Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Splendide Royal - Small Luxury Hotels of the World 5 stars

Via Di Porta Pinciana 14, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#86 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 482 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Would stay again and hope for a better rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of the Jr. suite.

    Located on a quiet street yet short walk to Via Veneto and close to Spanish Steps. World class Mirabelle restaurant on the 7th floor with spectacular view, top wine list, impeccable service and great food. Jr. Suite was ok, more like an oversized (for Europe) room with a loveseat. Bathroom was spacious and the balcony made up for the somewhat disappointing roominess. A lovely tray of fruit and a bottle of prosecco were an appreciated touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff are very nice, decor and interior design,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the food of restaurant at the sixth floor is in the entire hotel Climbing the road whenever u want get back the hotel 10 min

    Staff are very nice, decor and interior design, Room service clean the room twice a day

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Always Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic linen and furnishings. What style ! Breakfast is fabulous. Gian Marco and Alessandra are an exceptional team. The best . Attention to detail by the house maids is always appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Elegant lobby, very nice door men and baggage staff, and super nice breakfast dining room staff!
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Mirabelle restaurant was good, but lacking in warm personal service by the staff. Our daughter was married that afternoon in Rome and although we were only 5 adults dining outside on the terrace which was very pretty, we shared a server with enough tables that we had to ask twice for our daughter's cocktail and our champagne glasses sat empty until we requested a refill from our bottle. The food was good enough but after spending a month in Italy (mostly in Tuscany) it was not unforgettable. We have experienced better in both food and service categories from a Michelin restaurant.

    We did enjoy our stay there last weekend in one of the Jr. Suites which was very roomy and nicely decorated, but since we have stayed in so many of the best 5 star hotels in Rome, we were disappointed in the bathroom which was in need of updating and refreshing such as the marble counter and sink fixtures along with the jacuzzi tub. The shower stall was extremely small but bathroom amenities were high quality, including the robes and slippers and products. We were not given free wifi and charged 8 euro a day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Just amazing hotel in best location, the staf so polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just amazing hotel in best location, the staf so polite and friendly, that i was feel like a princes;) Restorant in the room so romantic like in movie :) i recommende to all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    I Just love this hotel, very polite and friendly staff, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Just love this hotel, very polite and friendly staff, the restorant in the last floor was so beatiful..... so romantic....like in the movie :)the location is just perfect, close to all national beauty, i recomend to all:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel near Spanish Steps and other great attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the location and friendly staff. I have stayed at other properties in this group and all are great. Room was spacious and bathroom exceptionally large and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Boutique hotel gem in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all excellent.

    Room with terrace was beautiful. The restaurant was amazing fine dining with spectacular views. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    PERFECT HOTEL FOR A PERFECT VACATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING.

    We spend 4 nights celebrating my wife retirement. From the moment we arrive the hotel entrance, we understood we made the right decision. The door man escort us to the reception, the check-In process was efficient, very attentive and informative. Front desk, help us book a tour to the Colosseum in minutes and answer every question we had. Breakfast was very good, with large selection to choose from and an awesome view over the city. The room was made twice a day, morning and evening. Very Clean. The staff did everything to help us enjoy our vacation. Quiet street and very close to main attractions. Amazing and very friendly staff. We will definitely return to Rome and will stay at the splendide Royal again. True Small Luxury Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rideways not there to greet and meet as scheduled. After a number of texts to them a man did arrive with no name card to identify himself as my driver because the original driver had not shown up. This driver was very courteous and kind but as I was traveling alone the meet and greet as promised would have been appreciated as it was disappointing and took the shine off my arrival.

    Could not fault staff, food or hotel ... amazing experience thank you .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.0
    Outstanding restaurant with elegant dishes cooked to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for the pillows/beds everything else was perfect.

    Outstanding restaurant with elegant dishes cooked to perfection and excellent service. Very nice and helpful staff, every and each one of them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant on every level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing i didn't enjoy.

    The staff were brilliant. They take time to chat to you and ask how you are. It makes a big difference in the stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Some good points many bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like how we were not informed of the impending weather warning before we went to bed or even during the night Didn’t like how they knew we were leaving the next day and never rang our room to warn us we might face problems due to the snow storm getting to the airport so maybe get up earlier. Didn’t like how they gave us zero help getting to the airport apart from telling us there were no taxis. Didn’t like how when I was booking the restaurant for my wife’s birthday they asked would I like a cake. Never quoted me a price or anything and when the bill arrived it was the most expensive course on the bill at €68. I have no problem paying a bill but I thought if you’re going to offer something and charge for it at least tell the client at the point of booking or confirm it later with an email.

    Restaurant Room Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Best boutique hotel in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff friendliness and politeness, ability to manage logistics and make recommendations is second to none. That is a reason alone to visit this property. In addition the location is excellent and the views from the Mirabelle restaurant stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were extra spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We definitely enjoyed our stay here, the rooms were extra spacious and the breakfast area has amazing views of the park/city. The hotel is also a 5 min walk to the Spanish Steps and many other attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel, within walking distance of all the key attractions. Friendly and informative staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV system was almost indecipherable for a UK user. Struggled to find anything in English. No "ordinary" bar that you could relax in (bar was part of restaurant). Restaurant was out of our price bracket.

    Very friendly staff. Large, comfortable room. Excellent restaurant recommendations (Jonathan). Fantastic views from the 7th floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironing the shirts inside the room is not aloud and they charge money for ironing the clothes which is supposed fo be free since they forbidded the use of ironing machine

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, location, amenities, turndown service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature cannot be controlled in room. It was too hot but only the front desk could turn down the thermostat or make any changes to make the room more comfortable.

    Friendly staff, location, amenities, turndown service, doorman, i could go on and on! The breakfast provided multiple options and the view is incredible of the Vatican and the Villa Borghese Gardens!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing stay at the hotel because the housekeeper stole 400$ from my husbands backpack.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got stolen 400$ by the housekeeper. Thats what we didn't like!

    The housekeeper stole 400 $ from my husbands backpack while we were out shopping and touring in Rome. We only discovered the theft when we got to the airport. What a sad and disappointing way to end our holiday in Rome. We are really upset.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    An experience that will stay with us for the rest of our lives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive but absolutely worth the extra costs with the extra quality touches in everything

    Wonderful hotel made special by the high quality facilities, very attentive & friendly staff, excellent locations, superb restaurant (Mirabelle) and absolutely awesome views of Rome incl. St Peter’s - we will be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We were so happy with our choice of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating. The hotel was quiet and the beds were comfortable. So happy we stayed here as it was the perfect ending to our trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    This Hotel had wonderful staff and is in a great location for a Roman visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had trouble with the hot water initially. This was later rectified with a room change. There was a mix up with the laundry and I lost a shirt. Hotel management were very apologetic and gracious in their consideration on this issue.

    Our room was very comfortable with a balcony and excellent views. Staff were excellent and very attentive. Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Very good but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was very dated Never got real hot water in 4 days

    Very Large Comfortable Bed Very Helpful Staff Great Restaurant, but at a huge cost Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, classy, confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There could be more variety for the breakfast.

    Warm staff and a classic deco, very confortable bedroom with an exceptional terrasse onto the Villa Borghese, within walking distance from the Piazza di Spagna. We had a fantastic stay for our honey moon there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic - can't wait to go back. Thank you to the Front-desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located and reasonable prices in consideration of a capital city. The concierge staff is renowned justifiably the best in Rome. The ground-floor bathrooms are spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant was highlyvrsted but the food did not match...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was highlyvrsted but the food did not match rating. Service was very good though. For the price the hotel had small communal facilities and lacked a welcoming bar on ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views of Villa Borghese, great location, wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views of Villa Borghese, great location, wonderful staff, superb breakfast area which again looked over the beautiful Villa Borghese. Would like to extend my appreciation to the Manager at the breakfast buffet who was extremely welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was facing north and it was humid (the building is very old) and they didn't have any kind of electric heater to make the temperature more comfortable. The ventilation was making only cold(AC) and outside the max temperature was 17 Celsius. The mattress should have been more soft for such a hotel category. Pillows too small and too soft. Definitely here has to be done something (I saw other similar comments, so its not my taste). In the toilet space it was a terrible pipe smell (room 105). Happily we could close the door between the toilet and the rest of the bath. If you want to stay at this hotel either you take the superior category room and stay at the high level having some light and sun in the room, or you just dont, cause its not worth to pay that amount for the room and not having the full comfort. Would I stay again here? Yes for sure, but choosing another room.

    The hotel looks amazing with baroque architecture and design. The room was big, very very nice and we liked that the toilet was separated with a door by the rest of the bath. The personal very very polite and friendly (congratulations hotel management), which somehow makes other inconveniences to blur. The breakfast very good as quality but the same every day. Very nice view from the breakfast room at 6th floor. The location is good- walking distance from Spanish Steps and all the shopping area and also from the park.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.1
    Rome wonderful for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My son bought a bottle of champagne from the hotel that was delivered to the room for my wife's birthday. I asked for it to be sent up to the restaurant as we were dinning there that evening. I was informed that this could not be done as the restaurant was under separate management unless I paid a 50 Euros surcharge !!! UNBELIEVABLE !! Restaurant was very good BUT you have to have deep pockets !! a bottle of water 11 Euros !!

    Staff very good hotel very good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was awful Facilities in general are too "tired" - all requires some small repair

    Breakfast was UNBELIEVABLE. One of the best in the world. Just maybe if they had a warm bread -it would be even better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    location is great, very close to spanish steps and all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is great, very close to spanish steps and all the attractions around. staffs are very helpful and friendly. Great service and it is definitely a great place to stay. Highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No espresso machine in the room Slow internet

    Exceptional styling and decor Extremely friendly and helpful staff Great food Great view Comfortable bed and pillows Jacuzzi in the bathroom Huge tv

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Ok at best! 4 star trying to be a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms DO NOT HAVE ANY TEA OR COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOM!!!!- this is the first hotels I have ever stayed in where you can not make your own cup of coffee in the morning!!!! Very dated decor- bed in our room was damaged and broken. No where to have a drink or snacks in the afternoon. Have to go out.

    Great breakfast with amazing view of Rome from the 6th floor breakfast room. Staff especially at breakfast are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Your room is turned down every evening. Location is great you can walk to most sights from here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast Crystal Lounge top class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You didn't have to have dinner to go to Mirabelle restaurant on top floor. We just had a drink on a lovely table by the window overlooking Vatican.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Perfect Name - "Splendide" !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast spread was amazing - I couldn't think of any food group that was not offered - it was really impressive. The coffee was so good as well, service, etc.... Quite outstanding - would stay here again in a heart beat !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Great weekend stay in February
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for food in the hotel are quite high. It makes sense to step out not to pay €50 for a sandwich and a drink.

    Encourage everyone to visit Rome in February. The pluses are obvious: the weather (+15C) which is very comfortable for sightseeing, less tourists (though still crowds in Vatican), you could actually see smth in the museums and around, most restaurants will find a table for walk-ins. The hotels' prices are much more affordable (2-4 times cheaper than in high season) and you will likely get an upgrade. This particular hotel has fantastic location: 7-10 min walk to both Villa Borghese and Spanish steps and yet away from the crowds. Great views from the roof-top restaurant (pls see photo). The room was big, spacious and clean (junior suite overlooking the city). They don't have spa facilities, but if you fancy - they have a sister-hotel in the Borghese park nearby. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Some things from the room went missing for example my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things from the room went missing for example my brothers 185€ perfume which he recently bought And some of the snacks bought from outside of the hotel were taken

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Highlight of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two nits: 1) Pillows are bit too hard, but it is a matter of habits and they could be replaced. 2) Not really the hotel's problem, more like Rome in general: cold water pressure too unstable, so your shower could switch from cold to hot in a matter of seconds.

    Location, staff and rooms were great. Decent restaurant, but you pay predominantly for the views of Rome. Food matches the expectation set by price. In overall, the hotel served the purpose of a "couple" trip very well and was worth the money. The hotel compensated very well for the tourist crowds outside.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, good location and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are well decorated with certain roman style and quite big but also very noicy (those giving to the street!). When you open de windows you have either the road or the huge external ventilation system noices, this is really annoying when you try to sleep.

    Nice little hotel with an elegant "cachet"! Great location at just a few steps to Piazza di Spagna and Viale Corso! Personnel is attentive and friendly. Breakfast is served in a fantastic room which offers splendid views on the sixtine chapel and the Vatican

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Amazing. Will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful luxury hotel in the centre of Rome within walking distance of the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and abundance of shops. Its restaurant with terrace is a must, with magnificent views of Rome and excellent food. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and breakfast is perfect. The staff are all most attentive and helped us have a most enjoyable and happy stay. 10/10 recommendation for this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Great Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your room is on the top floors, the smell from the kitchen is quite disturbing.

    Very luxurious and comfortable rooms. Great views. Friendly staff. Very rich breakfast. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent choice for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the Michelin star restaurant. The food was excellent as was the service until the restaurant became too busy. We arrived at 8pm for dinner - at 10.45 we were will waiting for food. Spoilt what was otherwise a lovely evening.

    Excellent choice for breakfast. Service was always exceptional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    10
    Great location, near tourist attractions, but not too close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, near tourist attractions, but not too close as to be accommodated around crowds. Friendly staff. We were staying here for our honeymoon and were upgraded to a superior room on check in, arrived to our room to find a complimentary bottle of prosecco which was lovely. Good amounts of complimentary water too, much more provided than some of the other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. Breakfast was lovely. Overall we would stay here again gladly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.8
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to reconsider the pillows.

    Excellent staff especially checking in, thank you Jonathon for welcoming us and your guidance. Jamaco thank for your great welcome at breakfast everyday, you do your work with passion.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.9
    Roma is special city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hotel at the recepcion didn't exchange bill of 500 euro to smaller bills, and lady didn't even tray!!!

    Roma is beautiful, city, food, people and spectakular history...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our initial room was next to the restaurant and the smell was coming through the airco. When we asked for a new room we got a bigger and better room, which we appreciated.

    - Very helpful personnel - Nice decoration - Surprise champagne at arrival - Big kingsize bed - Balcony - Jacuzzi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.8
    Great reception staff, restaurant not worth the money, very small rooms and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel and rooms are small and there are no hotel facilities, it's more like a B&B. the restaurant staff are not very good they forgot about my wife's birthday and seemed to ignore us after the first course, walked out without a tip

    The staff were very helpful and could not enough

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    We could not have been happier with the Hotel Splendid Royale!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - it was perfect. I only wish our train trip out of town had been scheduled a little later, so we could have enjoyed the breakfast after our 2nd night. The boxed breakfast the staff made for us for the train was wonderful as well.

    Breakfast was phenomenal - delicious, with a beautiful view to enjoy (see photo).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing, Misleading and poorly staffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have our reservations at check in. Moved to different room after 1 night. Room was not what we reserved or paid for. Low floor, so the view was of trees. There is no bar/lounge for cocktails. Very hard to get dinner reservations. We had to ask them twice to fix air conditioning in our rooms. Hard to get Taxis there.

    Hotel was pretty. Restaurant was very good with a view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Not best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The suite requires redecoration, it looks and smells worn, the balcony is in a poor state, the bathroom has leakeges from beneath the tub. The restaurant is overrated.

    The waitress in Mirable resturant was nice and professional, some of the reception staff too. Generally nice place in good location. Also some dishes were tasty. Good cleaning service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel. Great Staff. Access to Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    The location is excellent, being right by the Villa Borghese and thus near one of the major shopping streets in Rome. It is a five minute walk to the top of the Spanish steps. There is an excellent One Michelin Star restaurant on site and the breakfast facilities were great [Hotel Breakfasts are one of our main criteria]. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old fashion reception area; no cosy place to sit down and relax/have a drink

    Great location, beautiful breakfast room and fantastic lunch/dinner terrace (though very expensive food/drinks).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel near the Spanish steps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all!

    Fabulous breakfast with beautiful view of Rome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location Amazing restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location Amazing restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Controlled ac temperature

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The room was gorgeous and the Mirabelle restaurant was the...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was gorgeous and the Mirabelle restaurant was the best in Rome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    View from the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location the spacious and clean rooms the food and the polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Terrible front desk staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very obnoxious and not helpful

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Luxury and Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Personal welcome for our honeymoon. The restaurant in house was wonderful for dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    See you soon again....
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and friedly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.5
    Incredible Mirabelle restaurant with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Incredible Mirabelle restaurant with amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed, the hotel and the restaurant with the splendid view on the city of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great support from the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    A luxurious hotel in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sitting in the restaurant and looking out at the wonderful view over Rome out towards the Vatican - it was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    more breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    more breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Vista linda do restaurante onde é servido o café da manhã.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A vista do quarto para os fundos do hotel.

    Vista linda do restaurante onde é servido o café da manhã.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    the view was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows were not comfortable, the carpet looked old

    the view was fantastic! Both from my room and the breakfast area. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but little far from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was poor.

    Large rooms clean and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A nice treat for a romantic weekend in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whirlpool was a bit old and noisy but worked very well.

    Exactly the quality you should expect from a luxuriously hotel in this price segment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant very expensive, but high quality food

    Location, hotel accomodation, staff kindness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Satisfied customers always return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was terrific. The staff are very personable and so helpful with your every need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Everything was superb. Can’t complain about anything at all. Excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Fantastico
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Fantastico

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Staff is amazing, the Restaurant is great, everyone was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Staff is amazing, the Restaurant is great, everyone was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Splendide Royal - Small Luxury Hotels of the World traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: