Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Strozzi Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via de' Vecchietti 4, Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#215 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial room allocation was below par.

    Initially we were allocated a twin share attic room that was uncomforttably hot and claustrophobic. Thre was also numerous stairs to climb to the attic. We requested a room change and received a junior suite for the same price which we were very happy with. Our rating is based on the suite allocation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I searched on Booking.com for a four-star hotel. This was not a four-star hotel. The initial rooms we were given were not at all like the photos on the website. There was no room service, no fitness facilities. The bathroom appeared clean, but the shower size was tight, barely enough room to shampoo my hair. Minimal bath products. Asked the staff to print my airline boarding pass; they tried but were unable to do it.

    Location. Staff attempted to help us when we complained about our rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast offering was poor. Scrambled egg overdone and not replenished both mornings. Sliced frankfurters-awful.

    Very central location. Easy access to everywhere. Safe area. Room was a generous size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you travel by car, you need to leave it to public parking, which will cost you extra 28-35 euros, it was not quite clear at the moment of booking

    The location is really great and the hotel offers a lovely welcome drink

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, while nice and clean, did not have the bathrobes, slippers and airport shuttle (which was located at the train station). We usually end our trips, with the nicest hotel. This was not what we expected. The last day the elevator did not work and the lobby is actually already up a flight of stairs. The breakfast was nice. But again, not above average. However, the staff was extremely helpful and much appreciated. The chandelier on the tray ceiling was a pretty touch. I would go back again, but the description needs to be rewritten to reflect what is there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    The hotel is very good for a short stay if you want to see the city. There is no parking in the hotel but the hotel offers parking nearby - they take your car and bring it back when you need. The price is quite high for this but you have sit of no choice - parking in the old city is very hard. Breakfast is ok but could be better especially coffee which was not good. Rooms are small but ok. You can hear what is going on in the neighboring room but this is usual in hotels. Overall we liked the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a tight squeeze and the doors worked okay to keep the water inside. The mattress was too hard and uncomfortable; it was a king bed made of two twin mattresses and there was a gap in the middle of the bed which was somewhat unpleasant.

    The location of the hotel was great. We were able to walk to the hotel from the train station as the taxi line was really long. We were able to walk to all the nearby attractions. The size of the room was great; it was very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed for 5 days and would have liked more variety in the breakfast buffet. It was adequate but was the same every day.

    Excellent location, central to all of the main attractions in Florence. Walking distance to Santa Novella train station. Large, clean room that was serviced daily. I would stay here again and recommend to friends. Able to leave luggage with staff for late departure at no extra cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three rooms,are just off reception area. I believe their numbers were 12, 14 and 15. Ours was small, dark and noisy. Definitely the worst room in our six week journey. Mini bar fridge was room temperature even though it was running. Reception area is up a short flight of stairs without accommodation for luggage except the old heave-ho. Given high ratings on reviews and the price, we expected more. it was a disappointing experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was not working properly. The worst was having belongings stolen which then magically appeared supposedly under the bed. Which I never kept clothing near my bedding area. The receptionist basically implied I was lying and that I had misplaced my clothing. The receptionist Cecilia was not willing to listen and was on the defense when I was trying to explain that it was impossible for my clothing to be pushed under the bed unless someone willingly placed them there. She was not willing to reason at all with the possibility of having hired someone who was not only being dishonest but being a thief towards her guest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast, AC in the room had horrible sound, toilet very small, no slippers or bathrobes..definitely not a 4 star hotel

    Location only.. very central, you can go walking to all attractions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower.

    My room was very good. At the top of the building. I loved my view, the people at the desk were very helpful and concerned about my late luggage.The accommodations were comfortable. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection in the room is a bit slow.

    The hotel is situated in the heart of the city center. The staff is cordial and always available to provide support.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs in the entrance and also a little bit smelly in that area

    Great location and very friendly staff (the afternoons male recepcionist was really helpful) Rooms were spacious not very modern except for bathrooms recently remoled

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast really really poor!! They can improve it a lot!!!! Elevator is a pain... You can be ages waiting for it ... Heater in the room make so much noisy ...

    Location and the big bed :) Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Breakfast staff person was responsive to our needs all 3 mornings and provided cappuccino on request. We were welcomed downstairs with luggage assistance that went directly to our room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in November. We like a controlled temperature at all times. This was quite disappointing for us & also we could not kept the window open due to mosquitoes & the noise. Though the website mentioned air conditioning, we got to know that they kept it shut during winter months, though it was not that cold. Also the rooms, curtains & sheets seem too old & worn.

    The perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing about this hotel undoubtedly is its location. Rooms are big and spacious. The breakfast was adequate but nothing too fancy. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were rude and I never got my free welcome drink as promised. Breakfast choices were poor . Room was creepy and very noisey. The room was very dark and the windows didn't open so i felt very trapped . There were scratches on the walls . Furniture was dark and outdated .

    Bathroom was nice and clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift it's tiny little thing just enough space for 2 bag and urself. No one on the door to help with the luggage.

    Nice Breakfast, great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic, staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was nice with a good selection. Room was huge and was nice to have a couch and desk! Free wifi was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night. We stayed at the 2nd floor and the traffic was load. The airconditioner had a lot of sound too.

    Nice place, close to everything. Great service and rooms. I really recomend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough variety for the breakfast, but it was ok

    location was perfect (in the center) Big room Big bathroom with all facilities (toothbrush, towel. shower gel, soap.....) WiFi was fast also

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was very loud making it difficult to sleep.

    Helpful front-desk. Location very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from street and small lift.

    Location,location. Size of room and bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is very kind but breakfast and bedroom nee some improvement.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, beautiful location, wonderful staff...an absolute gem of a hotel. I will recommend to anyone...felt like a true palace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance stairs / Narrow lift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower inside tub. Reception is on first floor.

    Location, character of building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wall view. stains on the walls. dirty. old hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very friendly people and kind. Comfortable - central - and quiet. i was happy at Strozzi Palace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room air conditioner not working well so room was quite hot.

    Great breakfast and great staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful, small hotel, just steps from The Duomo!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Location was excellent.Staff were very helpful.Room was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stuff and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was somewhat below average for Italy

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff! Positive and serviceminded!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely place. good location and friendly stuff. good breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound of the elevator machinery

    Geographical location, on a quiet street yet very close to the historical district Nice and clean property

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lift was tiny

    location was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelly not clean and old it should not be a 4 star hotel.

    Only location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Still a few mosquitoes about in November!

    Fantastic location and super helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is a bit small.

    The room was really spacious and the bathroom very clean, modern and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furnishings need updating but overall very comfortable.

    Central location, good price, staff very friendly be helpful. Great choice at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure, all was fine for me

    Friendly person at reception and breakfast service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had no warm food

    Location , staff helpful attitude and cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5 star location, otherwise 3 star hotel - this is perhaps how they got the 4 star label. Avoid room 15 - dark and noisy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the stairs with luggage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and spacious, comfortable bed. Clean and tidy. Excellent location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great! Really near to the center and all main shops. The staff was really nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location was great, but The lobby has a smell , room was clean. Overall is ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very pricey for what was provided

    great location small hotel and lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location good staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need major updates. The beds were uncomfortable and the shower was very outdated.

    Great Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Audible voices from adjoining room.

    Friendly and helpful receptionist. Central location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just ok Has some stairs, which for us wasnt a problem, but could be.

    The old style makes it real cozzy Location is great Breakfast is ok Has wifi

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't think that this problem is found only in this Hotel, but most hotels in Italy as well, and that's the BED. we asked for the king size bed, and we got 2 single beds brought together, which leaves a big space in the middle.

    Staff was nice and welcoming, breakfast was fair, and the location IS PERFECT, very central but in a relatively quiet area, which is not the case of most central hotels

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is a bit dated Breakfast is pretty simple, not much variety The shower was a bit old fashioned and not easy to use - got water everywhere! Stairs up to the lift - we had very heavy bags so wasn't ideal but we did have them taken down to the car when we left which was great

    Friendly staff Great location Good price Clean Huge rooms

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warm welcome. The helpful and friendly staff are professional and reliable. We appreciated being greeted by the provision of water and fruit. The location is excellent. The staff are very knowledgable and care about their guests. Strozzi Palace is spotless and has very well serviced rooms. Always happily and confidently recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems at all!

    Although it is an economic and simple hotel, that is what you need when you travel. Service was excellent...with every one of the team present from Strozzi. They answered every question and fulfilled every need. Wifi was excellent and breakfast just what I needed. :) Location was spectacular from my perspective!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access by car. Very difficult to find even with GPS navigation. Be sure to call in advance and get directions as the staff can definitely help you get there quickly and easily while avoiding many no traffic zones that can fine you by camera!

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Close to major tourist sites and well within walking distance. Lots of local restaurants and shops.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was helpful and very responsive! Location was central which made it easy to get to the attractions that we wanted to visit. Lots of room compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were extremely helpful and very welcoming. Excellent location and rooms were clean. Gave us a great recommendation for pizza restaurant nearby which has great food. Lovely spot in Florence, central to everything.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location (with hardly any traffic noise), helpful staff, clean rooms (but thin walls), breakfast quite ok, and luckily a pc available for customers (as my tablet computer didn't work)

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, quiet at night

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no proper bar only one by the breakfast buffet. rooms dated. lift small (2 people).

    location.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    PLACE

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spend a week and the stay was very comfortable. Hotel location is great .

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's listed as 4-star but no way it's close to it. It's just an average place to stay.

    Good location. Front desk staffs were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Super location and courteous staff :-)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, very kind and helpful. Hotel distance from Piazza della Repubblica is just a one minute by walk.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Strozzi Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: