Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of hotel socrate 3 stars

Viale Ungheria 1, 21037 Lavena Ponte Tresa, Italy

#14 of 15 hotels in Lavena Ponte Tresa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 370 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other people toilet flush woke me up at night when complained said no sound proffing No wifi in room said sorry 😐 can you come in the lounge and use it their made me sick 😷

    Nothing wanted to charge for everything trying to make extra money I was booked into single room wanted to stay extra night would not give me same even though I checked it was empty Made me buy a double room tried to get better to compared other hotels but answer was take or leave it😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😩

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had exactly the room we want. Beatifull Balcony with Lake view . The resturant brought verry good pizza to the room. We enjoyd an wonderfull evening at the balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a single room occupant, it seemed that you are the lowest of the low. All rooms were basically designed for multiple occupancy so my ability to choose a view or have a bigger room was non-existent. Despite this the room was not particularly cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a couple of minutes walking from the Lugano-Ponte Tresa rail terminus was just perfect for me. Very good for one night, e.g. if you have to spend a night upon arrival at, or departure from, Lugano airpot. Nice walk along the lake. The breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and small bathroom

    Right on the side of the lake, room view of the lake, efficient check in and check out, helpful receptionist, clean, walking distance to Switzerland

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast.

    Breakfast very poor. We were a group of 18 people had 5 crosissants to share. When ask for more said that they have some from the day before. Overall great location and very nice and clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small TV . Small shower

    Closeness to my brother's house

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound of sewer Pipeline, van snoared

    Situation frontline of the lake

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The asian guy/girl at the reception is horrible. Absolutely NOT service orientated.... Breakfast was really bad.

    Location near the lake

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly host, airco didnt function, shower was very small

    wifi was fjne, price-quality was ok.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was better than expected.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small , drab room with a 2ft wide bed a tiny bathroom with a shower that was just about large enough to climb into. I had to pay 5 Euro extra for a breakfast which consisted of a bread roll with cheese triangle, Nutella or jam and some cheap sugary fake orange juice. I had a pizza in the restaurant next door which was the greasiest pizza ever. Awful place won't be going back !

    Absolutely nothing !

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Family with older children

    Das Hotel wird gerade noch so notdürftig erhalten. Bei dieser Hitze war die Klimaanlage defekt, ein Ventilator war stattdessen im Zimmer. Auf der Matratze war eine Plastikfolie die sich auflöste aufgenäht, so dass wir zusätzlich noch mehr transpirierten und nur die Möglichkeit hatten, die Fenster zu öffnen. Ab 5 Uhr Morgens war reger Arbeitsverkehr über den Zoll und ab 7 Uhr kamen zusätzlich Lastwagen die direkt vor dem Hotel parkierten, bevor sie über den Zoll gelassen wurden. An Lärm kaum zu überbieten, war dann in der zweiten Nacht, die Zollsirene die eine viertel Stunde munter heulte und uns den wenigen Schlaf raubte. Dusche war extrem klein und Wasserdruck gleich null. Auf Anfrage warum kein TV läuft war die Antwort, dass sie Probleme mit dem Empfang haben. Gestunken hat es füchterlich in dem Hotel. Teppiche waren schmuddelig. Das Morgenessen welches extra satte 5€ kostete, war mit ein bisschen Kaffee und Zwieback absolut überteuert. Nie mehr wieder!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the appliances didn't work and weren't fixed. Very poor TV selection. Staff eating dinner in the reception room in a disgusting way.

    The room was much cleaner than anticipated when entering the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Poor service from new staff, and new layout (bunk beds) with new ownership as of May 2015. Things have digressed drastically since I stayed here in April 2015. We cannot use this property anymore for our clients unfortunately.

    Nice balconies overlooking the lake.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very old room Nothing really cleaned precisely, all over hair Too long waited to make check in and no one was for 30 minutes in the lobby

    beautiful lake view

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, the hotel is rather run down and neglected.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast 5 euro for not much. Most of the staff lack friendliness. Tv does not work.

    The view on lake and mountains. And they accept pets.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    too early check-out (10.30) loud in the rooms

    free wifi

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad value for money

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast,

    Cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no breakfast, no caffee...

    Local

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad sound...from other rooms. Very small shower cabin...

    Near to Switzerland. Good restaurant.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse hotel socrate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: