Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sotto Il Vulcano

Via Mompilieri Trav.V^, 95030 Nicolosi, Italy

#1 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Nicolosi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 B&B reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    super friendly hosts, perfect for hiking the etna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was like home. Antonella and her family are super friendly and courteous. The breakfast was very delicious, fresh and sicily-like (homemade cake from Antonella). The room was clean and cozy. Nicolosi is just a few minutes by feet and the location is perfect for hiking the etna. Would love to come again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location / walking distance to the town center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location / walking distance to the town center, easy to find, free parking at the accommodation, great coffee and useful information at the reception, very clean room, excellent home-made breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. The breakfast is superb. Homemade cakes and fresh orange juice every morning! Friendly and helpful host. Free parking lot next to the accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Really nice B&B with fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice B&B with fantastic breakfast. It's located perfectly for visiting the Etna or Catania. Antonella and Salvo gave us the heartliest welcome on our trip. Their tipps for dinner and tours on and around the Etna were awesome. We really enjoyed our stay - especially the familiar atmosphere at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    What a fantastic welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our shower cubicle was a bit small, but then I'm a big bloke. If you are on the large side, mention it when you book because they have rooms with larger shower facilities.

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts, who sorted out our fabulous Etna trek and gave us lots of useful information on the area. And the breakfast sets you up for the rest of the day - homemade jams, cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, yogurt and much else besides.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    inside parking, very friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    more detailled informations about vulcano Etna what I recommend: only buy ticket for the cable car (30 €) and from there walk by yourself - it is easy! You don't have to buy a ticket for the buses to go higher up and a obligatory guide for another 9 €. I made this mistake and paid 63 €, because nobody told me!

    inside parking, very friendly owner

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Great hosts & wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delicious, varied breakfast with fresh & homemade made treats. Walking distance to the village of Nicolosi. Warm welcome from the hosts Salvo an Antonella.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Wonderfully place to experience the warm Sicilian welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wifi worked very well. Location perfect so closed to the village centre

    Antonella and Salvatore were amazing, the breakfast was incredible , homemade cakes and biscuits everyday ( different ones on different days) home made jams, pistachio croissants, eggs, fruits salami etc... they organised a great tour of Etna for us at regular rate but with 0 hassle and advised us on superbe restaurants in Nicolosi. All were extremely reasonable. They even insisted on us preparing sandwiches for our excursion in Etna. They were warm, charming and welcoming and made our trip start wonderfully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable B&B close to etna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great renovated rooms, close to the center of nicolosi but quiet. The hosts are really nice and can help you to plan a hike on the etna or some other Tours besides the usual cable car and bus. They know a lot of nice spots in the area if you want to know about more acitivies or hikes around. The Breakfast was really good, many things to choose from and selfmade marmalades.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! We will remember this place as the best one we slept in in Sicily. The owners were amazing, so nice and helpful. Breakfast - fantastic! A variety of food, cheese, hams, fruit, sweet croissants, fresh orange juice, homemade cakes. It is a very pleasant and peaceful place, you can get some rest there, and on the other hand you are so close to Etna which we went to! 11 out of 10 points :)))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Good location: very quiet and peaceful, and just a short walk from the centre of Nicolosi. And the most amazing and delicious breakfast spread.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Excellent vacations at the foot of the Etna, the perfect place to feel like family and well taken of
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing! Everything was perfect! Have not criticism at all and can wholeheartedly recommend Il Sotto di Vulcano in Nicolosi!

    Warmest family welcome, any time , night and day, the best breakfast ever with lots of fresh fruit, bakery, cheeses, traditional goodies, felt like royalty, relaxed, well then care of and extremely welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    A unique holiday to experience at Sotto il volcano: Nicolosi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nicolosi is a quiet village with a scenic view of mount Etna and monti rossi. A great place for those who like trekking. I liked best the family atmosphere, the caring and help of Salvatore and Antonella. Once again ThankYou. Breakfast was great with always a taste of home made Sicilian sweets.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Where to go in Sicily, In this B&B!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    What did you like ? Everything, from the owners to the delicious breakfast in the morning, the price is excellent, the cleanliness is well done too! Located in the middle of everything, shopping, restaurants are 10 min walk from the residence, trips to Etna and around are made easily, Really, you can't miss if you are on holiday in Catania or around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant B and B with fantastic hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Antonella and Salvo were great hosts and made staying the the B and B a delight. They were full of local knowledge and suggested brilliant day trips to take and local restaurants to try. I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you want to hike Etna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Perfect accommodation for excursions to Etna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints whatsoever!

    Everything! The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast is amazing! Incredible choices with delicious home made cake, meats, cheeses, fresh pastries and breads, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, juices and freshly brewed coffee. Amazing! They offer discount vouchers for visiting Etna so very worthwhile to check in before heading to Etna.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect, breakfast was delicious and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, breakfast was delicious and our hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. We totally recommend this place. This was a wonderful sicilian experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    A great comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts, couldn't ask for better ones. Breakfast was amazing, varied and plentiful and hosts were very accommodating if you needed something special for you Good location. Close to both Etna and about 15 miles from Catania airport. Nicolosi was a great little town, there was plenty to do there and some neat little shops. Antonella and Salvatore were really awesome and made our stay very enjoyable. They were a great resource for local activities and on Mount Etna Would definitely stay here again if we are back in Sicily

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Super friendly and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and helpful hosts. Nice and close to town and a short drive to Etna. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Excellent home made breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent home made breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very freindly, helpful owner. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The warmest welcome with the best breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    They were soooo welcoming and warm here. Breakfast was incredible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Antonella is a great host & we look forward to returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful & a good base for Etna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    An amazing visit to Nicolosi which is a gate to Etna. Perfect spot for trekking up the volcano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing host, very friendly and helpful. Perfect breakfast before climbing Etna, certainly can be recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Great place for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast and people so nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful, beautiful little town and great location for going up Etna - couldn't be better :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing we had a great time - thank you so much :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The best B&B in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien

    La gentillesse des hotes et la propreté des locaux

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Visit them .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visit them .. it's just perfect place to stay. I love it. Nice owners and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and enthusiastic hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Friendly and enthusiastic hosts. Good advice on excursions and tasty elaborate breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything! Nice, clean and modern room. The hosts are so nice and helpful. Breakfast incredible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    very good, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very good, highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    So kind and helpful owners. Perfect clean and comfort room. Perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!..

    Owners are so kind and helpful. I think they selected right job for them. Everything is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had delicious breakfast and the owners were very welcoming

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hosts could not have been more helpful or welcoming. It really did feel like home from home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Excellent location to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. A bit remote perhaps from other sites than Etna, but easily commutable. Sat Nav was most helpful.

    Excellent location to explore the area. Very warm and friendly couple who run it. They are the best guide for the area both for what to see and what to eat. Very safe parking. Very comfortable room. Breakfast with wide choice of local produce. Will come back.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    Antonella and Salvo where amazing they went out of their way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Antonella and Salvo where amazing they went out of their way to make sure we had the best holiday ever. They even helped us plan the holiday and directed us to ideal places for us to visit.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    10
    Antonella and Salvi are just fantastic hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Antonella and Salvi are just fantastic hosts. The place is perfectly clean and breakfast is very good. They really think about every little detail. Highly recommended! We'll be back:)

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    10
    The hosts,Antonella and Salvo, were so welcoming and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts,Antonella and Salvo, were so welcoming and a wealth of information about the area and things to do. The breakfast was great and the open kitchen for snacks and drinks after a day of sightseeing was so nice. Good location short walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    10
    Warm welcome by the owners Antonella & Salvo (both speak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Warm welcome by the owners Antonella & Salvo (both speak good English), great hospitality, amazing breakfast with plenty of choice (like cheese, ham, eggs, fresh fruits, warm & cold drinks, home-made sweets), rooms well equipped and very clean, B&B on walking distance to supermarket and restaurants, perfect location for excursion to Etna

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Breakfast was one of the best we've ever had!
    • Couple

    Breakfast was one of the best we've ever had! Antonella makes a cake everyday and her croissants filled with pistache cream (homemade) are delicious! There are fresh fruits, yoghurt, cheese, salami, ham etc every day. Best place for visiting the Etna, you'll get a discount from Antonella and her husband. Rooms are perfectly clean. You can have juices,coffee and tea all day long in the breakfast room. We defenitely stay here again when we'll visit Sicily!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Antonella and her husband are the greatest hosts, warm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The traffic on the street towards Nicolosi is always busy but there's not much you can do about that.

    Antonella and her husband are the greatest hosts, warm, friendly, so helpful! It's hard to imagine better hosts! Antonella makes fresh cake for breakfast every day and they really make you feel at home! I hope we go back soon!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Our hosts - the lovely Antonella ably assisted by her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts - the lovely Antonella ably assisted by her husband, Salvo - were simply FANTASTICO!! Helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were wonderful with so much choice. We lacked for nothing!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Excellent situation for excursions to the Etna with great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent situation for excursions to the Etna with great suggestions from the owners. The breakfast was gorgeous with plenty of choice! Also well situated to visit Taormina, Syracusa etc. Don't hesitate. We had à wonderful stay. Thanks again!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Lovely room, good location, great choice of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room, good location, great choice of breakfast. Our hosts Antonella and Salvo were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area, places to visit and restaurants. If I was going back to the same area I would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    The location was good but we struggled to find the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in an block of single storey apartments in the garden and the room was ok but the floor was damp to walk on possibly due to humidity and towels didn't dry either.

    The location was good but we struggled to find the property with our satnav. We were made welcome and owners offered advice on route round Etna as well as discount on trip but we didn't bother as it quite expensive. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning too where we sat with others a bench table which made it interesting to meet other travellers of all nationalities

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Antonella and Salvo are perfect hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Antonella and Salvo are perfect hosts. I have never experienced a b&b that was so warm, friendly, well-kept and offering such a good breakfast. I will certainly return

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    unbevieable breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    unbevieable breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    Very nice host, kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice host, kind and helpful. Beautiful place to stay, close to the village

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    Antonella and Salvo accept us as friends, with many good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Antonella and Salvo accept us as friends, with many good advice's about visiting volcano Etna and other nice places in Sicily.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    Ecselent b,fast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ecselent b,fast

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    Wonderful welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful welcome Super breakfast Kindness of the owner very helpful The paradise at the bottom of etna

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    enthousiastic owners giving good info
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    enthousiastic owners giving good info great breakfast mountainbiking support

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    A really friendly B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A really friendly B&B

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The breakfast table arrangement with the excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast table arrangement with the excellent breakfast give you the possibility to have a conversation with the other guests.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    Generous breakfast, warm and very helpful hosts, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Generous breakfast, warm and very helpful hosts, great location.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    great experience, friendly and helpfull owners, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    great experience, friendly and helpfull owners, room spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excelent.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Sotto Il Vulcano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: