Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Soleado 2 stars

Via Dietro Cappuccini 41/A, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#35 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    It's a good little 2 to 3 star hotel about 5 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is very compact and could use some modernisation but works fine.

    It's a good little 2 to 3 star hotel about 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Everything is clean and well looked after. The staff are all great. Nice balconies, pool and sun loungers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff was friendly and they were able to find a parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't make use of the included breakfast because it was not possible to have gluten-free options (we solved this by walking to the very good and GF-friendly - though slightly expensive - café in front of St. Catherine church)

    The staff was friendly and they were able to find a parking space for our car (for 15€ a night). The room and the bathroom were rather big, and the bed was comfortable. The center of Taormina is just a 10-minute walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be careful around the pool if you have children because the tiles are very slippery when wet.

    Roberto and his staff are so attentive and helpful. The breakfast was just stunning and the view from the breakfast room amazing. An easy walk from the centre of town, with a small convenience store nearby, made it a perfect location for our family of five. The room was basic but very comfortable with a lovely big bathroom. We were in a quadruple room and there was plenty of space for all five of us, including a lovely big terrace looking out to the sea. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Thank you, Roberto!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    A charming family run hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift . A lot off stairs if you room is on the lower level .

    A charming family run hotel . With a nice pool and views just a short walk from the town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Clean, good food and above all superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. This hotel and its people are superb.

    Words are not enough to show our appreciation towards the staff at Hotel Soleado, Taormina. We have stayed there for a couple of nights during which one of our party fell sick just as we arrived. Due to this, most of the time was spent at the hotel premises. The staff were there for us and saw to our needs whenever we requested and immediately. Needless to say, the hotel was very clean, pool was spotless (we used to watch Giovanni checking the water quality and cleaning the pool area daily at around 2000). Breakfast was superb, ample choice serving good Sicilian quality products, many of which are from their produce. Location is approx 10 mins to the centre but yet in a quiet area. Do not let the 2 star classification put you off. The hotel is great. Roberto, Giovanni, Federica, Roberta, Rosetta e tutti quanti (che non so, o domenticato il nome) a Hotel Soleado...grazie di tutto. Sinceramente spero che questa non è stata la prima e l ultima volta. Ci vediamo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel in a touristic place, also overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom furniture is outdated and the fluffy rugs on bed side look dirty, unless they are washed after every bookings (which I doubt). You really don't feel like walking bare feet on them after everyone else have. Would be better without. The bed was not comfortable, I woke up with a back ache. No spare 2nd pillows if required. The air con is really noisy and impossible to leave it on at night. Bare in mind that parking is 15 euros per day on top, but it seems to be the case everywhere in Taormina.

    The staff Rosa and the guy looking after the parking (didn't get his name) were really lovely people, who made us feel welcomed. They gave us plenty of tips and information about the area and Sicily. Another lady with long hair in a pony tail was quite abrupt and did not appear approachable. The swimming pool area is lovely although we did not have the chance to use it, but had the view on the pool from our little balcony. Breakfast was good. Bathroom is nice and modern. Location was good, just 5 min away by walk from the lively areas.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    A relaxed stay at Tormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    I liked the friendly atmisphere. All of the staff were welcoming and helpful. I felt well looked after. It is a lovely, well laid out hotel that is very close to the centre of Taormina. I had a very enjoyable stay there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We honestly can’t name something we didn’t like.

    Where to start? We just enjoyed our stay at hotel Soleado a lot! Hotel Soleado is a lovely hotel runned by a very friendly family. They work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are big (including bathroom) and more important we found that the rooms are very clean and hygienic. Our compliments on that! Breakfast was good, they also offer lunch which was good as well. The location is just perfect: close enough to the centre to walk, but it is also located in a more quiet neighboorhood (Taormina is a very busy place) so you can rest at the swimmingpool. The swimmingpool is big enough for a freshening dive (and enough beds around the pool!) There is a parking lot next to the hotel. Although parkingspace is rare in Taormina, the crew tries everything to find a space for your car for €15 a day. We highly recommend hotel Soleado and although we normally won’t go to the same place twice, we definitly don’t exclude coming back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, amazing staff, wonderful rooms and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed at Hotel Soleado for a few days, and we were amazed by the warm welcome that the hosts, Roberto and his staff gave us! The staff is amazing, very polite and are always ready to help. They helped us in booking excursions as well as gave us tips on transport, and where to eat. The room was very spacious, and it was cleaned thoroughly every day. The breakfast was very good as well, with a variety of things ranging from savoury to sweets. It is in a very good location and a few minutes away from Corso Umberto, a very famous street in Taormina, the Taormina bus station and the cable car to reach the beaches and Isola Bella. We only have praise for this hotel! We surely recommend it to anyone who would like to have a wonderful and peaceful stay in Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    The location was great when we found it and it was a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a bit tired. Looked like it needed a good makeover. They need to provide better direction to get there as apparently it is a known fact that Google maps sends to the wrong place. Based on the geography of Taormina it was quite dangerous.

    The location was great when we found it and it was a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Old-school charming hotel in great location. Friendly staff and nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite short.

    10-15 min walk from the city centre where you can find all sorts of restaurants and shops. The pool is great and breakfast quite varied. Overall a good place, slightly outdated, but in fact we liked this old-school style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could've been more comfortable in my opinion, though my boyfriend had no complaints.

    A beautiful hotel at a great location. The centre was not too far, everything necessary (like bus station, cable car) was within a walking distance. The staff was wonderful! Extremely helpful and friendly. Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a slight problem with the shower door but the manager was quick to sort this out. The staff are always keen to help and helped us find a vineyard tour on the slopes of Mt Etna which we really enjoyed.. They also offer a day trip to a lido nearby which we really appreciated.

    Very pleased to find a nice hotel with a family room with an interconnecting door suitable for sharing with our 20 year old daughter. She had her privacy plus a balcony. The room was large and kept very clean. We also enjoyed our breakfast sitting outside on the terrace surrounded by pretty plants and a view up to Castelmola

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel better than expected, really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no lift, but I'm told there will be by next year.

    Excellent location, very comfortable and clean, nice room, good breakfasts. Owner and staff really friendly and helpful. Very pleased, would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Taormina. Excellent breakfast, with lots of choice, and lovely views from the breakfast room. Pool a decent size and not very busy, very relaxing with views over Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Would love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra 15 euros for parking

    Loved staying here, if it wasn't for the rain! :( the manager and staff were lovely, always ready to help! the hotel is located in a quiet place, 10 minutes walk to the old town, perfect location! Breakfast was lovely and there were many options! The room was very clean and comfortable, however not newly decorated! Nice swimming pool area!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Perfect choice! We will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous! The hotel is immaculately clean, excellent value for money, run by a lovely friendly family and only a few minutes walk from Taormina centre. We absolutely loved our stay and after seeing others hotels around Taormina we were confident we picked the right one. You won’t be disappointed if you stay here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel is some distance away from restaurants and shops in town, Limited evening snack menu

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly . Good selection of breakfast items

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Taormina crash pad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very friendly, quaint little hotel.. This is our second time here using it as a crash pad for Taormina and can’t fault it. The rooms and decors are nothing to shout about, but we were in a room off the pool and it had a newly refurbished bathroom and fantastic shower. It is a little walk from the heart of Taormina, but at the same time it is also quite so it does have its positives..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    This is the second time I have stayed at Soleado and I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy at times but no fault of the hotel just the neighbours dog and this wasn't all of the time just occasionally.

    Roberto and his family made us feel VERY welcome. Breakfast is good. Location is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was nice and spacious with a nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Really lacking in knowledge of the area and it's attractions. Requested a trip to the summit of Etna and Roberto sold us a trip to the base of Etna. When I expressed my disappointment later he claimed he did not realise you could go to the summit. I find this incredible for someone that is from Sicily and is in the hotel trade not to know the basics about the number 1 attraction in the area. No apology or even the remotest expression of remorse about it after. Cost €180 for my partner and I so to be sold something so different to what we requested was really frustrating. Breakfast consisted of cereal, cake and biscuits which seems to be typical in a lot of the smaller accommodations in Sicily. Would have been nice to have some hot options. Non existant wifi in the bedroom. It worked sometimes on the balcony.

    Room was nice and spacious with a nice balcony. Kept very clean by the cleaner. 5 minutes walk to the center of Taormina

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful stay in a lovely hotel in a gorgeous place. Thank you Roberto and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing that we didnt like. A fridge might have been handy to cool drinks. We had booked a basic room apparently, but when we asked for a change we were accommodated easily and without fuss.

    The staff were superb - helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. The location was excellent, just away from the buy part of Taormina. Breakfast was good - variety, quantity etc. The shower worked. Seems like a small thing, but it didn't flood the bathroom, which hotel showers often do, and was powerful. The room was clean and comfortable, and the veranda perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was perfect for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location for us but- since its at the top of a hill - it could pose challenges for people who are older or who have physical limitations. We also had to walk down steep steps to get to our room. We loved the hotel- it was clean and reasonably priced. We higjly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice quiet place to stay near downtown area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving there through the narrow streets can be a challenge (no fault of the hotel of course) and parking comes at extra 15 Euro/day (as with other hotels in town)

    The hotel has an excellent location, quiet but within easy walking distance of the old town. The rooms are spacious and good. Good breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, nice staff, hard to find by gps
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. DO NOT FOLLOW GPS!!! (ask locals and follow road sogns)

    Nice hotel with the pool. Super breakfast with awsome view of Tairmina and open sea. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good all round welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay an extra Eur10 for overnight parking near the hotel - the payment was not to the hotel but to the local authorities

    The hotel is centrally located a few steps away from Taormina centre.The ambience is very nice and you have views of the valley. The rooms are spacious and very clean with comfortable bathrooms. The breakfast was varied and good. When we arrived at Taormina, the GPS was not functioning properly and we could not get to the hotel. We phoned the hotel and the manager very kindly came with his motor scooter to guide us to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    We made a good decision in choosing this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was perfect, there is nothing to change.

    Loved the flowers, staff, breakfast, view. A very quiet location and a welcome break from the tour groups in the heart of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Low value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the walls were too thin you could hear everything through them including the neighbors and cleaning staff. The room was smelly and the bed uncomfortable.

    I liked the location of the property and the staff, very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taormina is hilly and the hotel is built on a hill like many others so quite a few steps.

    The family who run the hotel are great. Lots of choice for breakfast. Bar onsite with a range of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. Good coffee. Pool area is nice with sunloungers and umbrellas . Very helpful staff. Easy to walk into town. Taormina is fantastic. Lots of eating places within walking distance. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few minor negatives - the pool was freezing but we were there at the end of season so it wasn't as hot as it can be. The bed for me was a little small bit I am a big guy. I wasn't there to watch TV but the set was very old and perched on top of the wardrobe almost unwatchable Finally and its a pet hate of mine the plastic flowers in the communal area are so old fashioned and make a very nice dining area look a little poor

    Very clean hotel and very much did what it said on the tin - the location is good very close to the main street, bars and restaurants - though as in all of Taormina the walk back after a meal and a few drinks can seem a little arduous. The staff were attentive and helpful. The breakfast is very good. The room was large and the bathroom huge and having a balcony was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    All round an excellent place to stay, l would recommend this to anyone who wants to visit this beaut
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was the breakfast, very basic.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean suitable for our stay, bathroom and shower were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mention of a parking fee on Booking.com app. confirmation or at the time of the original booking. Room facilities could b enhanced with basics like fridge and tea and coffee making and new shower head is required. However hosts were obliging in allowing us to put perishables in their fridge.

    Clean well run family hotel. Breakfast was excellent and substantial.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our 3 day stay, and would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the location of the hotel was good, the access was scary either on foot or in a car due to the narrowness of the road and the speed of the traffic. There were generally no pavements, and where there were, there were cars parked on them. Although to be fair this is not unusual in Taormina. Our room was very basic, and the bed a bit hard. If we went again we would go for the superior room with sea view. While the hotel was good value, parking was 10 euros a day extra.

    The location was good. The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant. Roberto put our car in the garage and brought it back at the end of our stay. The breakfasts were lovely and dining room pleasant. The pool was very clean and pool and pool area well maintained. Nice view from balcony, as promised.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm dairy and gluten free and notified the hotel through Booking.Com. No attempt to meet these needs - I bought GF bread and soya milk so I could have some breakfast, so could the hotel. Poor breakfast overall - cold scrambled egg mixed with bits of bacon (you do need to keep it hot!) and little choice of fresh fruit when Taormina is full of fruit. Fine if you can eat croissants and cake. These comments have been made by many guests, but assuming owner doesn't agree as it's just the same. Room safe and fridge would be fab. New, softer towels would also be great. Has a tired feel to it, dated furniture and decor.

    As everyone else has said, the main bonus of Hotel Soleado is its proximity to the town centre, it's just a 10 min walk. Taormina is a beautiful town, the Ancient Theatre is stunning with its backdrop to the sea. There are many excellent restaurants to sample, mainly along the famous 'Corsa Umberto', or just sit at a pavement cafe enjoying a coffee. Beaches are great (all rocky, pebbly), as the sea is so clear and clean. The beach overlooking the Isola Bella island is beautiful. The hotel is 2 star and good value for money - no frills. Room was adequate and cleaned daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    For a short stay in Taormina I would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was extremely clean and the staff were very efficient and friendly. Beds were comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking a little garden. The hill up to the hotel was not as hilly as it looks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Delightful and very friendly, nothing too much trouble. A good team.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above Bfast eggs

    The manager, he was so accommodating and genuinely nice. He very kindly gave me the best terrace even though I was on my own. Felt very safe alone walking back from the centre. If any criticism, Bfast, need warm boiled eggs, don't put them all out too soon, takes 4 mins to boil an egg, this little attention to detail so easy for them would elevate them to the next level with their fast customers. I would def stay again, if I got room 62? But wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall excellent, would happily stay again & would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room decor a little dated but all clean & well maintained

    Great staff, very friendly & helpful. really good breakfast with excellent cappuccino. Wifi worked well, air con fine,room shutters provide excellent light insulation so you don't wake up as soon as the sun rises!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location in beautiful Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very friendly hotel. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and a member of staff carried our cases to the room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Can't wait to return here next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Roberto and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a lovely view from the tables. A short walk to center of town in a semi-residential area but with amazing views of Taormina and water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to contact the hotel to ask for a crib (for our 8m old son) and never got a response.

    Hotel Soleado offers great value in very beautiful but expensive Taormina. Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is good and the views are stunning. Taking a swim in the pool is a great way to end a long day.Location is good, a short walk from the main street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff but there are nicer places at a cheaper or similar price nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -so much noise, both from the other rooms but also from the staff setting up breakfast. constant sound of chairs screeching across the floor. we were moved but it was still super noisy -beds were incredibly hard and uncomfortable -rooms old, walls need repainting, furniture replaced -large gaps under the door didn't help with sound, and let smells come in from outside (the hall from our first room smelled like cat urine and we woke up to that smell on our first morning -friends stayed in cheaper hotels that were much nicer, cleaner, and more updated. -don't believe we got what we paid for

    -Location -Most of the staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. If I had to ask for one thing it would be a fridge in the room.

    Proximity to the town and cable car to the beach, sea view from a big balcony, spotless room, lovely staff, and good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Hotel Soleado was in the most perfect location for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel Soleado was in the most perfect location for our holiday in the beautiful Taormina! We were warmly welcomed and cared for by all staff throughout our stay. The pool was never too busy and we spent many mornings lounging in the sunshine!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    3.8
    i would not stay again and would not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not comfortable at all.. Bed was hard, no fridge in room, tv so small that it was really non existent. The room was very bare and tired looking...needs to be seriously updated. Did not include parking, hotel charged 10 Euro per day.

    The only positive was within walking distance to Main Street Taormina Breakfast just okay...have had much better during our 2 week trip in Sicily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely clean hotel. In a nice quiet area with nice views (see photo) from our room. Only a 5 minute walk from the centre of Taormina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Delightful stay in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Nice place, very well taken care of. Easy to get to the city centre. Excellent breakfast, easy parking, helpful staff. I loved the stay, nice room with terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    The AC in the room was really good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The AC in the room was really good!! It's not central ac so it was much better that we can control it ourselves! The toilet is amazing! Clean and really spacious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We stayed at the new appartment and this was absolutely great ( enough space for the 4 of us, kitchen, airco in all rooms, modern). The staff arranged the shuttle bus and private beach against reasonable prices. The breakfast was excellent - a lot of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice and varied breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite pricey for what you get

    Nice and varied breakfast. Close to city center (5 min walk) in a quiet area. Offers shuttle service to beach for 9 euros pp incl sun beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location if you didn't want to be in middle of town. A few minutes' walk from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had two rooms. One was fine but the other one was not so good with a poor view and by itself at the end of a corridor. Strangely this one was slightly more expensive than the other.

    Breakfast - good variety, quality and quantity. Lovely view from dining-room if you were able to get a window table. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location in Taormina, 10 mins walk to the center, easy access to the bus terminal to go on day excursions , Room was clean and spacious, staff were very helpful, great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Near to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is at a premium (as is everywhere in Taormina), so Roberto takes your keys and parks the car at an undisclosed location (at a price of €10/night). It is then delivered back in time for your departure. The only problem with that is deciding what not to leave In the the car if you may need it during your stay.

    Easy to find with GPS. Reasonably sized room with decent wifi. Good breakfast selection and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit removed from the town center, and the roads to get there are not very pedestrian friendly.

    The value for the price was good, and the breakfast was enjoyable. The staff is very helpful and work hard to make sure you have a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Soleado Sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long walk uphill with the hot weather and no elevator for getting down to the room...but because staff were so helpful, this really made a positive difference; and we left feeling that the overall experience was great.

    Staff were wonderful and made every effort to provide great service. It was a long walk uphill from the bus dropoff with all our luggage so staff carried it down 7 stair flights. Breakfast was great. Very nice swimming pool. Clean room and bathroom. Also, you could hang out in the lobby breakfast area or in a sweet outdoor patio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hosts wish we could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault if any is the pool is very shaded due to trees in surrounding area. However this is a very minor issue.

    Staff were great hosts, very hospitable. They really made our trip and were accomodating and friendly towards every guest. Breakfast was bigger than any where else we had been in Sicilly, great choice... very generous buffet. Trips can be booked from hotel which are the same price as agents and staff give an insight and directions.Location is good as it is close to town but far enough away for it to be peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect small family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite resonant and shower cubicle was small, but opted for economy. Would upgrade room next time.

    Exceptionally clean, super helpful staff(nothing too much bother), very good breakfast, nice pool and courtyard, great value for money. Can highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was poor - very weak cappuccino!

    Great hotel for families who don't mind a trek up the hill from the bus station. We were travelling with 13, 9 and 6 year olds. Clean and modern rooms with a pool the kids loved.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Base, great hosts, great for families and great coffee !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lovely big balcony with view down to the sea which was lovely and could have been enjoyed more if the patio furniture / table were upgraded.

    We felt so welcomed by Roberto and his family from the moment we arrived to when we (sadly) left 3 days later. The breakfast was great even our fussy daughters loved the fresh fruit, & freshly baked pastries. The coffee in the morning is really good! We loved the location, the stroll down into town was just lovely and the walk back worked off the Gelato! The pool was a welcome place to cool down from the afternoon sun.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money in Taormina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and we will certainly return. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. The location is really good only a few minutes walk into the centre of Taormina and one of the few locations in the town where you do not have a steep walk to contend with. The hotel really benefits from being family run with really helpful well informed staff who go out of their way to help and advise when asked. Snacks and drinks are very reasonably priced and overall Soleado is great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Good & close to the center hotel with decent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were decent, however, bathrooms need a good upgrade. Also, we had to go down several steps and corridors to access our rooms, and since there is no lift this might be a problem for people with mobility issues.

    Very good location, had our car garaged walking distance from the hotel for just €15, which is excellent since parking in Taormina is impossible. Nice view to the pool area and surroundings from room balcony. Good breakfast with nice views. The staff was nice to us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    A good spot to stay in a busy tourist centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little bit out of main centre, but enjoyed the walk in exercise to the nearby Restaurant.

    All ok and as special treatment was given a well liked surprise Birthday Breakfast. ( Didn't tell staff about my birthday)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel great value for money. It really is only 10mins walk to the Main Street in Taormina although first impressions make you think it isn't. It is n uphill walk from the town. So not really suitable for anyone with any mobility issues. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. This is not a 5 star hotel but it is extremely clean welcoming and simply comfortable. I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Taormina particularly for a wedding as we were. Get a taxi to the wedding though and save you feet. Xx

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Friendly family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room. The pool was too cold. Extra tax added to the bill at the end.

    For Taormina the property was good value compared with other hotels. The staff were lovely very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast, with lots of options The hotel was in a good location very peaceful, about 8 mins from the centre. Staff helpful with local knowledge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Roberto, the proprietor, made us very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived by car. The directions on the site could have warned us that the last mile to the hotel would be challenging. Driving through the arched entrance into the city was counter intuitive to an American motorist. Roberto, got on his scouter and escorted us to the hotel and then parked our car.

    Roberto, the proprietor, made us very comfortable. E.g. He packed us a breakfast to carry with us the day we went to Mt. Elba. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Once our car was parked, most everything was in walking distance. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    not small not big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was relatively expensive.

    not small not big just moderate for two of us for our room. room was good bathroom was good too. nice pool. I could not swim due to not that hot weather. Breakfast was just wonderful! dishes of eggplants was very very delicious! croissants and chocolate cakes was fantastic taste!!! I already miss the breakfast in soleado!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Delightful quiet hotel in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal strength in the room was very weak, easily fixed

    A delightful family-run hotel, very well managed and operated. Superb location in a very quiet area on the northern outskirts of the town, yet only a short level walk from all the glitz and action. Reserved street parking outside the entrance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    This was a good location from which to enjoy Taormina. Our first view of Mt. Etna, too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses were nice and firm but could use a mattress topper to make them a little softer. Otherwise, nothing to add to this.

    Location was out of the mainstream of tourists, tourists, tourists, so it was nice to have a chance to see another neighborhood and not always be with tourists. Roberto and his family were very very nice and helpful and helped us take care of our car parking, as well. Giovanni gave us a tip for a wonderful walk high up above the city, which was one of the highlights of our visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    A really good 2 Star Family hotel (pool closed at Easter)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearer notification that the pool was closed until later in the season. This was an important factor booking the hotel over some others. Some minor refinements such as better TV set up in rooms and improved breakfast offering.

    The hotel is run by Roberto and his family who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We were looking for a short trip to Taormina on the end of our Catania visit. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the main attractions and a few minutes from the nearest restaurant Etna (very good). We had a room set up for 2 adults and two kids. The room was very clean and in great condition if a little dated. Beds were firm but comfortable and the shower was great. Our room had a balcony with a great view (see photo).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Central, quiet, family run, pool and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is in a quiet area just above the town centre. There is a car park next to the hotel, where you can dump your car and walk about Taormina or use the buses up or down to other towns. A lovely, lively and friendly family. Balcony with sea view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Lovely clean hotel with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bed was very hard and the bathroom a bit small but nothing too bad really.

    The staff here are excellent, they could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast was a lovely way to start the day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Great location in a quiet family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal was poor.

    Large room with balcony, frequently changed linens. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast. Good quiet location yet an easy quick walk to the centre of Taormina.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    Would love to go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like it was excellent

    All the staff were the best could not ask for better service and the food was first class rooms were spotlessly clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with lovely staff and 5 min walk to Taormina town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been softer and please get more English speaking channels other than CNN and BBC world news

    Roberto and staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. Breakfast was so lovely and such a range.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Great service from staff/owners - all very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service from staff/owners - all very helpful/accommodating. Lovely continental breakfast - can eat in or outdoors. We enjoyed the bar for tea/coffee/beer etc. Everything in easy walking distance

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    Ok for 1 night but overall very overpriced for not a lot of comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. Our room was pokey and smelled funny. We had to pay 10 euros a night for parkig which was not advertised at all. Very overpriced for level of hotel.

    Some of the staff were friendly and there was a good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: