Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smooth Hotel Rome West 4 stars

Via Aurelia 619, Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy

#459 of 965 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1707 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    I like the accommodating helpful staff, the cleanliness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the accommodating helpful staff, the cleanliness of the property...and oh, one thing which is important for me...the “lift”, the smell of freshness and cleanliness of it is two thumbs up!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    4.6
    The room was clean and most staff was ok, except the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionists was very unprofessional.

    The room was clean and most staff was ok, except the receptionist that handled our check-out, who kept us waiting because he had to finish a conversation with a friend. Horrible!!! The breakfast was ok, and it had variety.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Very good breakfast
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had smells of cigaretts or food from time to time, I think through the air conditioner tubes The room was noisy, you could hear very well what was happening outside the building(cars, people)

    Very good breakfast Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel staff was really helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was really helpful. Breakfast was decent and the sweets were delicious :) It is a little far from the city center but still there are some pretty good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.6
    The other room was clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In my first room the cleanness was horrific (blood on my bedsheet & many curley hairs). Was in a lot of diffrent hotels in my life in diffrent countries with 1* but never saw something like this, especially in a 4* hotel. I make photos and even send it to the Hotel, no respond till today.

    The other room was clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    In general, the hotel was clean, breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were two friends and we booked a double room. Upon arrival, we were told that we have booked a "lovely room" suitable for couples only. It was mentioned nowhere at the website while reserving the room. We had to pay extra money to take a regular double room which pissed us off. Pay special attention to this matter while booking at this hotel. Location is a bit far from the main attractions.

    In general, the hotel was clean, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    The room allocated was outside the main building right in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room allocated was outside the main building right in an alley which just had a small wall in between and there were no other guests in the neighboring rooms. I was charged 20 Euros extra to shift to the main building also there was some confusion as there is one hotel in the city and one outside and travelling to the outside location costs a lot of money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that you have to take into account is that is not situated near the attractions,you have take the train to move,you have to walk like ten minutes to "cornelia station" and then you have 15/20 minutes to the places of interest.

    The hotel was really nice,confortable,the breakfast was also very good and varied,the staff was very polite,and the restaurant of the hotel had good options to eat at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Super ! The rooms are very comfortable and very well maintained ☺️The breakfast is very deliscious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enougt place of parking in the hôtel et too expensive (12 euros for one day)

    Abordable price for the quality of service ( breakfast inclused in the price)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Great spent time in Smooth hotel west
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Very clean and confortable room. The hosts were very positive and helpful. Breakfast were amazing as well. The Vatican is very close and the metro station as well. When we visit Rome next time we will stay in the same hotel for sure!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Mixed feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ricardo from reception. Not nice and welcoming when we arrived. We asked more information about rooms in hotel - he suggested to search free rooms in Rome. Shame to say so. I felt not nice, very bad service from him. Destroying all image of this nice hotel.

    Francesco from reception was the best - we stayed one more day just for him - nice, thoughtful, helped us. The best service in Italy. Good breakfast. Very clean. Modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Far away from our expectations for a good holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all, it is not a 4-star hotel, it is far away from this class. The hotel is far away from city centre, although there is metro station on 15-minutes walk. We had another 11 stops to the Trevi Fountain, for example. The receptionist was extremely rude and although we made our reservation through booking.com he stated that our debit card is invalid, our booking cancelled and we cannot pay the rate (around 250 euro) which we booked. Instead, he tried to charge us 500 euro and could not give reasonable explanation, probably because his English was terrible,too. The breakfast was poor, no variety. Most of the food was eaten before 8 am and we had to wait for a new portion of for vegetables, eggs, bread, etc. The rooms were a bit old and smelled odd.

    The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is very clean and quiet. There is an outdoor garden were you can sit and drink your coffee but the tables, chairs and ashtrays were not clean even once during our 3-night stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    Staff is very humble.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has no amenities except the mini-fridge(not mini-bar)...It doesn't have kettle and tea kit as shown in pics....Breakfast doesn't have much options especially if you are a vegetarian and has the same menu all days....

    Staff is very humble....Hotel has bus stop just few steps away and metro is 20mins by walk or 5mins by bus....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    You should choose another hotel for Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a small double bed room,and they gave us a small room with a single bad. They said this is a “cosy room and french bed”. There was one pillow,one towel,for one person (photo atteched)... After a long argument we get another handicapped room ... the parking was 15€/night for a motocycle, and a parking place was very small. For the cars with a normal place the price is the same. They do not even write anything on Booking.com, this cosy room does not exist, and the parking neither. We left something in the room, so we wrote an e-mail 2 days ago,but there isnt any answer for it.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very good experience for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * The location of the hotel is not the best. You have to walk about 15 min to the metro station, after that it's easy to go anywhere. There's supposedly a bus that goes to the metro station Cornelia but it comes every 20-25 min. * There was a bag of waste and towels left on the balcony, I think they must have forgotten it when cleaning from the previous guests of the hotel room. It was not removed when cleaning the room either. *Just a multiuse shampoo-soap-shower gel, no hair conditioner, body lotion, etc.

    * Very comfortable kingsize bed. * Really good breakfast with a lot of variety and tasty options. * Besides the issue with the waste on the balcony, the room itself was sparkingly clean. It was in very good condition as well, nothing broken or not working. * Staff were very polite and helpfull, especially the gentleman who checked us in and the lady who checked us out. We were given a map of Rome and some tips what to visit. * 24 hours reception. * Some great offers price-wise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They ran out of soy milk on the last day, and we were without shower gel the first 2 days Also the distance to the metro is a bit bigger than advertised, which is fine unless you're walking in 40 degrees Celsius

    Breakfast was amazing: a lot of options for vegetarians too (soy mlik, vegan muffins..)..Coffee was very good, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean and spacious and the balcony was huge. Bathroom was equally big. Also had lunch there once, the pasta was divine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    If I go to Rome once more I will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise isolation is bad at night You hear loud voices and water leaking.

    The bed is good very comfortable,condition is OK.The breakfast is good,the staff is friendly.The hotel is good to stay for a short period.Wi-Fi is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean,the bathroom was big,wi-fi was easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The nearest metro station is about 15-20 min walking or by bus.

    The room was clean,the bathroom was big,wi-fi was easy to access and quite speed,for free. The air conditioner and safe box for free,too. Quiet place. The bus station is nearby. Good continental breakfast,everything was tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good Breakfast, helpful personnel, good standard of cleanliness, rooms facing the road can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel's location is a bit remote, however you can walk to the nearest Metro station (Cornelia) which is located approx 20 mins walking and, from there everything in Rome can be reached fairly rapidly. Alternatively, there is a bus station nearby the hotel with buses generally every 20-30 mins dependent on the time of the day. If you receive a room facing Via Aurelia, that could be very noisy due to the heavy traffic, typically starting from 5:00 am.

    Very helpful personnel, polite receptionists and the room has been cleaned and re-done every day during our stay here. Breakfast was enough in size and variety for this type of hotel. Good place to stay for a long weekend or short trip to visit Rome. We would stay again; however, in one of the rooms facing the backyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    My overall experience was positive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My biggest complaint is the area, I was expecting great restaurants and cafes, but one of the highest rated restaurants nearby was a mcdonalds. There were only very small problems with the hotel. Showering wasn’t as pleasant as I hoped, as the water pressure was quite low and the water temperature sometimes suddenly changed from hot to cold and vice versa. My friends who were staying in a different hotel had the same problem. The shower was in a bath tub, so if you prefer taking a bath over showering, there is no problem at all. The room was clean and nice, but the wallpaper was ugly and paintings weird. The breakfast was ok, not great but not terrible either.

    My overall experience was positive. The hotel was easy to find with google maps, and close to the metro station. The staff was nice enough. My room was nice, clean and the bed comfortable. I loved the small balcony. It was very hot outside during my stay, but my room was nice and cool thanks to the air conditioning. Free wifi worked great. A huge plus for the great cappucinos and other espresso based beverages you can get for a few euros. There were lovely flowers outside, and a nice sitting area behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were amazing so cheap and included a buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing so cheap and included a buffet breakfast which was the best value. A little further out but not far to walk from metro. Great room and comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel are very clean and good for vacation and the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff are very kind .... price are excellent

    Hotel are very clean and good for vacation and the staff are very kind, go and try it ... the price are very cheap comparing to the others hotels ,,, rate 8.5/10 very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super close to the old city. Nico, was by far the best part of this appartment, his advice and helpful tips were amazing. Super clean and comfortanle bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is located outside the absolutely city centre of Rome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can hear your next-door neighbours in their bathroom because everything is heard during the night. No coffee / tea maker in the room. There is only one glass in the bathroom and no other glass in the room.

    Hotel is located outside the absolutely city centre of Rome, but it is very well connected - 10 mins walking (or 3 stops by bus) to metro station Aurelia; 15 mins by bus line 247 to Cipro metro station which is about 5 mins walking from Musei Vaticani. Varied and tasty breakfasts. Very comfortable beds. Restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was excellent which was included - it had both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Front desk staff was good and accommodating except for one who was being difficult to deal with. He was always problematic to speak with him, he likes to deflect blame on the customer rather than being helpful and solving the problem. I am a travel agent who led a group and booked 38 rooms nights with this hotel. He had no appreciation of the business that I provided to the hotel at all and very inflexible. No one in our group wanted to deal with him. The savior of our stay was Alfeiro, the front desk manager, and the rest of the front desk personnel, especially, Ylenia. Thank you. Hotel location is quite far from the City.

    Breakfast was excellent which was included - it had both cold and hot breakfast items. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel. The hotel is conveniently close to an excellent pizza joint which we visited almost every night, it was excellent and had reasonably priced pizza & beer. Also within walking distance to several restaurants and to two Catholic Churches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Big bed, very good breakfast and lunch, the staff really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small and the location is about 1 km away from the nearest metro station

    Big bed, very good breakfast and lunch, the staff really nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    I strongly recommend, is a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little far away from the metro station and you have to walk aprox. 10 minutes or take the bus for 3 stations.

    Extra like for soft bed; very good breakfast; friendly staff and helpful. Very good services (reception, room, clean service). Very close to Fiumicion airport, and with Bus it takes aprox. 30 minutes to get here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    very nice personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    relatively far from the nearest metropolitan station (cornelia) - 15 min walking =900 m. the bus is crowded

    very nice personnel large, cosy and very clean room A/C very good WIFI very good breakfast Nice and relaxing back terrace dinner available on restaurant (until 10PM) daily cleaning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    I appreciate staff, they helped my girlfriend and I every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, this is an important point for future travelers before to book here, if you want to walk, you will happy but It is critical after full day in the city when you want to be in your hotel quickly to rest. I like walking but the zone is not attractive and you feel insecure.

    I appreciate staff, they helped my girlfriend and I every time, a solution was offered where our room was not ready and kindness is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Affordable, comfortable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no laundry facilities.

    Hotel, though not in the centre of Rome, was still ideally located as there was a bus stop right outside which was a 5 minute ride to the Metro and then a quick trip (about 6-8stops) into the heart of the city. It was so easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice and above decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers; 3-3,5 stars not 4 as presented.(small room) 1 km far from the metro station. Noise on the hallway late in the night and early in the morning ( you couldn't sleep later than 9 AM). The sink drainage wasn't working properly.

    Good quality/price ratio. The cleaning lady came to the room every day and changed the towels daily. Friendly restaurant and reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel but we have a tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small. We have a miniature double bed. It was really meant for a single person not for a couple. There was some difficulty with credit card confirmation when we booked and it was explained to us that as a result this was the only room that was available when we checked in. We booked months in advance. If we had a better room, our rating would be higher.

    Overall the place was clean and the service was good. Staff was pleasant. The location was about a 10-15 minute walk from bus and metro lines. It was relatively close to City Center and the Vatican. The breakfast was good and was included in the room cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Good!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Management! At first single room seemed to be a great deal. Whereas , though i requested a room from upper floors it was on the ground floor and dark. When i asked for an upgrade I had to pay nearly double price. Good hotel, but dont try to change your reservation at front desk. Make it once, make it right from Booking com. too much room spray. not suitable for allergenic peple .

    Spotlessly clean, very confortable bed.There is a chinese restaurant next to the hotel with good food and good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Wifi connection was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was terrible.we stayed at the third floor amd we couldnt connect at internet at all. Breakfast was poor and not fresh.Neighborhood was mediocre and inside the hotel there were a lot of noises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel very comfortable at this place. I found out that they are improving in service oriented people and in breakfast. Rooms are well enough to stay comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Luxury in the suburbs of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was amazing, the room and breakfast both perfect. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We got all information and help from the staff we needed. We stayed 4 nights so only asked for cleaning once, they did a very thorough job. The room was just perfect for two, cosy and warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    We enjoy a lot the Smooth Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the shower isnt stable, it goes from warm to cold in seconds no matter in which side you arrange it.

    We love this hotel, the room size is great, the furniture too, it is 10 min walk to the Metro, and a lot of shops/restaurants near, although the food in the hotel restaurant was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Good bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would say this is not a four stars hotel. It needs some maintenance here and there. Not much besides bed and breakfast. Shower temperature was not constant. Location while served by bus right in front is not the best. While breakfast was good it could be vastly improved just by having a fresh coffee machine instead of a soluble one and peeled fresh fruit.

    Comfortable, simple and clean. Our room was faced backwards so it was also quiet. The breakfast was better than expected with all basics covered: some fruit and vegetables, pastry, bacon and eggs, yogurt... All staff was very nice and attentious during all stay and provided useful information on arrival and a transfer on check out. Good overall for bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Good - met expectations but would request a room away from lifts or wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room that backed onto the elevator shafts and it was horrendously noisy. Struggled to sleep until well after 1am and it had us up by 6am. Not good at all.

    Decent location for a short city break. Staff are lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was okay. Room was spacious and bathroom quite big. WiFi was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    The room I originally booked was totally a disapointment, I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally, it is not worth a 4 star for me. The so called "French-bed" was a terrible mis-conception. When I booked the room it was written double bed, so I didn't expect to see a slightly larger than a single bed in a room for 2 adults. I even thought either it was a joke (yes, I am from France!) or we went to the wrong room. I immediately paid extra for a upgrade, because that bed should be only for 1 person, even though I am less than 1,6m tall. So be careful with the bed size and type! The staff didn't make up the room so when we came back at night, we didn't get new towels for the last night. The location is ok; bus is nearby, metro is a bit far.

    The room I originally booked was totally a disapointment, I needed to pay extra at the spot to upgrade so I don't know if I should give comment on the booked or the upgraded one. For the upgraded room it was good, clean, large bed. There are some good restaurants in the area. Staff are friendly. Acceptable for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.4
    This hotel for sure is not 4 stars as they are saying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - The breakfast it's very cheap - The room it's too small and loud - The air condition it's killing your sleep, very noisy

    The breakfast is included

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed this hotel! We appreciated hotel staff,our room,good breakfast,cleaning,location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There is a wish for a size bed for two. If the bed was little bigger, it would be great.

    We appreciated hotel staff, our room, good breakfast, cleaning, location near center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and confortable hotel, nice staff, good breakfast, location just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The water temperature in the shower is not constante, it keeps going hotter and colder... it is not a big problem, but it isn't confortable not to have a steady temperature during the all shower... - The location is not perfect... the problem I found was not the distance, it is a 12 minute walk to the metro station that connects us quickly to the center, the issue is that those 12 minutes are not that pleaseant... it is a busy street, with lots of cars, small sidewalks... it is not like walking in the city, specialy if it's raining... but, nevertheless, it is easy to do and we can take a bus right outside the hotel that connects to the metro station or directly to the Vatican...

    The hotel is very confortable and clean. The room was spacious, with a very confortable bed and a balcony. althought near a busy street we dont hear anything in teh room, it is very quiet. The breakfast was very good, lots of choices and good food. The staff is very nice and helpfull, always ready to assist us and give us indications.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Overall nice place, great city, impressive touristic scenes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big problem was heating, the room is pretty big and it takes long time to worm it. The air condition makes a lot of noise and creates high discomfort.

    Room is decent, big. Big bathroom, bathtub. The room had balcony, big windows. Nice staff, very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Would come again but in a different room with a better shower temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - At the page of booking it was said we would be charged once we were there, but the full amount of the journey was debited from my account when I made the reservation, six months earlier and I was quite upset about. - The water in the shower was hot but suddely was cold and hot and cold , not very funny

    Very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay at 30-45 minutes from the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The two rooms on the top floor have some noise from installations and from the elevator control circuits, but within acceptable limits. The street in front of the hotel is busy with heavy traffic.

    Private balconies, with a great view from the top floors. A modern and pleasant hotel at 15 minutes walking from the nearest subway station and airport-shuttle bus stops even closer by. Perfect breakfast choices, and the restaurant is also fine for an occasional dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    COMFORTABLE BED
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom with large window but with no shower caps and shower inside the bath tub.

    Wifi good. Nice to have fresh coffee in the morning. Bed large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    It was a clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was near the street and it could get quite loud from traffic noise.

    It was a clean and spacious room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Good clean hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good

    Good hotel. Location is on a busy main road however traffic noise did not effect us. Internet was an issue, with not good signal quality in the room, plus they had connectivity issues whilst we were there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay. Short commute to central Rome. Lovely place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fridge could have been bit colder. It was sufficient.

    Relatively small quiet hotel . Very well presented . Clean comfortable rooms. Staff very tidy pleasant and efficient. Not the first time stopped there and certainly will not be the last.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Started of good but then felt uneasy as i was made feeling like that by Ricardo, he is very rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the staff especially Ricardo. He was extremely rude especially on our last day of leaving. He made us feel very uneasy. I wont be returning here. Poor customer service. Breakfast was very poor too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellence, cleanness, warm and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff members were extremely helpful to my parents. My parents do not speak English nor Italian but each member was willing to help, assist and explain everything. My parents couldn't be happier with the hotel cleanness, location, breakfast but most important they loved the human quality of each member of the staff- they were patient and helpful. Thank Smooth hotel for taking such a good care of my parents! I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    2.5
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was nothing like what it looked online. The room was outside the hotel, on the ground floor, with direct access to the street. It didn't feel safe. There was no lock from the inside which is expected, especially on a ground floor room with access to and from the street. The electricity was not working. When we said we would like to check out because of these problems, we were not given an alternative room to make us feel safe or welcome. Instead, we were told that we were the second people who had decided to leave without staying that day, bearing in mind it was only 10am at the time. The location was pitched as 10 minutes away from the station, whereas we had walked for 15 minutes then had to take an uber as we were still no where near the hotel. The whole experience was a disaster and we lost money in the process due to the whole experience being a disappointment. I don't understand how this hotel has such good reviews, we chose the hotel partly based on these reviews.

    The moment I left.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice and pretty cheap hotel in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We needed to pay more at the hotel (6 euros per person, per day... so 12 euros per day for 2 persons), it's the first time this is happening to me when I had a hotel payed using booking. They wanted you to feel this is even cheaper, but then you go on the hotel and you find out you have to pay more than you payed through booking, that's sad. Some ants in the bathroom, that was weird.

    Great breakfast, good beds, AC, great TV, good looking room, nice bathroom, ok staff, towels changed everyday, room arranged everyday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pick pockets everywhere. The police should tackle this thugs more aggressively .

    It's value for money and accessibility to public transport is excellent. Cornelia Metro station is just 15 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location but one rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottle water provided after the first day stay

    One staff was rude to my fiancé and me when I checked in: he kept repeating that my fiancé cannot go up to the room while we told him clearly that I am the only person staying at the single room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Good choice a bit out of the center of Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel stuff could not give any detailed advice on local transportation. Especially when I asked about how to get best to the airport, they tried to persuade me into the Taxi. Just by chance, I discovered while walking to the subway (about 800 meters away) that the airport shuttle stops only approximately 500 meters from the hotel. And from there, it only takes 25 minutes or so to the airport (depending on traffic).

    Small but efficient and quite nice room. Room contains safe and WiFi worked very well. I booked early. So, for me it was a real good value for money choice. The Ergife conference center is only 100 meters away by foot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is located close to the conference hotel and it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room that the hotel chose for me is on the ground floor and it's quite small. There was a leaking water from the air conditioner for 2 nights when I turned on it. However, luckily that the staff changed room for me and the new one was very nice with a balcony. I really enjoy it.

    The hotel is located close to the conference hotel and it takes few minutes walking there. There're nice restaurants surrounding and we can walk to a supermarket easily.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel for a good price, airconditioned room, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing really

    Good hotel for a good price, airconditioned room, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet, and conveniently located with some shops and restaurants nearby and 10-15 min walk to the nearest subway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Rome excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Had to change from double to twin just by pulling beds apart but I did have to get extra bedding and make up my own bed! Basic lack of communication between staff.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    The hotel staff is very cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though the hotel has nice surroundings, it is a little far from city centre. One has to change bus twice for going to Vatican city/city centre if one is using public transport. The nearest train station (Cornelia) is ~1.5 km from the city centre.

    The hotel staff is very cooperative. The rooms are cosy and clean. The location is good and surroundings are peaceful. They serve a very good breakfast! Overall we had a nice experience staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    2.5
    Horrible stay, horrible and arrogant staff, disgusting room and no value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience I had at this property was absolutely terrible. Here's why: Firstly, when we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a non caring staff member who didn't seem very interested in assisting us at all, but the worst part is that he told us that even though we booked our hotel for the day (and I also included my arrival time in the booking), the hotel staff told us that our booking was from the afternoon to the night only... and that the room wasn't ready anyway and we'd have to wait until 3:30pm. Now after a 15 hour trip, one does not want to wait in a lobby for more than 5 hours. Pretty much we were treated with contempt and told lies right from the start so we decided to walk off the stress a little. Secondly, when we returned to check in at 3pm thereabouts, we were given room 208 which when we opened the door, there were trademan's tools on the floor and a broken wall (see photos), thus logic will tell you that this room was never ready from the start and the hotel staff made us wait so many hours for nothing, even though I paid the price they were asking for a full day and night booking. Not only that, but the staff member had received a phone call and instead of checking us in as soon as possible, decided to speak with the person on the phone for 5 minutes... even though we'd been waiting for over 5 hours to check in... absolutely ridiculous. Thirdly, we were then given room 108, which was absolutely disgustingly dirty, the wall had a black tinge around it, the curtains were totally filthy and some holes were in the wall where there had been previously a TV set, in 2 locations... but you could see lighter parts of the wall as compared to the rest of the room.

    The only thing I liked was the Taxi service they arranged to exit this disaster of a hotel, which cost only 50 euros to the airport (Fiumicino) and was a very good service with very clean car and nice driver.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too hot for sleeping, since the air conditioning was working poorly.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I was positively surprised that the room had own balcony. The breakfast was good and there were many things to choose from. Staff was nice and polite. Easy to reach all the main sights of Rome with the metro. Many good restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, Bad neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood seems unsafe and dirty. Bus stop is just beside the recycle bins. Hotel by itself was cool. But neighborhood No.

    They do not have air conditioner until mid june.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.0
    -the bathroom's door was damaged and you couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -the bathroom's door was damaged and you couldn't close it easily - hairdryer was not working - checkin after 15h even though we had asked for an early checkin

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    2.9
    Not worth for money!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is far from every good location and to get to any location you need to take taxi which is expensive and if you take bus the you have to change 2-3 buses to reach to your destination - a big NO for tourists - Quality of food was also not good in breakfast even pathetic - doors were not properly open and close - there ants everywhere - coffee machine wasn't working properly - fruits were not fresh - juices weren't fresh and even bitter in taste Not worth for money!!!

    Nothing was good about it and I wouldn't not recommend for those who are coming for sightseeing and relaxing in hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    it was family holidays, so we traveled 5 persons - me, my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was family holidays, so we traveled 5 persons - me, my husband, 10 years old son and 17 old son with his girlfriend. we booked one double room and one triple room. when arrived we received 3 double rooms, that meant that i slept with my 10 years old son in one room and in one bed, which was not convenient at all... and my husband slept alone... this was not what we expected from 4 stars hotel, they even didn't offer any discount or anything for their mistake while not having such rooms as I have ordered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were on a very busy road with lots of noise, the air conditioning is only on after June and the room was very hot

    Overall the hotel was comfortable and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    6.7
    view is excellent, breakfast is so good, the staffs are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the taxes are very high and also access to public transport and historical places are awfull

    view is excellent, breakfast is so good, the staffs are very kind and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    definitely not 4* hotel but a really nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's a bit far from the city (i chose it because i had some work at the place nearby) and from the metro either; toiletry is granted though not refilled; you can hear your neighbors pretty clearly; for March it was heated way too much; boxes from the pizza that we took away first day were there till the end of our stay

    nice rooms; great stuff; any problems with late checkout - if it's just couple of hours you won't be even charged; great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    2.5
    Terible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terible! 🙁

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Cleanliness and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tab is not at the expected standard

    Cleanliness and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    everything is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far away from the attractions

    everything is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    An amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were super nice and friendly!Location is comfortable and there is a wonderful Italian restaurant nearby!The suit was clean and cozy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Smooth Hotel Rome West traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: