Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonya 3 stars

Via Del Viminale 58, Central Station, 00184 Rome, Italy

#430 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2389 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable stay in the heart of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All great..

    Very large room. Amazing security. Large very clean bathroom and room. Great breakfast with excellent table service.. where do you get that with a breakfast buffet?!!! Excellent location near termini station, restaurants and the centre of Rome. Closer to a 4 star than 3.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall we booked this hotel for our last night in Italy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a bit far from the center, but the staff was informative on the best ways to travel around.

    Overall we booked this hotel for our last night in Italy before heading back. The hotel exceeded our expectations! It was fully renovated and the staff was very helpful. Would recommend anyone traveling on a budget to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being very picky.... Pillows could have been softer.

    Helpful staff and easy walking distance to many attractions. Excellent air conditioning and quiet room. Many restaurants to choose from. Strega was close with excellent food. Yummy pizzas.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The triple std room is 2 floors, less comfertable with baby. Carpets in some of the rooms are also less preferred. Too small lift and narrow doors, not comfertable with baby stroller.

    The superior room with balcony and no carpets was very nice. Close to termini. Good breakfast. Wide bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.8
    You can cheat a customer, the price is just a bad rating in "Booking"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The spacious Triple Room was actually a small double room where they managed to cram a folding bed into it. The location is not so close to Termini as shown on the site.

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast items got over more than 1 hour to the stipulated closing hour..the lift is too old and too long waiting time.and the premise is old as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger signage..had to go around as we didnt see the hotel the first time.

    Friendly hotel staff, very good location- few metres from Roma Termini. Cute hotel, lift is from a previous era.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We plan to come back😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really cannot think of anything...

    The breakfast was amazing, the service was lovely. Our room was flawless and the location of the hotel is really close to the Colosseum and nice restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location 15 min walk to nearly major sites except...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean, great location helpful staff, but air conditioning was very weak.

    Great location 15 min walk to nearly major sites except Vatican . Room was small but clean, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying cash for local tax and not charged on credit card with hotel fee. It clearly stated on my reservation that the tax was included. I didn’t purchase that many Euros do I had to hold what I had until I was able to get more, which was costly.

    Great location. Very close to attractions, food, supermarket, and gift shop, hop on hop off bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were redirected to another owned property by the Opera House. The toilet was only about 15" off the ground, totally unacceptable for adults. The gated entrance to the lobby was a hassle also. Always locked up during the day. I asked for a quiet room but ours was located at the stair + old elevator entrance so it was noisy.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    clean, 24h reception.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is usually not acceptable,that the fact, I was brought to the other hotel when I was arrived. There was no explanation, a man just said, "come with me" and I had to follow the man to the other hotel. and he just said "this is the same hotel." which was of course not. It was never mentioned per mail or so before arrival, that I would stay in a different building/address. I was never sure, if it was planed like it from the beginning, because the name of the hotel was different but the room key said the name Hotel Sonya. If the hotel has two buildings at the different addresses, it should be mentioned on the booking site. It was not OK but I was too tired to let them explain. It was also near the Opera, (that was the reason I booked the hotel Sonya) so the location was OK, but the room was very, very tiny for 110EUR/night, single, though the room was clean and had a fridge. I just stayed there because I was too tired, but I have stayed in Rome in a much better room for over 100EUR.

    clean, 24h reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Spotlessly clean , great breakfast, location excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy early in the morning , don't know if it was housekeeping or the gate of the lift .

    Spotlessly clean , great breakfast, location excellent . Would definitely recommend Hotel Sonya , it's basic but perfect for sightseeing in Rome . Would stay there again .Also very safe area and hotel is small but quiet and secure .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    A return visit- satisfied but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently ownership had changed. We made our reservations over a month in advance. The first room assigned was close to front door and quite noisy (327). After complaining we were reassigned and 553 was much quieter and facilities were newer. Breakfast had limited selections and disappointedly no hot offerings. When asking front desk person for the English channel numbers the advice was ‘keep switching it’s there”.

    After a change request the room 553 was fresh and quiet with a great over rooftop views. Personnel quite friendly and Jon, helping with breakfast, exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Next time I'll look for somewhere better - even if I have to pay more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very ordinary hotel. Staff were OK but no more. Breakfast was just OK except for coffee which was diabolical.

    Excellent location - walking distance to station, metro, Colosseum, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel served our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast had lots of choices and quantity but quality not the greatest. The cables and cage to the elevator are extremely dusty which give a bad impression. Our room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We are not large people and expect small showers in Europe. However our shower was extremely small which was fine until you dropped the soap!

    We like the location, this was our second stay at Hotel Sonya. We enjoy the restaurant Antica Bohem which is just around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Here's the deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Here's the deal. If you are in Rome for a short stay and want to get a good value AND be able to walk from the train station, you can't beat Hotel Sonya. It's a lovely interior, funky old elevator, lots of style, good breakfast, fab coffee and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    A Good Rome Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very good location approx 10 mins walk from Rome Termini Station and same to Metro system at Republicca and Termini giving convenient access to sights. Room comfortable and clean,nice bathroom facilities. Breakfast a cold buffet style but very nice with good choice. Staff very helpful. Very good WiFi reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Stay was very satisfactory, hotel very central to most places and to Roma Termini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Electric sockets a bit dodgy. Hard to find when we arrived at night. Lounge/bar area would have been lovely but knew when booking that there was no bar/lounge.

    Breakfast very good. Bed comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Central, Clean & Welcoming. A good base for a sightseeing trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A safe that operated on a combination system would be nice too, I didn't feel secure leaving my belongings in a safe that is opened by a room key card that can be programmed at the desk. I have had my safe stolen from twice in the past (at other hotels) by key holders.

    I always try to add a little more detail than many reviews but what I am going to say does just mimic that of many of the ones I read in advance of going. Hotel Sonya is in a brilliant location. 12 mins walk to the Trevi fountain, 10 mins to the Colosseum or 5 mins the the Metro (which can get you to the Colosseum in 3 mins, or to the Vatican in 8). The Hotel is dated, but in a good way. Its not shabby, it has a nice old feel to it, yes the elevator seems over 100 Years old but I loved it (there are stairs if you prefer). The staff are really friendly, there was one night porter who was slightly less helpful, still friendly but we were three people sleeping in a family room that had been supplied with three pillows (normally I'd expect 6 in there, or some spares in a cupboard) no big deal, but when I asked for a couple of extra rather than saying "certainly sir I'll bring some up to you" I was asked to follow him as he walked up and down looking for pillows then, then pillow cases, then I was given them separately to put together myself. Again no big deal but it lost them the extra smiley face. The breakfast was nice, slightly limited and as others have said if staying for more than two nights you start to think maybe you'll grab breakfast elsewhere just for variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely modern rooms but still retaining the old features of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Central area getting around easy close to Republic and Termini metros. Plenty of places to eat.

    Lovely modern rooms but still retaining the old features of the hotel in the cage style lift and dining area which we like would stay again but out of season as otherwise price would be too high for our budget. Staff helpful to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor point - it would have been nice to have fresh orange juice rather than the carton variety. Everything else was perfect

    Location was perfect, 10 minutes from the central station and walking distance to the main sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    For the 3 days we were there it served the purpose,close to the train station and tour buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was slow. When i told the person at the front desk he said he would check on it nothing changed,the area was kind of questionable.

    The shower was nice,the room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    High level of service with mistakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Air condition was set only to heating, because of that it was very hot in the room & buliding. The only way to cool it was to open the window. First night we turned heating on, as we were hoping for cooling! Noone from staf informed us that it is set on heating only. - Breakfast buffet - there was no drinks available on the tables, you had to ask waiter for coffee, water, juice, milk etc. - breakfast quite boring if you stay longer - no free tea in the room, despite presence of electric kettle

    + Good location + friendly staff, especially lady with glasses :) + big room + clean + tasty cake during breakfast + as per my request they have set buffet ready at 6:00 (one hour earlier) so we could grab something to eat before the departure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked Hotel Sonya because of location and previous good experience there. This time on check in were unexpectedly taken to a nearby location rather than actual Hotel Sonya. Twin room with beds so close it might as well have been a double bed. Bed was ok but the bedding did not appear crisp and fresh. Air in room had a slight unpleasant odour. Shower was in bathtub and glass door not stable so water leaked onto tile floor. Booked for 2 nights. Wifi failed after half of 1st day.

    Staff were helpful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Great stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    * Good location near Termini * Comfortable bed and good shower * Clean room with an electric kettle, air conditioner and TV * Very good breakfast with great coffee * Professional and attentive staff * The young lady in the reception was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient clean hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee was just acceptable. Lift was small. If I was any wider (100kgs) I would not have been able to get in the shower.

    We liked the cleanliness, friendliness of staff and location. Beds were firm, lift could only take 3 (sometimes only 2) at a time. Breakfast was adequate. I would go there again but wouldn’t want to be on the top floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nothing to write here.

    This hotel was much better than expected. It is situated conveniently in a short walking distance from the Termini railway station and the main street Via Nazionale. As I understood, it is an apartment building with most floors converted into a hotel. Room and bathroom were clean and comfy, the interior design was classic and ageless. Breakfast was very nice, the best coffee I've had in a hotel this far! Different cakes and all. The hotel staff were absolutely the nicest, helpful and smiling! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Property is walkable from Termini and to most sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is walkable from Termini and to most sites. Surrounded by restaurants. Farhad makes good pie for breakfast and Jo is always around to make sure we are comfortable. The management was very quick to fix our air conditioning when it didn't work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Competive rates, amiable and excellant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steps at entrance, for handicapped are difficult. A ramp would be helpful.

    It is a hotel taking several floors in a classic well kept building in a very convenient and safe area ,not far from station. Opposite the Opera house and rear the Piazza Repubblica.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable, well located hotel, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular worth mentioning!

    Well situated near Termini Station. Hotel is a bit quirky, as it is mixed in with private apartments in the building. Breakfast was good, not special, more than adequate. Comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness in the toilet is not very good

    Location is very good and breakfast coffee is very good Reception girl is very nice and provided perfect service Coffee served by staff is very great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice breakfast and very good breakfast service, all staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space in the room (triple) and when ac/heating was on, the room smelled like cigarettes

    Nice breakfast and very good breakfast service, all staff very polite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and the room was very clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though we’ve TV in the room, we couldn’t find any international channels. Any help/guide would be very helpful.

    Excellent location and the room was very clean and cosy. The receptionist was very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Best Staff in the Hotel Business. I would stay here every time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The staff are the most attentive hotel staff I have come across in a long time. The communication between me and the hotel was excellent leading up to my stay. I brought my mother to Rome for her first time and for her 70th. The staff arranged a cake and persecco for us and delivered it to the room as a surprise and sang happy birthday too!! I have stayed in numerous high stared corporate hotels but the Sonya Hotel could teach a lot of those hotels about personal touch when it comes to guests. The breakfast is very nice and the waiting staff are always present to assist. I will be back in Rome in april and the hotel Sonya is the only place I would stay. Very good location. Train stations very near. City centre very near. Would be at the colosseum in a 10 minutes walk and the train stations less than 5 minutes away bring you directly to the Vatican

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Worse hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    old building ,small room ,worse beds.not clean,scary lift.

    Not suitable for children,hotel is old building with very old scary lift.room are tiny and double bed is actually two single joined together. Only good thing is staff very good and helpful.But most hotels staff are helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Loved it,would definitely stay there again and would recommend to my friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location,very easy to find from the Termini station.Lovely walk to the Colliseum and local churches and museums close by. The breakfast was excellent,very good choice and staff were brilliant.The room was spotless and the beds very comfy.Such good value for money in everyway.The food market at the termimi station was a great place to eat nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom a bit small. room felt very hot. had to switch the ac to cool the room.

    close to termini. room was of good size .staff helpful. very good breakfast. i will recommend Sonya Hotel and i will not hesitate to use it again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel is excellent, 5 minutes walk from Termini station, and in walking distance to main tourist attractions, we even walked to Vatican. Breakfast was great, it exceeded my expectations, eggs, cold cuts, pastries, butter, jam, yogurt, fresh fruits, cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice. The room is not very large, but we were in Rome to visit. The hotel is very clean, room cleaned every day, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was originally was for 2 persons but they added one more bed so the space was not enough for 3 persons.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. Also great location. Great heating. They has both heating and air conditioner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small but it seems like a standard in Italy, little bit dark. Not a lot of space for breakfast - small tables, tiny area to sit

    Breakfast excellent Late check-in without extra charge Perfect locatione, close to Termini, metro, Rome attractions, safe area Cleaning done every day, towels changed every day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large and clean

    There was no tea and coffee in the rooms even though there were cups and a kettle. We had to keep asking for tea and coffee which was no problem but we were on 3rd floor and had to keep going down to reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable visit to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a bar but not a major issue.

    A very warm welcome, comfortable clean room, good linen and towels. Great choice for breakfast really suited our taste.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel location to see the sights of Rome ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite trying to get the air con pumping out cold air , it didt, so the room temperature seemed very hot. This wast't isolated to our room as our friends had the same issue.

    Staff were very accomodating and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Good value hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only real complaint was that the double bed we requested was actually two singles pushed together that slowly moved apart through our stay, but other than that it was comfortable. The water in the shower fluctuated between very hot and very cold but not a huge deal.

    We had a double/twin room on the third floor at Hotel Sonya for 3 nights and it was everything we hoped. We arrived at the hotel straight from the airport and as our room was ready they let us check in early which was great as we had been up since 3am! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. A kettle was provided so we could make our own hot drinks - there was no tea/coffee but we always take our own so that was no problem. There was a small fridge, plenty of storage, a safe that locked with the room key and lots of sockets including one each side of the bed. Good wifi. Smallish bathroom but clean and perfectly adequate. The room was quite hot when we arrived but we kept the window open all the time - even though it was January the weather was lovely - which was fine. Blackout curtains kept out the light and as it was a fairly quiet area there was not much noise at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any queries and were great at answering questions on email before we arrived. We had a late return flight so they stored our luggage after departure and it was no problem to do some repacking in reception before heading for the airport. Breakfast was amazing - no hot food but a wide variety of cold foods including eggs, pie, the usual continental selection, great cappuccino and some gorgeous cake! It was served earlier than some hotels (7-10am) which was handy when wanting to make an early start. The location was excellent - only 5-10 mins walk from both Republica and Termini Metro stations and 10 mins from the bus to both airports. It was also close enough to walk to all the main sights - Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Colosseum and even the Vatican. The hotel is right opposite a small supermarket which carries a wide range of groceries and there are a number of good restaurants in the same and neighbouring streets - you are spoilt for choice! Good value, we would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Overall good but I don’t think it was worth the price we payed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea available in your room even though there was a kettle?! Bathroom was very small and ok if only you wanted to be in there. Not much privacy when someone is in the loo as it’s next to the bed.

    Friendly staff, location wasn’t too far from centre of Rome. Breakfast was good. A complimentary bottle of champagne was in our room as I had mention the trip was for my Fiancé Birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was great and the staff were really attentive, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No exhaust fan in bathroom so would occasionally get foggy and when we would go out and come back sometimes there would be a weird sewage smell in the room

    Breakfast was great and the staff were really attentive, the bathroom was clean and spacious. Under 20min walk away from major sites and shopping district

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit smaller room and bathroom. Small breakfast room.

    The breakfast was above all our expectation in terms of variety,freshness and quantity of choices available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room not appropriate for 3 people at all. Blankets are very old without cover (only with additional sheet). Looks more like hostel. Wifi is very slow, disconnecting all the time.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    We got what we asked, a hotel close to the city center without the fuss of the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit noisy in the morning but much of this was because house cleaning is done then. The city of Rome has a city tax which was a bit of a unexpected expense since we didn't knew about it ad thought that the booking price included that also.

    The room although small was very clean. The staff was very helpful to any inquiry and they even recommended one of the best restaurant we tried in Rome (it is right in the next street to the hotel). The positioning of the hotel is very good since you don't need to walk more than 30 min to get to the city center (Colloseum, Fontana di Trevi, Spanish Steps, etc) and also 5 min to get to the subway which can take you to Vatican.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was nice and clean. Our room was smaller than what we are use to in the US but it was modern and the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was good. We could only get one English speaking channel on the tv but we were not in our room that much anyway. The water in the shower was not consistent it would get real hot and then really cold. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We liked the area and felt very safe. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    We liked Sonya Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked Sonya Hotel...the management and staff are great very helpful. The Hotel and the room is very clean. Breakfast was good and waiters are very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall we would recommend this hotel to travellers based purely on its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel itself on the other hand could be better. The electrical in our room was completely lousy. We did not use certain sockets in the wall as they literally sank into the casing surrounding the switch and it generally did not feel safe to turn these lights on or off. The hairdryer in the bathroom would overheat within seconds, making it very unpractical and virtually impossible to use. We're not the fussy type, so we made do and would wake up extra early to shower and get ready using the appliances available to us in the condition they were in. We also noticed the cooling system in the minibar wasn't working upon being shown to our room, but an extension was immediately provided and the issue fixed relatively quickly upon mentioning this to the person at the reception desk. The staff handling breakfast every morning were extremely polite and helpful but the breakfast itself was uninspiring with the standard tea/coffee/juices, bread, cold cuts, cheeses and croissants not changing at all from one day to the other in the week we stayed there.

    The location of the hotel itself is perfect, within 5-10min walk from Roma Termini and 15-20min walk to some of the main sites in Rome. There are also a couple of extremely good restaurants in the vicinity (not more than 10min away by walk).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    We loved the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were on the third floor, it was very warm even in the middle of winter. We had the heater off and the window open during the night.

    We loved the breakfast! We were within walking distance to all the major attractions. They staff were friendly and held our bags whilst we explored some more. We arrived late due to delayed flights and the staff communicated with us very quickly through email, it was an easy and pleasant experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Perfect spot to recover from jet-lag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the concierge and our breakfast waiter Jo went above and beyond to be super friendly, exceedingly helpful. They doted on us to ensure we had everything we needed and more. Would come back anytime. Great supermarket across the road to stock up for our next trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Great central location, close to tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and our aircon didn't work properly, we asked to change rooms which was only possible the following day. Next room was fine.

    Great central location, close to tourist sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean hotel with good breakfast very well located for Termini station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was quite small - though not unusually so for a city centre hotel. The rooms of the hotel are located several floors up with reliance on a single - and rather antiquated - lift. But these are really only minor niggles.

    The hotel is very well located, close to Termini station but far enough away to feel safe. The breakfast was considerably better than many hotels offer. The room was clean and everything worked properly. The staff serving breakfast were efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay at Hotel Sonya and a great value at a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The person at the desk was very helpful with directions to get to an off-our-map place. We were allowed to check in early. The whole atmosphere was pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    In general good for a short trip to visit Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    3 tight rooms to have your breakfeast which is displayed at the reception. The hotel is out dated so is the room or perhaps tipical ancient Italian. Not really convinient. I missed a lounge.

    Very clean, daily towel change and several times sheets. Near the bus- and central train station. The location is perfect to visit walking interesting locations and historical attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception guy was not smily but it was okay. The room was not big but comfortable enough.

    Excellent location. Nice facility. Breakfast was better than other budget places, there was a wider selection of bread, eggs, ham etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls are not soundproof. Some crazy guests from east country two days made a noise like in own village.... Breakfast - why omelet and boiled eggs have no heating - they always were cold...

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit better but still good for what you pay for

    We loved this hotel, old fashioned but overall really good! friendly staff and perfect location. would recommend. Stayed in 4 hotels during our trip and this was the best

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Everything we wanted !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room size.( for Europe ).Stocked fridge. Nice shower. A/C. Shuttle to airport. Friendly staff. Close to train station. Choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Good balance service/cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I was about to pay for my stay, nobody mentioned that I could get a discount for booking through Booking.com. I just happened to see a sign at the reception area and requested for that discount.

    The breakfast is great. I am already missing it! ;)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Basic room for a night or two convenient to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfy but ok for couple of nights.

    Easy convenient walk from train station. Good breakfast service. Close to restaurants and not far from attractions and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Loved it. Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little plain, but better than at some other places. Also the staff provided great service during breakfast.

    I had to stay in Rome for one night by myself (I'm a 29 year old female) and Hotel Sonya was a wonderful pick. 5-7 minute walk from Termini and is close to great restaurants. The room was clean and modern. I will definitely come back when I am back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    If the aircon was working, it should have been a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon wasn't working on the second day and it was so uncomfortable that I wasn't able to sleep well on the second night and was sweating the whole time!

    The staff are helpful and friendly. The location is great, near to most of the tourist spots.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was a good find, very reasonably priced and perfect for our stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have been abit more varied however quite sufficient and did the job. Room on the small side however was fine for our stay in Rome as we spent most of the time out and about.

    Bed very comfortable and sheets fresh, Bathroom clean and modern. Free safe in room. Hotel and room felt secure. Staff helpful and friendly. Location only 4mins walk from train station and all other attractions walkable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location would come back again for the location buy eould ask for a better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the size of the room.

    Location was great, lovely quiet area around the accommodation. Staff were very nice and very helpful. Security in the hotel was great. Room very basic but had what you needed and for the price you pay you realistically shouldn't be expecting anything lavish. Bathroom was tiny as was the shower. The double bed was basically two single beds pushed together and not very comfortable. The room had extra blankets and pillows should you need them and a safe and mini bar. Good breakfast in the morning with fruit And pastries. Really cool old elevator, nice features.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Good location, close to restaurants and markets, also close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple room and we were given a double room with extra bed. But we were moved promptly to the room we had booked when we expressed our dissatisfaction.

    Good location, close to restaurants and markets, also close to Termini and Piazza Republica, but still on a very quiet street. Kind and helpful staff, clean room and bathroom, good breakfast (fruit included), good coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was a little small for 3 people and there was no tea, coffee, milk or sugar in the room although it had cups and a kettle. Also rooms were not sound proof so when other guests arrived there was too much noise in the corridor.

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was also very good and the staff were ever so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    A easy central place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was poor room was dull, shower small, restaurant around the corner rude.

    Good location. Easy to walk from central station & for traveling. Beds comfy. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    I am happy that I chose to stay here,good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a couple of times problems with internet.This was fixed after changing the router. But internet is excellent when this issue was resolved.

    good choice of breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.9
    Need I say more?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is overrated--not what you would expect from three stars. General condition is worse than other three star hotels, and we arranged for a better hotel for the rest of our stay in Rome. Hotel Sonya charged us for an extra night despite our letting them know the first night we arrived that we would leave. We were so disappointed we absorbed the cost anyway. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Not a place to enjoy - just a place to crash for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 215 - the smallest room ever seen in my entire life. Small bed, next to entrance door. Wardrobe partially in front of window. No space for suitcase (I ended up with my suitcase in the only walkable area between bed and bathroom). No chair. No night stand next to bed at all. It felt like being in a storage room rather than a hotel room. I can't believe the room was even more expensive than what I paid (it looked discounted on the booking.com website). The lift is old, small and noisy. Difficult to operate if you have a suitcase (all doors have strong springs to keep them shut).

    Location, breakfast room

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Sonya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: