Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Souvenir Maya

Via XXVII Aprile 9, San Lorenzo, 50129 Florence, Italy

#489 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    My friend and I stayed there for 3 nights and we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My friend and I stayed there for 3 nights and we had a fantastic time.First of all the guy at the reception was very friendly and helpful and he gave us a better room(with a shower inside)than the one we had booked at the same price. Also the days we stayed there were exceptionally hot because it was in the middle of July and the only disadvantage was that the room we had booked had no air condition but we had one fan in the room and we asked for another and they gave it to us so it was much better. All in all the hotel was at a perfect location,only some miles from the city center and there were a lot of bus lines passing by.There was some noise outside our window because it was a buzy road but nothing you couldn't tolerate. I totally recommend it for a short stay in Florence.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff are so nice and kind.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so nice and kind. location is just 15to 20min walk from station. you can go many important sightseeing spot very easy. but the room is not so nice. Small box shower located inside of room. but u can not use it. shared toilet and shower. door is very old has space. so u can hear every sound of outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good location and value-for-money stay! Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is a slow and the bathroom was under repair when we arrived, thus it's a bit inconvenient to use the bathroom. However, it's not really a big problem.

    The room is spacious, cozy and has old Italian style. The staff is nice and gives detailed information and recommendation for travelling in Florence

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very congested for 3 people. Shared toilets are not clean and not maintained well. No elevator service (hotel is on the 3rd floor).

    Very good location. Walkable to the main attractions. Close to the bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Good Budget stay in central Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was located on the fourth floor, UK third (six flights of stairs), and the elevator was only available for descending. This could be a challenge for older, disabled or unfit guests. The reception was only manned for about six hours a day so be careful to coordinate your arrival time with the staff. There appeared to be no staff member present on the premises after about 7pm.

    We occupied a triple room with private bathroom which represented good value for the price. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, washing facilities were good even if the shower was small. Some basic drink making facilities were provided in the corridor and occasionally cookies and crackers appeared. The room was quiet although it was centrally located and near to many eateries and shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed the staff, they were very helpful and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub had a screen as an enclosure for the shower. It leaked lots of water on the floor.

    The breakfast was fresh and plenty and the coffee wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Great place for a solo traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was stiff and springy. Simple fix would be to add an extra comforter underneath to soften it up.

    Great place for a solo traveler. Enough privacy. Decent wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.2
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i stayed 4days in this hotel. first day and third,last day no hot water, and 4day no wifi , 2day change towels , no elevator.......i can't recommend this hotel this price...

    good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Average hotel with convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels provided were really small and were only slightly larger than a face towel. We stayed for 3 nights and even though the bed was made daily, toiletries were not provided. We were only given 2 sachets of shower gel on the first day. For a hotel with a price of over €75 we would expect basic toiletries atleast to be provided, along with decent bath towels.

    Convenient location just 10min walking from SM Novella station. Comfortable bed and good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable with a very gentle owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an old building, so you hear other guests walking in the hallways. However, if you wear earplugs you won't hear a thing (: (always bring earplugs when traveling).

    The owner is an amazingly gentle person. He gave me a better room than I had booked, so I got my own shower without paying for it. Initially, I booked a room for 3 nights without the possibility to cancel. However, I had to go back home one day earlier because my mother was getting married and there ware no more available flight the next day(s). Although officially it was not possible to get my money back for the night not spend, the owner refunded me for the night. The room (1-person) was small but big enough for just one person. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. The room was cleaned and the bed was made every day. The shower cabin was high-tech and had its own radio and several different shower heads in different locations. Breakfast is not included, but there is a lounge with a cheap coffee machine and there are free tea and a water boiler. The shared bathrooms were very clean and spacious. The location is ideal. It's close to the main train station. If you have big bags, you can even take the bus (which stops across the street) to the station. The Centro Storico is in walking distance. The famous Santa Maria del Fiore is only a 10 minutes walk through the beautiful medieval streets! Next door there is a bike rental that only charges 11 euro's a day for a very nice city bike (I'm Dutch, so I know if a bike is good or not).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay. Bit hot without fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no fan or refrigerator in the room. There was not even a refrigerator in the building although it was indicated to be in every room on the booking-.com page. It gets pretty hot without a fan in summer. The place looks a bit past its glory days, but is sufficient for a short stay. You get what you pay for. It is not expensive.

    The relative proximity to the station and the town. all within walking distance. The manager and cleaning lady were lovely and efficient when we wanted to check in early. There are more bathrooms in the building, so no problem to find one you can use. The sink in the room is a very handy feature. There is also a (paid) coffee machine in the building, and a water fountain, but this last one is not always filled...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Very basic but not bad value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. No breakfast. No swimming pool. Room was a bit small too. No soap in room and we were only given shampoo when we asked for it.

    The owner let my mother use the lift as she is quite overweight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Budget hostel in a great location 10 minutes or less from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very hot. They do not have A/C, which isn't uncommon in Italy, but even with the fan, it was still pretty hot in July. So, if heat is an issue, I wouldn't recommend it; but, we managed okay. Also, the rooms are very small and aesthetically unappealing, even for a budget price.

    The location and price are hard to beat. We were a couple minute walk from the train station and the Dome (Florence is very walkable though). The host gave us a map and talked us through where each major attraction was located. He also provided us with a tea kettle on special request for free. Being the middle stop on our trip through Italy, we needed a laundromat, and there was one located only a few doors down.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Cozy and economic hotel for couple or family or alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a Private life which you cannot access by yourself

    I like there's a small bathroom in the room and also the drinking water in the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning. No clean towels after you have used your first ones. Shared bathroom was not very clean.

    Perfect location, everything is within walking distance. They gave us something against the mosquitos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    We found Souvenir Maya a relatively cheap and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were surprised to find the shower was in the middle of our bedroom, and the toilet (which was not always very clean) had to be shared with others. Also, for days we did not meet any of the hotel staff.

    We found Souvenir Maya a relatively cheap and comfortable place to stay in the middle of Florence, with just about everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.8
    Old school Pension
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fan (occasionally-but that was enough!) made a noise like a dying bird, but the next day it was replaced.

    I liked that staying at Souvenir Maya made me feel more like a traveler than a tourist. It is not a place to stay when you want fluffy sheets, lots of clean towels and privacy- but we got great tips for what to visit from Nino, who truly loves his city. If you're a backpacker looking for experience and adventure, Souvenir Maya is your Pension Grillparzer, and you'll feel like you really lived in Florence while you were there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location, basic, but a few issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The sink, shower and toilet drains were not draining well, the toilet often backed up and could not be flushed. We were on the second floor and the attendant said to use the bathroom on the first floor - not so easy in the middle of the night. The room was supposed to have a fridge, kettle and microwave according to booking.com, but we had to ask for the fridge, the attendant did get us one but it was noisy. We did not bother to pursue the microwave or kettle at that point. The shared bathroom was not cleaned the second day we were there and it was not clean from use and the toilet was backed up and I had to inform the attendant. It was cleaned each day after that. We arranged a check in time but no one was there and we had to wait in the dingy stairwell for about 30 mins. There was a cold snap in the city but there was no heat in the room so it was a bit cold.

    Good location within walking distance of sights, grocery store, laundry etc - a key thing we look for. Staff was friendly although spoke little english. The room was basic, the bed comfortable. Our room was made up each day after the second day. We don't mind basic and low cost however there were issues.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Nino was very welcoming and gave us good information about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was on the 3rd floor and our room up one more flight, so after a long day of walking, more

    Nino was very welcoming and gave us good information about the city. The rooms were beautifully decorated in a beautiful old building. Situated very close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.9
    Quite good stay, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not stable all the time. I couldn't use my ipad as somehow wifi was not available.

    Location was good. It takes only 10 mins on foot from main station, and really close to central Firenze as well. My room was cleaned regularly, and all facility maintained well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    No complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water got shut off for an emergency on our last night but we luckily weren't affected by this and just brushed our teeth with water from our water bottle.

    The owner was incredibly accommodating and lovely. The beds were clean and comfortable, the showers were hot, and the location was amazing! We loved our stay here!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    5.4
    Friendly staff, good location but not staying there again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is big but crowded with old furnitures and has stale smell of dust. We just have enough space to move. Nil or very poor Wifi connection in the room, had to go to the reception area for good connection. The place has shared bathroom with the light on a timer which was not communicated with us beforehand. This has caused inconvenience - showering in the dark - you have to open the shower recess and wave to activate the light!

    Close to the Market and walking distance to the Duomo. Staff are friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.3
    The owner of the pension was very polite and as we called he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner of the pension was very polite and as we called he waited for us to check in. The location is excellent. We had a small double room which was quite old but had a renovated small wc which was not included in our reservation! Could be improved by having a modernized update for check in & check out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    3.8
    Be aware there is only a bed in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kitchen! The staff didn't spoke English which made all the communication really complicated. In the first room there was no fan, fridge or a safe (all things that were in our reservation) so they moved us to a different room but there was still no kitchen. And when we check out there were no one at the desk and no instructions, and we had to figure out by ourselves what to do with the keys and hope they won't charge us extra...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing first impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find entrance to hotel and was then up 4 flights of stairs. Not suitable for families and young children. Bedroom very small and dark decor. Lights very low and the electricity cut out on a couple of occasions during our stay. There was not enough clean towels or soap supplied. The 'free wifi' did not work.

    The owner was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    3.8
    Location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi does not work well. There was not clean. Employee can not speak english There are not any soup in toilet There were no toilet paper in toilet in 1 day.

    Location is really good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    The best place if want to travel with taste and stay within budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with a shower, too cold water. It was repaired then.

    Charming place in the center of Florence.I highly recommended this hotel becouse of its unique historical atmosphere. There was a theatre in the last century and it creats fairy spirit of this place. Nice and freindly host.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price A lot of mosquitos Hot and a little bit dirty room There was not elevator Bad wifi actually it is not working in our room

    Location Personnel was helpful but his English isnt so good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    Good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did expect it to be warm as we visited in July, however we found it incredibly warm here at night compared to other places we stayed, which meant we got little sleep and lost time catching up during the morning. The staff did provide a fan which helped a bit. Wasn't entirely convinced of the safety of the surrounding streets at night but the same can probably be said of many city stays and it did give us easy access to things we wanted to do in Florence. Above all it was a good price for the time we wanted to stay in the city.

    The room was comfortable enough; the staff kindly provided a fan however it wasn't a great one and the room was still extremely warm at night which affected our experience. The shared bathrooms were clean and we were given a larger room than we'd anticipated which was nice. We had a fridge in the room which was useful. There is cool water provided from a machine in the hall which was also much appreciated. The location is quite central and within around 15 mins walk of many sights in Florence.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    5.8
    Good location, not worth for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to call them first to do your check in, I sent a message to them telling our arrival time and we had to wait for 1. 5 hour outside ( it was raining) until we find a public phone and call them. If you are travelling you don't have cellphone with open line, the most easy way is using wifi and send emails. I hope they are gonna change their checking in system.

    They had some kitchen facilities like a roster, coffee maker and minibar. The just provide some crosaint , nutella , bread , coffe, milk, tea and juice, it is very simple and basic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.3
    The position is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no exhaust fan in the toilet. Too many mosquito in the toilet and some fly in the room. Only have fan in rooms, very very hot in July. Wifi is very hard to connect.

    The position is good. Room is clean and big enough. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    loved the location, great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    loved the location, great value for money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, comfortable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, comfortable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Andrea and his staff are so kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs

    Andrea and his staff are so kind and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and the location is perfect to explore the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and the location is perfect to explore the centre of Florence. Nothing to complain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel except for bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and hair dryer was not warm. That's the only point this hotel should change.

    Friendly staff, clean room, free drink

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    very hospitable receiption and dervice ladies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cold in a room (we were in dec)

    very hospitable receiption and dervice ladies. very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay in Florence!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Cold shower and many stairs to climb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower and many stairs to climb

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice host and near to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice host and near to the city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel secure or clean

    Location was good for the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    very good location, the owner is really nice and cheerful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too loud

    very good location, the owner is really nice and cheerful person

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't super clean

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning and no bathroom in the room

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a stale smell, and smelled slightly of cheese.

    We had everything we needed and the host was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    There is drinking machine.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and it is quite tired to climb to 3/F.

    There is drinking machine. And the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Very pleasant owner, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant owner, very helpful and friendly. A quiet place, just few minutes away from city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    4.2
    The staff is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is friendly. However, room is smelly and not clean at all. The safety deposit box is not working at all. Won't come back again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Okey for per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator doesnt work. If you have big luggage its gonne be big problem.

    Enough for 1-2 night. Near to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no toilet paper in the bathroom

    very quiet, and staff were polite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this hell hole
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs and a badly leaking sink drain

    Not a lot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    Above all its nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff it's like air bnb rooms.... No lift

    No bfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.1
    The bedroom was very clean but the restroom some time is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was very clean but the restroom some time is quite dirty. It might because of its a shared restroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    A pleasant and comfortable stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The keycard used to access the bedroom area was a tad finicky.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    Not good for the summer visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection is not stable at all. The mattress is too soft. No air conditioning!!! Require extra charge for keeping the luggage!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    6.3
    Land lord speaks english well and is very attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room was not very clean. The toilet in the room was useless because there was no possibility to flush it. Shower was OK, although strange in its location 50 cm from bed. Because of the shower cabin dirrectly in the room, it was rather humid.

    Land lord speaks english well and is very attentive. The location is great with the best restaurant in Florence just on the other side of the street.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.9
    The hotel manager was very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have been a bit cleaner and I was disappointed that there were no wash clothes and soap.

    The hotel manager was very helpful and welcoming. He was a pleasure to work with. We really enjoyed the location. Within walking distance to the train station and all attractions.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    5.4
    We were onl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff barely spoke English and we were told we could drop our bags off and check in later as we had a tour, they were aware of this but still faffed us around and made us miss our tour. The manager was never there the maid had to check us in as he hung up on me on the phone.

    We were onl. There for one day to go see David and we wre a 2 minute walk away which was good. Had our own toilet and shower

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.5
    Good location, and owner friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I didn't like that the chek in was 17:30pm and I if you need arrive later you have to call to the owner to advice him and to wait until he arrive.

    Good location, and owner friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    hotel is very clean and the environment like we are at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the place is very nice and very clean and the person who is there is very nice and well organized.

    hotel is very clean and the environment like we are at home.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    6.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator. Staff not present. No wifi inside the rooms, had to use wifi in the building 's stairs, it was cold outside, so not recommended if you have a lot to do on the internet.

    Excellent location. Big room for three people with two beds. Nice decoration.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    8.3
    The location was really good, not far from the bus station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a bit cold in the room

    The location was really good, not far from the bus station, but also near the main attractions The owner was really nice and pleasant The bed was really comfy

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    2.5
    Room is big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner who seems nice but he seldom at the front desk for helping, this means once you check-in, you're on your own. I don't know other rooms, but for Room No.1, it's horrible because of the soundproof for outside, even you close the windows, you can hear car driving by quite clear, and it will lasts whole night because it's a main street. Like other reviewers said, face-size towel and I was stay there for 3 nights, the towels were never been changed. It's a very very old building, I don't think you can call it "Hotel" according to my understanding of 21st Century. The public toilet is smelly. 31.12.2015, the people living above my room having a party from around 19:00 to 03:00, due to the room's terrible soundproof ability, I can hear everything and the sounds of chairs scratching the floor and high-heel clicking on the floor, pub-level beating music and laughing made me crazy. I complained to the owner two times by phone, when he comes the first response was "It's the last day of the year", seems I shouldn't complain? I pay money for a good resting place. And in the next morning, which is 1.1.2016, I found the WIFI password changed, later when I connected to Internet, I got an email that the owner informed Booking that I was absent to the reservation, I was really angry about this dishonesty action!

    Room is big.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    It was close to everything we needed access to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall we enjoyed our stay but we never saw the owner. It seemed a bit abandoned. We didn't like that people were smoking in the common area and the toilet system was noisy. The worst thing was that there was a crack in our window and the shutters didn't close properly so we were cold. It would be fine for a summer stay or if we had someone to report it to.

    It was close to everything we needed access to. We had a private bathroom and everything was Ok. There was a hairdryer in the room. It was clean. We had a fridge and microwave but no cutlery or crockery.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.9
    - Close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - The heater was not working. We froze during the night... - The breakfast is a voucher to go to a coffee shop next to the hostel where the breakfast is cheaper if you buy by your own...

    - Close to the city center. - The owner is a professional guy.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    4.2
    The description of the room has nothing to do with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The description of the room has nothing to do with the reality. In my room there was neither fridge nor sink. The bed was terrible and falling apart, the window was very old and couldn't be enterily closed, letting the noise from outside to be very disturbing. The shared bathroom was bad, without toilet paper and soap. Not to mention that despite being nice Andrea (the owner) is there only in the afternoon.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    When we got there we had to wait for about 2minutes for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really except the cleaner forgot to clean out the fridge from the people before us

    When we got there we had to wait for about 2minutes for the host to let us in the room but then he upgraded our room and it was great. We has the most comfortable bed of our whole Europe trip which was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    5.8
    The owner is a delightful man, but a bit delusional about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In its day this pensione was a grand old dame, now she is tired, very tired...cracked marble floors, ancient hairdryer, no AC, just a creaky fan, dilapidated cage elevator to access its 3rd floor location.

    The owner is a delightful man, but a bit delusional about how "nice" his establishment actually is by today's (even European) standards.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    The sympathy of the owner, very helpful for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1 bathroom for 6 rooms, the wifi very unstable (works half of the time), a very noisy room (neighbours and street noise very important). We were asked to pay at our arrival which is quite unasual.

    The sympathy of the owner, very helpful for everything. He was nice for a late checking. Beds are ok. Very good location to visit Florence.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The hotel, as well as the owner and his cat and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel, as well as the owner and his cat and the employees are very nice. Moreover, the place is in the centre so I was able to go everywhere by walk.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.5
    Good location 10 mins from the Duomo, next to a pharmacy, 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning was a real disappointment bordering on unbearable at night; would not recommend in midsummer purely because of the heat-induced sleep deprivation. WiFi didn't extend to our room unfortunately, in spite of our host's insistence. Uncomfortable to have to give the host cash as soon as we arrived without a receipt (given to us later in our stay) but priced as advertised.

    Good location 10 mins from the Duomo, next to a pharmacy, 2 mins from a cash machine and sandwich bar. Nice looking room.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.4
    The location was Good but hard to find with all those...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor air conditioning and the bathroom facilities were not very clean.

    The location was Good but hard to find with all those confusing street numbers. Staff was friendly but not so helpful always.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    7.1
    It was a good value, but you to need to accept why you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is not someone at the front desk a great deal of the time, so you need to be careful it you need something. Also, if you want to pay with a credit card, be adamant about this.

    It was a good value, but you to need to accept why you are paying less. There is no air-conditioning, shared bathrooms by a number of people, and the rooms are small. However, it's in a good location, and it's cheap. But, WiFi is free, you don't have to pay for it.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.2
    We've got a room with bathroom inside, which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was awful, I felt like I was falling down all night. It was really hot in Florence and the fan was really noisy and it didn't make a big difference. The guy that received us was really nice, the younger one, but the older guy was not able to do anything to help, he couldn't even print a boarding pass for us, even if not for free.

    We've got a room with bathroom inside, which we didn't ask for.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    5.0
    It was very close to the train station and all the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no air conditioning in the room so it was very hot. The shower was also locked for no reason one morning and we were not told about another place to shower for a couple days. Plus there was no wifi.

    It was very close to the train station and all the main attractions were only minutes away.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Souvenir Maya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: