Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort 4 stars

Assietta, 1/Bis, 10058 Sestriere, Italy

Review score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had to come home.

    The best family hotel we have ever stayed in. Although the hotel is very elegant, the staff absolutely spot on, the food fantastic, and the service totally without fault, from the moment we arrived until we left, we felt like we were at home - I even went up to the dining room for breakfast in my slippers by mistake one day! The owners and staff were totally professional and never less than friendly, even though it was a the end of the season when you would expect tempers to be frayed. Everyone was delightful with our children, especially the two year old who has a very strong little character. There was a lovely playroom for children open during dinner so we had really enjoyable evening meals - superb food without the formality - and even a babysitting service which meant I skied for the first time in three years. If you are dithering over the slightly higher prices than elsewhere, don't. It's worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimmingpool/breakfast

    Great staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit far from the slopes for skiing but ski equipment could be left at Ski deposit right on the slopes.

    Very large room. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had emailed prior to arrival for early check in as would be arriving at mid day after travelling most of the previous night. Hotel never replied . When we arrived room was not available till after 3 pm.! We were exhausted and an earlier check in would have been much appreciated .

    Beds very comfortable , room warm but not stuffy. Nice turndown service with chocolates on pillow each night. Very clean. Enough space in room for two adults and two children.Bathroom facilities good and room quiet. Ten minutes walk to slopes .

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A hot tub would be nice.

    Everything about our stay was fantastic. The hotel is supper friendly and the restaurant is very good. When skiing in sestriere you will not find a better hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is NOT on the slope as indicated. There is no sauna and spa-center if you stay not in super suit. To reach the municipal pool, indicated as partner, you need to go through cold street. The breakfast and HB are poor. The bath is too tight. If you're going to enjoy the mountains' view from you room, you may have no lack. And you will not have own balkony with sunchairs.

    The owner and whole stuff are very kind and helpfull. Big room, comfortable bеd.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To be honest more snow on the mountains but most pistes very well served by snow machines.

    The hotel has integrity from its expressed green beliefs to the actions of all members of staff. David and Helena ensure all guests requirements are met and surpassed.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dinner was far below average. The amis bouche was a joke and the main course was uneatable. Wine recommendations were unprofessional. The entrance hall was too dark. What about removing Christmas decorations in July?

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    4* evening food options, even with Half Board option, can appear expensive for families. It's lovely food and there is an 'easy menu' but this still works out more than a pizza with kids in Sestriere centre.

    Warm and personal welcome, clean with beautiful décor, everything you need - tailored (including a wonderful dinner with friends one night), excellent breakfast, support on your first day, e.g. hire, passes, lessons and anything else. Quite super.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    No lobby area, no spa, no sauna, no working internet, poor breakfast, very basic level food preparation for dinner.

    Nice people in reception and nice hotel management.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Big part of the restaurant is actually a glass terrace in which it was too cold (while outside temperature was below -10).

    Personnel very sympathetic and helpful, beautiful architecture of the hotel, tall garage door (no problem for our MPV with cargo box on the roof)

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent helpful friendly staff, fantastic comfy bed, and great location. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts were more than generous with their time and treated us like family.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really great stuff very helfull. Perfect restaurant - beef filet - amazing. Thank You

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Guests also reviewed these properties: