Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Serena 3 stars

Via Principe Amedeo 64, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#452 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2984 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheap and Cheerful hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast fairly basic. Not a large number of tables and were cleared very slowly by staff, so sometimes had to sit at a table cluttered with someone else's left overs.

    Check in/check out easy - the guys on Reception were friendly and helpful. Good location ... and older style, no frills hotel, but value for money. Interesting old fashioned lift.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Cheap place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely small, the bed was almost broken and i asked them to fix it and they didn’t care apparantly, the breakfast was basically coffee and sweets, the wifi was too slow to be existent, they charge city tax!

    The location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and clean hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As to be expected in Rome, the noices from the street could be heard clearly in the room. I was prepared to this with ear plugs, hence it was no issue. One thing I missed was something fresh (e.g. fruit) at the breakfast. It was very Italian with mainly pastries, in addition with some sugar coated cereals.

    The single room was small but really nice and clean and it had everything needed. In general cleanliness and nice staff were a plus. The location was also great; the main station was just around the corner, perfect for day trips, and Fiumicino airport was ~30 minutes train ride away (with Leonardo Express). It was also just about 15-20 minutes walk to Altare della Patria / Colosseum. I also walked to Vatican from there, and with good shoes it took me about 45 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    the bed and the bathroom were very good, the recommendation...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed and the bathroom were very good, the recommendation of the restaurant opposite that shares wi fi with the hotel was very appropriate Soma flexibility in the checkout time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Decent hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard, which, I guess is good if you have back trouble. The mattresses had no give whatsoever.

    The location was great! There was a Metro stop, the Roma Termini train station, and a main hub for the buses all within 4 blocks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Serena: poorly girl with big expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with no carpet & old furniture.The floor quite mesy. The staff from breakfast talking in their language & arguing.

    confortable matress, nice bathroom & plus for minibar. Very good location, 1min walk to termini. Nice view, plenty with terraces & restaurants open till midnight, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location Convenience and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the breakfast could be more sumptuous but a good Continental standard bfast

    Good experience at Hotel Serena. Very convenient location when visiting Rome and sightseeing. Highly recommended. Staff helpful and many restaurants close by. Metro also close by and of course Termini station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Generally good but let down by small points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work most days. Streets around hotel overrun with pickpockets. Had phone stolen.

    Good location near transport hub and plenty of choice for food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Stay here if you need to be close to the station. The great and friendly staff is a big plus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC very noisy and opening a window means mosquitos and noise from the busy street. Breakfast is below average.

    Location is close to Termini the central station. Daniella at the reception is amazing, all the positivity is because of her!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    I loved Rome as did my granddaughters but description of hotel, location and facilities not accurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room grubby and very tired looking breakfast not very good at all not very clean wifi didn't work quite seedy area

    The staff were polite and freindly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location - cozy and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish they had put signs in the old fashion lift to remind people to shut the outside door all the way. I had to walk up four flights several times because someone did not close the door fully. A reminder sign would help! Also - no one is allowed in the room besides the official guests. I had a tense conversation with the front desk when a local friend wanted to come up. Don't stay here if you want a friend or a date to visit you. No fresh fruit or vegetables in the breakfast. Otherwise it's nice.

    The location was right in the heart of things. The bed was very comfortable (note: double bed is two twins pressed together, but that worked fine). Also, a beautiful iron lift! The place seemed like a sweet, family-run establishment. Good coffee in the morning - don't use the machine - they have a kind woman working the breakfast area and she will make strong delicious coffee for you! The cleaning staff were also kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Nothing , only staff are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture and dirty room, we got bited by insects and had to go to pharmacy. Room smell is awful. We tried to change our hotel but it was late so we had to stay. I can just tell you if you hate yourself stay in this hotel.

    Nothing , only staff are nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Very close to the termini station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Cofffe was very bad. There were no tea-kettle, no usual paper information about hotel facilities or how to call reception or price list bor mini bar, no brush, no bath kits, even no paper- sign "don't disturb".

    Location.large room. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Our first night was not comfortable and we did not sleep and get proper rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioner in our room 460 was not working

    The night staff (Mehdi) was very polite and friendly and helped us at 2:00 am when we complained about the room air conditioner not keeping the room cool (no. 460). He found us another room with a working AC and helped move the third bed to the other room In the morning we complained to the front desk staff (Evelyn) and she was very polite and apologized for the inconvenience we suffered during the first night. Our stay for the 2nd night was just fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Central hotel for Rome city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Nice location, close to Termini station (5min), 20-25 min walking distance to Colloseum, renovated bathroom, silent, friendly reception staff. everything was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    The location not far from the train station, metro and bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi on the fifth floor was not good at all. Sometimes we had no WiFi at all. Other times it was very slow.

    The location not far from the train station, metro and bus routes were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Don't trust pictures because real environment is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't trust pictures because real environment is not similar with pictures. Facility is very basic but not convenient. And the price is not including tax. Tax needs to be paid by only cash.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    A big Yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key wasn't working properly so everytime we had the wait 1 or 2 minutes till the sensor worked. However, it wasn't a big problem.

    Vintage elevator that gave the hotel a nice,vintage feeling. Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location right by the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location right by the train station. We used metro to move around. The building was older but well kept. Nice breakfast bar. Great for the price we paid. City tax is cash only, though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Only thing good was a decent bed, everything else was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, poor lighting, old linens, dark and depressing. Room so small you could not even turn around. Pictures on the internet are totally misleading and when we asked for an updated room, they just looked at us as if we had three eyes.

    The hotel is outdated beyond belief. The rooms are so small you can't even open two suitcases at the same time The mini bar was jammed into a cabinet so you could not even open the door. The website is very misleading. Thank goodness we were only there for one night to catch the train the following day. The check in staff was not friendly. The morning we left, we have one extremely nice young gentleman who greeted us at the desk with a smile. The rest of the staff was not friendly at all. The breakfast buffet was the worst we had experienced into our 35 day trip. Only thing good about this hotel is the location to the train station. Would never stay there again!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and confortable Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked Hotel Serena for the location and decoration, friendly staff (especially Marco) y confort room. I would like came back for sure!! The breakfast was good (from 7:30am or before until 10:00am).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    hotel served its purpose. faily basic but reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a little noisy over the busy street at the front of building.

    convenient location for public transport. lively area for shops and restaurants. clean tidy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Cleaning ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 3 days, breakfast was the same (a few croissants, 2 kinds of salami and cheese, no omelette, eggs). Without sound isolation, it was heard from the lobby and from neighbors.

    Cleaning ok. Good position, 5 minutes walk from Termini Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    We will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet did NOT WORK. One could log on, but the signal was too weak to get mail or info on the internet. The hotel was aware of this situation, but in the 4 days that we were there, nothing was done The breakfast was not up to usual Italian hotel standards. There was very little protein. The yoghurt was of poor quality. You had ro look at the picture on the jam packets to tell wear flavor it was supposed to be as it was a cheap product. No fresh fruit. The juice was manufactured, not squeezed. There were pastries and pound cake, but the bread rolls were - literally - tough. No toaster. The room was small and could do with a makeover to get rid of torn curtains and holes in the wallpaper. There were no tea/coffee making facilities. The worst part were the beds. THE BEDS WERE HARD AS ROCKS. IF one got to sleep at all it was a night of continual tossing and turning without any real rest All this for about $175 per night

    The location is great as there are lots of hotels and restaurants in the area We appreciated having a little refrigerator in the room The cleaning staff was good and very helpful There was not too much street noise No loud guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Look around and you'll find better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor reception of Satelitte TV (there were like 4 channels that repeated from 1-100); Bathroom smelt like milddew; shower was too small; breakfast was all carbs no fruit like picture showed. I've stayed in better hotels for less money and gotten way more amenities then what I got here. I was not informed at check-in that I needed to pay 4 euros per night in cash which meant I had to go get Euros so I could check out.

    location and staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Excellent trip dispite accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small for twin beds. Very hot and no air conditioning. Had to pay city tax @€4 per Person per night IN CASH with no receipt. Although city tax was included in the price on the booking form it did not specify cash only!

    Good location. Very helpful reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    I have now stayed twice at this hotel. The first time was okay. I won’t be staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work. Sprayed all over the room My friend could not get any hot water No air con Room needed painting and updating

    Location Male reception was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was so crowded, could not be able to find a palce...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so crowded, could not be able to find a palce to sit, and it was poor interms of plate and fork....

    Breakfast was so crowded, could not be able to find a palce to sit, and it was poor interms of plate and fork....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Shortly, we enjoyed our stay in Rome due to being in your hotel as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the beginning I was quite upset because my in ADVANCE (more than a month before) request to have a room with an external view wasn't taken into account without keeping me informed in advance and explaining it with the absence of such free rooms. But the next day thanks to the hotel kindness the problem has been solved and everything became OK.

    Very good and convenient location, quite acceptable price and cleanness of the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    We will return next year!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was our third stay at the hotel. We come every year at the same time with 6-10 students and find our stay very pleasant and comfortable every time. We feel safe and well taken care of and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    Only location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have better breakfast and probably should renovate .. it's really old and furniture needs replacement.

    Only location was good. Nothing else was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Great staff and cozy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from tourist attractions on foot for me. But still acceptable.

    Very friendly staff. Good restaurants nearby. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Very basic, good location but will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped room which was a little shabby with wallpaper peeling off wall. Wifi irregular and terrible coffee for breakfast.

    Wi-Fi didn’t work properly and room small and cramped

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Chose by price/connections
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could really invest a little bit more in the breakfast improving the quality, instead of the bad cheese/ham and concentrated juice that they serve.

    Room was clean even for an old hotel. The lift is a nice vintage wood one. Hotel is 5 minutes walking from Termini station and 20 minutes from the Coliseum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location to the train station and reasonably priced restuarants and we got what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was average and a bit noise outside at night I did not sleep well the 1st night as a result of this.

    The bed was a large double which was great and plenty of clean towel and hot water in the shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Good hotel in a great location, would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom fittings are old and show their age. The taps and shower doors need replacement. The shower leaked water. However the bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water.

    The best thing is the location. The rooms are small but well furnished. They are getting close to needing a refurbishment, not major, just general wear and tear. The rooms are kept very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Never back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, cleanliness, breakfast, WiFi, room too smal and dark the walls are too thin I can hear what my neighbors doing, talking, going toilet, taking shower...

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel, Rome, and the Romans
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    A good hotel, a good location (near to Roma Termini, its shopping mall, the metro and airport bus-stops), a good continental breakfast, with great staff and all at a good price.. An oasis of calm in the middle of Rome within walking distance of the sights. What more could you ask for?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was terrible, limited choice and no bread...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was terrible, limited choice and no bread toaster, the bread is very hard to eat. The room smell as the moment we stepped in, need to open the window to air the room. The lift only limited to maximum 3 people, especially if you have luggage, you need to wait till your turn to go up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    I'll be back and likely to Serena hotel, where one can feel a charming spirit of Eternal City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated WiFi, its really worst I had in the hotels... The breakfast was too regular, with no variety...

    Great location with just few minutes walk from Termini Station and metro, just 20 mins to Colosseum. Great and friendly staff. Stylish rooms with great old lift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Choose this hotel for the location, don't choose it for the staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like several things: - the TV was really bad. I couldn't watch any channel (bad audio, bad reception) - the man at the reception didn't accept my debit card for a payment (he said they only accept cash for the payment of the tourist tax) - when I was naked in the room the lady of the cleaning entered the room without even knocking the door and she didn't apologies. She just walked away. Very rude, very unprofessional. - the stairs were really dirty.

    I liked the fact that it was really close to the station!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Location is close to Roma termini ( main train station) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Staffs not friendly and not helpful - need maintenamce , pretty old inside and my room window is broken

    Location is close to Roma termini ( main train station) and surround by restuarants , room is quiet and comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is very close to the train station-5 min walk which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very close to the train station-5 min walk which is a big convenience if you are traveling by train. The room is on the small side and simply furnished, nothing fancy. Bathroom was very clean. If you want a simple hotel room which is not expensive at all -this is your hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money if you are short and don’t need internet connection during your stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is soo bad. Most of the time there is no connection. Room is very small same for the shower area. I was not able to fit in.

    Perfect location in the center. Very clean and good staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    I recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons: Wifi connection was really poor. Toilet soup is weird. It let your hands very dry!

    Staff really friendly Charmy lift and rooms Close to Roma Termini station. Comfortable mattress Breakfast is ok for the price. Pastries, bread, toast, yogurt, Mozzarella and provolone cheese, salami and turkey ham. Juice and coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    The only issues I found were the bit problematic WiFi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issues I found were the bit problematic WiFi connection at the 5th story room (it was on and off, very inconstant) and the heating was difficult to control - the room was very warm all the time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Fantastic location. Easy access to everywhere 2 mins from Termini station. Staff/owner very friendly and welcoming. If arriving before check in time you can leave your luggage and again on departure day. Rooms a fair size ( for central Rome ) and very clean and comfortable. Bathroom facilities also excellent. This was our 2nd visit to this Hotel will be back next time we visit Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Great! Loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a room on the second floor and quickly unpacked before leaving to sightsee. I came back in the evening to discover that the bed was infested with bed bugs! Having said that, the staff were extremely helpful and granted me another - much cleaner - room straight away and it seems from their reaction that they were also unaware that the room had these issues.

    The breakfast was great as were the staff and of course the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Winderfull stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little problem with wifi but it was ok.

    I liked hotel location where you can reach all tourist places easily. classic furniture. Staff was very helpful with nice smile. They helped us showing tourist places. Especial thanks to Marco and Danila in preparing wonderful breakfast. Cleaning service was excellent. Suggest it to all. And will repeat my accommodation at this hotel for sure. Khatuna kakulia, Tbilisi, Georgia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located good tourist hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a gripe, really, but the mattress was a bit firm. Others may like it that way.

    Everything was as expected. Bathroom and cleanliness exceeded expectations. Found the extra pillows a nice touch.Location was convenient if not exactly upscale. Great that we could leave luggage at reception desk to spend a few extra hours downtown. Breakfast was better than at many other three-star hotels. Easy to get to the city center and within a five-minute walk to the Termini station and to inexpensive buses to airport. Hop-on-hop-off buses have a couple of stops a very short distance away. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Not bad! but lower than my expectation!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast The elevator was scary! It seemed unsafe!

    The breakfast was not good, it did not include even eggs! just cakes and one type of cheese! butter and jam!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    very close to Rome Termini, staff is super friendly and gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was smaller than I anticipated so it was difficult with luggage

    very close to Rome Termini, staff is super friendly and gave me great recommendations of places to visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, clean hotel and rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great easy to get to from airport, close to attractions such as colosseum. Staff very friendly and breakfast was nice too. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaning is below average a bit!

    Location is very convenient to access to metro or even walk to the major tourist attractions in the city. The reception is also helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Happy to have spent two nights here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is 5 minutes by foot from the train station Roma Termini, perfect if you plan to use the trains. The stuff at the front desk is super welcoming. I like the vintage style of the room, mainly made by wood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.0
    Awful...avoid this hotel because there are many other options in Rome which are much-much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness and smell. OLD building with awful rooms. Bathroom walls full of mold and also found a cockroach. Hotel Management attitude was the worst experience. The lady was speaking Italian to her colleague who then translated to English (also I am suspecting that she was cursing in her language) . Unfortunately paid the full amount in advance for a 4-night stay but only stayed for 1 night without reimbursed.

    Nothing at all apart from being next to the train station and offers the chance for an overnight stay when arriving late. The hotel is OLD and dirty and there is no way to meet anyone's expectations of a hotel with an 8.0 rating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    They should put some hot breakfast also , as I am diabetic ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They should put some hot breakfast also , as I am diabetic , so all sweet croissant and cakes made it little difficult for me. So if you can serve some eggs etc,,,,, then it would have been better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    The staff friendly and helpful, it was warm with a cosy feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard, had to put blanket between mattresses and sheets to soften it! Shower leaked water onto bathroom floor.

    The staff friendly and helpful, it was warm with a cosy feel. But good value for a budget price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant location, wonderful staff (especially Marco), and good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some degree of noise but this is to be expected in the heart of the city. The Wi-Fi was good but would occasionally disconnect.

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. We even had access to a mini fridge which helped loads. The location is ideal, right next to the main metro stop and only a walk from iconic sites including Trevi Fountain and the Colosseum. The staff were an amazing crew, especially Marco who's humour and helpfulness really made our stay exta special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value hotel, nice coffee, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extreme noise during nights caused by dustmen, which were comming anytime during day or night. The windows are not really sound-proof. You feel like you sleep right on the street. The single room was really really small. You can even get claustrophobic inside (paradoxically the bathroom was bigger than the room). Wifi well working.

    The double room was nice and well equipped. Hotel and the rooms were cleaned everyday. Good location from and to the airport. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was very firm, but I'd rather that than too soft. The breakfast was basic, but can't go wrong with a croissant and jam!

    Excellent location, lovely staff, good sized room, very clean. They kept our luggage on the day we checked out as our flight was late. Good wifi (not for streaming, but for everything else).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Rooms were clean, location is very central and next to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was as if it was built for old fashioned dwarfs; not only the room itself but also the bed was very, very petite (I’m 1.80). My feet did not fit on the bed. The mattress was too hard, as if I was lying on concrete. The equipment in the room and bathroom survived the Pleistocene; they definitely need replacement. The hairdryer fell apart in my hands while using it, the doors of the shower cabin had no rubber to close them seamlessly so the tiny bathroom turned into one big swimmingpool.

    Rooms were clean, location is very central and next to Termini station. Staff is generally very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Good rates for Rome Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly (loved the reception dog) The room (at the back) was quiet and confortable. The Lift is as romantic as they come. Location, 3min. walk from the Station and easy access (even walking) to the historical sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    worth what it costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surroudings is not as nice as the rest of Rome. But it's OK, if you accept that's close to Termini Station for a short stay, which was my case.

    Location is very good, near to Termini Station on very short walking distance. Staff was very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    A brief visit but very comfortable and a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furniture in the room was dark, bulky and unattractive. A coat of paint would have helped. The pretty, sparkly lights rather obscured the hotel name.

    The location was excellent, very close to the main station, easy to get to all the main attractions. I loved the sparkly lights surrounding the door. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable (a firm mattress).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Couple from Lithuania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit old styled, but you can accept this as authentic atmosphere☺

    The hotel is in a perfect location. Everything was easy to find by walk. Hotel was very clean, staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    I would certainly stay at the hotel again, but would request a room at the back of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    1. The evening of the first day after my arrival, I stopped by the desk to get a spare blanket. I was asked in a rather brusque tone by the receptionist why I had not made the request earlier during the morning hours and was then told that the supply cabinets would not be opened until the next day so I would have to wait. I can fully understand the delay in getting the blanket, but not the snippy tone of the desk clerk. 2. The shower doors did not close tightly enough to prevent water from collecting on the bathroom floor after each use. Very common, I find, in many European hotels. So just use an extra towel to clean it up with. No big deal. 3. Booking.com had stated on their printout receipt that ALL taxes (including a Rome city tax of 4 Euros a night) were included in the quoted price for the room. The hotel, however, still charged me the extra 4 Euros a night in spite of my showing them the voucher from Booking. Booking. com has said that they will refund the cost of the tax to me, but the incident created unnecessary hassle. So be sure to check your hotel bill before you pay!

    1. The room was super-clean; small but certainly manageable. 2. With the exception of one rather brusque desk attendant, the others couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. 3. The hotel is very centrally located, close to the metro and the main rail station. It is not in the most "elegant" neighborhood--as with many European hotels near a major train station, but it is, nevertheless, safe, and completely acceptable. You might even call it "local color!" The hotel is also within five minutes' walk of the basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore. On one corner of the piazza by the basilica is a large underground level "Simply" food store, where you can buy bottled water, wine, fruit, and any other comestibles for a very reasonable price. Cheaper than the small so-called "super markets" in the area. 4. A variety of reasonably priced restaurants also to be found around the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location and low price make up for the hotel’s shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its proximity to the train station, the hotel borders on an area that becomes unsavory at night. The neighborhood is noisy. Some of the rooms have incredibly small shower stalls, and the elevator belongs in antique collection.

    Because it is only two blocks from the Termini train station, I have stayed at Hotel Serena several times, always just for one night. The main reason I stay there is that it’s easy to walk to the station, catch the Leonardo Express train, and arrive at the airport—all in less than an hour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    A perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two single mattresses placed together. Our shower developed a strange smell each morning, but the cleaning crew removed it.

    The staff at the hotel were super friendly! Marco at reception went above and beyond to teach us basic Italian to get around, and recommended fantastic places to visit. The hotel was very close to Roma Termini, which made transportation easy. It was also a quick walk down the road from the Roman Forum and the Colloseum.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay in room 208 and the bathroom smelled very bad. The frame of the douch was has lost the paint and the and one of the glass door is missing the door knob. Plus the trash bin cover did not work and fell when stepped on the pedal. A deep overall on that bathroom is needed. On the other hand, I have stayed before as well as friends in this small hotel, and there has been no complaint. But room 208 needs to be updated.

    When I arrived there were no croissants and there were bread but cold . I think a toaster to heat the bread will be appreciated. They have coffe machines but you can request a cappuccino which was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    An excellent visit in a reasonable, central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comment

    Staff at reception very helpful, particularly Marco. It is a comfortable, old fashioned hotel in a convenient position for station and metros

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Welcoming and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very cramped and difficult to navigate. The drain smelled of sewer gas for about 12 hours, but it stopped and never smelled again. We covered the shower drain with a towel for a temporary solution.

    The free breakfasts were delicious and abundant. We began our days well fueled and ready to get going. Although the room was small, it was comfortable and quiet. The hotel location was perfect, close to transportation and shops and the concierge was very helpful. My adult daughter was delighted by the old elevator. So was I.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect city local for using public transportation or Hop on/ off bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator worked, is quaint and can take two adults or 1 with 3 suitcases.

    Room perfect for couple & extra adult. Walkable to Rome main train & metro station & hop on and off city tour bus. Fabulous pizza right across street. Hotel also made arrangements for our 4:30am transport to FOC airport. They we're friendly and helpful and spoke English well, was the most perfect one night stay we wish was a week long.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    Good location, simple place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast pretty poor. Shower needs a renewal. Room was very noisy since the window is on the street side, they might need to put one of those sound proof windows.

    The Hotel is well positioned close to termini station but of course this is not a nice area for leisure travels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and clean hotel near the station, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and there was some noise from the street during the night.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room spotlessly clean. Extremely convenient for the station.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Serena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: