Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Splendid 4 stars

Via Sempione 12, 28831 Baveno, Italy

#1 of 15 hotels in Baveno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 808 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location with attentive staff and a fabulous restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing...it was all fabulous

    We loved everything about this hotel. The location, the staff, the food, the swimming pool was glorious. It had a feel of opulence without costing the earth. Definitely recommend staying here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    A delight on Baveno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym. You have to let reception know to turn on the air conditoning. It’s in the depths of the building with no natural light.

    The location is perfect. The staff are charming. The rooms are generous. The bar is great. Breakfast is a delight. Dinner is magical.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We cannot fault anything with the hotel.

    Our room and all facilities were finished to a very high standard. Comfortable beds, very spacious room, high standards of cleanliness. Hotel staff were polite and very helpful. We used the beach, pool and spa: all lovely. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with stunning scenery. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. Would highly recommend and would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    One of the best short breaks we have ever had, and we would most definitely recommend the hotel to f
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were absolutely fantastic, extremely helpful and really helped us at every opportunity. Breakfast was varied and fresh and eating breakfast while overlooking the tranquil lake with the sun coming up was stunning. The jetty onto the lake was a nice touch as we managed to swim in the lake every morning before breakfast and throughout the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.5
    Great experience other than customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with the room (A/C didn’t work) and the staff did nothing to compensate for a sleepless night other than offer a downgraded room. Staff claimed there were no other room options even though it was clear on Booking.com that other upgraded rooms were available. No discount, credit or other apology was offered.

    Great experience other than customer service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Complete relaxation in a classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great !

    A classy hotel in a beautiful location . Complete relaxation having our meals overlooking Lake Maggiore . Delicious food, a wonderful room and very friendly staff ... we will return !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice ArtDeco Hotel with own private Beach! Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit noisy from the street (traffic) (Room with Alpine Vue). If you are sensible to noise, book Lakeside room.

    Very nice pool and acces to the hotel private beach - Beautiyfull decoration of the room with Airconditiong. Car Parking in Garage available (11EUR per night). Friendly staff in Restaurant and reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Sunbathing and swimming are possible on the hotel's own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I can hope something more it could be a kid´s playroom and more sockets in room.

    Sunbathing and swimming are possible on the hotel's own beach. The child was very happy. Child care was arranged and the nanny was indeed prepared to spend time with the child. Breakfast delicious. The views are just wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, very romantic/ classic decor but with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms with a mountain view are also close to a quit busy road. No noise with windows closed, but spoils relaxing on the balcony a bit.

    Nice location, very romantic/ classic decor but with a mdern vibe. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing. Nice swimming and hiking and a fine hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is the second time we have stayed at the Hotel Splendid and it does not disappoint. The lake is lovely and there are fine restaurants in the town. We will be back next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Had a lovely room with lake side view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely room with lake side view. The balcony was a great feature. Having come for some serious rest & relaxation, we spent most of our days lounging on the private beach. That was marvelous. Not too crowded and nice to be able to jump in for a swim. The lake water is extremely clear & clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a number of meals at the hotel all were very good, however we made one mistake that was we eat late and as a beautiful dusk fell on a fantastic location so did the mosquitoes! I was eaten alive.

    We liked everything, staff, hotel, location all great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great clean hotel, just the service by reception/restaurant needs to now match the quality of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Staff are only interested in people who appear to be wealthy. After being ignored and service terrible a couple of times at breakfast. We were treated obviously differently to other guests. I witnessed this again on last day when other guests asked for umbrella and the manager of the restaurant kindly did this for them - then we asked if could do for us too and he gave is a little Ok will do but it is coming down if too windy as he reluctantly put up for us. Why not say same to the other guests? Even receptionist not trusting. I arranged late check out with hotel manager as I was told to do and did this very efficiently. Then next day I asked to settle bill night before and mentioned because had late checkout. She then insisted on checking this was true although advised her already arranged. So had to wait around while she did. My advise to hotel manager is train your staff to treat all guests the same way. How do they know I have any less to offer than other dressed in "designer" clothes? We didn't even get asked if wanted help with luggage or for the staff to hold our luggage on last day. Instead had to take with us to outside restaurant with us. This is terrible service and not what I expect with 4 star. There were lots of other niggly bits too but too many to mention - mostly with receptionists and the restaurant staff.

    Hotel clean and in good location - cleaners do an excellent job - lovely view of Lake. Bar staff are also excellent and feel they should be offered more help as run ragged. Maybe the restaurant manager who is busy telling his staff off should help them from time to time instead of standing by. As a manager of a team I would do that with my team.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Consider treating yourself here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You really need to search to find a negative...

    The staff, the quietness, the beach, the rooms, the pool, the food, the drinks... Considering the level of comfort and luxury, not cheap, but it's not exceedingly expensive either. And plates/drinks are not smallish, a small list (euro): 17 biiig breakfast buffet 6 prosecco 9-11 cocktails 7-9 G&T 4 bottle water (0,75l) 16 pasta dish I loved the place, really comfortable and inviting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Magic stay in a magnificent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was superb. No complaints.

    This is a fabulous hotel. It has everything and anything one wishes to have in accommodation. Great location, pool, garden, private beach, magnificent rooms and the friendly staff. Enjoying breakfast on the sunny terrace was a great start to the day. Above all the hotel is a great value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great views great hotel very clean the staff is welcoming and the Batman is friendly and helpful Great place to relax and admire the beautiful view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, helpful staff, amazing views, the beach was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a little bit more diversity at breakfast.

    Wonderful hotel, helpful staff, amazing views, the beach was so cute, the wi-fi was fast. Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.5
    Not worth staying at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having spent euros 515 for a 2 night stay, we did not get breakfast included in the rate. 22 euros for parking the car in the hotel garage was charged as well as 70 euros per night for an extra bed (which was a sofa which would have already been there)!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of things in the room were broken, shower, a couple of plugs but these were not going to be fixed in 2 days and I don’t know if they had been told about them before

    Hotel was very traditional and luxurious. Staff were very attentive and knowledgeable. Amazing location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel in general highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed. First day we found two single beds and we booked a queen size. Then the hotel asked us if we wanna change (they staff is really really nice), and they did it but the bed still two single beds put it together.

    The hotel in general highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Worth every star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mini bar is locked so you can't put your own items in the fridge. Fortunately the bar was happy to freeze our water bottles for our day trips.

    A wonderful grand old lady, aptly named Splendid and one of the few hotels with lake frontage. We had a spacious room with a large balcony overlooking the lake and views of the Borromean islands. We left the door open at night so we could hear the water lapping. The hotel has some great facilities - an attractive outdoor terrace, a restaurant with an interesting menu (Risotto Milanese highly recommended), an artificial beach (and a very good public beach next door), a private boat landing, nice grounds and secure underground car parking. In all, its was terrific value for Lake Maggiore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely grand lake side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - great hotel esp. if on a last minute Booking.com bargain rate.

    Excellent 'grand' hotel on lake side close to small town, 10-minute stroll to good selection of restaurants. Hotel staff are fantastic & very friendly / helpful. We arrived late & left early, but love the over-the-top terrace area for (several) late night drinks al fresco. Previous year we had a lakeside room with amazing view of sunrise, will go again if in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful stop on our drive down to Milan. Lovely views of the lake and a simply beautiful property.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark as it overlooked the roof of the parking lot but I think our room was particularly small compared to the rest.

    Gorgeous setting overlooking the lake with a dock and beaches just a stones throw away. Classic old building and a wonderful bar area with wonderful comfortable outdoor seating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Really good value for the location and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room without breakfast and our Booking.com confirmation said that it would cost 25€ per person for breakfast. When we checked in, we were told that breakfast was not included and that it would cost 16€ per person if we wanted to have it. We chose not to have breakfast during our stay, yet when we were checking out, our bill had a 50€ charge for breakfast. We were very confused and showed our original booking confirmation and yet the receptionist kept insisting that our second night was 50€ more and had breakfast included. We had to argue quite a bit to get this charge removed, which was very frustrating.

    Really good value for the location and facilities. Very classic decor, but thankfully didn't feel tired. Parking was extremely easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend but suggest you make sure you are not sharing the hotel with a conference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a norwegian medical conference using the same facilities which made the reception area and the salon noise level untenable.

    The location, the comfort and the views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    The superb style and decor of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would liked to have a tea and coffee facility in the room

    The superb style and decor of the hotel. The excellent position absolutely wonderful. The staff very friendly and polite, hotel kept immaculately clean. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With our kids, we were disappointed that the pool water was too cold to enter. The pool looks amazing though and the pool deck has plenty of space with loungers. Nothing against the hotel, but Stresa has more options for restaurants.

    Excellent, friendly staff. The hotel is luxurious and have an older style. Very nice balcony with an incredible view of the lake. Easy walk to the town. The lobby bar is nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    The view was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel was terrible. Also like the restaurants around the hotel food was terrible. Everyone was not friendly at all. Would never stay again.

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel, beautifull location at the lake, just an hour from Milano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds at the pool were woven plastic, very slippery and very heat absorbing. The gym was equipped poorly Dinner options not befitting the hotel level

    General atmosphere was excellent, staff friendly, location at the lake beautiful. Breakfast was very well organized. The bar was equipped with great premium liquor brands

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    A splendid hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to love. Was perfect!

    It is realy a splendid hotel. So butiful and allegent. The rooms are amazingly comfy and spacuos. The private beach is magical. Tons of areas to spend time outside with the kids. Quite. Relaxing. And all the staff was extriydenary nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Great (thought pricey) time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roadside (mountain) facing rooms could get a little loud at times, though not really during night. The extra pay you need to cough up for using the spa facilities, or the extra charge (which for some reason was not charged from us) to park at the hotel grounds. The prices for the nights were high, and the hotel doesn't really differ from other hotels that charge less.

    Fancy, exclusive and well accomodating. The room was a big and comfortable. The hotel didn't charge us for the garage parking which was great of them. At breakfast the staff was helpful, professional and catered for our every request. The private beach access was lovely and the hotel had towels and sitting benches available for all. Even the location, a mere 5 min walk from main city and a short stroll to the supermarket was a great feature for this hotel. We had a great stay, and a lovely time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Average unlikely to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was extremely hard. The staff made you feel like you shouldn't be there. Rooms very dark. The beach wasn't a beach it was a concrete platform with gritty sand on it.

    Swimming pool area was beautiful however the water was ice cold! The view from the pool side was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel on a beautiful lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not the hotel's fault but DO NOT use the iPhone / Google Maps to find this place, it is 2km north of where the iPhone/Google Maps said it was

    Great view of the lake, worth every penny

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    It is splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room With Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming in the lake. Rooms had a view of the lake. The town is lively with music festivals and many places to eat. There were two weddings at the hotel the two nights we stayed there - made it very festive. Breakfast was very elaborate and well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Splendid is not an overstatement for this hotel; cannot wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the front desk personnel, the waitstaff, the bellman, the bartenders - ALL were exceptionally gracious, amusing, agreeable. the maintenance of the place is exceptional, the views from the outdoor terrace are splendido for sure. the room service breakfast ordered last minute -also bountiful and arrived lickity split. It was a divine few days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Would come back to this splendid hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room With Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    Everything. The room was spacious and beautiful, the view from the balcony was indeed splendid. The staff was very professional (some people maybe were a bit too serious :) ), the beach was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    its geat place to relax and think in pretty surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is a bit distant.not much to do in Baveno itself. may be we didnt explore well...

    the hotel is nice. very beautiful territory. good stuff. rooms are great- big/ clean/calm 10 minutes to boat station by walk from there u ca go to neighbourhood places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.0
    Stuck in the past, in more ways than one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I are both school teachers from London. I very rarely write reviews but I was so disappointed with this hotel I felt driven share our experience. The hotel was very grand with a 1940s feel which could have been very fun if not for the stiff atmosphere and general lack of warmth from the hotel staff. We booked a room overlooking the lake. The beautiful view was undeniable but relaxation on the balcony was spoilt by the relentless loud creaking from the jetty. The room was small and only had one accessible plug point, a minor thing but frustrating after a long journey when you both want to charge your phones before heading out. The balconies facing the lake only get a bit of sun in the morning, after 10am they're in the shade. This may be a good thing depending on what you prefer but the lack of sun meant the bedroom was very dark. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant in the evening on their back terrace. We were greeted by the restaurant head waiter who offered us a table right next to where the staff stood and the door back into the hotel. There were 15 more tables to the left set for 4 people. This was around 8.30/9pm. We asked to sit at one of the tables of 4 and he said we could not as these were for 4 people. I replied asking surely we could as the restaurant was very quiet and he still denied us a table there and suggested it could fill up (this was clearly not going to happen, and of course didn't. Only one table of 4 was seated by the end of the night ). He then offered us another table for 2 at the opposite end which we took. The food was okay but not great. When my partner ordered desert he asked for the drinks menu to which the head waiter replied that " it was at the bar". My partner then asked, "can I see it".The waiter then said the restaurant was closing soon and my partner asked at what time, to which the waiter replied "when all the guests leave".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Great location, spacious room and comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage and breakfast should not automatically come with an extra charge. According to Booking, we were supposed to get a room with garden view but we got a room with view on the road and back of the hotel. Another detail that could be better: TV was very difficult to use (channels not in order...etc)

    Comfy bed, spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at the back can be noisy with Windows open but very well sound insulated

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great facilities. Amazing view. Excellent food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Luxury holiday with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was only until 10am and did not get food from roomservice after 10am in the evening

    A wonderful and beautiful hotel, a friendly service with great scenery. The spa was small but idyllic. Rooms with luxurious furnishings. I can recommend hotel for couples and families. I will definitely be back at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    the Splendid Hotel met and surpassed all our expectations -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Splendid Hotel met and surpassed all our expectations - it was a fairly last minute decision to spend one night there and we were extremely pleased with just about everything. a highlight: breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake - stunning location and the buffet was very good indeed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    This hotel itself was excellent, the staff were very friendly, experienced, extremely professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing negative to report

    Impeccable attention to all the little details, from the excellent condition of the whole hotel to the wonderful, friendly and extremely professional staff. We would like to say a special thank you to the Restaurant Manager, who was fantastic in accommodating us very late in the evening - we had a complete nightmare after arriving promptly for our booking at a local restaurant (La Ripa) to find they had given our pre-booked table away without so much as the courtesy of a phone call to advise us! they didn't even seem particularly bothered about what they'd done (I've never come across a restaurant operating to such a low standard) and didn't even call us a taxi back for our inconvenience. We had to walk the full km back again to Hotel Splendid and pretty much lost hope of having dinner that evening as every restaurant on the walk back to Hotel Splendid was fully booked. The restaurant manager at Hotel Splendid immediately tried to accommodate us having heard how La Ripa treated us (even though it was very late when we got back). Based on our experience we'd recommend other customers don't bother with the sloppy and unprofessional local restaurants, in addition there is no need for anyone to eat outside of Hotel Splendid, as the food at this hotel is really very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    What a great place to relax and be catered to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Coffee was fabulous at breakfast! What an upgrade from our last large group stay in 1994 and we loved it then! Staff was just wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Splendidly named hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely hotel on the lakeside with great amenities. Our rooms were upgraded to lake views and were very spacious and comfortable. If you can bear to set your alarm early enough you will be rewarded by a great sunrise over the lake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.0
    Good location, nice view on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not at the level of the hotel standard, not very friendly nor helpful. I was expecting much more for a hotel of this level.

    Good location, nice view on the lake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice lake side location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of the junior suite way over the top... But otherwise fine altough it was at the noisy corner close t the road. Strange that only Booking.com guest have to pag the €10 a day for the parking.

    The location with the beach at the lakeside Is perfect also for swimming in the lake. Nice outside terrace. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Luxury on Lake Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. This is a 5 star hotel that we stayed at for 2nights when they must have been quiet as we got a good deal on our room. You make up for that in food and drinks though if you stay in the hotel as it is luxurious and therefore quite expensive.

    Beautiful hotel right on the shores of Lake Maggiore with its own small private beach and pontoon for direct access to swim in the lake. Upgraded from a mountain view to a lake view on arrival which was fantastic. 10min walk through next door park to Baveno with lovely cafes and restaurants. Highly recommended for a couple of nights stay. It is luxurious but not pretentiously so.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast: breakfast was not included in the price but we decided to take it. We were disappointed as there was not much choise for the price we paid and buffet was not refiled quick enough. The second day of our stay we decided not to take breakfast

    We were automatically upgraded to a room with lakeview, this was a very nice gesture from the hotel. Staff was very friendly, beautiful rooms, grate view from balcony. Very nice private beach and pool area. Strong wifi signal

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent lake brek
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny

    Amazing location, beautiful lake views

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    This hotel was magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was magnificent. It was very beautiful, the room was large, the amenities great, the food perfect, and the view phenomenal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The view, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view, location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Very helpful, friendly and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath robes, face flannels and air con a little noisy

    Very helpful, friendly and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Amazing view,very comfortable bed,helpful staff,tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view,very comfortable bed,helpful staff,tasty breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Lake side, view, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food too expensive and not great vs price paid

    Lake side, view, facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay beautiful location and attentive staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay beautiful location and attentive staff can't wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was hit and miss Air conditioning in room was poor

    Beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn out.

    Good breakfast, location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décoration

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, good rooms and beautiful location, directly at the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Elegant facility, great location, beautiful views from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant facility, great location, beautiful views from the hotel rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    great stay
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing location and views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    great value for money, it is a corporate hotel for groups, not for individual travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was not made up every day

    Superb location, great terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    The bed is comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No vegetable during breakfast

    The bed is comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, very elegant old fashioned room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, very elegant old fashioned room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Great location very luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room With Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    €10 charge for the parking

    Great location very luxury

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Beutifully appointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beutifully appointed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    easy parking, very nice and friendly staff, capacious room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    easy parking, very nice and friendly staff, capacious room, stunning view of the lake, quiet and beautiful location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel we loved it, it made our special occasion really fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really is splendid waking to the sound of the lapping lake and ducks - fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Pool or Lake Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing !

    Reception Staff and delicious breakfast !! Great service and very well located ! Overall a great hotel !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Holiday of a lifetime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very palatial and gorgeous interiors

    Beautiful hotel with an exquisite setting and view. A perfect place for a romantic getaway!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Splendid in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most beautiful hotel in the most beautiful location. Peaceful, luxurious, amazing staff, good food, better drink. Heaven.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Beautifully kept hotel, luxurious room and great facilities. Staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Mountain Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Position of hotel, view from the room, outside areas and private beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    The pillows were very large and not that comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very large and not that comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: