Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Smeraldo 3 stars

Via G. Capriglione N.133, 84010 Praiano, Italy

#20 of 20 hotels in Praiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 77 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good and calm hotel with sea view, good connection to Positano and Amalfi by public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of course its during the summer season expensive but would recommend it instead of paying even more in Positano and Amalfi area.

    Perfect room with balcony (sea view and view to Positano). Breakfast good with different kind of cheeses, flakes, croissants, drinks etc. plus also sea view from the restaurant. The owner family is very helpful with advises and recommendations. In front of the Hotel is a bus stop with local transportation to Positano and Amalfi. Would def. recommend to stay here instead of crowdy tourist spots.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    All in a good experince
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is managed by a cute family however they were a little bit careless in some ways and their father was being aggressive when meeting our demands.

    The location was great and we had a tremendous sea view from our room just as shown in the pictures.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.3
    bad memory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the staff but even worse the owners without the slightest professionalism. dirty rooms so indecent, the shower did not work. we asked for the sink taps twice but they did not even listen to us. we had to brush our teeth using water from the sink faucet. we had a balcony with a beautiful view but we did not know where to put it because it was all very dirty. a real degradation. the breakfast really poor, just a few croissants and very little else and we paid more than 200 euros per day telling us it was a fantastic offer. one morning to have 2 eggs I had to pay extra 8 euros, really very expensive. after the first two mornings we went to have breakfast at a nearby hotel named Il Tramonto D'Oro where our friends were staying and for only 15 euros we had a fantastic breakfast, we found everything between sweet and savory. during our stay the owners also argued in the loud reception with employees offending each other with mines of complaints. a truly absurd situation. ruined holiday

    view from the terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It need abit of renovation in the interior of the lobby and rooms

    The best view in entire Amalfi coast, the family holding the business is the best people i’ve met in Italy, they helped us with everything (renting scooters, transportations, tours, recommendations). Though the rooms are abit old, they were really clean and traditional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay at a prime location to explore the Amalfi Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great Location and views with marvellous dining terrace. Staff were really nice to us. Mostly family run and all were very helpful with anything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Praiano is a great little place to stay and easy to get to other places along the Amalfi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't the greatest, television didn't work too well and couldn't get the spa bath going but it functioned well as a bath.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, the room was a little dated but comfortable and kept very clean. The view from the balcony of our room (5) was amazing, a 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Unpleasant, rude, A/C didn't work, wireless weak, refrigerator didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff and family running the hotel were rude, swore at my wife when she asked for extra towels and we left early. A totally unpleasant hotel. Not recommended!

    The only good thing about this hotel was the view. 400+ steps to the Mediterranean. The family that runs the hotel were the rudest, most unpleasant people we had to deal with. We DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Family run business.. gorgeous views.. however a little pricey for what it is. wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in room 15.. very old and needs to be redone

    The views from the restaurants terrace were just stunning of the Amalfi Coast. The food at the hotels restaurant was absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    It's really beautiful Italian hotel with fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really beautiful Italian hotel with fantastic view. You feel like you are at home. Thanks to this wonderful family who did everything that our vacation be perfect. I highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    This is Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disapointed that our booking said 3 sea view rooms and one room was downstairs with NO seaview .I did not get a satisfactory answer when I queried it .

    The lovely atmosphere and family run hotel made it a personal experience.The view is one in a million and difficult to put into words .The location for transport is heaven! .The family was kind and generous and wonderful.We experienced Italy and Amalfi through their attitude and hospitality .The food at the hotel was well priced and delicious .Wonderful breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Amazing view on Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a 3 cm cockroach in our bathroom one day

    Amazing view on Positano The steps to one of the only two beaches in Praiano start near the hotel (can even access them through the hotel's garden)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect views innPraiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed having a kettle with coffee and tea in my room.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The views from the terrace where we had our breakfast was amazing. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Some of the installations in the rooms need repair (toilet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some of the installations in the rooms need repair (toilet, hair-dryer, sink...). Reading lamps in the bedroom were not working....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Air conditioning was just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was just ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    Decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money l, but I put that down to the norm for the area.

    Excellent view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Maybe the best experience in Almaty Coast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic View, nice location, quiet town and warm family

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    The hotel was located right on the main street, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was located right on the main street, which was very convenient. Our room was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and the view from our balcony was spectacular. Overlooking Positano and Capri. It truly was breathtaking my husband and I were WOWed with it. We also had a Jacuzzi in our balcony which was nice to relax after a long day and watching the view was amazing. Every morning we had breakfast on the hotels terrace, which had the same view. Breakfast was very nice with fresh pastries, cold cuts and cheese and let me not forget a nice café latte that was freshly prepared for us. The hotel is family owned and they were very accommodating with us. We also would have dinner there and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. They also helped us plan a boat tour to Capri that was excellent. We truly had a fabulous stay there.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    The view from the room was amazing and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work in our room (it did work in the restaurant) Spa function of spa bath didn't work.

    The view from the room was amazing and the staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    This hotel is perfectly located on the Main Street of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one downside- the wifi didn't work! This was sort of a blessing in disguise though..

    This hotel is perfectly located on the Main Street of a quiet coastal town named Praiano, which is very close to Positano. The hotel itself is clean, traditional and comfortable. It is family run, and the owners are just delightful. We had a sea view room with a jacuzzi on our balcony, which was luxurious. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean with a good air conditioner and large bed. Every morning we ate on the balcony of the restaurant, overlooking the island of Capri. We were served fresh coffee, pastries, fruit and much more. All in all I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, nor the town of Praiano. The sun hit the town at around 10.30am and stayed shining on it until late evening (unlike Positano which is in shadow from around 4.30pm). There are plenty of nice restaurants and access to the 'beach' was easy. Hotel Smeraldo, thankyou so much for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    3.8
    view from the terrace/restaurant was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not a very demanding person but not much breakfast variety, rooms extremely outdated, blow dryer didn't work, bedding seem to have permanent stains, towels seemed like table clothes, staff/owner didn't seem to want to be there (they should change profession). overall hospitality didn't exist in this hotel, they just seemed tired from running the hotel.

    view from the terrace/restaurant was good.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    Location, Owner was very welcoming and fulfilling all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we changed rooms as the first room was on a low level with limited views. One level up it was fine.

    Location, Owner was very welcoming and fulfilling all requests

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    The views were fantastic as is their restaurant terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was directly below the restaurant so unfortunately, you could hear chairs being dragged or moved every night.

    The views were fantastic as is their restaurant terrace. Our room was spacious with a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was generous and dinner was delightful.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location, panoramic views and nice comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, panoramic views and nice comfortable rooms especially the 'hot water tub' in the balcony.Being on the road helps including being in vicinity of a nice pizzeria.There is a small trek going up to the sea down below..not to be missed.Nice folks and excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    9.2
    fantastic view from the bar and restaurant area of Positano...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fantastic view from the bar and restaurant area of Positano and the coast along to Capri. we we're walking the path of the gods and it was a very good place to start.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.9
    View , spa , food was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor communication skills , family hotel feeling of under surveillance .

    View , spa , food was nice

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff have minimal english and could be a little more hospitable/have maps or tourist information

    good location. beautiful view from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.3
    Amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing views!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.1
    Great part of the Amalfi Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wi-fi was not working properly or at all in the room

    Great part of the Amalfi Coast

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.3
    The view of the room was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bad humor of the owner

    The view of the room was very nice

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.1
    great view, wonderful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    extremely difficult parking and leaving the luggage, the beach is quite difficult to access

    great view, wonderful service

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    5.8
    The hotel location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The attitude of the staff. No reception, no services, nothing alive after 11:00 pm in the facility.

    The hotel location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    The amazing view from the balcony while enjoying a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything!

    The amazing view from the balcony while enjoying a wonderful breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, fantastic view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    500 steps to get to the beach! For some of us it was really a problem, specially when it was too hot!

    Friendly staff, fantastic view!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    The Hospitality and friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Hospitality and friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Highly recommended to upgrade to the superior room at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Highly recommended to upgrade to the superior room at the top floor. It has the most spectacular views from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.2
    View, balcony, size of room, friendliness, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View, balcony, size of room, friendliness, good breakfast

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: