Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Civitavecchia Sunbay Park Hotel 4 stars

Via Aurelia Sud, Km 68.750, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy

#8 of 12 hotels in Civitavecchia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 626 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.0
    Easy to get to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive food. Lack lustre breakfast at an additional cost. Inattentive staff, felt like we were interrupting them when we checked in and out. Overcharged at check out and had to have the bill corrected. Didn’t include drinks on the bill until we checked out. For a 4-star hotel it has a lot to improve!!!!

    Easy to get to. Great view

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Charming seafront hotel showing its age, but still great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instant coffee. Room needs some work. Highly recommended restaurant closes early, so we could not try their food.

    Spacious parking, location at seafront, view from room, great staff at reception and in bar, great value, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice quiet location overlooking the sea and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very flexible restaurant hours and breakfast quite basic. Facilities are a bit dated

    Nice quiet location overlooking the sea and very close to Civitavecchia cruise port

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    All in all it was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were winding down for the season so the pool was closed and we weren’t informed of a second pool on the side of the property not visible to us. The air conditioning was not connected so it was incredibly stuffy.

    The location was lovely as we faced the marina with marvellous views and our dinner was fabulous!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Dont expect answers to questions. dont expect coffee or tea, dont expect help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee or tea making facilities in room, no microwave in room. no station in hotel to get a coffee or tea. Restaurant staff basically ignored request for a coffee. We were treated sort of kindly by younger staff on desk but older person was very rude and disinterested in any requests. Communication between staff was not existent, some did not know what the others had told us about transfers. When we arrived we were told to go to the local swimming pool kiosk for food or drink. The hotel pool kiosk was not opened. We were not told to reserve restaurant table, until it was too late, we traveled from all over the world and some arrived late, No Dinner, had to walk through dirty dark streets to get a meal which was probably a lot cheaper and excellent quality compared to this hotel. We were told about a pizza restaurant on premises but as some of our party are on Gluten free diet assumed it would not suit, later next day were told the pizza rest. does serve other GF meals. TOO late we were leaving to go to a cruise ship. This hotel was recently joined to Mecure hotels and it was expected a decent quality for patrons, Don't hold your breath. There should be at least tea and coffee available in the foyer if not in the room. 2 of our 3 rooms faced the ocean but one overlooked the highway with its associated noise and fumes.

    Bed good,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    On the whole my cousin and my stay was memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much restaurants near by and you are forced to eat at their restaurant, the price for dinner was expensive and so was their coffee, very small cup for 2.50 euro.

    I loved the view from the hotel, beautiful view of the sea. On the first stay we had a room with a balcony and a view of the sea, on the second night of our stay from our cruise we were give a family room with a view, awesome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    The Hotel is a Mecure Property but just does not live up to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness, lack of information and facilities, distance to town, staff not knowing what is included and what isn't

    The Hotel is a Mecure Property but just does not live up to the hype. It is a 38 minute walk to the main city centre and the rooms and facilities were very basic. We were told differing information from the staff breakfast included then told had told pay when questioned they suddenly remembered breakfast was included. We also arrived just after 3.00pm with a 2.00pm checkin advertised and on the booking and were told we think the room might be ready we will need to check.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had 3 beds - only 1 was required. All the extra furniture was not necessary. Bathroom was not clean, the shower was dangerous to get and out of. Restaurant offered below average food at a hefty price. For a best western it was very poor.

    Size of room was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay here if not for proximity to Citavecchia Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was horrible with a hair in the cold breakfast, the chef argued that this was impossible until he saw it for himself. The beds rickety and no lift, meaning all baggage had to be hauled down stairs and up on our own.

    Location and the staff at the front desk!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby rooms, old style bathroom. No elevator, have to carry our luggages on stairs. Although we booked non-smoking room we get smoking room. The city centre is in 30 min walk, there is nothing in nearby.

    Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't cleaned good enough. Facilites are old and damaged a bit. It's a place for one night.

    The location is quite OK, because it's next to the sea. We had very good sea food in hotel restaurant. We also had a free parking and a nice view from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we could have stayed longer! We chose this hotel as it was close to the port, as our ferry from Spain arrived in Civitavecchia quite late. Food was amazing, with great views. Hotel room was comfortable and staff very friendly. We will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    As all the previous views suggest we knew what to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As all the previous views suggest we knew what to expect. You get what you pay for, and I think for the price we paid I expected what we got. Staff were kind, and we only stayed one night before a cruise departure, it is close to the pier which was great. Rooms are dated, restaurants are only open certain hours which was a little difficult when traveling with 2 young children. A basic hotel which was fine for one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location to travel across to Sardinia having visited Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay to use swimming pools and then having to wear a rubber hat .... hence no swimming for us !!

    The Location. easy access from main road we had stayed before for the first time on on way down towards Capri and found this hotel to be very convenient for the next part of our journey from Rome to Sardinia Good car parking , lovely seafront location with excellent views pretty local harbour for sailing activities Good value for money Intense air con system Spacious room This time we discovered Civitavecchia town with a really nice promenade and beautiful modernist fountains around the historic fort depicting the lapping Mediterranean at the port entrance still used by the military and the turreted fort has now been restored A few individual shops and pedestrian zone and of course icream parlours Despite the anything goes attitude of Italian Drivers...Don’t park on bus stops or you’ll get towed away .... not us fortunately...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice seaside hotel, nothing less than what I expected,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not accessible without a password and I realized at 2:00 AM I didn't get mine when checking in. If a password is really needed (and I think it isn't in large hotels with no other buildings around), the staff should provide the password at check in to everyone, not only upon request.

    Nice seaside hotel, nothing less than what I expected, comfortable rooms, nice view. Air conditioning in each room (not centralized and therefore easy to control). Wide parking lot. Very quiet rooms. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful seaside location with private pool and beech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeepers bit noisy door slaming Door handle had fallen off door but once their attention was drawn to this the maintaince man came very quickly to repair Service in the restaurant a bit slow seemed to be understaffed causing a South African family to walk out and make a scene But food ...tenderloin of pork and pasta with cheese and mushrooms was lovely

    Location perfect sea views sunny balcony wonderful set balcony dinner for two ... very romantic for a honeymoon Thank you Spacious room with lots of sockets !!! Large easy access car park Easy to find We have booked again already

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for the night before or after a ferry ride to Sardinia .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ITs really not the hotels fault - they were great - Civitavecchia though is not where I would recommend you spend a holiday - its just an overnight stop town .

    The Hotel was better than we expected but dont expect too much of Civitavecchia - it really is just a place to stay just after or before you board your ferry or cruise ship.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shuttle from Airport to Hotel was extremely expensive (120 EUR)! There is a public transportation possibility if you want to reach center of Civitavecchia - hotel staff did not know or did not want to share this info with us. They only offered taxi transport opportunity (15 EUR). Public bus is 2 EUR/person.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A gem of a hotel, under new management, with gorgeous sea views and an outstanding breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps one English t.v. channel like BBC or CNN Intl. Also, it is tempting to sleep with the patio doors open, but beware of mosquitos at night! Prices in the restaurant were higher than we preferred, but no other options were available close by for most of the day. There is a quaint little pizzeria down the street, though....

    We stayed here for one night after our cruise and it was a great place to just relax and soak in the beauty of the location and facilities before flying back home. The décor of the hotel is gorgeous as are the views from the rooms and restaurants. The breakfast was outstanding! Found lots of beautiful seaglass among the tidepools along the shore! The hotel will help arrange shuttles to cruise port or airport. The pools and pizzeria weren't open yet, but they looked like they would be a nice place to hang out and relax. Would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    The daily menu propose from the Chef do not value at all the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The daily menu propose from the Chef do not value at all the cost ,pasta was very salty and the main course look like a dish from culinary school of 20 years a go,potatoes are cut like rock and dry ,the pork was nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Good breakfast, plenty of food to pick from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little cold with no heating system on and it was really hard to find a (working) plug in there. Although, the plugs in the bathroom were working well.

    Good breakfast, plenty of food to pick from. Friendly staff willing to help. The wifi was okay. The room had a nice view and it was cleaned every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, hopefully they will continue with the refurb then it will be a super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed and upgrade, as fast as you put water in either the basin or the bath it ran out again. We really struggled to get any hot water in the evening.

    The location of the hotel even though it was not a beach it was on the sea. All rooms looked out to the sea too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location and beach was near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms was bit dirty, our bathroom wasnt clean proper. Breakfast was ok. The warm dishes (scrambled egs, bacon) was cold.

    Good location and beach was near.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    loved it-will definitely come back!!!! perfect to relax!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    arrived Sunday and nothing open anywhere to eat until 7:30 pm -- even down the street and no pizzeria-- Perhaps bar could have snacks or sandwiches? Heard other guests complain of same. Meal in restaurant Sunday pm was mediocre and service not good either. Bread was placed on our table but no plate, butter or olive oil---- we did find on sideboard but felt a little uncared for. taxi service slow and our hotel in Rome said they told your hotel that they would pick us up cheaper--we should have had that info

    breakfast awesome and good time view is to die for -- I had been there before with my daughter 20 years ago and loved it then--still do. I believe it is my favorite place to be ;) Fab----- was awesome, his English really helped us:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Great for overnight stay ONLY!! Rude restaurant staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC not working even attempt made by staff; had to open the windows and attacked by vicious MOSQUITOES! Bathroom sucks...half glass cover door, water all over floors, door sticks and makes a lot of noise. Entry door to the room swells up causing cracking and knocking noises!!! Restaurant staff rude and possibly do not like Asians! Easily resolved though....after eating and paying the expensive and not so good dinner, WE DECIDED TO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE AND NEVER CAME BACK!!!!

    Fantastic view!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pools were closed and there was no chairs/lounges on the beach front even though it was 29 deg and sunny.

    the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. Great location right on the water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Pretty rooms with great vistas; good value for the money, even with extra taxi fare factored in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little distance (several km) from the port and central Civitavecchia which necessitated a taxi from the port. Unless you're dining at the hotel, you'd probably need a taxi to get to restaurants. Breakfast didn't open till 7am , and our airport shuttle was scheduled for 7am pickup, so we missed breakfast. Hotel's restaurants didn't open till 7:30pm, which is a little late for us.

    Gorgeous room with handpainted Italian tiled floor. We got a corner room on top floor with wraparound balcony that provided great views of the sea and sunset. We dined at the hotel's pizzeria which was delicious. Shower and bathroom adequate for our one-night stay. Despite being several kms from central Civitavecchia, we would stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    Beach Club Style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit shabby, could do with some maintenance, but perhaps it had been a long hard summer? Bar and restaurant rather soulless.

    Lovely view from room overlooking small yacht harbour. Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Good place for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If there is something to improve then I pick breakfast. Bread etc. were not fresh at all, limited choice (even if sweet&salt food is there).

    A spectacular view, good location if you travel by ferry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.7
    Serene Environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel location is a bit far from the city centre, but the view was worth the isolation! The Front Desk attendant could have been more warm too, but I guess not being too fluent in English caused the luke warm reception.

    The sea view from the rooms and dining area are amazing. Online pictures do not do this any justice... The breakfast was very nice too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Was satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Life savers at the big pool were not very customer friendly, especially some of the ladies. They need to be more tactful when dealing with overseas clients.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Friends wedding stay ..
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out of town and taxi will cost your €15-20 each way if you want to eat somewhere different than the hotel. The pool areas are also used and reserved for outside customers meaning you can not choose where you would like to go or the sunbeds regardless of what time you went, this meant views where restricted if hoping for a sea view, we was also placed in direct sunlight one day and told we couldn't use the umbrella for safety reasons which left use laying in complete sunlight at 35 degrees with no share! Unfortunately this is told you when booking or checking in - we found this out by happily choosing a sunbed empty and packed down, to be told we had to move and wasn't allowed to stay there which we was initially very confused by, it then came to our attention a lot of these beds/ reserved areas do not get used either! The staff do not speak much English either making the situation a little more Tricky and awkward. Be warned you also need to use swim hats for the pools this is not told to you until you are in the pool and told to get out and buy one... it's a shame because these where the only things that let it down massively!!

    The room overlooked the sea and port which was lovely to wake up to and also lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset, the rooms where spacious and clean also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    For an overnight before a cruise a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt seem to have enough staff for breakfast

    Close to port where we caught our cruise, transportation to port was organised by hotel. Even though we arrived late we were still able to enjoy a great pizza!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall stay was good, we enjoyed our time at the pool and a quick dip in the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Local transport was poor (we had to use taxi as we did not have a car). Also, no sandy beech ? The food at the pool café was limited.

    The room & breakfast was great - we liked it. We loved the pizza at the restaurant, tasty !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    lackluster
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was terrible. How can you mess up pasta in Italy? It tasted like Chef Boy R Dee the kids wouldn't even eat it and they were starving. The hamburger is just a ground beef patty -- no bun or extras such as cheese or lettuce. The pool you needed a reservation for, which we didn't find out about until we tried to go to it after a long hot day. Then, in Italy it's a rule for salt water pools that you must wear a swim cap which we had to buy if we wanted to swim $3 each. Not a big deal but we just wanted to cool down and it literally took us about an hour before we could get in the water because of all these rules. The pool was nice and everything, but just difficult. The property is old and although it looks like they try to keep it up, it's not a best effort for sure. It appeared clean, but not really up to my standards. It reminded me of one of those old Inns in the Northeast U.S. except this one was without many amenities and not serving a population of return guests. It is readily apparent this facility hosts folks going on a cruise and therefore assumes they will not return so neither the staff nor property attempts to dazzle.

    There was a little pizzeria near by and the air conditioners did a good job of cooling the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Great coffee but bed too hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very hard. The balcony doors were difficult to open and close so it was impossible to avoid banging them. The towel rail is badly positioned so the towels got soaked unless we moved them before using the shower. The shower is poorly positioned making it difficult to use comfortably without soaking the entire room. Muesli with chocolate chips!!

    The pool area and poolside bar. Free towels to use at the pool. The view from our balcony. The coffee and fresh fruit at breakfast. Helpful, polite and friendly staff. The pizzeria.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    A great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the hotel as a one night stop over before a cruise and it was great but the taxi cost to the port was about 30euros and 20euros from the station. We used the shuttle bus and local bus on return which was easy to use and only 2euros each.

    Rooms were very nice with a lovely view. Pool area was great and there was a lovely pizzeria at the back of the hotel. A great one night stop over before the cruise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Close to Cruise Terminal but not a four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a four star hotel. Air Conditioning inadequate for the room. Beds were one step up from a cot. No box spring bases. The beach was all rocks and had no chairs to sunbathe. Buffet breakfast was mediocre. Very disappointing.

    This was close to the cruise ship terminal making the location convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant staff overall was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff overall was pleasant. But there was a headwaiter at the restaurant that was so rude and obnoxious. His attitude was so bad we had to walk out! 13 people! We refused to give him our business. We took a couple of cabs and found an amazing restaurant in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Lovely hotel but terrible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff were absolutely appalling. We were not allowed to have a starter and then a main but had to have it all at once. One day they said we could only have pizzas and not any salad etc. They were rude and offensive. For breakfast my husband asked for bacon but after half an hour and two reminders, he gave up. I asked for a cappuccino and had to request it three times to get it. Fabrizio the main sales man is excellent but

    value for money. Rooms. access to sea,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    The views from the room were spectacular .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated. We were on the same floor as reception. The balcony was small and to be honest it was very dirty. The room was very clean and if they just had a bit more attention to detail and jet washed the balcony it would have been fine. The rooms could do with an update and at 4 star I would have thought you should have been able to get a bottle of wine at 12.30 to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings but no everything's closed,. One other thing make sure you check the price of the taxi BEFORE your journey into town just 3 km and it cost €20!!! A bit of a rip off. Should have been around €10 I found out later!

    The views from the room were spectacular . A really nice hotel in a very quiet area just outside the town. I would stay again but ask for a room on the lower floor where the balcony is larger and it had a table and chairs. We ate lunch at the Pizza bar, excellent food and really great value with lovely views over the bay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location and view with a wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not that comfortable, and some general maintenance should be attended to (worn paint, toilet pipe coming loose, water from shower got everywhere). That said, we would stay again for a short visit if we are in the area.

    We stayed for one night, and loved the view from our room. Absolutely gorgeous ocean and sunset. We enjoyed the pool, and the breakfast buffet was great. The room was as advertised. We would stay again for a short visit if we are in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Our reservation was double booked accidentally- under the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our reservation was double booked accidentally- under the exact same names & identification numbers one month and a half before the night we stayed there for, their systems should have picked this up and the bookings should be paid in advance so you know what you are in for !!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't as tidy as I would hoped. Far from town, without a car was bit forced to eat at hotel all the time.

    Good breakfast. Pools and staff at the pools were nice. It was nice that you got towels at the pool too and didn't need to have own ones. Actually all the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    The view from the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The help on the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was just okay, had to ask for things that finished, like water, utensils, cups, glasses.

    The view from the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    Not a 4-star hotel with nice seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is ranked as 4 stars, but that's not true. - "Family room" means ordinary room with two additional beds. No additional room or even a kettle. Have no idea why they call it "family". - No cups, glasses or even small plate. Nothing. Have some fruits? You will not find palce for them. - We have found a lot of dust in the kids bed. Equipment in the bathroom is also old, so you will get floor full of water by just taking shower. No bathrobe at all. - The restaurant is overpriced for the food and service it offers.

    - This hotel has quite big dedicated parking for cars. And for boats, I guess, since it is located very close to the sea shore and marina. - There are two pools - since it was very windy they were very useful. There's bar near pools where you can have lunch when the restaurants are closed. Girl in the bar know english very well (unlike lifeguards), so you won't have any problems with communication (and actually she is the coolest out of all staff there. Girl, if you're reading this - thank you!) - Wonderful sea view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.9
    The worst experem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The complete check in procedure was lacking in man management skills and no appreciation to an arriving guest. As we were early arrivals and accommodation not ready were then told to 'just leave our luggage' in the arrival area with no security. The breakfast on the first morning was disgusting - tables not cleared, the server type tables messy, cutlery in short supply and replaced wet and dirty, food not replaced eg, bread, boiled eggs. Walked to the main town - about 35 minutes walk along a main road with areas where there was no pavement. Can cope with that as intended to use a taxi later foe return journey but established that taxis in Civitavecchia stop operating at 8pm - so a walk back in the dark. And no advice from the hotel - well no advice on the hotel facilities either. So poor that we checked out after one day and forfeited the charge for the other 2 days.

    The pool area was good and the small snack bar was excellent - and the only staff member who had a smile and was very helpful. The lifeguards were quite rude about which area that could be used - many reserved - and also spent most of their time on mobile phones.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Good for very short stay waiting for cruise ship. Otherwise, stay any place else but here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facility is crumbling and outdated and needs a good cleaning, Weeds and walkways need to be taken care of. Nice entrance but the good stuff ends there. The bar man would not give us wine glasses to be used in our rooms. So we stole them from the dining room and used them all week but had to hide them from the maid. Ridiculous...

    Location was great to catch a cruise ship.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    Not bad but not the best value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant only offered a basic menu and was expensive for the quality of food I found the room to be a bit scruffy and I know when in Rome and all that jazz but a better selection of TV channels would be good The pillows on the bed were not good

    The hotel staff were very helpfully With good facilities The view across the bay was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    I little dissapointing to be a four stars hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds of 80 cm... I thought they did not exist anymore! The breakfast a little dissapointing. When we arrived 45 minutes before closing it a lot of things (Croissantes, juice,,,) were ran out and they did not refilled until we were already leaving.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    5.8
    Hotel was very quiet not many bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived I was informed my booking was not prepaid I showed my Booking.com confirmation but they said it was declined. I had to pay again. I still await a refund. Spoilt the start to our vacation

    Hotel was very quiet not many bookings. It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    3.8
    Terrible.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not cleaned properly. Shower fitting was rusty, minibar had mould inside. We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children and got a room with a double bed and 2 of the worst single beds I have ever seen in a hotel. There was a bar downstairs from our room which had music so loud it vibrated the floor and played until 0230... We complained to reception about the noise at 2330 and were told the only action available was to move us to a different room in the same part of the hotel... Overall, one of the worst hotel experiences we have had.

    Leaving in the morning...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    hotel and staff 10.booking.com dropped the ball big time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if booking.com had not changed our dates it would have been better. we booked for oct.25 to oct 27.not for nov. 25 to27.. the hotel made every effort to take care of us.

    staff was great views were great .the food was well thought out

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.5
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As we were there in October, just out of season, some of the facilities were closed and as we didn't have a car while we were there we found it's location a bit challenging.

    Great view from the room out over the harbour & sea. Staff helpful and as we didn't have a car they were a great help with travel options when we needed them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    4.6
    Very disappointed. We were only overnighting to join a cruise ship the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electric power points in the rooms. Ours had none. Better maintenance, our toilet seat was broken when we arrived. The first room we were allocated had mildew in the shower. The hotel is a 45 minute walk to town but there are no taxis in Civitaveccia for the return journey. Management could warn the guests about that. There is no lift in the hotel nor are any of the staff willing to help with heavy bags. Need to be warned about this.

    The location is good for the Summer season but not out of season. Otherwise its hard to say anything positive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    A great way to start a Vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle to port could have been smother but really not a problem.

    Great Pizza, great location. we cruise and will always stay here before cruises that start or finish here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    a seaside inclusive resort hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative.

    The property must be amazing in season! It was very pleasant with many amenities..bar,restaurant for lunch and dinner,etc. The breakfast included with the cost of room was the best ever!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautyfull location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need a taxi or transfer to the cruise terminal the arrangements made by the hotel were chaotic. Very limited services available & lots of guests trying to book.

    All rooms had ocean view balconies. Small hotel with good facilities & friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.7
    The room was a nice size and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The staff really seemed ununinterest in the guests. 2. We reserved the shuttle to the port but there was no one to check to be sure the guest on the correct shuttle time. It was a mad house with people getting on whether it was their turn or not..very unorganized.

    The room was a nice size and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant staff rude and not helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff rude and not helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Very sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very comfortable and very sweet. It has all the facilities one needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again as the hotel was very near cruise port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed were a little hard

    Situation was great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good for transit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff, morning food, location of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the location. Nice staff, good breakfast selection and restaurant was better than we expected. Overall good stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Location is at the suburbs, rather for staying at the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is at the suburbs, rather for staying at the hotel or travelling far by car. Although, the city centre is great at night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Great start of the holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the pizzeria was not responding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Distance from town was too far and roads too dangerous with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from town was too far and roads too dangerous with no footpaths

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and worn down hotel. Breakfast was cold, old and not fresh.

    Great view. Great bed. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and helpful staff. Lovely pool, great pizzas. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant in a no go. The night we were there. There was not enough beer and no red wine

    The room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Superb hotel ground with nice pools and sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little bit broken.

    Superb hotel ground with nice pools and sea view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Reception open 24 hours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    We would love to go back 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, the view is spectacular! The restaurant was excellent...with a free buffet breakfast ♥️ Staff were great !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Relaxed atmosphere and some of the staff were outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meals - very disappointing in flavour presentation and service.

    Relaxed atmosphere and some of the staff were outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Des-interest in the wellbeing of the customer

    Good rooms and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Civitavecchia Sunbay Park Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: