Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tangohotel

Via Della Formica 390, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#100 of 137 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location near to the city center, dogs allowed (but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to pay 15 euros extra for the dog for 1 night... But the floor of the room was distusting, we found dust, hairs, even earings and a cigarett butt near the nightstands and I almost had an heartattack when I looked under the bed. So we paid an huge extra for the extra work needed to clean the room because of the dog, but the room wasn't even clean at first... The bathroom was clean though.

    Great location near to the city center, dogs allowed (but huge extra)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Memorable Stay 5 Night Stay In Lucca At The Friendly & Well Run Tangohotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast choice was limited but good quality. This is a relatively new venture for Jesus & Miriam & they are still working at improving the choice available. Otherwise there is little to complain about. It does not have a bar or public rooms but this was not important to us

    The staff were wonderful! The proprietors were very friendly & helpful giving us great recommendations for restaurants & even making the bookings at the restaurants for us. The hotel was also well located for the railway station; the historical centre of Lucca & large supermarket & shops. There was nowhere that was more than 10-15 minutes walk away. Additionally, the building & rooms were fairly unique in that it is a sympathetically restored Medieval Shop & all the renovated rooms are individually & very tastefully decorated & the hotel is kept spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant hotel close to the historical center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant hotel close to the historical center of Lucca. The interior or the room is creative in a very positive and stylish way. Was a true pleasure to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could fault was that the air conditioning temperature could not be adjusted, just turned on or off. This meant the room got very hot the first night as we turned it off, then very cold the second night when we left it on.

    Tangohotel was really beautiful. The owners were really lovely and did everything they could to make us feel welcome and settled. The room was very pretty and the terrace was a lovely place to sit and have breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Attractive and original hotel near railway station and city walls but expensive and on noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on a busy and noisy road. The room is not well-sound proofed (the windows are only single glazed) and there is constant traffic noise until late at night and early in the morning. The room was too small, with no cupboards or drawers. At EUR 100, the hotel room was not good value for money. Breakfast is offered at EUR 15.00 person which is far to expensive. The nearby bakery was shut, but you get get a good breakfast in the beautiful historic centre (15 minutes walk away) for about EUR 5-6 per person.

    The staff (owners) are very kind and helpful The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the railway station and city walls The interior is attractive with exposed brickwork and beams

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel and Miriam and her staff were so helpful. Great location within easy walking distance to the centre of Lucca. Excellent parking for motorcycle. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    No fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The hotel hosts were lovely friendly people , who went out of their way to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern comfort and well maintained old building. High level of presentation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Bad odor in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad odor in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pretty small, but very nice. The rooms felt luxurious and it was very clean. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    Very nice styled and decorated room, 10 minute walk to city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    This was a very interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a very interesting experience. When we arrived for check-in, nobody was there. Eventually a young woman came by and gave us the code to get in the front door. There are only 5 rooms in the hotel. Ours was upgraded to the largest in the attic. It was a beautiful room. The owner eventually showed up and we were able to communicate enough. They are only a very short walk from one of the gates to the city. There was no breakfast served in the morning, but we had to pay 5 Euros plus tax for a voucher at a café a few blocks away. The room was great, the staff was very accommodating. The hall and stairs are very tight, so we left our bags in the car and took only what we would need for the stay. It was a bit quirky but a great stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    Miriam and Jesus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We knew there was no breakfast but thought there should be coffee available in the a.m.

    Miriam and Jesus. Try very hard to please the guests. They picked us up at the train station, gave recommendations for restaurants and cycling tours and arranged for us to rent bikes. Location is close to train and to the interior of the walled city. Room was neat, quiet and interesting.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Jesus and Miriam are excellent hosts, and really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Jesus and Miriam are excellent hosts, and really friendly and helpful. Their taste for the design and decoration of the rooms is unique, every room is lovely, with multiple subtle indirect light sources, great bathroom design too and a rustic but immaculate condition of both, bedroom and bathroom. I can definitely recommend the Tango Hotel!!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    It is a brand new, Well decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's exactly 1,8 km walk to the airport instead of 1 km walk. Nevertheless... An excellent location near The airport.

    It is a brand new, Well decorated room. Very friendly staff. Quiet airco.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.2
    The room was perfect for our one night stay during which we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was perfect for our one night stay during which we went to see a concert in the Piazza Napoleone. I loved the style of the hotel and appreciated all the carefully planned details. The staff were lovely and I was able to communicate easily in Spanish. Wifi was free and worked fairly well.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Jesus is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Jesus is the best. He is a kind and engaging man and extraordinarily helpful. Easy to get to from the train station and a quick walk to explore Lucca! I love this carefully restored building and the Argentinian decor. Ciao... Bachi!!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    Hotel lies close to the city, wich is car-free, so if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel staff didn't speak very well english, but tried their best to help us anyway. Didn't have bike rentals as described, but we rented bikes right inside the city walls for a tour around the wall instead.

    Hotel lies close to the city, wich is car-free, so if arriving by car, it's best to stay outside the city. Hotel had parking outside. Clean rooms with interesting interior decor. Wi-fi was free.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    Smart infrastructure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smart infrastructure. Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    It was a very well presented room and had everything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very well presented room and had everything we needed. It was also a short walk from the main city.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly people, Free WIFI.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly people, Free WIFI.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: