Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stesicorea Palace 3 stars

Piazza Stesicoro,56, 95100 Catania, Italy

#44 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was put on another place for my first day, on Gianluca Rooms, who is owned by the same person, because they told me when I arrived that there was a problem with my room. It was not a bad room, but not inside the hotel that I had booked. Also they did not send me a notification of this change before I arrived, they just announced that to me the moment I arrived. I said I did not agree with that, but they kept saying that there is no alternative, that my room has a problem (but did not let me see that room to verify that there was actually a problem there). I did not have wifi, they gave me a password but could not tell me which was the name of the wifi, so I had to try all the wifis available to find out which one it was, and I never found one for which the password they gave me was valid. There was of course no reception in those Rooms, there was too much noise at night by other residents. There was not enough light, only small lamposts but not a central one, and I had mentioned that I was travelling for work, which was very difficult for me to do without enough light. In general I was dissatisfied with booking in a hotel and ending up in a B&B. Of course this was only for the first night, then they moved me to a room at the hotel, which was not bad.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be better. Probably the tourists won't mind paying an extra 2-3 Euros to have included something cooked(like omlette or fried eggs) or some vegetables. On the other hand, it is ok the way it is. The mattresses could be better, but it is ok for 3-4 nights - yet again this is a subjective matter. The blanket in the room could have some other filling - it is filled with feathers - because of that I experienced some allergy symptoms and I could not use it. Those described above are not deal-breakers, but only minore improvement that could be made.

    Location is perfect - close to the central station, close to all the main attractions, right in one of the most crowded and teen-packed square. I liked that, but if you are into extra-quietness that could be a minor issue. It was not my case. Also, in the vicinity of the hotel the is a very big bazaar-like market with almost everything you can think of. Big Room with small bathroom, but enough to fill your needs. Keep in mind that this is an old building with very thick and high walls and the bathrooms are build inside according to the space that they had. Staff is very friendly and polite. I recommed you having the breakfast here; it saved us for a very big trouble that we could had with food in the morning because it is not a resuartant-packed city and the opening and closing hours are tricky. Even if the city could appear a little frightening, there is no need to worry. In spite of all the chaos and the suburb first feeling, everything was very safe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that when you come in you find yourself infront of a staircase with no lift and help to take up your baggage. Also at the door there was a smell that thank god once up it disappeared. And that the shower was very very very, very small

    Room was very big and very central. From the hotel you could reach easily all the important places with in few metres. Market was only across the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, the room smelled like bleach (at least the bathroom was clean). The blanket in the closet had someone else‘s hair on it.

    Super central location, next to the shuttle to the airport and the metro. The staff was helpful in finding restaurants, activities, etc. The room was big

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and we had a heavy suitcase to carry up.

    We were room only but there were plenty of cafés nearby. The central location was a bonus as unfortunately the weather was wet! Our Etna tour picked up from very near the hotel. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This small hotel is ideally located in the middle of Catania close to public transport, good restaurants, shops and the main tourist/pedestrian area. The room was large, very clean and air-conditioned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairway was a minor issue.

    The room was very clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The location was perfect, close to everything we wanted to see and close enough to the train station. Can definately recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 10.00 pm, the hotel was not lit up and was only a doorway so hard to find at night. Door entry is by ringing the bell. Checked in then went next door for a salad at Maccas and 30 minutes later tried to re-enter the hotel. Waited over 15 minutes before someone opened the door. This was quite scary later at night and unacceptable. We would not recommend this hotel.

    Very little

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing wrong, we liked it.. very good value for money

    The location is perfect, the staff is the best you could wish for.. they make anything in their power to help you.. once i asked to suggest an italian restaurant and they even accompaned us themselves to the restaurant..i recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the heart of catania!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was noisy, but this comes from being in such a central location. Who is the council guy who uses a blower at 4am???

    A good choice for a night or two. Everything that could be controlled such as staff and cleanliness etc. were excellent. I had an early flight so left before breakfast and so I can't comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No noise from the street but only a soft rustle of air conditioners; anyway I slept fairly well in the comfortable double bed. In the morning nothing more than a sober breakfast.

    Stesicorea Palace is a small property placed in one of the most typical and busy squares of the baroque city center of Catania, five minute walking from the cathedral and the opera theater. My room was on the rear of the building: everything looked clean and well maintained, the bathroom was essential but clean and properly working; the air conditioner was sufficiently powerful, which in Catania is an indispensable facility. Last but not least the staff is very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location to get around - close to bus & metro. Very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs.

    Value for money and perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good shopping

    good loction

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    furniture was old

    in the center of the square

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the city center. Clean and cozy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a pity there isnt a lift.

    The service is good and we were happy.The only problem was that there is no lift instead of the stairs.Tks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, a few minutes from Catania cathedral. The room was big, not new or modern, but comfortable, nice staff, good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stair on arrival.

    Room basic but very clean and the location is great. Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like a B&B than a hotel

    Very helpful staff, help to arrange activities and transport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra blankets in the closet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are not really soundproof. Comfort relatively basic.

    Nicely located in vicinity of most of the points of interest of the city. Easy to reach by bus from the airport with a bus stop only 20 meters away from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The stairs and outside noises

    The position and staff

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location in the centre of Catania. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lift and no WiFi in te room

    Location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Stesicorea Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: