Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Silla 2 stars

Via Silla 3, Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#410 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 273 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Location, A/C, clean bathrooms, cable, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I mean I don't expect a pool and a butler, but for the price I paid and for the location, Hotel Silla exceeded my expectations.

    Location, A/C, clean bathrooms, cable, helpful staff. The room was ready even before the check in time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Goed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was old and didn't work properly. After a while it emanated warm air instead of cool air. The room didn't have a refrigerator. That was a really pitty because it was warm in Rome.

    The room was small but cozy. It had one bed, comfortable and clean. There were any water boiler or cups to have a drink but I received them after I asked for them at the reception. The location was really goed. One minute walking distance to the metro station and 3 minutes to the St. Peter's Basilica.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    It is just adequate. I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was extremely small and uncomfortable. Owner lives on the property, initially refused to give us the A/C remote, because according to him temperature outside was comfortable enough that AC was not needed. Later he relented.

    It is centrally located. It is close to bus stop and metro station. The owner lives on the property, making it feel more like you were a guest in a house vs a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Close to ottaviano metro, clean rooms and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and mobile signal from room were extremely weak, small room size, remote to a/c not provided despite asking for it.

    Close to ottaviano metro, clean rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small for 2 adults and a baby. But in a city it is expected. I felt it is a bit overpriced for what we got. Our friends stayed in nearby hotels and they got a better value for their money.

    Hotel is near the Vatican, thus a walk away from the major attractions in Rome. Beds were comfortable. Room was clean Staff were OK. We needed a kettle for the babies bottle and they supplied one. Cleaning lady was always smiling, better than the reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall my Wife and I agreed we did get very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the ensuite layout was a bit cramped for tall persons

    Friendly helpful staff is a big bonus in my book, given that we where in an unfamiliar surrounding. The building had outside louvred shutters which meant we could have the windows open, for coolness and air without compromising privacy or security. The room was fitted with aircon but wasnt required during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful gem of a hotel near the Vatican, great value, great staff, great price !!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not book the breakfast option with this hotel, although it is offered at an additional cost. They have a restaurant at the hotel although once again we had already made previous reservations at surrounding locations so am unable to comment on the food other than, the smell when we passed the restaurant was very inviting. The location was fantastic, the staff were professional, and they even allowed us to leave our luggage in their office until we had to catch our taxi because of an unexpected strike on the day of our departure (they offered to call the taxi for us). It is a family owned hotel and they take great pride in their hotel, although it only has 2 stars, I can attest that it is better than a lot of 4 star hotels I have stayed in, in Italy. The rooms are not large, but it is perfect for 2 people who plan to visit the city of Rome, instead of spending time in their hotel room. It is equipped with WIFI and CABLE TV at no extra cost. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will absolutely use them again myself. The cost for your money was exceptional by any standards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    An entirely adequate place for a short stay near the Vatican-not ideal for longer stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite poor and expensive - the coffee (American?) was not good -although when we asked for better coffee the gentleman on reception very happily made us some fresh Italian coffee. We would have done better to get breakfast out. The beds were really quite hard.

    This is a typical Roman hotel- first floor of a building. The staff were polite and very helpful, The location is very good for visits to the Vatican-just around the corner from the metro too. Some reasonable restaurants and interesting shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location: 1 minute to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location: 1 minute to metro station. Hotel is located near lots of restaurants. Very nice & friendly staff and reseption! :) I really enjoyed to stay here! Thank you so much! :) Grazie!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location near metro and bus lines.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels are more like sheets than towels. I am 5'7" and the shower was tiny. Could not extend my arms.

    Great location near metro and bus lines. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money, very close to St Peter's and metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More food options for breakfast, improve the sound proof of the walls because some guests can be very noisy.

    Very very good location, overall cleanliness and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    try this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Continental breakfast could've been better and the quality of the towels could be improved

    The staff was very accomodating, making arrangements for our tours and transfers. Very professional staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can actually hear some noise (tv, kids, conversations, etc..) from the other rooms.. that was not so nice..

    breakfast is very tasty and hotel is nice and close to Vatican.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    If this is in your price range, pick it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff received us well, very good facilities and clean rooms, ideal location only a minute or two from the metro station and few minutes walk from vatican

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent place and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was that we had left a shopping bag on one of the bed side tables. It had some things that we had bought earlier in the week (postcards etc) and an empty water bottle. When we got back it had been thrown away. When I asked the hotel they explained the cleaners had thought it was rubbish. There wasn't really any apology and the hotel staff suggested that we should leave our room in a more orderly state which was a bit offensive as there was hardly items of clothing/rubbish strewn all over the floor. Other than this, perfect stay.

    Hotel Silla is placed in an excellent location near to the Vatican City and the closest Metro Station is just around the corner. Great aircon which was necessary for the time of year we went. Wifi connectivity was always reliable. We checked in slightly after the advertised time (after 12) and early in the morning which wasn't a problem. It is a '24 hour desk' but the door to the main reception is closed from 12. You have to buzz in every time you needed to get back in but this did make us feel more secure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Perfect first visit to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all it was brilliant.

    Beds, shower, air conditioning, location was brilliant for metro, cafe and restaurants. It was just a cool location. The breakfast was great and coffee glorious. We visited St Peters at 7.45 and the short walk there was lovely with no people around. Silly even has a lift.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Lovely staff, great location, everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had everything we needed but could be considered a bit 'basic' by others.

    So close to the metro! Lovely staff! Safe secure building. Pretty decor in the corridors. Good aircon. Several little shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Location and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great dpot for Vatican and metro. Clean, fairly quiet (no street noise, just noisy tourists in other rooms). Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location near metro, bus and restaurants.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition isn't that good in family room. No fridge.

    Good location near metro, bus and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to metro stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to metro stop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable clean and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, only onto a central courtyard

    Basic room and facilities, helpful staff, very clean. Good location to Vatican

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable and very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and very well located. It was great overall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    In general is OK but could be better if room and shower are bigger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, small room and shower, poor toiletrie stuff

    Location, cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.0
    The location was good but i would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no coffee no fridge no ice if we wanted such thing we had to leave hotel to them.

    the location was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Nice place. Nice staff. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was very small.

    Excellent location to get to Vatican and Metro.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control heating. Would have been nice to have complimentary tea/ coffee in room. Also towels poor quality.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    It was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was perfect. The staff very nice. The room was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    very hotel at a great price in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room a little small

    Excellent location for the Vatican . Friendly and very informative owner/staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    3.3
    Too small room and bathroom . Poor quality installation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location and lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just as we wanted it!

    Hotel was located right next to a metro which was good for access. Hotel was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    The room was a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small. Mattress was a bit firm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.2
    Location, Staff and cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Location, Staff and cleanness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Convenience location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenience location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air conditioning not great.

    staff were very friendly and helpful. great location. lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    8.8
    Short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.0
    Very near from Ottaviano metro station & St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air conditioner is in the room but only available for use from July not in May or June, even if you are tired & sweating when you arrive from airport in metro !! there is no fan in the room, so there is no choice to open the window that can give little fresh air with lot of surrounding noise !! Very strange & unfortunate !!

    Very near from Ottaviano metro station & St. Peters Basilica.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    6.7
    Great location, near Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was unsatisfying. For that price, it should be much better. There was a lot of noise from other rooms, it was a bit irritating...the walls are very thin, you can even hear what is happening in neighborhood.

    Great location, near Vatican. Metro and bus stations to all main attractions are very close to the hotel site.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.9
    - 10 min by foot from the Vatican and with a metro station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - The bathroom can be small for people with larger builds.

    - 10 min by foot from the Vatican and with a metro station around the corner. - Good wifi signal. - The staff is nice. - The neighborhood looks safe and has many stores close to the hotel if you need to buy anything.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    7.1
    Location is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water wasn't warm right away. You have to wait 7 minutes before it gets warm. We had a room at the end of the hallway so wi-fi signal was really poor. We had to stand next to the door in order for it to get connected...

    Location is awesome. Metro station is right next to the hotel. Neighbourhood is nice. Room is not too small.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It´s quite old and reformed residence in an old building. Different from what I expected when I reserved the hotel. The space is quite limited in the room and not very attractive.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    The location is 1 min away from tube station and 5 min away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are a bit thin and you can hear the noise from the other rooms.The breakfeast was poor.

    The location is 1 min away from tube station and 5 min away from Vatican. The room was comfortable and spacious. The personnel was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    7.9
    Location was perfect to visit Vatican and take the tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    you need a patient of a saint to deal with the staff of this hotel, i wouldn't recommend breakfast in the hotel either

    Location was perfect to visit Vatican and take the tour buses, rooms small but clean and lovely decorated,

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.5
    It's a short walk to the Ottaviano subway station and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy guests

    It's a short walk to the Ottaviano subway station and a 5-minute walk to the Vaticans Museums and St. Peter's square. Friendly and english-speaking staff. Safe building (multiple doors before you reach your room)

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    We stayed at Hotel Silla for 3 nights during our stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little small, but for the city location this was not an issue.

    We stayed at Hotel Silla for 3 nights during our stay in Rome. The hotel was within a locked controlled entrance so it had a safe feel. The staff were well presented, friendly and helpful, and showed us to our room despite being our check in being very late at night. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom was pristine. The wi-fi was outstanding - very quick and did not drop out. The location next to the Vatican and metro station was fantastic. The staff allowed us to leave our bags on the day of check out as we had a late flight. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    8.3
    this hotel is very good, it is near metro station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this hotel is very good, it is near metro station and Vatican city, it is quiet and comfortable. you can easily to find restaurant to have breakfast and lunch,dinner. if you do not want to spend too much on accommodation Silla hotel is a good choice. one more thing, no extra charge for air conditioner.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Short walks close to Vatican, shopping, restaurants, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was so-so for price, better off eating at local coffee shops nearby. Room for 4 was a little tight with luggage but doable

    Short walks close to Vatican, shopping, restaurants, and Metro. Very clean, staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was on the second floor of a very nice building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was very dark and the bathroom quite small. Pillows too hard for us.

    The hotel was on the second floor of a very nice building. It was spotless. The personnel at the desk were very helpful with advice on transport, directions, tourist spots etc. Breakfast was in a lovely bright room looking out on the street and it included a wide variety of items. The wifi was faultless.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    The hotel is located near metro station and bus station very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little bit loud because of the caffeteria near the hotel .

    The hotel is located near metro station and bus station very good location . You can reach the coty center in 10 minutes. Really comfortable rooms and nice personal .

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    Placement,service,cleaning periodicity,hospitality, valuable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Non stable WiFi, thin towels, and non comfortable pillows.

    Placement,service,cleaning periodicity,hospitality, valuable breakfast for 6 euro, close to subway and Vatcicano

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Excellent position in order to discover Rome and Vatican...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    But, room was very close to reception desk, and in the night staff was chitchatting or speak on the phone loudly, and it was annoying.

    Excellent position in order to discover Rome and Vatican city. Very near from Metro. Quiet place, no noisy road near building.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    10
    Staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. Excellent location for Vatican, shopping and dining.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    6.7
    very good location wit friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room with a poor view

    very good location wit friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Cheap affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cheap affordable. Very quite. Close to metro

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location. 24 hr reception staff

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location if visiting the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location if visiting the Vatican.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.5
    No electricity during all the night during.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No electricity during all the night during...

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Facilities and the receptionist and near to Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Facilities and the receptionist and near to Vatican.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location near transport and vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location near transport and vatican

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.5
    Small, but comfy enough for a solo traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small, but comfy enough for a solo traveler. Great aircon.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.9
    First floor, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed three nights - two of those days, there was no hot water for showers.

    First floor, great location.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and excellent location for a trip to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff and excellent location for a trip to Rome!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    8.3
    Really nice hotel and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice hotel and very friendly staff. Walking distance to all the main attractions. Hotel very clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    7.5
    The location very close to vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location very close to vatican

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.5
    location, excellent cleanliness of the hotel, good Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    comfort of beds, very hard to sleep on, uncomfortable bedding

    location, excellent cleanliness of the hotel, good Wifi

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    10
    Comfortable room, friendly staff and great location - right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable room, friendly staff and great location - right next to a Metro station and a short walk from the Vatican.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Very close to Metro sation and within a wlaking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to report.

    Very close to Metro sation and within a wlaking distance to the vatican.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location... Nice room... Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    7.9
    Perfect location, 3 blocks away for St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect location, 3 blocks away for St. Peter square. Lots of restaurants near by and helpful staff.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Guests also reviewed these properties: