Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sovana Hotel & Resort 4 stars

Via Del Duomo 66, 58010 Sovana, Italy

#2 of 11 hotels in Sovana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    What an amazing hotel, from the beautiful building and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an amazing hotel, from the beautiful building and the studding gardens. I absolutely loved this resort and i will go back soon! The pool is amazing, fresh water perfect for the hot weather! And luca was very attentive to our needs! Honestly 3 nights here was perfect, peaceful & sovana it self is also beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    more than adequate hotel in a renovated and expanded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not to reflect negatively on the property, but a fact to consider: the road to Sovana is not the easiest...but if you’re like us and you really enjoy negotiating steep hairpin turns in an underpowered rental car with manual transmission, it’s absolutely worth the trip! breakfast was a rather limited affair. go early.

    more than adequate hotel in a renovated and expanded structure. good sized rooms and bathroom. very clean. ours had a view on the garden. the grounds are probably more “farm” than “resort” - but we appreciated the rugged nature of the terrain. beautiful stone swimming pool (interesting fact: the water is treated and filtered in an eco friendly way) we also appreciated the covered private car park on the property. Sovana itself is a small village with a cathedral on one side and the remnants of a fortress on the other. the small church in the middle, however, is the most interesting: a remarkable fusion of late romanesque and early gothic style, nice frescoes from the xv and xvi century and a pre-romanesque altar. Important Etruscan site just outside the village. (take something for the road: the small bakery close to the hotel has very good sfratto.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Lolely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not well soundproof although this wasn’t an issue as the hotel wasn’t full Internet was rather slow

    Comfortable room facing a lovely garden. Spacious bed. Breakfast was good, especially coffee and salami/ham.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Just "wow"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on Sovana main street, this awesome resort is the perfect place to enjoy Tuscany essence. Rest in the big and beautiful garden full of olive trees (and even a labyrinth...) or in the swimming pool area. Sleep in cozy and quiet rooms. Have a good breakfast inside or in a nice court under big umbrellas. Service is friendly and helpful, price pretty convenient. An internal parking is available, free of charge. Highly reccomended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Great that a potentially bad situation was rescued but has someone taken their eye off the ball??
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is honestly really difficult to assess. So much of it is fabulous but then the things that let it down do so quite badly. We arrived hot and tired to find the hotel had messed up our booking for 2 double rooms and put us all into one room (3 of us) with one shared bathroom. they were fully booked so we had no other option but to accept what had happened. Luckily we had our booking confirmation with us so the hotel did admit it was their error. Service recovery was excellent subsequently but at the time it was not handled that well by the Manager. There are 18 double rooms here but only 12 sunbeds in the garden! Woeful. The gardens potentially should be magnificent but sadly the walkways are over run with weeds and the rosebeds choked. Are there not enough staff? I think not, yet those who are working here are lovely - friendly, cheerful, happy and obliging. Finally, the outdoor eating area is over run with cats. Cute when they are kittens and they jump on the tables and eat the food, but in a couple of months time they will be full grown and then actually it is disgustingly unhygienic. How then do you stop them? Sorry to any animal lovers but there's a place for pets and it isn't on the tables where we eat

    The pool here is one of the lovliest I've been in. It's fed from their own underground water supply, is very picturesque, surrounded by beds of roses and a god send when the temperatures are in the high 30's! Air con greatly appreciated in the bedrooms. Staff very nice. Breakfast has the BEST selection of delicious cakes outside of a Patisseria (I know, highly naughty and never something I would normally even think about!) but bacon and eggs not quite so appetising. Lots of lovely whole fresh fruit which I always enjoy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon is completely useless (and we were there in 45 deg C heat) so hardly slept. The beds are old and uncomfortable. The hotel was extremely understaffed (often only 1 staff member on duty), although the ones that were there did try their best and were pleasant. Dont, however, expect any waiters to find you and ask if you meed anything or if you're happy! You'll need to go and find them! Breakfast was usual Italian style, just very poor and limited choice and poor quality. All the furniture is old and dilapidated and in desperate need of replacement. The bathroom was very grubby and also in need of a refresh. Overall one gets the impression that the owners are trying to spend as little as they can on the hotel and the services offered whilst you are there. This is more of a two star b&b than a decent hotel.

    The hotel is located in a lovely, tiny, typically Tuscan village with some nice restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Hotel in a fabulous park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel appears to have seen better times. The "superior double rooms" are bery small (about 10-11 sqm, one can just get around the bed). Mattresses are very stiff/hard. No restaurant, only breakfast. Hotel seems to cater mainly to weddings and to week-enders from Rome.

    The very quiet hotel is in a huge, very nice park with lots of olive trees, statues, benches, a swimming pool, and a labyrinth; all of which are very well kept. Large well equipped bathroom. During the week (end of June) quite empty. Would be ideal for honeymooners. Just across the famous middle-age cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Sheer Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff we so welcoming and friendly. They provided us with the best recommendations for restaurants and neighboring villages to explore. The grounds were perfectly manicured. We were saddened to leave. We look forward to staying there for our next trip!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.3
    Best hotel in Sovana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great stuff. Good coffee for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Grounds and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have a touch up

    Grounds and location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location for road trip travel in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no restaurant or place to eat at the hotel itself.

    Casual and comfortable. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful stay !!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    A beautiful property in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    an extremely relaxing short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outdoor pool

    Lovely garden and situated in a beautiful part of southern Tuscany.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great personal and very interesting place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great personal and very interesting place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Couldn’t get WIFI in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get WIFI in the room. Otherwise we loved the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    fantastic base to visit Solana, Pitigliano, Sorano and the other villages around
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the atmosphere, the garden and the location are perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not stay long enough!

    Great breakfast and staff is wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    the location, nice "borgo"
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast niente di che

    the location, nice "borgo"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    very good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Located in a small town/village. Short way to the centre The old building was prepared excellent for this accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Excellent secluded grounds with a lovely swimming pool.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent secluded grounds with a lovely swimming pool. All very secluded in a beautiful quiet little village.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful grounds and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner did not keep room cool. Was very hot outside so it could not keep up

    Beautiful grounds and pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Beautiful place with beautiful garden and very nice owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place with beautiful garden and very nice owner. We enjoyed a lot

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    10
    Location, friendly and helpful staff, old style rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, old style rooms, historical surroundings. Very nice and quite place, cosy garden. Hotel owner helped us to create a perfect route for 2-days trip!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Warm welcome on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom needs more shelf space and hooks.

    Warm welcome on arrival. Friendly, responsive, efficient service. Fantastic panoramic view of surrounding Tuscan countryside from rear of hotel. Exceptional position for terrace and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel has private covered parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only works in public area. The air-con in our room did not work properly. It only gave us sound and air but it did not cool the air. Sleeping was a bit less comfortable.

    The hotel has private covered parking. Very nice when weather is hot. It has a rather big and well-maintained garden, and was built on a historic site. It is a very small hotel so it is very private and quiet. Decent-sized room with good bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    My husband and I were doing a wine road trip with both of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you need to be plugged into wifi a lot, plan on staying in the lobby area of the hotel as the connection wasn't great in the rooms themselves (but hopefully you won't be on the internet very much while traveling through this beautiful place.)

    My husband and I were doing a wine road trip with both of our parents and stayed comfortably one night here. They received my request via booking.com for a gluten free breakfast for my mother in law, though they have gluten free things ready for guests regularly, which I appreciated. The gardens and labyrinth are vast and gorgeous, if we had more time I would love to stay a whole day in them.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful Hotel with Pool and nice Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For that price breakfast should be better.

    Beautiful Hotel with Pool and nice Garden.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Internet was very weak and spotty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was very weak and spotty

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Helpful young staff, in heart of beautiful Italian Medieval...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Street constuction outside of hotel (not the fault of hotel & temporary).

    Helpful young staff, in heart of beautiful Italian Medieval hill town.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Grate olive garden and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Grate olive garden and nice staff. Interesting micture of old and modern building. Nice decoratation of public rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Top location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Top location! The manager is extremely kind and available. Breakfast buffet various and very good food quality. Quiteness.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    4.2
    property view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    everything else

    property view

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    9.2
    The beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful grounds. Common areas to sit and relax. Good breakfast. The village and its churches.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Sovana Hotel & Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: