Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sextantio Albergo Diffuso

Via Principe Umberto snc, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy

#9 of 11 hotels in Santo Stefano di Sessanio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was more verity in breakfast buffet

    The place is not a normal hotel, but rather a great change for a new experience. The castle is very well maintained and the rooms are clean and tight, savoring every detail that helps you live in the mideival times. The staff are very welcoming and super helpful. We are glad to have had the chance to experience that atmosphere in a wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We booked and paid for the double room. When we checked in, we were upgraded by the receptionist 'Denise' to the suite which was huge and very comfortable. We were told that you can communited with us via whatsapp which we did during our stay and was very quick and feasible. Other hotels should adopt this too. About the hotel, this is a medieval village, abandoned by the inhabitants. Sextantio has taken over and converted the few buildings into an 'exquisite and contemporary yet comfortable' medieval houses which you wont experience anywhere else. What makes this special is the fact that no changes have been done to the centuries old properties, only to make them more comfortable. We loved each small details - the bath shower gel, the woolen bed, the candles, the fireplace, the heated floors, the ambient lighting... This was, by far, the most memorable stay in our trip to Italy. When we checked in and Snapchatted the room, etc our followers went crazy!! We suggest to stay here 1 day to have the wonderful experience which is unique. Bear in mind, the village has very less restaurants, activities etc, so dont budget more than 2 days unless you plan to meditate and isolate urself from the cruel world..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not helpful. We left our jackets at the hotel and we had to contact them several times to get a response. And when they did, it was dismissive. Our stuff just disappeared which really ruined the trip and they did nothing. It's a nice place, but overpriced and frankly who wants to stay in a hotel where you don't feel like your belongings are safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came after the 'season' so some of the places and restaurants were closed. But those opened were fine.

    Something very special that transports you to a different time period. You feel the history of the era and fill in the lines of the lives of the people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not super comfortable and shower had no shelves for products. Authentic but not very practical for some aspects. We had a basic room though, maybe suites are better equipped and better value-for-money than ours.

    Authentic atmosphere in a quiet village on the hills

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional service - going above and beyond to support our bikepacking issues (transportation arranged, storage of equipment and coordination with external parties).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice for vegetarians.

    This is such a beautiful place - old, partially ruined and being gently restored. Life seems to slow down. Food is simple but delicious and authentically made. The rooms are rustic and contain antique furniture and rustic lighting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room above the bar (noisy), no email sent in advance explaining where to park (it is not clear what you are meant to do), breakfast and coffee

    The experience of the interiors of the room, the intention of preserving the village, its view and the dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was not working in the room and although reported to the reception several times problem was not attended or fixed during our stay.

    Great spot, friendly staff and very relaxing to stay for a few days

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very atmospheric accommodation in carefully restored old buildings scattered throughout the village. Good location to explore the surrounding countryside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark room. Bed extremely hard. Food options run out after a day so three nights was too long. Not enough fresh fruit and vegetables at breakfast - I understand this is part of the experience but would have been nice to introduce a few more optional comforts at this price.

    Beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although maintain much of its medieval heritage comes short in terms of comfort. Although the beds are handmade they are anything but comfortable, in fact they are almost as hard as rocks and not to mention they squeaked very loudly everytime I shifted. The bathroom had no shower and only a tub, of you wanted to shower you had to fill a jug and shower yourself. The room was a heaven for Ants everywhere and to top it off the heating in my room was faulty and the room was extra crisp and we could do nothing about it.

    Serenity at it's best. The property is a medieval fantasy, the property is well maintained and really sets the tone for a wonderful medieval experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Atmosphere was "film-set" like, with the balance struck between lighting, colours, wall textures, furniture and the other little touches just right. Having stayed at hundreds of hotels we all totally understood the idea involved here and its "spot-on" Yes its dark, yes there isn't masses of clothes hanging space or storage but to clutter the rooms with to many elements would spoil the whole effect. Its - Medieval Chic...!! Loved the massive candles throughout which one could burn day & night, real fires and the unseen underfloor heating. Personally I love the wool filled mattress although my partner found it hard, but ones never going to satisfy everyone with a bed. The bathroom was fantastic, contrasting in its modern style with highly textured wall and stone floor, housing all one needed. Nice handmade soap and liquid soap. Yes we read some of the "mixed" reviews but it's our true belief that those "few" people just didn't "get-the-place" - Its five star........it just requires a slightly open mind as to what one really needs both physically and spiritually from accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very poor: not making the extra effort that you expect from this level structure. Breakfast was average. We asked for a specific request which was not provided at the end, but not even taken into consideration. The service and attention to details needs to be largely improve to charge the price they charge.

    Location is great, impressive the silence that surrounds the entire village. The idea of the project is very interesting but poorly executed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the moment it is a bit of a building site due to work being carried out following the 2009 earthquake but don't let that put you off. Wifi was very poor.

    Located on the edge of the national park and providing fantastic walking direct from the town. The rooms which are set into the caves are atmospheric and very comfortable and we had a great meal in the main restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing, amazing hotel. Unique, takes you back in time! Staff very friendly, the room very rustic, big iron key for the door, very clean, candles in the room lit upon arrival! This was an amazing experience, one everyone should enjoy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was the least comfortable I've ever slept on unfortunately. Hard as a rock.

    Amazing setting and project. Really magical to have the opportunity to stay in this accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bath kit there is only one bottle for shower and hair I would expect conditioner and cream considering the stars of the hotel .

    I have liked a lot the style and furniture of the place, the fireplace and the handmade bed covers. The location of the rooms spread inside the old village is amazing. The hotel restaurants are very cost the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner at The Sextantio Restaurant was horrible: extremely slow service and cold food. Go somewhere else, there's an half dozen different places in town.

    Atmosphere as nowhere else. The fireplace in your sleeping room is for real.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No shower - Too expensive for what it is

    +¨unique experience with rooms design from the middle age + fire place in the room + great local products used throughout the hotel (incl. restaurants)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked a more comfortable chair by the fireplace.

    Like stepping back in time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a place that is indescribably amazing. One of the most beautiful locations on earth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and hard beds

    The setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food

    The concept was very special and unique

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional scenery and design of the rooms, in this old village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm during the day.

    Renovated to a high standard yet keeping the old world feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was not great and we were freezing in the night. had no sleep.

    stunning location. views are amazing. history fascinating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town still under construction.

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything.

    Noble mission to restore village. Unique vacation experience. High level of integrity and authenticity. Bravo!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Great surroundings. Amazing interiors

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff resourcefulness. restaurant help

    Limited wifi. Restraints where horrific

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor breakfast. When you pay 165 euro per night, you expect a better breakfast with some diffrent selection of cheese and alternatives

    The mediaval city Santo Stefano di Sessanio and the hotel it self was very interesting

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The expensive price and the few informative panels in Santo Stefano to get there.

    The silence, the extra comfort bed and the bath with handmade soaps before having dinner.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wooden entrance door of the 'room' (house) has open joints through which quite some cold enters. Luckily there is good floor heating...

    The real fireplace and the bathtub in the room create a sense of quality and wellness.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor standard of accommodation. restaurant long distance away from hotel. no nearbye parking facilities. restaurant menu very poor. hotel charges grossly overpriced.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy neighbours.

    Very atmospheric accommodation in carefully restored old buildings scattered throughout the village. Nice winebar and restaurant; both were good value. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and efficient. Good location to explore the surrounding countryside.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Average breakfast, could be better. It is also really out of the way so make sure you spend enough time there to make the drive worthwhile. Not many dinner options in the town and the hotel restaurant menu is extremely limited. The room is also really dark but I suppose that helps keep it authentic!

    A really special, unique stay...have never stayed anywhere like it before!!! The town is gorgeous and the room is very comfortable considering that they've tried to keep it in the medieval fashion. The bath in the room is definately the highlight of the room!!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With the money paid the facilities of the hotel could have been better! The staff was smiling all the time! And I know it might sound silly but I have to type this unprofessional mistake they did by charging us 6 euros for two when we asked to taste before buying the Vino Cotto (cooked wine) in their little cafè like place, eventhough we saw afterwards that we had a bottle to try in the common hall we had with another room! Anyway that was a 'personal mistake' obviously!

    The location! The original medieval rooms that has a little touch of modern day! The local made soap and other cosmetics they put in the room! Amazing cool weather in mid July! Local food. The -easy to reach by car, ~5km- rock castle (Rocca Calascio) was amazing in sunset!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a great experience with modern living. So special if you travel a lot and want the next level of your journey in Italy! Wonderful will always be a memory of a life time .

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Altough as mentioned there was a situation of emergency because of the snow I still find it unbelievable that no one helped with our luggages and I had to drag them for 45 minutes at night with 1 meter of snow and strong wind. Also we didn't get the room we booked for (that we really wanted) because apparently there were no free rooms but found out one of those rooms was free but given to someone arriving the next day. I understand this isn't the standard but I doubt I will be back after this treatment.

    The town is wonderful, we arrived after a snowstorm, It was really hard to get around but It have Santo Stefano an enchanted feeling. The girl at the restaurant was great, very nice and kind.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of amenities for the price. Ex. No phone in the rooms

    Location and friendliness

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything it was a wonderful escape

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds are with hard mattresses

    The hotel is beautiful, the staff is very nice!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were incredibly comfortable and the staff was lovely. We will definitely return!

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed clasical music and more candles as it was in Matera

    Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Couple

    Location , food and wine.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, symbiosis between the rustic location and the designer comfort, environment and quality consciousness

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the under floor heating was set way too high.

    we loved staying in a medieval castle

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Mediebal experience an staff were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Valuable experience to stay at completely preserved historical houses.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Sextantio Albergo Diffuso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: