Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tenuta Cusmano

Anagnina 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy

#2 of 20 hotels in Grottaferrata

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful setting with an exceptional form of hospitality displayed by Maurizio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location, amazing view, delicious breakfast, very nice swimming pool and in general an incredible form of hospitality and kindness by the owner Maurizio. A must stay in Lazio!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    lovely stay in the past = beautiful memory today and will definitely be treasured in futur days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The warm, sensitive and personal touch of Maurizio, his excellent trip tips, the delicious breakfast, the beautiful quiet garden with top swimming pool and terraces with panoramic view, the private parking place. Tenuta Cusmano is a prime location to -after having finished your city trip to Rome- relax, unwind and further discover Lazio, an underestimated though beautiful region full of surprises and lovely hidden secret places. Mille grazie a Maurizio :o) ! Ann&Didier

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A beautiful house in the hills near Rome with a great host:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A beautiful house in the hills near Rome with a great host: Maurizio. He is very hospitable and care taking, whether he is preparing your delicious breakfast, explaining places to visit or even making reservations at restaurants. The family estate with its views is amazing, especially from its relaxing (and refreshing!) pool. A wonderful place with Italian hospitality, ideally located for daytrips and unwinding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Relaxation in the country outside Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this place. The location was great: close to multiple interesting historic towns and accessible to Rome, yet in a peaceful country setting. I loved the view and the pool. The breakfast was also a nice inclusion. One of my favourite things about the place was having Maurizio as a host. He is a welcoming and personable guy, and provided us with fantastic recommendations for restaurants and touring around the area. It was a pleasure to meet him. We will recommend this place to our friends travelling to the Rome area. Grazie mille!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The villa, the grounds, the pool, the staff and the breakfast exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio was exceptionally helpful, kind and hospitable. The location, views and pool were over and above our expectations. The rooms were clean and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Tenuta Cusmano is in a perfect location for visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about Tenuta Cusmano.

    Tenuta Cusmano is in a perfect location for visiting Frascati, Castel Gandolfo, Rome and surrounding area. The villa is also perfectly located for the most spectacular views over the countryside, including over Rome, yet it is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Manager Maurizio makes it even more special - he is so amiable and obliging - he treats you like a friend. I can't think of a hotel I have enjoyed staying in more. Things I liked: Maurizio, great breakfasts, stunning views, the fabulous terrace outside our room, the beautiful grounds of the hotel, the comfortable bed, the really efficient controllable air-conditioning, great local restaurants within walking distance, the sound of the crickets, the twinkling lights of Rome at night, Tenuta Cusmano's wine, Maurizio's love of his home and his land.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio is so personable, he made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. The place is absolutely beautiful and you can tell he takes pride in his Villa. Grazie!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent; our host was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast excellent. Host allowed us to retain our room beyond 11am so we could continue to enjoy the facilities (including the superb swimming pool) until our evening flight departure. We also received detailed instructions from our host to return our hire car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place, excellent for relaxing and wineyard touring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited the place during high season, so the house was full of guests. This did not matter at all, only when breakfast was served a bit slow due to the full house.

    The place was beautiful, it met all our expectations and Maurizio, the manager was wonderful and super helpful. The Grottaferrata village near the property had plenty of good restaurants and it was easy to move around with a rental car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous country house in the hills overlooking Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful guesthouse sits high above Rome within a lovely garden. Vast lawns, shaded by umbrella trees, offer breathtaking views. We could have spent all day around the fabulous swimming pool where there are lots of comfortable loungers and sunshades, excellent views amid pretty flower pots and well kept flower beds. The rooms are large, clean and simple with substantial balconies. The house was very peaceful, night and day. Excellent breakfast included croissant, fresh fruit and delicious omelettes. A real gem, great for visiting Tivoli, Frascati, Palestrina, Nemi etc. Close to Rome and Ciampino but no road noise. Great restaurants in the vicinity. We were well looked after by the delightful owner and will return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely amazing! Nothing to complain about. Maurizio, the host, provides a warm and welcoming environment to this picture-perfect oasis. It's ideal for relaxing and discovering the villages on the hills of Rome. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great host, prefect Vista.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't complain about anything.

    Absolutely Enjoyable stay. This place exceeded our expectiontions.The lawns were green and pool blue. The pool is maintained to very high stanard. The breakfast was great and host couldn't be more welcoming. And the loaction is close to the local townships and wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Mauritizio the owner is a delightful knowledgeable host who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Mauritizio the owner is a delightful knowledgeable host who goes out his way to ensure his guest see the lovely towns and countryside. He also produces an excellent wine. We visited Castel Gandolfo & Villa D’Este from here with local delights of the Lago Nemi & Albano

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    A paradise of peace near the big city throbbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some renewal actions may make this jewel even shinier.

    First and foremost - Maurizio, the warm beating heart of the complex. Caring, sympathetic and always willing to assist - offering a place worthwhile visiting, or an eatery to spend an evening in. Then the location – overlooking southeastern outskirts of Rome and other Castelli Romani small towns, it’s the essence of peace of mind and tranquility. Though the place may benefit a facelift, it still a definite jewel of the Alban hills surrounding Rome. Maurizio and the view – the winning combination to go for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Superbly located B&B run by a fabulous owner. Divine hospitality in a wonderful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, in the hills just outside Rome, with a breathtaking view on the city and the sea at the horizon. is unbeatable. The swimming pool is one of the best I've ever seen on my vacations. Thé trump of this B&B remains however Maurizio, the most friendly and helpful owner we've had so far on our countless trips to Italy. He's always there to assist you with whatever question or request you have and he does whatever he can to make your stay perfect and pleasant. It was the second time we visited Tenuta Cusmano and it will certainly not be our last one!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host Maurizio real is the best, gives us quite lot of useful information about the hotel facilities, restaurants, and nearby POIs. Hotel room is very clean and cozy. In the garden we also get a nice view of the Roma city. Would definitely come back again in summer time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing (maybe Tea making in the room would be good - although this lack of facility is every where in Italy)

    The Hotel although hard to find (Google errors) is in a stunning position, a beautiful pool, and the Family that run the Hotel are very kind and Maurizio goes out of his way to help you find Restaurants, book Taxis and advise places of interest / draws maps and advises on where to go, making the stay memorable, we will definitely book and stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Maurizo was a fantastic host - he is very helpfull and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizo was a fantastic host - he is very helpfull and patient. As soon as you Walk though the door, you feel welcome. There are great restaurants 15 min walk away from the hotel, but having a car is good if you want to go to others restaurants in the nearby area. If you like beautiful surroundings and a peaceful atmosphere in a traditionel italian living space, you are gonna love your stay at Tenuta Cusmano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    loved every moment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    excellent swimming pool, fantastic views over Rome. just like staying in your own private villa. proprietor advises on trips and provides a friendly atmosphere to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Thank You Mario and your team for a lovely unforgettable stay at your property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely time at Tenuta Cusmano. Especially getting to know the passionate owner Maurizio. After giving us a full explanation of what to do and where to go in the area, we were off for a great start. Mario is like a butterfly behind the scene. Whenever you need something, he is there to assist. We had a lovely Italian home style breakfast and a relaxing morning session around the stunning pool. I can highly recommend this property for travelers who want to explore the surrounding area (even Rome). It's a very quiet retreat with amazing views. The Rooms are large and comfortable. We will definitely be back!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay! Views and tranquility are what you can expect stating here. Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport to and from property will cost you. When arriving from train station (Frascati) you must go up a huge flight of stairs to get a taxi. They charge 11-16 Euros for this trip, and coming back you need to have the hotel book your taxi if you are flying from Ciampino Airport. Just an FYI!!! The view and atmosphere are totally worth it, but count this $ as part of your visit.

    The views are simply amazing! The hotel owner is very nice and accommodating to your needs. It is a nice break from the big city of Rome! Restaurant just down the street- legit Italian family restaurant. Hours are 8pm for dinner. Picture on review shows the name of the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Home away from home - and more scenic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the tenuta - it's my home away from home on short visits to Rome and the surrounding area - comfortable, lovely facility and Mauricio is alwys helpful and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    A true home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tenuta Cusmano was absolutely perfect. The owner Maurizio really made our stay extra special. He is attentive to the guests and always has a smile. We felt welcomed and comfortable. The property was stunning with panoramic views. Large pool with lots of lounge chairs. The rooms were spacious with large bathrooms and large terraces. (We had one for my husband and I and one for our teenage daughter and her friend) Breakfast each morning was delicious and custom made. Wifi always worked well and there is ample parking. An easy 20 minute drive has you in Rome. Grottaferrata and Frascati are lovely nearby towns within 5 minutes. You will not be disappointed if you book this place. We look forward to a return visit. Thank you Maurizio!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Best host - Maurizio is a gem! Postcard worthy location with stunning views and delightful pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wish we had a car... highly recommend one, although it was not too bad to travel by taxi at all. Even walked the 1.4 km to dinner the one night (uphill one way though). And of course Maurizio took care of all this for us:)))

    This place offers such beautiful views from probably almost every room. It is a nice villa of only 9 rooms so very charming. The nicest, friendliest host you will ever meet that greets you with a smile and makes sure your stay is perfect in every single way. He is very proud of his property and is always around making sure you are ok, that you have places to go for dinner ( we had great suggestions given to us). The pool is just stunning with beautiful views! The view is nice from every spot on this property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Superb location for couples and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The house can use a bit more modern luxury. Like more sockets, stronger wifi and renewed sanitary facilities. But maybe having it different than you are used to at home IS what a vacation should make you feel like ;-)

    The location with the garden, the pool, the view and distance to Rome are as perfect as they can be. Maurizio made us feel more than welcome. He helped us out with any question we had. Made us feel safe and almost at home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    AMAZING! Million dollar views and gorgeous pool! Wish I was still there :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing the only thing I could say is the rooms need brighter lighting but honestly you are not in your room except to sleep because the property is so gorgeous

    Million dollar view for a budget price - Views are amazing! Pool is beautiful! Stayed here on Monday, July 31st for one day and I wish I was there longer! Do yourself a favor, grab a bottle or two of wine, and enjoy the pool, grounds and view all day until the sunset. During the day the sun highlights different areas of the property and views, and the sunset and twilight are amazing. Views over Rome with twinkling lights, quiet, relaxing and gorgeous, you will not be disappointed. I believe there are only 11 rooms, we felt like we had the pool all to ourselves. We booked here the day before our flight to Rome to get some R & R and we were not disappointed. We were leaving very early the next morning, and Maurizio left us a breakfast of cake and assorted fruits in our room the night before. Maurizio is a fabulous host, always available if you have a question, funny, personable, but also leaves you to enjoy the property. Do not hesitate to book his childhood home, you will love it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful place - we will definetely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything!

    Everything was perfect! Maurizio - we loved your beautiful place and your great hospitality. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - we will come back someday:-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful location with the friendliest host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having enough time to spend there!

    Maurizio was a very special host. We reserved one night at the hotel prior to departing Italy the next morning. We travelled back up from Southern Italy, hence we were arriving late and unfortunately did not have time to use the facilities i.e food/pool etc, Maurizio was very accommodating, welcoming us like family more than like guests, he is obviously very proud of the standard and the history of his hotel. Very close to Rome but in an affluent and upmarket area outside of the city, also to Caimpino airport. No aircraft noise. The journey to the airport took us approximately 15/20 minutes in rush hour traffic. You can see the lights of Rome in the evening. A perfectly peaceful location surrounded by trees and fields. Parking is within the grounds of the hotel and therefore easy and secure. We had an apartment in the hotel which was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately not a full review but from my impression I would definitely return to this peaceful, idyllic location and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Tenuta Cusmano is heaven on earth !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing at all

    We stayed at Tenuta Cusmano from July 1st till July 14th 2017. And the overall reaction is it was perfect !!. First of all great compiments to the owner Maurizio. We now come to Italy for more then 30 years and we have never experienced such a nice owner. Maurizio was Always giving great advice what to visite and even made reservations in restaurants for us which helped a lot in getting the best table in the restaurant. Maurizio was Always in for some fun and he's really dedicated in making your holiday to the best experience ever. Thank you Maurizio for everything !!! Tenuta Cusmano as a location is perfect. With your car it is very simple to drive to the center of Rome and also in the area there is a lot to see. The hotelroom was perfect and was made clean every day more then perfect. Even our clothes were handed in to the closet. The swimming pool is perfect with a breath taking view. We really had a perfect time here and really came to rest and we know for sure that we will go back there !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Friendly host and peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio was an amazing friendly host with good English and great knowledge of the area and how to get about. His maps and instructions for parking were invaluable to us as we explored the area by car. The room was spotless and the views from our balcony and the pool were stunning. The breakfast was also lovely and cooked to order every day. It was the perfect start to our honeymoon and we will definitely go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel, host and setting. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grottaferrata is about a 20-25 minute walk uphill to the town. Not a major issue for us, but it might be if prospective guests havent got a car and are unfit or don't like walking.

    The owner, Maurizio, is the most friendly and passionate hotel owner I've ever come across, and goes out of his way to help all his guests and tend to their needs. Even when faced with some rather difficult and overly demanding guests that were staying at the same time as us he seems unfazed and always willing to try and help. The property is wonderful, and in a very nice peaceful setting. The pool is one of the best maintained and largest in the area. It is only about 10 minutes away from Frascati town centre (about a 15 Euro taxi drive), so easy for those wishing to visit Rome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most beautiful swimming pool I've ever swam in. Maurizio was an amazing host and made us all smile with his funny and sweet personality. Room was comfortable and had everything you need, along with one of the most stunning views of the aromas countryside you can find. Loved every minute. Can't recommend highly enough!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Tenuta Cusmano deserves 11
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our second holiday in Tenuta Cusmano. This time our honeymoon :) Tenuta Cusmano is the choice if you want to have a relaxing quality time and romantic stay in Italy. We loved the atmosphere and the poolside and of course the overwhelming service by Maurizio. The quiet and easy breakfast was great. We mostly dined at the nearest restaurant La Cavola D’oro and loved the food and service there. We recommend caprese, tortelloni and tiramisu. We walked each day 1.5 km to the city center to have a nice cup of coffee and Italian tapas in Eden Cafe. And of course some ice cream near Ristorante Da Valerio which is also a nice choice for dinner. It's easy to visit Rome by first walking 3.5km to Frascati and then taking the train to Termini station. We walked about 20km in Rome so we took taxi back to the hotel. We give Tenuta Cusmano 10 because you cannot give 11 :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Peaceful retreat in the hills south of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was relaxing and most enjoyable. The owner Maurizio was very friendly and helpful with suggestions of places to visit (including detailed maps) and dinner reservations. He even organized breakfast for us early on our day of departure so we could make our flight. There are amazing views of the countryside to be enjoyed from your balcony, yet Rome is surprisingly close at hand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A little bit of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of paradise in the Alban hills above Rome. Lovely grounds, beautiful views, comfortable and charming rooms. Mauricio is a great host. Great destination for cyclists and visitors to Rome looking for pleasant restful accommodations at a very reasonable rate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    So pleased we visited this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are not looking or expecting up to date rooms then you will not be disappointed. If you are used to brand hotels then the accommodation will probably not meet your standard . The best description I can think would be rustic. The breakfast is basic but acceptable.

    The welcome was exceptionally good. We arrived from a cruise early morning but were told to take a seat and coffee and croissants arrived till our room was ready. The gardens are stunning and the views are memorable We ate in frascati which is a town worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location, great pool and Maurizio is an excellent host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and balconies need updating.

    The pool was excellent with fabulous views and good Sun lounges. The location of the property was excellent, close to restaurants and a short drive to Castelli Romani towns. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Forza Maurizio !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio is an amazing host: he made our stay in Italy just perfect. With genuine kindness, he indicated great places for us to enjoy the surroundings. Great breakfast, fresh and home made. Stunning view on the hills and Rome. We definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful Sanctuary Just Outside Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio is just a gem! What a wonderful host and beautiful property!! I was traveling alone with my two small kids and he made our stay so exceptional. We felt at home:) Wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back though!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.3
    Un useable green swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was green and our girls couldn't swim in it , it was advertised as sky blue but looked like a green duck pond , we all had atleast 10 mosquito bites each in our 2 rooms and we cut our stay short , the television didn't work , there wasn't any bar or drinks or evening meals , the rooms don't look anything like advertised and are very very small and the bathrooms are 1970s style , we only booked it through its high rating Id say it was a 3 star at best

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Maurizio is the best host, ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maurizio is the best host, ever!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Location and area very nice and hotel very well keept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gtreat location out of rome center enjoy whatvtge real italy looks like

    Location and area very nice and hotel very well keept

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice place but rather expencive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast inside in small room - a pitty that they don't serve on the terrace outside to enjoy the Beautiful views

    Beautiful views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Maurizio is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Attic
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing)

    Maurizio is the best. And lady who’s cooking breakfast amazing. Thanks a lot. Maurizio solves any problems you meet and helps you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic place and what a nice and helpful owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place and what a nice and helpful owner!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Peace and beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got badly bitten: take your insect spray!

    The kindness of Maurizio, the pool surroundings and garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All is very nice! And Maurizio is super!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Thé staff, the welcoming, the place full of nature, the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Thé staff, the welcoming, the place full of nature, the view and the tranquility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Just Fantastic host and fantastic accommodation with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just Fantastic host and fantastic accommodation with stunning interior and exterior gardens with Pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Owner/Manager was exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner/Manager was exceptional!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Host was very nice and service-minded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance in general

    Host was very nice and service-minded. Photos on website do not do justice to this gorgeous place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful views, excellent host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful views, excellent host! Our second stay here and we were not disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Great host and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    The hotel, facilities and the host were fabulous - thank you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been good if there was option of snack lunch while at the pool side

    The hotel, facilities and the host were fabulous - thank you Marcello for all your trip guides.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant and attentive manager Maurizio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a good size with a great balcony but a little dark. It's also worth bearing in mind that the lovely outdoor pool only opens from May 1.

    Brilliant and attentive manager Maurizio. Great breakfasts. Beautiful garden. Handy access (with a car) to metro line taking you to Rome. Also lovely area in its own right to visit.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect, couldn't have been better.

    Everything. The host Mr. Cusmano extremely welcoming. He went out of his way to please us. Such a memorable and beautiful location. We travelled through Italy in different hotels but this was definitely one of the best in views, beauty and serenity. Thank you Mr. Cusmano for your wonderful self.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Maurizio took nicely care of us during the breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maurizio took nicely care of us during the breakfast, omelette has been served which is not common in Italy where there is a more sweet breakfast usual. Pool is very nice with enough sun beds

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful location and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    Beautiful location and surroundings. Very attentive service. Great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.5
    The owner, Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner, Mr. Maurizio, is a fantastic person: a very kind, attentive and zealous gentleman who shows full dedication and commitment to his business. He will pamper you in any possible way from the begin to the end of your stay. The location and the property are stunning. A very quiet place immersed in the nature, quite close to Rome, with breathtaking view of the surroundings. Breakfast is excellent: omelets are freshly prepared, croissants are freshly baked and so on. We definitely recommend this property to anyone. We really hope to come back at the earliest opportunity.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    The place is a paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is a paradise. Wonderful Garden with pool, wide great view, a quiet place in a perfekt landscape. Ideal contrast after a sightseeing Day in urban Rome. And Maurizio the Chef is so nice and really Takes care to his guests with his warm heart.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    It is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!

    It is beautiful. Great location, though you do need a car. Panoramic views over the area from the terrace. Very comfortable bed. Excellent swimming pool. Owner/Manager is very enthusiastic and could not be more helpful. He looked after us very well.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Stunning location with beautiful views, great facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning location with beautiful views, great facilities and Maurizio was exceedingly helpful. Pool area was great, gardens were lovely. Breakfast was good with fresh cooked options available to order. Perfect location for coming into Campiano airport! Walking distance to a selection of eateries in the village.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    made welcome from start to finish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    made welcome from start to finish. like living in your own private villa. super breakfast, lovely views and an excellent swimming pool and tennis court.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.7
    Lovely swimming pool great views and maurizzio couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was okay maybe a little overpriced compare to other agri-tourism hotels , also no restaurant.

    Lovely swimming pool great views and maurizzio couldn't do enough to help you. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Extremely friendly staff, wonderful garden and pool, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds a little bit outworn

    Extremely friendly staff, wonderful garden and pool, very nice view on Rome 'from the top' at day but even better during night

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful time at Tenuta Cusmano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful time at Tenuta Cusmano! We stayed 5 nights and loved every minute! Grottaferrata is a lovely small town with lots of fantastic restaurants, and it was an easy 45 minute journey into central Rome. Maurizio is the best host you could ever meet! So friendly, helpful and enthusiastic! He serves fantastic breakfasts (delicious Nutella crepes and coffee!) and is always available for advice about the local area. He provides maps and explains how to get places, as well as recommending restaurants and things to see and do, always with a smile! I cannot fault Maurizio or Tenuta Cumano!! We will definitely return and will look forward to the wonderful pool, wine, breakfasts and exceptional service! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    lovely B&B villa with panoramic views over the country...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    lovely B&B villa with panoramic views over the country side and a fabulous pool area. Maurizio, the owner, is extremely helpful and full of fun. He made our stay very special and goes out of his way to make sure you make the most of the restaurants in Grottaferrate and recommends scenic tours of the surrounding attractions. The room for 3 was very spacious(1 x large kingsize and a pullout single) with an enormous bathroom and a patio with fabulous rural views. The air conditioning was very good and the continental breakfast was lovely with Maurizio and helpers preparing omelettes, crepes and pancakes to order. We really did have a lovely stay and will certainly return.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay at Tenuta Cusmano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had an excellent stay at Tenuta Cusmano. The host Maurizio is extremely helpful and kind. The kids loved the swimming pool and their nutella crepes at breakfast! It was easy to travel into Rome and we enjoyed some nice dinners and ice creams in nearby Frascati. We stayed for 5 nights but would not hesitate to stay longer in the future.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.5
    Very nice welcome from staff, as if you were at home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Public transport to Ciampino airport not convenient, need to take a taxi.

    Very nice welcome from staff, as if you were at home. Clean and quiet place to stay during business trip in Roma, with swimming pool. Nice room with big terrasse. Huge breakfast! Good restaurants in small city nearby, 1,5-2 kms walking.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    I've stayed in various hotels in this area for over 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find problems. Hotel is about a 30 minute walk to nearest town, but we got used to it in the end.

    I've stayed in various hotels in this area for over 5 years and the Tenuta Cusmano is easily the best place I've stayed at. Wonderful surroundings, nice garden, large and clean pool in a lovely location, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is much better than other local hotels. What puts this hotel way ahead of the competition is the customer service. Maurizio, the owner, really cares about his guests and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He gave useful advice about local area that we would not have known about. His other staff we met are just as friendly and helpful. Great place and good value for money. We look forward to returning.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    We loved everything, the quiet picturesque location, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything, the quiet picturesque location, the room with a terrace as big as a ballroom and a view to dream of , a very comfortable room with everything you need and a star host in the person of Mauritzio who gives more than is expected and in a way that you leave feeling as if you have made a new friend.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    + very calm atmosphere and great views from the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - rooms are a bit dark due to large terraces

    + very calm atmosphere and great views from the hill + basic but clean rooms + nice town nearby with lots of restaurants (5 min drive) + swimming pool & tennis court

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    This is an extremely beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an extremely beautiful property! The rooms are gracious and welcoming and very comfortable. We spent most of our time on our terrace which had views of Rome and Castle Gandolofo, the Pope's summer residence. The owner could not have been kinder or more helpful. And the wine was great!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Excellent location (beautiful views);
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location (beautiful views); Caring, attentive staff; Great pool; Beautifully landscaped; Within hour of Rome airports; Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    The views were outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views were outstanding! The owner, Maurizio, is the kindest, nicest, and most pleasant man I have encountered in 60 years of traveling. A lovely place out of the hustle and bustle of Rome but still close by to easily visit. Maurizio guided us to a couple of local restaurants that had some of the best authentic Italian food we've ever tasted.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tenuta Cusmano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: