Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Starhotels Grand Milan 4 stars

Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy

#1 of 7 hotels in Saronno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3861 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a clean and proper hotel, not a guests house or B&B. The location is close to the train station. The room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. We enjoyed our non-smoking room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The town area was a little weird. Very limited restaurant choices. All the signs about parking at your own risk (in their secure garage) was concerning (everything was fine).

    Location to train station was fantastic, beds comfortable, room clean, and Bathroom & shower a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city wasn't interested to look around. We had to buy a swimming cap and sleepers to get into the pool.

    The hotel was really luxury and comfortable. The swimming pool was really nice. The hotel is located next to the train station. We was perfect for us to stop over as we arrived late evening in Milan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to buy and wear cap and flip flops to the pool....12 euros each so not cheap. Swim cap I understand but the flip flops weren’t necessary as its an indoor pool so not going to be going there in messy shoes.

    This hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and tons of options. Very close to the train station in Saronno so very easy to find. Beautiful pool area. Gorgeous lobby. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my short stay I didn't get a chance to fully explore Saronno. If you research Saronno and plan a trip, this hotel is great. You could also use this hotel as a base for visiting Milan if you research and are happy with train services.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Spacious and clean building. Fair prices overall. Very close to rail services for airport and also Milan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym could do with more equipment - at the very least a cross trainer. Coach loads of locusts, I meant tourists, a sad blight.

    It probably ticked the most boxes for me of any hotel in Italy at this price point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The scrambled egg at breakfast was cold.

    Airco good lighting good everything is excellent.Fridge available, good size. Good WiFi. Carpark but 8euros for garage parking. We were upgraded to a better room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was patchy in areas of the hotel but usable for business purposes.

    The staff are great, always friendly & helpful. Everywhere is always spotlessly clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was located near the elevators and service room - sometimes it was loud.

    Good location for shopping and car travelers. Distance by car to Milano downtown is only about 40 minutes. Free parking (if you will able to find place)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee in room and expensive to purchase one small cup in restaurant. Receptionist at check-in was unpleasant for no reason.

    Darkest, quietest hotel room we have ever slept in. Excellent location for train into Milan. Good family style Italian restaurant right across the street. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool is kind of small (and only 1.35m of depth...).

    The room is big and valued its 4 stars statut. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and there is a carrefour nearby. We do have a swimming pool and sauna room, and some gym equipment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place. Perfect room. Efficiënt check in and check out. Very fast! Extremely capable and friendly staff. An ideal place for a stoppover when tavelling through Europe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning is strange - see the pictures of what we found right after checking in, breakfast is average although the personnel is friendly, another TV (in a bedroom) will definitely make sense, some cosmetic repair is needed here and there

    Spacious family room we stayed at, swimming pool, easy to find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had black slime that came out of the shower head with the water. After moving us to a new room, we asked if the sauna could be turned on sooner than the scheduled 5 pm. The clerk said no, and swore up and down in detail that the sauna could only be turned on by a timer. "Not even the manager can turn it on!" Ironically, the maintenance worker forgot to turn on the sauna that same day. At 5 pm, we and other guests were waiting, and the others had already called for someone to come and turn it on. Thus, the lie was exposed. We had been to the hotel at least twice before and happy, so the lower level of service was disappointing. We left a day early, even though the hotel charged us for the next day.

    Service was up and down. Coffee and service at the bar were good, but a sandwich in the afternoon was terrible. The restaurant was good. One front desk clerk was helpful, but one annoyingly lied about something minor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water was a bit cold and may require some getting used to. The nearby "warm" pool wasnt warm either.

    Almost perfect! Ill try to be as detailed a possible to help future guests - Attendants are very welcoming and very attentive to personal requests I made in advanced. -Free business center (with pcs and printers) downstairs (although i didnt try them) - Breakfast was really amazing with breads, toast, jams, scrambled eggs, bacon, boiled carrots, chicken and turkey wurstel, cold cut hams, tea, milk and soya alternative, cheese, cherry tomatoes, orange and pineapple juice, yogurt, panettone, "crostata"/cake, and fruits. Staff in the hall were nice as well - Nice facilities , gym with modern equipment, a pool, sauna, turkish steam room, with abundance of towels provided in the area. Gym and pool open till 10 pm while sauna is open from 5 pm to 9 pm i think -Room was great and adequately spacious as well, i think every bathroom has a hot tub which is a plus and value for money. Free toiletries provided -Location was 5 mins walk from the train station that brings you to milano cadorna in central milan (18-30 mins depending on the train) within 6 mins walk you can reach a grocery open till 9 pm and a popular american fastfood

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was dripping water from the ceiling in front of the bath room. Lately you need to by flip flop and are forced to use bathing cap (buy) to be able to use the pool. Takes ages to get the bill in the morning.

    Clean and quiet. Standard international hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to have swimming caps to use the pool and flip flops , the hotel could supply this for you but asking to much money, the pool water was cold , on the hallway s to the rooms was cold ( winter time)

    Nice rooms, big beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a suite but on the first night given the wrong room. When we finally got our suite it came with one large double bed and two additional roller single beds. This made no sense. We were expecting 2 proper single beds not guest beds so that wasn’t very comfortable. Also we found the breakfast was limited, didn’t enjoy. It definitely wasn’t value for money we had it on the first night, thereafter we had breakfast elsewher.

    The pool, sauna and steam room were good. The hotel overall was clean and modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've informed the hotel that I will be with two kids beforehand but only one bed was prepered for them. The rooms were not connected as it was shown in the preview, welcome package for kids and adults were not proposed but I've booked the room with this option. Wi-fi works very bad.

    The placement of the hotel is near the reilway station, breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent quality of the room - clean and very comfortable. Great quality breakfast with fresh ingredients and a fabulous pannetone! The view in an old industrial place was not ideal but was not really a problem as the interior of the room was quite nice. Indoor parking use was a bit complicated - but overall ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast tastes really bad, breakfast buffet rather standard and boring. Food in the bar/restaurant is expensive for average quality food. Not a lot of atmosphere in the bar, sounds carry a long way (bad acoustics). Staff without soul, they do not care.

    Ideally located on less than 5 minutes from the motorway for an easy stopover on a long trip. Easy to park the car. Clean and comfortable business like rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good. Clean hotel. Just outside Milan. Great connect to Como area. Good facilities. Comfortable rooms. Good restaurant and breakfast. Spa and swimming pool are nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In every room there is package for one person. Original room 730 was given with dirty napkins left. The cleaning lady madde my room in front of my eyes did very superficial work and didnot really clean the room to the standard I would expect. For instance, floor wasn't wiped or vacumed. etc

    Generally everything was fine, but devil is always in details

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is too dark. The lights are few and weack. There's no power outlets near the bed.

    The hotel is very beautiful. Very big. Many elevators. A good area for parking the car. Breakfast is not expensive Eur 10 and is very good. The bathroom is very big

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast didn't feel like the highest quality of ingrediënts were used. Eggs a little dry, overall it didn't go down so well. The atmosphere and surroundings made up for it!

    The room which felt like a suite, and service, was wonderful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast: The food on the hot plates (bacon, sausages, fried eggs, vegetables) was only lukewarm. Credit card: Don't forget to bring the credit card you entered on booking.com. They refused another credit card during check-out and stated this as a reason.

    Efficient check-in/check-out. Great location near the railway station with good connections to Milan and the airport. Very good breakfast except for the food on the hot plates. Large, comfortable hotel room with all facilities I needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This very nice luxury hotel is located 25km from Milan city center. I don’t know how one gets to the city by public transport, but I’m sure it’s possible. Staff is professional and helpful, as one would expect from such a hotel. Everything is clean and working. They even have swimming pool that they encourage guests to use. Cap and slippers are mandatory and can be obtained from reception free of charge. I loved the bed. I haven’t slept so good in ages. Room was spacious, clean, comfy, cozy, well decorated. There’s quite a good restaurant and coctail bar on the ground floor. Coctain bar also serves sandwiches. I didn’t check the reviews about the area around the hotel, but I guess it’s safe to park outside. Underground parking costs €7/night. Breakfast is plentiful with everything from omelette and müsli to sweet croissants. I enjoyed it. Overall I would definitely go there again as for the money I paid it is significantly better than similar hotel in Milan city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room fan is working all the time and cannot be off

    staff very good people close to soronna train station rooms is OK close to some restraint, 24 Hrs. market

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you plan on going to Milan but find the hotels in Milan expensive, book this hotel. it's the best decision i made during my Euro trip. It has a train station at 2mins walking distance. Take the train to Duomo and you will be in Milan within 20mins.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an upgraded 'Relax' room with tea making facilities and business access wifi which is great BUT there should have been more milk etc with this - very continental and we're English!

    Courteous staff; lovely big rooms, reception and bar; excellent range of foods available for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing, THIS IS A GREAT HOTEL

    This hotel is a perfect stop in the area, comfortable 4 star for 3 star prices. Substantial social area, bar is perfect, resteraunt PERFECT, yet well priced. I WILL RETURN.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was set up for one person instead of two with only one set of towels placed in the bathroom. The other set can be found in the wardrobe... which was very strange. It gives you the feeling that one of the guests is hardly recognised!

    The hotel maintained its high standard and a high level of customer service. I like everything about this hotel, its design, the spacious reception area, the restaurant, bar, the great selection at breakfast, the rooms, and the fact that it is within walking distance to Saronno Centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really a good choice for all travellers. The only possible area for improvement could be a couple more warm meals during the breakfast. But, having said that, I still think that it was very good for the money we had paid.

    Great staff. Everyone was so friendly, laid back in a positive way and I really felt genuinely welcome. I really wish I had a better memory for names but it was so many positive people I could not possibly remember. We have also had couple of non-standard requests and they were all welcome without any shadow of an issue and in a very swift manner. In other words, good old Italian hospitality at its' best and, last but not least, the price/quality ratio for the accommodation and parking was exceptional!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2 baby beds given were very old and one of them was broken. The staff has not been very friendly, especially the reception when we came in, but as well when we left. No facilities for children, like games, or children corner.

    We had a big apartment with big rooms, very spacious. The breakfast was good and the staff was helpful to make mashed fruits for the children. The location was good, close to the highway, as we made a stop over for one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast and cosy room, very clean. Our room opened to a construction site, which was not the most pleasant view, but overall this hotel is good value for money, considering that we were on a business trip, going to Rho Expo area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a good deal on the room, but everything else turned out to be very expensive Unfortunately there is no children's menu, so dining out is expensive and not for picky eaters. Breakfast was below par for this category. It's good for transit, but I'd be dissapointed for a longer stay.

    Very spacious and comfortable room. Nice swimming pool and lots of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not suitable for people visiting milano city. The hotel is in another city. Train takes long time to get you there then you need to use underground...etc. Doors are not sound proof very early in the morning around 5am there's alwaus noise in the corridors.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reservation true booking.com - credit card UNFAIR policy (not clear if hotel or booking.com). The amount blocked on the credit card during accomodation and charged once more after 3 days...The originally "reserved" money is still blocked.

    Nice modern accomodation. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Solid breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Cleanliness was very good. Really good facility's, nice restaurant, bar and swimming pool etc. Staff were helpful. Good location for central Milan and the Monza circuit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pity that you have to buy swimmingcaps (for 5 euro each...). The view from the room was not great (building site).

    Easy to reach from the highway and underground parking so very practical when you're on your way to or from Italy. Large family room and a nice and quiet swimmingpool too! Nice pizzeria in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the coffee at the breakfast should be better :) Italians have such a great coffee and what they serve is not the best :)))

    A very good hotel. Great room . Nice restaurant. Nice parking. So good for someone traveling for business

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in the small city centre where the mood is not nice. The supermarket close to the hotel is very convenient but it was chaos and very dirty though this has nothing to do with this hotel.

    We booked the room on the day we stayed and the room rate was very good. Check-in was very quick which was good after the long drive and the room was spacious and clean. Breakfast has a lot of choices and I think it was better than the average Italian breakfast. There were lot of free parking spaces in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of facilities in the hotel were equiped and confortable for the family tourists but a little regret that some of staffs were too much busy to ask something and unkind to the customers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though the room was large, there were no facilities in it that would be expected, such as kettle, coffee. Though the room had a kitchen, there were no utensils, nor crockery. We did not use the pool, but understand that a swimming cap and slippers are required (this is not usual in most hotels) and these come at a cost of E5 and E7 if you cannot supply your own. This was very disappointing and the phrase 'rip off' sprang to mind!

    Family room is a large suite, foyer is impressive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The menu in the restaurant is very limited and not suitable for all kids. - Staff in restaurant could be less formal. - The room service menu is very good for children - Cover charge in hotel restaurant ...NOT DONE!

    Good breakfast buffet Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In relation to the level of the hotel I would expect a richer breakfast with more food options

    For us it was a temporary stop on a long trip by car. I appreciated the private parking availability and the position close to the motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I understand completely, it's too bad they allow dogs in the room, reception area, etc. but not in the breakfast area.

    Ideal location on your way to the South.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a one bedroom apartment. The living room has no TV, coffee, or tea even no complementary water. In addition, breakfast doesn't have a good variety.

    Quite, clean, easy to reach, and very good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to do in the area itself, however cannot fault the hotel. Only niggle was that there was no kettle in the room (reserved for deluxe rooms only).

    We were looking to stay near the airport hence why we chose this hotel. It is a 5 min straight walk from Saronno train station. It is every bit a 4 star hotel but the location is a bit of a let down. We arrived from Central Milan Station via train in approx 15-20 mins. Nice interior very vast. Rooms are spacious and have a safe and mini fridge. Very clean. Lovely bathroom. Laundry facilities available on Level -1. Iron is free to use but the washing and drying machines cost 5 euros each to use (which the reception staff will swap for a coin) per cycle but you have to provide your own washing powder. The breakfast room and choices of breakfast are excellent and included: whole & chopped fresh fruit (melon/pineapple/strawberries/grapes/peaches and more), buffalo / ricotta cheese. Yoghurt (very tasty) with a choice of apricot / apple puree. Chopped walnuts / linseed. Granola (very nice with the yoghurt) / coco pops / cornflakes. Apricot & cherry jams/ marmalade / honey / chocolate spread. 2 fresh fruit juice choices. Prunes. Selection of meats including turkey sausages. Scrambled eggs. Variety of croissants filled and plain. Selection of white / wholemeal rolls. Apricot & cherry pies / chocolate marble cake. Chocolate milkshake powder. Selection of teas. Plus point was definitely that there is a 24hr Carrefour supermarket literally 5 min walk away and a McDonalds adjacent to that. There is a Four Seasons restaurant which is fairly new again only a 5 min walk from the hotel. Thank goodness for the indoor pool which kids loved complete with loungers. The sauna was closed but steam room / turkish hammam available. Please save yourselves money and go equipped with your own swimming hats and slippers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great position: walking distance from city centre. Nearby a bank a pizzeria a pasticceria and a 24/7 Carrefour are located. The room was clean and comfortable. The personnel was gentle and keen to help us. Breakfast was great: rich and good. I would recommend if you want to visit Milan or close by cities. It is close to the highway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a kitchenette in the room with microwave but this is not connected however it was not advertised in the spec. Would have liked information in the room about the hotel and area plus area map

    Very comfortable rooms and spacious Swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the best breakfast i ever had but was never in hotel in Italy before so maybe just standard.

    Ok hotel, nothing special but close to train station. Nice relax area with swimmingpool and sauna but you need to wear swim hat even if you dont have long hair.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we ordered a room with 1 double and two single beds we received one with a sofa bed. We had to ask twice to have it changed. The breakfast was poor for a hotel in this category.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The key-cards are rather sensitive : if you put them in your pocket next to your smartphone they loose the code and you need the card to be refreshed at the front desk. (so do not keep it close to your phone !)

    fluently speaking foreign languages by the staff - which I noticed afterwards is not so obvious in Italy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a smoking room at first (it was not mentioned at booking.com that we had to choose between smoking and non-smoking). We were able to switch rooms.

    Super wifi! Worked always & fast, as it should. Nice clean rooms Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is very good for the motorway and to walk into town. The rooms are spacious. The restaurant is excellent for a very nice dinner as well as breakfast. Secure parking is quite reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel at check in was not very friendly, also not unfriendly but made some grumpy/bored impression. Maybe due to late night time, but that should not be an issue in such hotel.

    OK for overnight stay on trips to or from southern Europe, near to the highway. We used it on way back from Corsica to Northern Germany. Reception open all night, though unclear if check in after midnight is possible; we arrived 15 minutes before and that was fine. Room is standard for such big business hotel, nothing special but equipment ok and everything there you need. Public parking places outside hotel, and also underground car park which is to be paid. Breakfast was OK and included in our rate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a single small television in the two rooms looks a bit inadequate. The hotel restaurant is not recommended.

    The suite I booked for the family (4 people) was spacious with two rooms separated. Very good noise isolation, reception very friendly and efficient. Closed parking available under the Hotel (7 EURO/night). Breakfast was fairly good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virgilio is the most friendly and helpful host I've ever met. When going to the Cascata, he had a discount from the hotel for us. The room - actually apartment - was huge and lovely. The breakfast is very good - all types of sweet. Another plus is the parking and garage. This hotel is near the lovely center of Terni (with a lot of restaurants and bars) and close to many lovely cities like Spoleto, Marmore, Orvieto and even Rome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite a very late checkin (00:30) the staff tried to sell us a membership card instead of speeding up the process and giving us instructions for the parking. Staff at breakfast wasn't great either, very loud and annoyed despite the fact that guests were still serving breakfast, which was very basic anyways.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to remark.

    Hotel is offering perfect quality for a competitive price incl. a very good breakfast compared to normal breakfast contents in typical Italian hotel accommodations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for 4person(2adults,2 children). But the room we checked-in was not ready(only 1king bed!!) so We had to call the reception and wait for the setting extra beds at 10pm. The turkish sauna was closed for work.

    Free late check-out at 2pm instead of noon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff and general service was very poor and the tried to charge me when I had paid in full a few months ago saying that my card was blocked. They only backed down and said they made a mistake when I went to show them the full payment on my online banking they made no apology for their error.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just an idea to improve the wonderful service, would be nice to have magnifying mirror in the bathroom to help with applying make up.

    Extremely helpful staff. I forgot to bring adapter for the phone, when I mentioned at the reception they immediately offered me the one. Answered all questions in detail, always very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was there as part of a tour group, but also 4 days on my own. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. Beautiful facility and close to a nice town and train. Very impressed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    PC in business center did not work properly. I can't print out my documents. Receptionists can't help me. Wi-fi worked properly only second day. It was disgasting during the first day. Staff at the breakfast failed to prepare tables. We have to help ourselves.

    Big, quiet and clean room. Location near Saronno railway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for money. We needed to spend a night somewhere before making our way to Varenna. We did not want to spend a night in Milan due to arriving so late at Malpensa airport. Saronno was on the way to Lake Como and Starhotels Grand Milan was incredible value for money and just what we needed as it was open late, we were able to get food and drinks at the bar and bed was huge and comfortable! It is also a 5 minute walk to the train station!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really like this hotel. When I am in this area I always prefer it. It is quite, clean and it is located in a strategic area (close to the highway and close to the railway)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Connections. The hotel is near a small railway station, but, apart from this.. on Saturday morning it was impossible to find a regular taxi to leave the hotel. (we had to find a solution using UBER)

    A business hotel, convenient, correctly priced, perfect WIFI, clean, with extremely comfortable rooms (among the largest rooms and toilets I have ever seen). It's not an hotel "de charme" ... but something extremely practical and functional. Parking space. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As English travellers we could have only asked for more tea and more milk in the room!

    Excellent helpful staff in a great hotel that offers great value for money. This time - been there 5 or 6 times before as we have family nearby - we had a luxury room with kettle and wifi included, well worth the little extra cost. Fantastic breakfasts!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was mediocre, esp. price/ quality. It was expensive but convenient. expected more from Italiens.

    breakfast good. room clean and comfortable Perfect hotel for passing through or visit milan and surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and friendly staff always wearing a smile, spacious room and comfortable beds, excellent breakfast with lots of choice and high quality food, easy underground parking for 7 euro per night, will come back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi - was not working anywhere that I attempted to login on the premises. Staff - range from very helpful to surly. Management need to sort this out. Management systems - were causing problems with room key entry and certain other guest functions. Hopefully, all these are teething problems.

    The hotel facilities were all in place and I could have awarded a higher score were it not for wifi and room key entry problems. The setup and location are excellent - particularly if Milan is not the destination. Saronno is ideally situated between Milan and Como.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is patchy around the hotel, in some places really good but others almost no cover

    Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, if only al hotels were this good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wearing a cap in swimming is just crazy. No instructions for sauna leads to have people with swim suit inside which is contradicting to swimming pool caps. Useless kitchen on the room because there is no stuff for cooking.

    Comfortable bad and very nice and clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Starhotels Grand Milan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: