Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Su Gologone 4 stars

Localita Su Gologone, 08025 Oliena, Italy

#8 of 21 hotels in Oliena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 367 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Great food. Perfect for a short trip and some downtime. Expect laid back service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disappointments were the referrals of where to go and where to eat close by. They were terrible. Having someone knock on our door to clean before 830 a few times was pretty irritating. Front of house staff needed to be more attentive too but all in all it was a rustic hotel so we’d not expected to have 5* treatment.

    The food was just amazing albeit a limited menu if you planned to stay for a week and eat at the hotel each time. We loved the number of little areas you could go to (and have a drink if you wished). It was very laid back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, the setting is just magic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable - the bed frame was causing the mattress to raise in the middle and slope down on each side making it feel like you are sleeping on an angle. We had to move the mattress to the floor! For the price of the rooms they should upgrade the beds. Also the pool area could definitely use some upgrading.

    Fantastic location, the setting is just magic. We also really enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the bar terraces overlooking the mountain.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A beautiful place in the heart of Sardinia❤️ We did enjoy...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful place in the heart of Sardinia❤️ We did enjoy the calmness in the wilderness environment. The food is delicious with local commodities. The staff is friendly and polite. We will come back!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice stay in a nice location in a nice area. However, services did not reach the price level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard; infrastructure aged and not perfectly maintained (shower); Service in the restaurant was not at the „price level“ (too rushy); No support for any activities other than the few offered excursions; The room was once not locked after the cleaning!

    Location and surrounding landscape.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Very nice location and configuration of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big and crowded, sometimes it felt a little bit too old and used. For sure too much expensive compared to other places

    Very nice location and configuration of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a catastrophy No newspaper Wake up call forgotten Breakfast at the room not delivered but extra charged No service Restaurant is good for once but not twice Pool bar food is basic supermarket food Not eco friendly And not artistic but pretend to be Not worth 360 euro!

    The pool And the sucking pig at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything is beautiful and very romantic : excellent stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is beautiful and very romantic : excellent stay for our honeymoon! The swimming pool was so refreshing during hot days, you can hang and chill out in absolutely every corner enjoying mountain view and so many flowers.. We loved the restaurant and their Italian breakfast. Our dog was also happy in the freshly air conditioned room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    A gorgeous hotel in the mountains, it has such a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gorgeous hotel in the mountains, it has such a great atmosphere & plenty of hidden gems to find in the grounds. The staff are fantastic are always happy to help in any way they can. The restaurant is excellent & reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Great food- keep dreaming about the pain aux raisins for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Shower (just a hand-held shower), barely any soaps - just a bodywash/shampoo combo. Would have expected shampoo and conditioner for the price. Mosquitoes in room post-cleaning.

    Great food- keep dreaming about the pain aux raisins for breakfast. AC worked well. Sunscreen provided at pool. Very cool textiles and art everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place for try the very Sardinian way's of life. In the middle of th island, you could explore all the original tastes and feelings of native traditions. Surely a must stop for smart travelers exploring the island!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Hiking & dining experience in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. With 2 bags we could hardly move in it. We had bad luck as it rained, so a lot of the areas the hotel provided was understandably shut.

    The breakfast is fantastic! Very generous in the selections of all options they provide.. The staff were professional & friendly. The restaurant for dinner is also very excellent! I recommend the roast pork!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very kind and helpful particularly the men at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared to other hotel we stayed on in Sardegna and their qualities this one was a bit to expensive in our mind.

    The staff was very kind and helpful particularly the men at the reception desk, who worked with a big smile for everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole property is very tired. The bathroom in our bedroom smelt very strongly of sewerage/mould and mildew, to the extent that we couldn’t have the door open. It was thoroughly cleaned after we complained but I expect more from a hotel this expensive. It was far too expensive for what it was.

    The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel grounds were very pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced old hotel with very bad restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities: shower, toilet not working had to complain three times. Fitness is a joke with very old equipment. Dinner was very bad, not fresh, Mass production. For this price unbelievable! You might expert better...

    Location is nice and atmosphere of hotel special, nice artwork and outside areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it rained heavely on our stay non stop, which of course the hotel couldn‘t help. Very restricted with the rain.

    The room was beautiful. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Su Gologone is a perfect place to relax and unwind surrounded by understated luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a wonderful stay at Su Gologone. The property is set in beautiful surroundings amongst dramatic cliffs and olive trees. Understated luxury throughout with great attention to detail and many traditional pieces of art. Lovely big pool. The rooms are laid out in a number of buildings amongst the established garden giving the impression of calm. Had an absolutely gorgeous room with a hot tub on the balcony. Joined a detox weekend programme which was run very well with lots of fresh juices and yoga. This hotel is a real gem and I will be back with the family soon!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is a boutique hotel designed with traditional Sardinian furniture but with a luxury feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes about 2h from Alghero airport but the trip is worth it for the amazing experience.

    Everthing was above my expectations. The location of the hotel is amazing, with great view to the nearby mountains. The room I stayed in had a huge terrace with a big bathtub. Overall,it felt like a magical place, where one can wind down and enjoy the amazing local cuisine. The staff is very attentive and always kind and accommodating to every wishes. I wish I had stayed more than one weekend, but I will definitely return for another stay or to organize a special event.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is quite something. We have never stayed anywhere quite like it before. It's a sort of maze of corridors, terraces, sitting areas, bars etc , all full of flowers and art works and bright colours, all set in magnificent scenery. So I would recommend it. The only real negative comment I would have is the music. There is completely inappropriate loud music played in most of the bars and cafes. This really annoyed us when having a drink in the early evening in the beautiful bar on the roof. We were sitting outside, the sun had set, the mountains all around were turning pink, birds were singing. It was idyllic , or would have been, had the bar staff not been playing loud heavy metal type music. It completely spoiled the atmosphere as far as we were concerned. Some quiet music or even, dare I suggest it, silence would have been so much better. We checked at the bar on each of the next 2 nights of our stay and the same again-still the awful music-so we did not return. This is obviously a minor issue in the context of our stay but it is so bizarre that a hotel which has taken so much care to create a great atmosphere with its appearance, could get it so wrong with its music. In the end of the day these little things make the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Resting on their laurels?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no warning to prospective arrivals that the bridge was out on the access road from the east, costing us 28 km and significant time to detour. The bridge had been out for approximately 9 months, so no excuse. Dinner in the restaurant was a disappointment, way too crowded and noisy, waited 40 minutes for any service (including bread, water, wine). I think standards are slipping since I last visited and there needs to be an investment in both the infrastructure and service.

    It could have been a wonderful stay in this beautiful location, and in fact we did enjoy the atmosphere and activities in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Charm and Vision
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the management inflexible in that we tried to change the number of nights we were staying the day after we made the reservation which was almost two months before we were to arrive …. they wouldn't budge. Some of the charges for our dinners still don't make sense to us based on what we were quoted. A small hot tub that we were looking forward to using was cold and untended…I asked three people about it and they were evasive and unhelpful. There was one lovely woman at the reception desk who took the time to explain the stories behind some local landmarks including the intriguing su gologone spring nearby.

    Delightful, quintessentially Italian dining room with roaring fire w pigs roasting, lovely lighting, convivial vibe, great food, amazing antipasta room! We had a lovely, very personalized room with small balcony. A fascinating variety of sitting / hanging out areas brightly decorated and a seductive all-white outdoor bar in the twilit shadow of the limestone mountains. Great pool and breakfast room as well. The madame had a vision and kudos to her for actualizing a one-of-a-kind art filled oasis in the gorgeously rough interior terrain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel facing the imposant Supramonte mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best hotel I ever stayed at. Very personal, beautful, fantastic bar towards the Supramonte mountain. Great pool and excellent food. Such a nice and beautful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Very special and artistic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better to have repellant for the mosquito since it is in the mountain ;)

    Very special and artistic place to stay! We felt like being in the folklore museum. :) Food in their own restaurant was fantastic (The best meal we had in this trip) as well. Near the hotel, Su gologone spring was also interesting to visit!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location. Stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was not clean enough to swim in as it had "flock" at the bottom of the pool and now painted different colour at each end. The buffet menu was 40 Euro not 20 as told by waitress and although wonderful quantity all main dishes were cold.

    Beautiful buildings and gardens. Stunning views from restaurant, bar and rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful, unique and local
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't so great. The room was also quite dark. And mosquitoes in the room.

    The hotel is on a gorgeous property with amazing decoration. The views and incredible and we will pick it for our wedding venue next year :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.3
    Very calm and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No amenities - nowhere to purchase water etc until the afternoon. Not enough space by the pool or any drinks around it. Restaurant have very different service to non-italians and only provided a good meal if you went for the most expensive options. We were on honeymoon so I requested a double but was given twin.

    Very calm and peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    One of the most memorable hotels I've stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool water could be cooler and with separate lane for swimmers. Overall more families than couples at least in the summer season.

    One of the most memorable hotels I've stayed in. First impression was average, Frida Kahlo meets Gaudi arty interior with too much going on. But it grew on us and we kept finding new nooks and crannies around the whole complex. We especially liked the cactus bar in the late evenings. Amazing breakfasts and dinners.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Unique getaway mountain resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compared with the breakfast standard, dinner in the main restaurant was disappointing - pastas and antipasti tasty but mains of fish and meat not so much .....

    Excellent breakfast buffet with great choice, beautifully situated restaurant with mountain views. Really cool hotel with unique colourful décor and objets d'art throughout and charming atmosphere. Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel in the Heart of Sardinia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor tub has no privacy the room next to yours is only separated by a plastic curtain. Construction woke us up early and we could not even enjoy the view from the room because of it. The food at the restaurant had great reviews sadly I did not enjoy my meal at all went to bed hungry.

    The Views The atmosphere The Property The Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Location amongst the mountains is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of wifi in rooms. If you include dinner in your package the restaurant menu is the same and also the same for lunch. We also expected to get a list of things that were on as they advertise this but didn't happen and so organised our own walk in the area.

    Location amongst the mountains is beautiful. The many different spaces around the property are wonderful and the bar is breathtaking. It is a lovely relaxing place and we would like to revisit. Breakfast spread is good, we also ate lunch and dinner in the restaurant and though it was very busy the food and service was excellent. There is another excellent restaurant just down the road for variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Stunning tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool could be cleaned more often as it does collect a lot of leaves, bugs, etc.

    Our second visit (the first being almost 10 years ago!) and Su Gologone did not disappoint. Such a unique, quirky and unsoiled hideaway in the middle of the stunning Sardinian countryside. We are about to book for next year. Every room is slight different, either the situation, décor or amenities which makes for a very unique. Regardless, every room is fantastic and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.4
    Junior suite may not be something that you think it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware of booking a junior suite. Pictures on Booking show a bathtub on the big terrace but this is not guaranteed. I've booked it just to find out, that they gave us the one with 1x2m balcony and a dated spa bath in the bathroom (which was broken anyway). That was really disappointing as the price for the suite was way higher than for a regular room and the extra m2 could not justify the difference. Air conditioning was very loud - no sleep / night mode. You have to choose your reason for not having a relaxing night: noise or heat. Food is generally good but it lacks consistency. I was having here 2 dinners and ordered roasted veal for both. The first time it was really good, but the second time it was dry and chewy. Ravioli with potatoes was delicious, when the soup was a mistake. Good selection of local wine. Selection of cheese and pastry for breakfast was excellent. Internet was barely working. It was hard to check something on Google Maps.

    This place is located in a picturesque area with lots of surrounding vineyards. Inside the resort you'll find a lot of interesting art pieces and some cool areas to chill out. Food in general is very good and the local titbits and wine are just amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By this kind of hotel I would await WI-FI working throughout the facitily, not at the reception only. Almost no signal for phone throughout the hotel so not even possible / stable to use own Internet.

    Very nice location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    4.2
    Very disappointing for the price paid
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are not well insulated so noisy when the hotel is crowded. We were unlucky enough to get darkest suite from the hotel without a window inside the bedroom. The hotel is huge with a lot of rooms while we were expecting something charming and discreet.

    Compared to the room prices the restaurant is totally affordable with a good tipical cuisine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic stay highly recommend, try the meat from the spit, very yummy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One side of the bed could do with a new mattress (but I am a bit fussy).

    An oasis of serenity, beautifully moulded as if by hand into the surrounding mountains. Great breakfast, great restaurant. Wonderful staff extremely helpful especially the guys on reception.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, loved the experience! Bigger than we expected but would highly recommend staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around the pool the grass was growing in the flags, just a bit of tlc around the pool area

    Loved the views, all the seating areas! & the food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great locaation / outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel / location. But very expensive.

    Great locaation / outlook. Very friendly staff. A bit more fish please!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Less is more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less is more. Munch too decorated hotel to our taste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Architektur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV small only Italien and bbc

    Architektur

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not enough service at the pool

    Ambiance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    The bar was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds

    The bar was really nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini golf

    Every corner of the property, taste of food retrieved my childhood. Simply excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful position with great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly tired room

    Fabulous position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Excelent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excelent hotel. Exquisit through the profesionalism of the staff - from top till bottom. Best hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    Ok....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of local facilities The spa facilities

    The views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    They could upgrade the fascililites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The weather

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo in the Suite

    Best croissants and restaurant we have ever stayed in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable resort style hotel in quiet location in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too remote from local towns

    Large comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    great hotel country side, good pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great hotel country side, good pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    The perfect Honeymoon getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wasn't a big fan of the restaurant menu.. so we ate out most nights. But the quality of the food was good.

    Everything :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    AMAZING JEWEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that they didn't tell us the bridge was closed and took ages to access the property.

    Everything - a must must must see.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.8
    Level of restaurant is far below our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Level of restaurant is far below our expectation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    6.7
    The staff were as helpful as they could be given the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The objets d'arts around are a matter of taste( not ours). If you have a problem with stairs, think again there are no lifts. If your room is hot you will have a noisy ceiling fan. You can't keep the windows open without mosquitoes coming in - there is no insect screen. We had temperatures of over 30, but the pool was empty - late April. We would like to have gone on one or two of the excursions on offer, but couldn't because they would not run them for only two of us. In the end we wondered what we were paying all the extra money for. The standard of cooking for various dishes at supper varied widely. Eg avoid the salad - shredded lettuce only.

    The staff were as helpful as they could be given the constraints they were operating under. Breakfast was fab.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.1
    view, staff, food and ambiente are marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we decided for an upgrade to a junior suite woth bath tub. unfortunately the tub and balcony was so dirty we had to clean it ourselves.. also we informed the hotel about our honeymoon - but nothing really stood out during our stay.. still that is the icing on the cake missing and very subjective..

    view, staff, food and ambiente are marvellous

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Beautiful, super stylish art hotel with outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, super stylish art hotel with outstanding collection of local arts and crafts. Professional, helpful, and extremely friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Restaurant of the hotel worth visiting.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    2.5
    Where to start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Where to start.... Showed to our room, it was freezing which the receptionist acknowledged. The balcony was very dirty, couldn't sit on the seats. There was a layer of dust over everything in the room. From our balcony we could look straight into a suite with a hot tub on the balcony. Not very romantic or private if that's what you had hoped to come for. We sat out in the café bar, once we found a member of staff they were almost annoyed to have to serve us coffees. We had planned to lounge around the hotel for the afternoon but went site seeing for the whole day instead and had lunch in a little port town. We came back in the evening and the room had gone from freezing to Baltic (the aircon was not on cold) we rang down to the receptionist and waited an hour for someone to come up to fix the radiator. Rang down the second time and the receptionist laughed and hung up the phone. We had booked dinner at the restaurant and from previous reviews we were hoping it would make up for the room. The food was just not good. Agree with other reviewers that it is very over hyped. It's a BBQ with meat roasted dry in front of a fire, served with over priced sides with no flavour and pretentious staff. We left early and mentioned that we did not have a very enjoyable stay to the receptionist. He seemed very surprised but not in a way that they did anything wrong more like really?!"oh well".. We couldn't shake the feeling of just being ripped off, there are much nicer places to stay in Sardinia. This is not a true reflection of the "Sardinian Experience" or people.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely rooms with large balcony and outdoor bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have done with more light meal options especially when the pool bar was shut for bad weather. Very loud music in the bar rather ruined what is otherwise a very atmospheric hotel.

    Lovely rooms with large balcony and outdoor bath. The restaurant was good and the facilities wide ranging.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet barely works. It's 2015 now and those things should work. We do realize that it's not summer still but maybe the jacuzzi could be heated and the pool at least clean? The rooms are nice and clean but the facilities feel so so.

    Beautiful surroundings. Nice traditional sardinian art. The restaurant is great

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.6
    The location and views were incredible.
    • Couple

    The location and views were incredible. The sunset aperatifs were fabulous! We were on our honeymoon and had a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Lovely, alternative hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    I have to stay I have stayed there 3 times so we love it but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have to stay I have stayed there 3 times so we love it but the last time we were disappointed. They gave us one of the worst rooms, 34, very small compared to the other ones. Within the space of a week, the cocktails went up in price. So it is now 15 euros for a cocktail which is a bit too much.

    I have to stay I have stayed there 3 times so we love it but ...

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    Nice and friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool is closed in the morning until 9:30 or even 10:00. We are used to swim before breakfast. Feels like in forest, almost no sun available. Poor internet connection.

    Nice and friendly stuff. Comfortable and large rooms, although we didn't have any balcony.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.6
    This was our second stay at Su Gologone, we came back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money is an issue. Last time we upgraded to a garden room, but the room was still pretty small and our balcony was by the side of a walkway so we felt a bit awkward sitting there with people constantly passing by. This time we upgraded to a suite and had a large room with wonderful views and our outside space wasn't overlooked, but it was a lot of money to get a room we were happy with. The wifi is free, but because the hotel is spread out, it isn't really available in your room. There is wifi by the pool or you can ask for a 24 hour login and sit in the reception area, but again for the money I'd expect a better solution There isn't a lot of information given at check-in, so unless you've been before, you may miss out on things, for example the special dinners.

    This was our second stay at Su Gologone, we came back because we enjoyed it so much the first time. The hotel is built near to the Su Gologone springs by the side of the Supramonte mountains, so it's in a stunning area. We used the hotel, not only to relax and unwind, but as a base to climb some of the nearby mountains (Monte Corrasi, Monte Ortobene & Tiscali). The food is really gorgeous, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel also hosts small dinners in different parts of the hotel grounds to showcase Sardinian bread and meats cooked on the spit. There are loads of discrete areas to chill out in throughout the hotel (in hammocks, suspended swinging chairs, loungers etc. on terraces, in courtyards etc.). It is an art hotel, so there is colour and interesting collections everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    We went for pur honeymoon & it was right what we wanted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pictures in the website can be too perfect for what in person it is. Its beautiful in person, but its too perfect in the pictures from websites. I guess the pictures where very photoshoped.

    We went for pur honeymoon & it was right what we wanted & needed. Beautifully set in the country side of the island where animals can be heard from the suite, quiet, and super relaxing. It was very romantic and close to perfection. Such unbelivable food, excelent!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    A truly special, unique place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A truly special, unique place. We loved everything: the location, the beautiful setting, the pool, the lovely rooms, "le terrazze dei sogni e desideri", and the amazing food. The owner puts her personal touch on everything and the staff is incredibly nice and professional. There were creative activities for the kids and plenty of things to do without ever leaving the hotel (but also of course in the vicinity).

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    none, none, none

    Everything. fantastical helpful staff (Rita), super suite ("Rose"), outdoor bath. Your choice of bars. Best bar in Sardinia and far beyond. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Incredible amount of chill-out areas and more than enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only works in lobby, great if you want to switch off, but impossible if you have work to do, and not really acceptable for a 4 star hotel. Some of the breakfast staff were extremely rude. Not a nice start to the day.

    Incredible amount of chill-out areas and more than enough space to find a patch of paradise all to yourself. Artistic and thoughtful design throughout was a feast for the eyes! The attention to detail in the design is like nothing I've ever seen in a hotel. A unique and very special place, with incredible vistas over the mountains and countryside. A remote hideaway in beautiful, natural surrounds. Food and wine in the restaurant was of a very high standard and delicious!

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    5.4
    I like the bed and bed linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have been frequenting su gologone every year since I was born. This year I decided to stay and invite my whole family to celebrate my birthday with me. What a waste of money. Disappointed is an understatement. The photos advertised on booking.com were nothing like the room we got. Something so simple as asking for a birthday cake seemed like a chore. Of that the cake cost 80 euro and then we wasn't event offered the seadas as desert. Overall the service was poor, wifi was only by the pool and neither me or my family will be in any hurry to go back. Extremely disappointing.

    I like the bed and bed linen.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel grounds are amazing, we upgraded to a suite and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff in restaurant weren't overly friendly, and drink prices were very expensive. The pool also cold have been cooler, the weather was particularly hot.

    Hotel grounds are amazing, we upgraded to a suite and had a hot-tub on the terrace. Just lovely! Wonderful scenery nearby for walking and mountain biking (we borrowed bikes from the hotel). The hog roast was delicious too! Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    4.6
    The property has lovely views and a nice atmosphere in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in the restaurant is NOT up to 4* standard and service is very slow. We waited 45minutes one evening for a steak to be cooked (rare). For a 70 odd room hotel, they couldn't manage to produce a simple thing like an iron for guests to use. Wifi is non existent, only available in the foyer (although we paid for in-room wifi) and even then it didn't work for our entire stay. Overall not a great experience sadly.

    The property has lovely views and a nice atmosphere in the gardens and seating areas.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    4.2
    Found a couple of employees who truly care about their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room smelled,and three days later we determined the A/C filter was full of mold/mildrew. Had to look for a service man (on our own) to replace it. Were not able to open bathroom window due to cat wanting to come inside. Pool had Tons bees, dead flies, and hair balls floating, along with a bandaid. Pool guy's response was "not his problem" as pool is 50 yr. old. This may be reason filtration doesn't work. Property owner is neglecting grounds, and keeps place understaffed to properly attend to requirements of their rooms/grounds. Also, beware - they rent for weddings, and other occasions, so you may encounter groups crowding your space, and leaving their mess everywhere. We provided a written, detailed, list for the property owners, and have waited more than three weeks without any response. Our time to post results is soon to expire. Feel we must now make note of our experience, so others have a chance to choose a better option, and not be as disappointed in booking this hotel as we were.

    Found a couple of employees who truly care about their guests...

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.1
    The room was very large and beautifully decorated, we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place seemed neglicted. All of the landscape was overgrown to the point that it blocked the views, and it had amazing views. The shower knob fell of in our hands. The coping around the pool was very old. The room was dark because of the overgrown vegetation around it. They had to wake somebody up at 6am to check us out, though I told them the night before and then they didn't bother to help us with our bags out to the car. Food was OK, though it was raved about in some publications.

    The room was very large and beautifully decorated, we were upgraded to a suite. The views from parts of the property are incredible. Some staff are very nice and helpfull. Very interesting place in a beautiful setting.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    I liked it when we left!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Su Gologone is a beautiful hotel, make no mistake, but after you've stared at the hammocks and the bountiful soft furnishings begging you to relax and chill, you very quickly realise that behind the hippy dippy vibe they have so enthusiastically tried to create, is nothing but a cold clinical corporation disappearing up it's own backside. Although most of the staff were accommodating, we were sent on a wild goose chase up the top of the hotel in sweltering heat to a bar that was closed! And then when I tried to reserve one of the tables with the incredible view, I was looked up and down and asked whether I was guest in the hotel and asked for my room number to verify this. I was then told that I couldn't sit at one of those tables as they are reserved for the guests who have booked suites! So if you've only spent 450 euros for two nights you are considered a pleb! So make sure you dress in dior when you go to reception, just so they know what class of person they are speaking too. Also the dinner was over rated and the sea food overcooked and the wifi painfully slow.

    I liked it when we left! I did enjoy the breakfast though and some of the staff, especially the waiting staff were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    Our suite was gorgeous, and super-sexy with a private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of consistency in service and attention to detail. The restaurant staff are always so busy, that the service doesn't feel personal at all, and given how busy they are, the waitresses can be abrupt at times, particularly if they think you are taking too long to order. The staff at the sunset terrace/bar seemed inexperienced, and not overly interested in the guests, playing loud euro/rock music to amuse themselves. Also lots of flies around and in the food served there. Ask detailed questions about the room/suite you are booking as they can vary considerably.

    Our suite was gorgeous, and super-sexy with a private terrace private and big hot-tub. Loved hanging out at the pool and Jacuzzi area, it felt like a real hub. Little treats like free ice cream by the pool was nice. Big treats where musicians played on the grounds and under the stars, was just lovely. The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. Just stunning views from the sunset/terrace bar. Lots of hidden spots to hang around in. The place had an atmosphere of something of the eccentric family about it... the quirky aunt/uncle with the prodigal son returned from his travels flirting with the beautiful cousins and spending most of his time with the staff who you can't always differentiate from the family ,- all living together in opulence, even if it is faded in places. Overall I liked it, quite a lot!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    A surprise around every corner;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole experience was let down by a broken light hanging from above the bathroom door, and a broken toilet seat.

    A surprise around every corner; from works of art, to a relaxing terrace

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    Everything : it is just fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check out time : a little too early with regard to the price of the room if you would like to enjoy the facilities a little more.

    Everything : it is just fab!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful area, fabulous mountain scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area was totally unkempt and the hot tub was dirty. With the exception of the main entrance, the grounds were sorely in need of some serious sprucing up!

    Beautiful area, fabulous mountain scenery.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: