Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sovestro 3 stars

Loc. Sovestro 63, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#16 of 44 hotels in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests could have been a bit more diverse: end of June mostly 50+ with some younger couples.

    The completeness of all facilities: great pools, good food, lovely view from breakfast terrace, excellent showers and matrasses and surrounded by great Tuscan villages.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from the main street is more as i thought. the coffees from the coffee machines were always a bit too less. ( maybe the machine need to be only calibrated)

    We stayed few days in San Gimignano. Chosed the hotel because of a silent graveled road on the back side of the hotel to San Gimignano. (we came with our little dog). Breakfast is various , eggs can be ordered in different kinds , i loved it. Really nice and beautiful facility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work for half of our group but not an issue as not here for the internet!

    Lovely place in the country but still walking distance to San Gimignano. Staff very helpful and friendly. Outdoor area lovely with good mix of shade, sun and pools.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit unconfortable. Dinner was over priced for what it had to offer, and food was not really extraordinary. Also, the service was quite slow and unpersonal.

    Great place to stay and relax. 30 minutes walking distance to San Gimignano (better take your car and park up there). Very friendly staff. Breakfast was great! Lots of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try comfortable, super clean rooms. Beautiful views from all areas. Great wifi. Staff friendly and very helpful at all times. The shuttle to San Gimignano was very handy and a great service. Restaurant food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness equipment needs a bit of a facelift. Room temp was tricky to balance between too cold and too hot

    Lovely location and fantastic, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, great parking, nice big rooms. Would be a great place to stop in summer, but we travelled in winter. The hosts were great and a free shuttle bus to San Gimignano town was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small item breakfast bread not very good otherwise breakfast very good and good variety

    Staff efficient friendly and very obliging waitresses competent and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and pool were very nice. Breakfast was very good too.....lots of choice, although they didn't advertise that you can ask for cooked items, like eggs, which we saw other people having. The free parking was great. The walk into San Gimi was 25 mins on a dusty but pleasant road. The food from the restaurant was delicious. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem but maybe a suggestion, we Brits love our tea, so hotels which provide a kettle have the edge over their competitors. We brought a travel kettle but there was only a suitable socket in the bathroom. However, it is possible to order tea from the bar so its not a big issue.

    This was our second stay here and it was again a really pleasant stay. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable with good bathrooms, the breakfast is perfect with plenty of choice and served on a pleasant terrace, the management and all the staff are very friendly and helpful (even when we were slightly late checking out), and the pools are lovely with lots of sun loungers available at all times. I believe all rooms have either a balcony or a terrace. The terrasses facing the main pool are less private but the pool area is always peaceful. A steepish 30 minute walk from the hotel up a track (take a torch or a mobile phone for coming back at night) is a lovely way to reach the town of San Gimignano, or a free shuttle bus just takes a few minutes. Parking in the town is about 2 Euros per hour. We look forward to our next stay at Sovestro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All the staff at the Hotel Sovestro are extremely friendly and helpful. We have stayed at the Hotel on many occasions and it never disappoints.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly one later shuttle bus to offer-19.30 ?

    A beautiful hotel, friendly helpful staff and superb location-felt like real countryside Tuscany with a little splash of luxury !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast is great. There was everything you could desire. The place itself is up on a hill. This gives a great view which the guest can enjoy while having breakfast or eating at the restaurant. The restaurant looked very nice. We heard, that the food is suppose to be very good there but a little pricy. I would definitely recommend the hotel for couples or friends which are seeking for a relaxing vacation. We stayed hear for 2 nights and it already got a little boring. The pools are very nice and the surrounding is very beautiful but our short trip of 2 nights was completely enough. Otherwise it is a very good hotel in a beautiful scenery but I wouldn't recommend to go there with children. There is not much to do there for kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk into town, we used hotel shuttle bus but last one is at 5.30pm. Walk back is all downhill with great views. Pity there is not a staffed bar, but staff happy to bring drinks to the terrace or room.

    Good buffet breakfast and a bit of variety with dishes changing regularly. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The bed was comfy and we had a good size patio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    Very friendly and efficient hotel staff.Could find no faults at all and would totally recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location of the property, the rooms were lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Fabulous breakfast buffet which we could enjoy on the terrace. The restaurant was just fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Prices of the Restaurant have been a Little bit on the high side

    The rooms were clean, The Restaurant is OK The personnel is very friendly they have a good gym

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    loved the hotel, the service, the location, the pool, the staff. Very helpful and obliging, even organising food when the restaurant was closed and dropping us into Poggibonsi so that we could get to Florence on the bus. Fantastic all round

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked the staff about some place we could do a wine tasting around the city, they suggested some, but didn't mention that everything was closed this time of the year. I think this is a information they should know, so we drove 50km for nothing.

    Perfect breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect as a base for exploring the region but off-season (early spring in our case) there wouldn't be a lot to do there if you had children to entertain.

    Great location for walking into San Gimignano and as a base for exploring Tuscany. Very good restaurant on site, friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room Without Breakfast
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent a lot of the night battling 6 very large and noisy bed bugs, not a great experience.

    Staff were great and covered breakfast even though we hadn't booked it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely position Easy to walk into San Gimignano which is beautiful The pool was great after a day sightseeing and the restaurant on site was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel punching above the weight of a 3 star. More like a 4. Loved ithe spacious rooms, the breakfast terrace the pool and the 20 min walk to San Gimignano on a scenic track.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nil

    Nice location just out of San Gimignano with shuttle bus into town. Rooms very comfortable and spotlessly clean. New towels each day and bedding changed every couple of days. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel restaurant vver good. Pool area excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is perfect, not even single bad thing to tell.

    1. Localization , 2. staff 3. pools 4. neighbourhood 5. nature all around, 6. vineyards everywhere, 7. 100% toscania as i imagined.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the rooms were not well insulated for sound, we could hear guests off for breakfast first thing in the morning. The bar area could have been more welcoming. No shuttle on the evening, which meant you had to take a car into Sam Gimingnano.

    The poolside service was good for drinks and food. Staff were very helpful and made reservations for good tables in local restaurants. Easy check in. Very clean and plenty of room around the pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel the rooms are very nice ,clean with lots of room the pool is excellent . The staff is very friendly and the location of the hotel is excellent we took day trips to Sienna and Florence , this was our second time staying there and won't be our last .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complimentary shuttle to the town didn't go on a timely basis. Very few times available. It would take you in the early evening, but no way to get back We had to drive into town each time & search for parking & paying every time Very disappointing

    The pool was wonderful! After a hot day of touring the city, it was very relaxing break.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving

    2km outside San Gimignano with courtesy bus is best location. ~1hour from Pisa, Florence, Siena & Lucca too. A v. good pool & restaurant with friendly staff is what you need each evening! Good Value too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very very basic hotel staff wasn't friendly

    breakfast was fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location, staff and food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far better than its 3 star rating. Comfortable room with quiet and effective a/c. Lovely pool and a first class restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 mile nice walk into town. Also van transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road noise.

    It was clean, very friendly staff, good food, swimming pool and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean. Lovely & quiet. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast- they made eggs on request, fitness was allright, and i loved two pools outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot food at breakfast

    San Gimignano

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds Excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shuttle bus into San Gimignano stopped at 5.30pm, it would have been good to have an evening bus

    Comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    excellent swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet access was very slow and bad. You had to reconnect all the time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast with excellent choice. All fresh and choice setting. . Great restaurant. Too. Pool beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an absolutely wonderful hotel stay, one of the best ever. The owners and staff were wonderful. We definitely will come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant had terrible food and is incredibly overrated.

    Good location, room was clean, good assortment for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views not the best, but still in and around nice fields.

    Great breakfast, clean and compfortable, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have had a little more of a selection.

    The location and the staff. It is 4 minutes to San Gimignano and about 40 minutes to Pisa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Excellent service from staff. The food in adjoining restaurant was super. Great pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in room expect from mini bar.

    Restaurant outstanding

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food really bad and lunch was still frozen,no apologies just a big bill for a dry piece of bread and a frozen pizza!

    Pool shuttle bus

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lovely Family Hotel, staff very helpful they really made us feel at home!! Will like to go back one day!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall we had a nice stay Room was to small for three adults Mattresses were very uncomfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist, too far away from city center

    Gym and pool were nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too happy about pets in the restaurant and breakfast areas

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good atmosphere, very clean, welcoming staff, good starting point for traveling around

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one thing we missed was tea-making facilities in the room.

    The Owner, family and staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Everyone always smiling and happy. The Hotel is always immaculate. Breakfast bar food was extensive. Pool-side menus for food. Da Pode Ristorante was very good, only closed on Thursdays. Car parking and security very good. Shuttle bus service into San Gimignano very good. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC didn't work so it was hot during the days and cold during the nights. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and relatively expensive.

    The staff was nice and answered our requests.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is about 2 km from San Gimignano and the road is not very pedestrian friendly, though the staff helped us by supplying shuttle service. The rooms lack carpet which is not very preferable during cold. The breakfast misses warm meals. The restaurant menu is limited and on the expensive side.

    The staff is wonderful, always smiling, trying to help. The location is very beautiful, nature, paysage, building. The hotel is very easy to reach with large parking area. The building is typical to Toscana. The restaurant is quite good and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comments.

    Location (just 5min away from San Gimignano city center). Easy access to most of Tuscany places. Very good restaurant and staff. Free parking area. Romantic atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a single issue with this venue!

    Proximity to San Gimignano was great. The hotel was modern and well maintained, the staff was very kind and helpful and the food at the restaurant was excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will surely return if and when the opportunity arises.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not want to leave.

    Wonderful hotel just below San Gimignano. Great accommodations, friendly helpful staff. Great walk into the town. Could not have asked for better.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance to San Gimignano was good for a morning walk but we are trained very well. It is up hill and when it's hot I don't recommend.

    We've had a fantastic stay in Hotel Sovestro. Relaxt, quiet location, beautiful location,clean room and bathroom, really good breakfast. Very kind family and staff, there was also service at the pool. The pool was clean and they have a towel service. The restaurant was perfect. Good local food and wine and enough choice. Much better than expected from the pictures. Parking spaces 1 and 2 in San Gimignano were good and not to expensive .

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was tight and the interior hall way and room felt a little dated

    Good breakfast and comfortable room. Location was very close to town and convenient.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet is terrible. We couldn't connect at all unless we were outside, stood on our head and waved our legs around ;)

    Fantastic shower pressure

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast...I love cooked breakfast! This is not to say it was bad, there was a wide assortment of pastries, bread, cheeses, cereal etc but I missed eggs!

    friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and, the fact that there was a restaurant in the hotel. This saved a rather wet and dismal saturday afternoon and night from being worst. The environs of the hotel are also quite attractive and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Outdoors, comfort, breakfast, location

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furnishings could use some update

    Fine restaurant

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More variety at dinner

    Friendly attentive staff, location, size of room

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave !!

    Amazing ! My third time to visit this little gem of a hotel in the last 14 years !!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Calmness of the hotel due to nice staff and good facilities within a short distance of the busy town. Nice Pool. Restaurant good italian food.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely swimming pool. Always sunbeds available and not crowded. Spacious bedroom.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: