Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Su Marmuri 3 stars

Corso V. Emanuele 20, 08040 Ulassai, Italy

#3 of 6 hotels in Ulassai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to not like at this hotel!

    I chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews - and it was the only one I booked for two days (also based on the great reviews!). I was not disappointed. For me, a hotel is more than just its room and accommodations, how I am treated matters most- especially in a country where I don't speak the language. Hotel Su Marmuri is a little out of the way - but what a delightful detour through the mountains - amazing views! And there is so much to do in the area! I visited the Su Marmuri Grotta, the nearby Nuraghi and walked around the village quite a bit. I saw serious climbers on a cliff - one which, by the way, can be viewed from the hotel's upstairs dining room window. The hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, breakfast is plentiful, and yes, the owners have such a wonderful personal touch, quite exceptional. On my first night, a group of British bikers had booked a dinner, and this service was offered to me as well. I enjoyed atypical Sardinian dinner with a lasagne so amazing, I am sure I'll never have the pleasure of such a wonderful version again. I don't know how anyone can fit 6 layers into one inch and achieve such a taste burst, delicate, yet flavorful. On the second night, guests were offered a free tour to the local grotto -- wow! armed with a few flashlights we squeezed through a pretty small opening, down a ladder -- very cool. Another couple of plusses: Son speaks excellent English, and the Wifi in the main building is pretty good. I used this hotel as a stop in the mountains as I traveled from the east to the west coast- it worked out great. While the coast of Sardinia has many amazing beaches, I strongly recommend checking out the interior as well! Truly recommend this hotel and wish the owners the best!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excessive heatwave required air conditioning in the bedroom but this was made easier by the altitude.

    My second visit to this interesting town. The family run hotel was as welcoming as ever and very helpful with some research questions on Maria Lai. Bedroom spacious. Breakfasts great with plenty of fruit and Madeira Cake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't find it. This property is behind a high wall and the name is written in the wall and difficult to spot in the dark. We got told off for being late even though we had phoned twice to say we were lost. There is no lift. The shower curtain did not fit and the floor flooded when using the shower. Parking is outside on the road. No lift. Food at breakfast was limited but the coffee was good.

    This is quite a traditional hotel. Air conditioning works. Nice gardens

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived a little early, no one anywhere to be found.

    View.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given room in an annex. Clean but sterile, with white tile floor. All the basics, but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinary service!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from cars in back street..

    close to grotta and nice walks in mountains. very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was bright and spacious - everything was super clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hotel staff. The village has a great and unique location with spectecular view. Not crowded during the high season.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable hotel, pleasant staff and good dinner in nice village with good views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All great!

    Brilliant location, fantastic room with an amazing view. Very friendly staff and great breakfast to boot! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old but reasonably clean and functional. Nice Sardian scent in the room interior

    Old structure, but well maintained. Good value for price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breathtaking and outstanding views of the mountains, the valleys and the sea. The hotel is run by a lovely family who will go out of their way to help people and their guests. They're very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has beautiful decor with some traditional arts and crafts. We look forward to return again soon and we recommend this hotel. Ulàssai is perfect for outdoor activities such as climbing, visiting the waterfalls, the Su Marmuri cave, the Stazione dell'Arte museum. The sea is only a 20 min drive and it's just an hour and a half drive to Cagliari via the new motorway but you can also take the more picturesque road through the mountains. The village has a lovely pizzeria, pharmacy and tobacconist. The next town is just a few minutes drive away.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very welcoming, great breakfasts, great location. Staff even offered a meal to share with other guests

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The perfect place to stay in Ulassai. The staff were very gentle.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very helpful staff

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Browse Su Marmuri traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: