Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sportsman 4 stars

Via Gardesana dell'Acqua 17, 37011 Bardolino, Italy

#19 of 40 hotels in Bardolino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing at all

    Excellent breakfast choices for all-including a Tea Station & a juicer! Perfect ! Staff all super efficient & accommodating, advising on anything we needed to know. Hotel & surrounding areas all pristine-staff very polite & helpful. Beach opposite was good-we liked that it was private & was cleaned daily in the morning-nothing was too much trouble. We felt so well looked after & truly spoiled! Thanks to all for making our stay such a special time, as we went to celebrate or Pearl Wedding Anniversary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms and bathrooms very dated.

    Great location 2.5km between Bardolino and Garda...enjoyable walks to and from both. Able to hire bikes from the hotel with easy and very reasonably priced. Lovely staff, especially Liisa on reception and Emmanuella in the bar. Lovely full breakfast. Nice pool and private beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Great breakfast. Hotel location is on the best side of the island (in my opinion), but does not feel very packed. Was easy to get around and we were in walking distance to a main attraction/tourist area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel was probably built in the 80', however very well maintained and very clean. The location of the hotel is excellent, nearby a walking / bike trail . The hotel has its private beach. The breakfast had a good selection. The stuff very friendly and attentive , willing to respond to all our demands.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television very limited for English speaking guests. Lots of German and Italian TV stations! No non slip mat in bath/shower. Air conditioning in bedroom shut down after only few minutes - every time! Kitchen closed for any lunch - except toasties - before 2pm in afternoon - no chef! First time that we couldn't get a proper lunchtime snack meal in a holiday hotel.

    The lake view from bedroom and terrace. The private sandy beach a few metres from front door of hotel. Convenient to both Garda and Bardolino. Friendly staff. Comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as good in comparison to other hotels in Italy I have used. Food available seemed to cater more for German tastes rather than traditional Italian fare. A bit disappointing.

    Good location for access to other towns on Garda. Staff very pleasant and helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff was very friendly - they've made perfect reservations in the best nearby restraunts. Hotel provided free boat cruise - it was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast bag. We had to leave early one day for a day trip so asked for a breakfast box to take with us on the coach. It wasn't great with the sandwiches not even cut in half......and how can you eat a whole large orange on the go!! This could be greatly improved. Worth getting up a little earlier and having breakfast in the hotel instead!

    Comfortable bed, great sized room, very helpful and friendly staff (all the receptionists, waiters and bar staff)....all of them couldn't do enough! We had a lake view with balcony and it was beautiful to look out to every morning. It was very useful having the hotel car to drive us to nearby places free of charge (it was like having our own private chauffeur). Lots of choice for breakfast, and dinner in the restaurant was great too, although we only ate there twice. Many nearby restaurants and shops. The private beach was nice and the lake was clean enough for us to get in for a swim with the lovely ducks that greeted us during the day!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the hotel is not reflected in the sign on its lakeside front. It looks slightly amateurish and is simply painted onto the pink wall. This hotel deserves to advertise itself with a much more professional sign, possibly in polished metal letters, which will more accurately reflect its 4 star quality.

    The hotel was perfectly situated for flat walking to both Bardolino and Garda. It was right on the promenade and the private sandy beach with loungers, umbrellas and cushions was a real bonus. The pool area was secluded and exceptionally clean as was the whole hotel. The grounds staff were busy each morning and evening, keeping the outside areas tidy, clean and well manicured. We loved being able to eat breakfast in the garden, which, incidentally was delicious with a huge range to suit all tastes and appetites. We ate other meals out, so cannot comment on the main restaurant. Our biggest plus was the hospitality, courtesy and friendliness of all of the staff, but especially Michele, who was most attentive, had a great memory for people's individual needs and never appeared in a flap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked two 'Comfort Lake View' rooms in May. On arrival one room had a partial view from a side window,the other required exiting room onto side patio to see lake. After an unpleasant confrontation with reception staff one room was changed to a genuine 'lake view' and the other was offered a discount.I feel the hotel did not supply the rooms as booked and this is totally unacceptable.

    Great location and restaurant.Excellent view from 'Lake View' room balcony (when provided.)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A "lake view" room didn't really have a lake view. It was a bit noisy at night with the "entertainment' in the garden. Room fairly small for the cost.

    Great location right on Lake Garda. Good breakfast. Nice terrace overlooking lake. Convenient parking. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At the hotel and beach there are a limited number of sun loungers available. Other guests were using towels to reserve them. Sometimes they wouldn't even use them until after lunchtime and therefore they were unavailable for our family to use. Not the hotel's fault but it was frustrating. Get your towels out early!! Also, we inadvertently booked "single occupancy" on two double rooms. When we emailed a few days before the stay to check the booking of a double and a twin they added 77 euros per person, per night to the bill. This was much more than another hotel we stayed in the night before which was only 15 euros per person per night. Beware of this and check your bookings are correct. I really could not see how they could justify 77 euros per night for the second person in a room. Finally, the decor is a bit dated in the hotel, compared to our stay in a hotel in Florence. For a 4 star hotel there was little "complimentary" offers. No coffees or teas in the room for instance.

    The staff at the hotel were really amazing, helpful and very friendly. The pool and access to lake were very good. The hotel being between Garda and Bardolino was great for visiting both places and there were places to hire bikes and watersports nearby. Great free excursions - bikes, boats etc. But the hotel could do with telling you what is happening during your stay. We booked a day trip to Venice and then found out there was a free boat trip on the same day. Mostly though it was the staff who made the hotel great. Some of them went above and beyond our expectations!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Lake location was really beautiful and friendly helpful staff made our holiday very enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff,cery good breakfast,friendlly atmosphete

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so pleased with this hotel; from the staff, rooms and breakfast. We highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location between bardolino and garda !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and pool closed too early.

    The buffet was exceptional!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    The helpful pleasant staff. The outside garden/dining area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in a restaurant .only open from 7 till 8-30pm

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good facility and nice view!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room with Lateral Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a balcony very few balconies in this hotel

    Lovely Location and its own beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small windows and balconys

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with space around pool area. Had to be out early to get beds at beach or pool. Unfortunately a lot of people leave towels on beds early often not occupying until nearly lunch time!!!

    Location approx half way between Bardolino & Garda (1.5 km). Friendly staff, private beach across from hotel. Lovely garden area also used for drinks at night.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very minor detail but the gym was somewhat lacking

    Service was amazing, so friendly and helpful. Location also good, easy walk to either Garda or Bordolino and own private beach on doorstep

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff led by Michaila, an excellent Maitra d'hotel, were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You were made to feel at home for the duration of the stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not comfortable, Firm foam type mattress without any spring in it.

    The location, facilities , staff were all very good. Room was reasonable size, good view and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel right on the edge of this beautiful lake with a private beach, fab !

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather :(

    Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room with balcony overlooking lake, quiet, beautiful garden and places to sit, private beech lakeside.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, pool and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Sportsman traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: