aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi deadly slow. Narrow paid parking.

    Good aircon

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    The staff were most helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed was 2 singles pushed together.

    The staff were most helpful and pleasant.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel Select traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: