Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Suisse 1 stars

Piazza Mazzini 8-10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy

#14 of 16 hotels in Bellagio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.0
    It was a lifetime dream come true for one of us, and the other had a great stay as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor things were in disrepair, but nothing important.

    Lovely location, wonderful staff. It is a very old building with some quirks, but we really liked it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful lake views and a good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hauling the luggage up so many stairs. Big hole in front of the door that could cause injury. Spartan, dated room furniture. Staff not as friendly or helpful as expected.

    Wonderful lake views and a good restaurant. Clean bed linen and towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    We booked a room online at the Suisse Hotel and when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was inconsistent. No one cleaned under the bed. The rest of the apartment was very clean.

    We booked a room online at the Suisse Hotel and when we checked in, we were given an apartment. This was an unexpected treat and the location was excellent. Breakfast was included and served in the restaurant. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Did a job for one night in a place which is pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night, broken furniture in room, and no shower just a bath with attachment, breakfast ok

    Close to the harbour and one of the more affordable hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    5 star restaurant with rooms attached
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin and we were woken by the people in the next room talking at 1am. It is the only downside of this lovely place

    The location, the owners, they are fantastic, very warm and welcoming, the views, full size bath. The restaurant food is superb. The best in Bellagio. You get discount as a resident.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to the rooms. Staff were available to carry my suitcase when l arrived in the afternoon but not when l left in the early am. Rooms are delightfully simple but this may not appeal to everyone.

    I was lucky enough to be in a balcony room facing the lake. This hotel is diagonally opposite the ferry terminal with no need to navigate Bellagio’s steep staircases and roads if arriving this way which l suggest. Though there is limited parking out the front. A lovely traditional Italian hotel right above a vibrant waterside bar and restaurant strip. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent. The staff very warm and helpful. The hotel dog adorable!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    The location, it directly overlooked the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities, we were not shown our room but were told it was top floor and the room number. No towels in bathroom as there was no hooks or towel rail, there was nowhere for toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was two 10 inch deep mattresses on top of each other, so very high and squidgy. There was no air conditioning and so the room was very hot-opening windows when you are over a lake is not s good idea as there are numerous mosquitoes. Breakfast was definitely best forgotten - absolutely would not recommend apart from location.

    The location, it directly overlooked the lake

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.0
    A very quaint hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be loud due to position but view supersedes that

    A very quaint hotel. No lift so. Pups be hard for people with mobility issues Staff friendly and helpful which was most important to us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Take the lake view room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic bed.

    "OMG" lake view, there's no need to even go anywhere - you may lie in a bed and just watch Lago di Como (it's a joke). Allowed us to leave our stuff in the room before check-in (very earlier). Nice live "soundtrack" (concert) in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Sleepless in Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like sleep, do not stay at Bellagio. It's a compact village and very noisy at night. Every passing car, truck or bike will disturb your sleep. It can't be avoided. And then there is the music that plays in the street from 6pm till midnight! We needed a long sleep after our 2 sleepless nights in Bellagio.

    Great views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated. Musky smelling No air-conditioning, brutal in summer. Had to leave window open at night, which means that the noise from the streets were disrupting our sleep. It got worse on weekend. Stinky bathroom Broken shower doors No lift. On check-in, a porter was available to help with our luggage. On check-out, there was 1 staff at the hotel and she couldn’t help with our luggage neither did she offer to look for someone/anyone to help us with taking our luggage downstairs. Staff at breakfast particularly unfriendly and curt. Dinner/lunch staff at restaurant were friendlier and more helpful. Wardrobe had musky smell. Overall a very negative experience. As this is our end stop in Italy, it had brought my entire Italian trip down a couple notches.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Location is incredible, as is the restaurant, value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dark with window out into a staff kitchen area. It was very hot, after asking for a fan the room was much more comfortable

    Location is incredible, as is the restaurant, value for money for sure considering location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    The room had a lake view, so it really made the stay a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very unfriendly and impolite. At the breakfast a staff member was very impolite. Without explaining how ordering breakfast work (they serve some part of breakfast personally and some things you can choose from a serving table), without any polite greeting she directly asked - "what? tea or coffee?". It was unclear and confusing. Additionally, breakfast had very poor choices, outdated yogurt! Hotel could not provide a hairdryer. The only help was "we will bring you later", however, the check-out time limits your waiting time. They dont speak well English, so it is hard to communicate. My stay was only bettered by exceptionally stunning lake view through the window of my room.

    The room had a lake view, so it really made the stay a bit more special. The location is very good - in the middle of city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    In the centre of Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nothing special.

    The hotel is in the very center of Bellagio. Close to the boats and everything. The room was clean and the bathroom very big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    location in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy rooms and poor quality of the bed. There is a kebab place underneath the hotel where they have regular party until 5am. We could not sleep the whole night. The hotel knows about it but do nothing to stop it. However they let us cancel the rest of the nights in the hotel with no charge. I would not recommend

    location in the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a very enjoyable stay and wasn’t disappointed with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wobbly wardrobe in our room which was a little annoying and it was a bit noisy as our room was facing the the jetty and ferry port, but the vista made up for the noise.

    Hotel was in a good location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it didn’t disappoint. Food was tasty and service was excellent. View from our window was stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We haven’t been told at what time breakfast ends, and it was very poor. We asked for a twin bed and they gave us one double bed.

    Perfect location Amazing view Clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Due to other patrons staying on we were given a small room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a couple of little things like light fittings but we didn't ask so our problem

    Due to other patrons staying on we were given a small room for 1 night but then allowed to choose between two. We chose an apartment which gave us 2 balconies, 4 rooms and space to move, to cook to sit by the view. Wonderful staff and manager. Breakfast great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Everythjng.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythjng..our hostess and her husband were extremely nice. Rooms view was amazing! Great location! There were two couples and we all loved it..wonderful experience!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Location but dated room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dated style of the room took awhile to come to terms with - creaking wooden floors, low pressure in the rainhead shower. No tv signal, noisy adjacent rooms & downstairs kitchen. But if you wanted location, at a reasonable price, it depends if you can accept these problems that come with an old building.

    The double room we booked with lakeviews had a small balcony with excellent views of the lakefront. The room was large, the buffet breakfast was served in the downstairs dining room facing the lake & the coffee was good. The staff were friendly once they got to know us. The French doors had double glazing which quietened the noise from the street & restaurant below. The cost of the room was reasonable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    I chose this hotel for the view: 4th floor windows open to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't realize there were 66 steps to our room-no elevator.-but they got a busboy to bring our luggage up. I had the feeling that our 4th floor room was being remodeled but was not finished. Bathroom was gorgeous but no towel rack up yet (not a big deal) Nice antique furniture but missing handle on drawer-still not a big deal. Noisy one night as the room overlooked their restaurant where a big party went on until midnight. Hey-life in a port town-still no big deal.

    I chose this hotel for the view: 4th floor windows open to Lake Como. Although when we arrived, the outdoor shutter was broken so there was no view until they fixed it-same day- then I could forgive anything for the view. Surprised at the lavish breakfast buffet- everything you could want, including unlimited cappuccinos from the bar. Very generous at letting us store our bags before check-in. Loved all the high-end and low-end shops on quaint windy streets and fantastic restaurants tucked in right off the steps. Hint: make reservations! And although port can be busy-walk 20 minutes along the water to visit the tranquil amazingly beautiful park called Villa Melzi. Unforgettable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location on the waterfront, very accessible. Get a lakeside room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is old as are most in Bellagio, and the rooms are basic but quite adequate. Bathroom needs attention.

    Excellent location on the waterfront, very accessible. We had a lakeside room with a small balcony. The bed was very comfortable. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight problem checking out as the staff member tried to make me pay in £s despite my very clear instructions to pay in Euros. I had to push hard to pay in Euros and save myself £15 in unnecessary bank charges.

    Excellent location, great room. Very efficient staff and excellent restaurant. A lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Not to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the quality compared to other hotels of the Como lake. We Did not have a propre welcome. Note that TV did not work at all. Wifi was very bad. Breakfast was very bad. Overall not a good experience, we do not recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay here and Don't use bookings.com for travel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty hotel, one room had no water, second room only had water in the shower, hairdryer sparked and shot out flames, electricity went out. I will not book with bookings.com as we are still in Italy in another location that does not meet what was advertised.

    The breakfast was nice, and the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Would return anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no heating in the rooms, altough they have radiators (May isn't a very hot month, especialy there, during the night), but we had also warm clothes to sleep in

    The view from the room was absolutely amazing, exactly was I was looking for; A few steps away from the ferry station; Continental breakfast, completed with tipical italian breakfast (croissants and other pastries) Room was furnished in old italian style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay for our first visit to Lake Como-hope to come back and stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4 flights of stairs-no elevator, I will know to pack lighter next time.

    The location is wonderful, we had a front room facing the lake. Right across from the boats, perfect for sight seeing. Breakfast was adequate, staff was friendly and helpful. We ate dinner one night in our hotel, it was very good. The second night we ate down the way a bit, food was delicious but expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor. 60 steps to the bedroom. There was no elevator/ lift and no assistance with baggage! No reception as check in was in the restaurant.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Hits and misses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant male manager, no lift (2nd floor room) , sombre breakfast attendant. Music over dinner is terrible. Really basic continental breakfast.

    Comfortable bed, spacious room, excellent evening meals ( great staff ), head waiter exceptional, cheery and good with teaching Italian language. Alberto is a real asset to this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location overlooking the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. Our room was on the 3rd floor, which is actually 4 floors up!! We got quite a workout!! Stayed 3 nights!!

    The hotel was a perfect location right in the middle of Bellagiio by the ferry docks. Beautiful view of the lake. The restaurant had delicious food & great view with excellent service. Bathroom was very clean & recently updated .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Bad start good finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival just handed key by male proprietor in middle of busy restaurant. Two flights of steep stairs, room very cold,no comfortable chairs. No kettle. Breakfast mediocre.

    In heart of Bellagio lady proprietor helpful once our dissatisfaction outlined. Did move us to a better Bellagio in better weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Cold room, no heating, no focus on guests on arrival, poor customer service. Can't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable experience checking in as it is in the restaurant which was full of diners and not clear that we were in the right place. The room was so cold & I mean really cold in the night, aside from a TV the room was bare. Shocking experience from the lady at breakfast, very rude, on the phone, who told us "no, move!" when we sat at a wrong table for breakfast. Surly is a term used by another guest. Glad to leave.

    The restaurant on the ground floor and facing the passing trade (open to anyone not just hotel guests) was good and the service there was good with a fresh tasty menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for a lake view experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is very old and we had to take our luggage upto the 3rd floor. The floors are a little uneven, and there are no curtains for the balcony to prevent the street light from coming in. The balcony shutters did not work in one of the rooms. The breakfast was very limited. Perhaps that was because it was Dec 31, but that is no excuse for serving dried bread and semi boiled eggs in Italy!

    Location. With lake view rooms, all we had to do was open the balcony door and take in views of Lake Como and the surrounding mountains. Walk out to get on a ferry ride, or walk up to La Punta to really enjoy the magnificence of the lake. Lots of nice shops around, and a good choice of restaurants. Next door is a lovely bar. Excellent experience for all of us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff helpful and friendly, great location, comfortable bed and nice big shower room. Lovely evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice of breakfast. There was only ham, cheese, cold boiled eggs, bread rolls which were a bit hard and cornflakes.

    There was selection of fresh fruit tea and coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    If you are looking for a very Italian hotel so this is it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy on the 2nd floor rooms because of the restaurant downstairs

    If you are looking for a very Italian hotel so this is it! Cozy place with a little bit old furniture but you feel like in real Italian place. The balcony view is amazing, breakfast is delicious. Definitely will want come back here in summer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful lake views and great breakfast in an authentic old-style Italian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I are quite fit and had no problem with the three flights of stairs but for someone who is not as fit they may prefer to stay on first or second floors.

    We had booked a room with a view of the lake and as the hotel wasn't at full capacity the manager (sorry didn't get her name) upgraded us to a junior suite with lake views when my husband told her we were celebrating an anniversary. We have a wonderful view though on top (third) floor with no lift. Hotel is lake-side just across the road from the ferry. Breakfast was excellent with eggs, cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit and yoghurt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Location was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs a bit tricky if u have heavy bags and breakfast staff really need to learn to smile and be somewhat friendly.

    Location was amazing ... stunning view, nice breakfast. Generally great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Located in the perfect spot in Bellagio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Located in the perfect spot in Bellagio. Steps to the ferries, restaurants and bars. Room 18 has a direct view of Lake Como. Very nice restaurant in the hotel. Very reasonably priced. Great live jazz on Saturday night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful staff in a great location. Great place to stay for two nights, we did not eat at the restaurant but it looked very good. All in all we had a great stay, hotel is a little dated but very comfortable, its your typical bed and breakfast European style hotel. Beware, driving there can be tricky as the roads are narrow but don't let that deter you, its a beautiful drive, parking is not bad, but road to get to hotel is very tight with shops and pedestrians lining the road. Park in the white lined spots along the road about 1km away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, central, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems with check-in or check-out, or with anything else.

    Excellent location, on the Piazza Mazzini with water views. You may be able to find a parking space on the piazza; ask the hotel staff to show you where to buy your ticket and how to pay at the machine. (Overnight parking -- 8:00 pm to 8:00 am -- is free.) Otherwise you'll be directed to a parking structure somewhere (which I did not have to use). Somewhat old-fashioned building (e.g., no elevator, and I was on the third floor ["second floor" in local terms]) but unusually spacious room and bathroom. I overlooked the piazza so there was some evening noise but not troublesome or long-lasting. Comfortable bed, good water temp and pressure in the shower, good Wi-Fi reception in the room. Staff is correct rather than friendly, but hey, they're doing double-duty in the ground-level restaurant so I can understand how distracted they are. A modest breakfast is included -- breads, cereal, coffee, juice, yogurt, some fresh fruit, hard- or soft-boiled eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing, not as advertised. Too loud and too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was NOT as advertised on booking.com. The room was tiny, had about 1 foot between the door to the bed, and then 1 foot between the bed and the bathroom. There wasn't even a surface to put a toiletry bag down on. And this was the second room they gave us, having first shown us a room that was even smaller. The room was right on top of the kitchen so smelled like food, and was very loud until at least 11-11:30pm each night. Not only was the kitchen below very loud, but the windows provided zero insulation from the noise of the street. When we checked out we had paid the night previously, and the person who was present the morning of the departure essentially accused us of trying to leave without paying. All in all very disappointing, not as advertised by pictures on booking.com website.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Rate was ok for the money . Server was a grump for such a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The server at breakfast was not friendly . She had a frown each day. She appeared annoyed when asked to bring water for tea or bring a cafe . No lift .. we had bike boxes and we were on the 3 red floor

    Nice view of the lake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Central Comfortable Clean Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift / elevator.

    Excellent value for money, perfect location to ferry port, restaurants and shops. Hotel restaurant good value for money food was beautiful especially the fettuccine they finish off in a huge wheel of Parmesan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Surprised that this establishment is listed by you would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception 53steps to climb to our room. No elevator, AC, ceiling fan,room safe, refridgerator, telephone in room,or service. English was a challenge for most of the staff

    Only the location and view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    FABULOUS place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    FABULOUS place! Perfect location literally few steps from the ferries. Delicious food with perfect view from the upstairs restaurant and lovely live music. LOVED my apartment in the annex with Juliet balcony with view down a pretty alley to the lake and not the least my own terrace! The apartment appeared brand new renovated, everything light and modern, bathroom with fancy shower and Jacuzzi bath tub. Appreciated the details like a bottle of olive oil in the kitchen and (looked like) handmade pillow on the puff. I know the prices nearby and this was DEFINITELY value for money. Have to come back :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good 😊

    Everything was perfect from the location to all aspects of the staff and service. We fell into this hotel and will look forward to return and certainly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Very pleasant - loved the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More room for luggage placement - Some coat hangers for our clothes and an iron - The kitchen was very basic-

    The location - the view from our room was excellent - The overall ambience was charming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unable to arrive the night that was booked due to the train that we were travelling on was cancelled. I rang the hotel to say we would be arriving the next day which was also part of the booking.They explained that I would have to pay for the room which I knew was part of my contract with the hotel and it was not a problem. On arrival the next day my expectation was as I had paid for a room that the room would be ready on our arrival for our stay, This was not the case. The hotel, I believe had relet our room and the room was not ready for us. With some conversation and explaining and the lovely reception person ringing the person in charge we were given the annex/apartment. The apartment though was nice had the draw back of huge steps to climb up a hill with suitcases, we were unable to secure the internet which I believe was because we were a away from the hotel server. Though I know that contractually we were abiligated to pay for the cancelled room I was disappointed that that room was not there on our arrival and we were put in a different facility then what we were expecting and had to pay for the night that appeared to me had been paid by someone else as well.

    The breakfast was good. The annex/apartment we were allocated was roomy with everything you needed. There was a view of the lake and a terrace to sit outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Amazing view and Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms require updating. No shower curtain or high level shower holder. Toilet roll was not replaced two days in a row. Simple issues which would make a world of difference.

    Amazing view and old world charm. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast rolls were great. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Room had a real authentic Italian feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great Lake View with Fantastic Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level was quite high as we needed to keep the windows open at night as there wasn't air conditioning, but most noise subsided by midnight. No reason to go to bed any sooner in Bellagio as there are so many cool little bars and night spots.

    Fantastic view of Lake Como from our apartment balcony. Although our terrace was right next to the upstairs restraunt terrace, most patrons were gone by 10:00pm. We decided to do a three hour boat tour of Lake Como that launched at 12:45 and Louisa, the owner, was so nice and considerate that she let us keep our suitcases in our apartment until we returned. The furnishings are quite dated, but if you're looking for swanky and modern this hotel might not be for you, but the the restraunt is quite hip. Absolutely, loved the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the property is a restaurant, with a few rooms on top, no front desk, you pick your key yourself as you go up, rooms are very basic, no air conditioning, stifling hot and humid, very old furniture, a curtain too small to close, so you get the sun at 5 a.m. the restaurant is the most expensive in Bellagio, average of 50 euros per person, where as all the others are 25 euros. booking.com should state very clearly that this is a 1 star b&b with no air conditioning, and no elevator.

    the owner is very pleasant, always with a big smile, and friendly attitude

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Unfriendly staff ruined this lovely lake-side property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were terrible and not at all welcoming. The waitress was like a female Basil Faulty and it was as if she was doing everyone a favour by being there. On arrival at the hotel we were showed the apartment in such a hurry we didn't notice the advertised tv wasn't there and that the mugs in the kitchen were filthy and broken. On day 2 we found a fan at the back of a cupboard and drinking glasses in the lounge and not the kitchen. It would have been nice to have been shown where things were. The only soap was in single use sachets. None of the electricity sockets took my European adapter as they were of an older style but the lady in the reception reluctantly charged my phone in the dining area.

    A nice roomy apartment in a great location right on the lake and near lots of places to eat. The balcony gave superb views and is big enough to put a couple of chairs on to sit in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Hiccup at the start but overall not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with a lake view and when we arrived we were put in a different room with no lake view. After talking to reception they said we could only move in to our room the next day as the people staying in our room had to stay one more night. We weren't offered any refund for this.

    Great location - Right on the lake front. Clean and the beds are comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.6
    Good location with primitive facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel do not have elevator and airconditioning. We have to climb up 2 floors up to our room,which is an impossible task for my 76 years old mother. Without AC on a hot summer night,we have to open our window widely at night. End up we were entertained all night by the workers at the Kebab place across the narrow alley,who were chatting loudly plus music into the vee hour. We only stayed there one night from the seven nights booking and have to pay for the full seven nights. This place is not a hotel even for one star,more a hostel or bunk for backpacker. For not much more Euros,you could get room with AC and elevator not far down the street,which was exactly what we did.

    The locatiom is very good,just in front of the ferry terminal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Quintessential Italian Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor communication prior to arrival

    This accommodation was quintessential Italian. Don' expect state of the art or even mod cons as these would have spoiled the ambiance. Excellent location, views and decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Simple and satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For one night it was fine. No complaints really for a 2 star hotel. We would stay there again. Location was excellent

    Hotel staff were friendly but.very busy with the restaurants. The first room we were given wasn't up to standard but they immediately gave us the choice of another room which was fine, very basic but for one night it was ok. There are two restaurants but we just had a simple breakfast in one of them. It wasn't a huge breakfast but suited us fine. The request for a second round of coffee was greeted with a frown but we did get one!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The accommodations were clean and the continental breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations were clean and the continental breakfast was perfect. We were located directly by the ferries so travel about Lake Como was easy. Overall a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room may be old but the owners should at least repair the bed side table top which is broken in half.

    The position of the hotel was excellent and the view from the room was simply stunning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Steep cobbled steps up to the apartment.But these are part of the charm that is Bellagio.

    The restaurant whether at street level or on the balcony, served food of excellent quality.At street level you were part of the atmosphere that makes Bellagio unique add to this the views and you will feel totally relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kitchen could do with a few more items such as electric kettle, replacing mismatched or chipped glasses/crockery.

    Excellent location, the hotel is across the road from the ferry terminal. Great views of Lake Como. We had the annexe; good size bedroom, bathroom and kitchen with own patio with a view of the lake. Perfect! Breakfast was served in the hotel. Fabulous restaurants only metres away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Check-in was delayed but staff eventually gave us a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is room for improvement in the breakfast. Room was noisy from all the tourists embarking/disembarking the ferries but this is not a negative remark. The hotel is nice and I recommend it. The staff working there should try to smile a bit more especially at the breakfast bar.

    Check-in was delayed but staff eventually gave us a good apartment. The apartment had a lake view and was clean and big.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    Read travellers reviews on multiple websites before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food good. Lady in charge of breakfast very good.

    Room not made up when they let us in and in a dreadful state. Staff did their best, food good Attitude of management a -9 . My own fault I should have read reviews in Trip Advisor first.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were hard work. Seems to be more of a nice restaurant than a hotel, only a handful of rooms available.

    Located across the road from the lake, view over the lake from the top floor was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Location great but needs tweaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was there for a wedding, which I'm sure is a common experience. So had plenty of shirts etc which needed to be ironed but no ironing board in the entire hotel. Surely for the price this is pretty basic bit of kit.....also had no hot or cold water one afternoon...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    6.3
    Excellent restaurant - terrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price my room nr 3 was a diaster. Just across the street, which is 2 meters, are the neighbor apartments with many, very lively tennants. You will be part of enthusiastic discussions as all parties can watch and hear what is going on late night / early morning. Bed was good though

    Everything with the restaurant is excellent - in my days there the best meals were served at Suisse. Kind staff, swift service, nice menu - and outstanding combination of flavours

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    VIEW WAS AMAZING LOCATION WAS PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak. Breakfast was average as not replenished. Staff was not happy and friendly.

    The view was amazing and the balcony was perfect. Big apartment overlooking the water. Wonderful kitchen we cooked two nights out of three!!!!! Location was perfect!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    Great location + building with great potential if rooms updated to normal standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aged, cheap "vintage" interior of the rooms + electricity not up to date or not functioning (plugs fallen out or not functioning or not fit for modern electric applicances) + poor bathroom. We made a reservation for 3 rooms with lake view, but only got 2 + one small room at the backside. We accepted the room, but did not get a discount = paid as much as the large lake-view room. Room at top floor had nice renovated bathroom, but could not close shutters or curtains. Hairdryer did not work in that room. Rooms cold : it was not so warm that weekend - no heating.

    view, location, good window insulation at the front (very useful as lot of ferry's and traffic on the lido). Friendly, helpful owners. Nice interior of breakfast/restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great new bathroom but only one problem - no door to shower so every time you shower water is everywhere in the bathroom

    perfect location! great view easy to park the car in front of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Hightly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found no fault

    We liked the location of this hotel in the heart of Bellagio and the fact that it has mainly been retained to reflect the oldy worldly charm of the 17th century, with the upgrading of facilities one would expect for the today traveller. The very friendly staff, the comfort and cleanliness of the room and amenities all made for a very enjoyable stay. We originally booked for 1 night and ended up staying for 2. We enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant both nights and were very impressed not only with the wide choice of menu but the presentation of the meals and the high quality of the food. We were made to feel very welcome and would sincerely recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location, wonderful view, restaurant was lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot (could not turn radiator down/off) would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Great location, wonderful view, restaurant was lovely and offered discount to those staying

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    The location, the cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weekday breakfast wich was different from the weekend. In weekend, the breakfast is more decent than in weekdays, when is very poorly.

    The location, the cleaning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend you to choose the regular room instead of an apartment.If you don't expect to cook anything because the apartment has a personal kitchen.The location of the apartment is behind the main building walk up to the stone staircases.

    the staffs were so nice.the room had own kitchen and terrace (which is can not see the lake view actually).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.4
    Reasonable at the low season
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we stayed at low season on January generally opportunities were limited. The central heating was working slightly and the room was cold. When we asked the support the lady managed the case by giving a little external air blast heater us.

    Lake view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Amazing stay with the lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location (but if travel by car be prepared for the tricky road heading to Bellagio) and value for money; we had a dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was amazing (with 10% discount if you have overnight stay)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Great hospitality to correct the booking mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a room for 7 nights with the request of sea view. When we arrived it turned out to be not so. The manager offered us spontaneously the appartement ,but of course for extra price.

    The fantastic view and location in the heart the town.Very kind staff. Very good restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: