Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tenuta Di Canonica

Località Canonica 75, 06059 Todi, Italy

#5 of 14 hotels in Todi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 52 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Idyllic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Gracious setting with spectacular vistas! The staff accommodated every request. The dining setting was beautiful and we enjoyed having our meals there. The driving at night could be a bit of a challenge so having the dinner available was a superior option.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Tranquility in Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite With Private Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the view, the room, the staff, and the breakfast were exceptional! So nice to have the option of drinks and a lovely dinner after touring around the area. Many thank yous for sharing your lovely estate!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.5
    I would like to go back every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing- maybe robes for the pool.

    THE STAFF WERE A DELIGHT.The setting was beautiful; the ambience was perfect for a restful week. There was no need to leave the property. it is remote and difficult to find, but so worth it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    The grounds and location are truly stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t any drinking water provided for the guests other than one complimentary bottle at the start. And when ordering bottled water, it isn’t made clear that the price per bottle could vary from €2.50 - €4. I feel that information should be stated clearly when ordering, as the price of the water isn’t on any menu provided. Dinner is on the whole delicious, however the menu during our stay didn’t change (6nights) and only one night was there a special on offer. So it can feel somewhat limiting if you are there any longer than a few nights. The waiting staff in the day are lovely and very attentive. The evening staff, while pleasant, were incredibly slow and constantly arguing amongst one another, which created a palatable air of discontent. On average we waited 20mins to get served a drink once we’d sat down and ordered said drink. The breakfasts are plentiful, with lots of sweet baked goods from the chef, as well as local meat and cheese. However, it would have been good to include some more savoury options. For example to have scrambled eggs with your breakfast was an additional €8. These are all easy to fix issues, however, when staying here longer than a couple of days can begin to feel tiresome. And given the hotel has a 4 star rating, they are things that definitely could be improved upon.

    The grounds and location are truly stunning. Set within large grounds of olive groves, the house is beautiful and pool area is beautiful. It’s a short drive to Todi, which also makes it easy to go out for lunch/dinner and explore the local area. While our overall stay was lovely, however it wasn’t without a some niggles, which given the cost of the hotel, felt could be improved on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed for four nights in June 2018. Tenuta is exceptional. One of the nicest places we have stayed in Italy. Set in a beautiful garden with a great view of Todi and the surrounding area, some of the highlights included: The food - fantastic. We ate in the restaurant twice and the meals were outstanding. The wine - really great, well priced wines. The staff - all the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool - excellent, with a nice view of the area. We would happily return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Add an extra day while you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi is iffy. If you need snacks, bring them yourselves. And the parrot wouldn't talk to me.

    We picked place to be a home base for day trips to historic hill towns. But we found it very difficult to leave. In fact several times we stayed put and relaxed on the patio, on the lounge chairs spread throughout the grounds and, of course, by the pool which was spotless and crystal clear. There are spa facilities, but we were content with the peace and the quiet and views. When I was too relaxed to move a staff member came by to ask if I needed anything. There are two different chefs and lunch (light) could not be more different than dinner (both excellent and reasonable). That's a rare thing in this region where the lunch and dinner offerings are the same. I wanted to hire away the staff - especially the gardeners to spruce up my house. There is history around being that the building is an expansion (and modernization) on a Roman villa - circa 500 AD. However long you book, add at least another day and work the rest of your vacation around it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location and style of property but food not good and relatively bad value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite With Private Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very poor. Meals poor quality and comparatively expensive, so next day we ate in Todi (8 Kms away). Owners unfriendly however paid staff much more polite.

    Location grounds and style of property excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    luxurious stay in the heart of the Umbrian countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Theres not much to fault about this place but my only one criticism was the bottle of white wine I had one night was room temperature, wasn't chilled

    Wow, this place is a real treat to stay in. It was my 40th birthday and wanted something luxurious and this place hit the spot. stunning location - recommend GPS to find it. The rooms, building, grounds are gorgeous. The breakfasts are fantastic and the pool area is very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect choice to visit Umbria. Beautiful, central, very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is good and dinner served in the great setting of Tenuta, but menu choices limited and cuisine not outstanding considering what the region has to offer

    Great location with awesome views of Umbria's countryside just minutes from Todi and longer, but pleasant drive to Orvieto. Tenuta has a fabulous main building decorated and furnished with taste from attentive but discrete owner. Great pool area. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite With Private Garden
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A less formal dinner menu would be helpful for families (it's a 4 course set menu). To be fair, the hotel did offer a la carte based off the set menu, but we tended to opt to drive in to Todi for a pizza or bowl of pasta and a gelato.

    Bed was very comfortable, aircon brilliant (it was 43 degrees!) pool and views were fantastic, staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast great, kitchenette very clever design and just what we needed. Great set up overall.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing views and total feeling of tranquility.Lovely sitting out areas to eat and in the grounds. The hotel was so homely and lovely decor. Food and breakfasts great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Peaceful place where to rediscover the importance of time and silence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To enjoy fully the quiteness of the place make sure you book when there are no weedings.

    We arrived sad and nervous after a long stressful period at work. After a week we left happy and relaxed! The Tenuta is a magic place, a beautiful old house, full of interesting things from the past and present, old books that make you dream about distant places, a sweet music plays all day and you have the feeling thet time has stopped somewhere in the past. Wonderful feeling. And there was a wonderful special scent everywhere. It contributed to the calm atmosphere. I personally see it as a romanttic hotel for couples. The owner are extremely kind and put so much attention in every detail that seems there by chance. The staff who looked after us was so kind and always avaialble, particularly Mr Rupas, who looked after us at breakfast, lunch and when we stayed for dinner. Such a kind and polite person! The chef is superb. It is only because we wanted to try other restaurants we did not have dinenr every day there! Superb! Everything was prepared there in a such simple and traditional way! I also loved their olive oil. The position of the hotel is perfect to go everywhere in Umbria. I definetely recommend it for a trip in Umbria and if you want to spend time in a special place with your other half.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    We wa when the weather is warmer, the pool/outside dining available, and wine list complet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed that so many wines on the wine list were not available. We were told it was because the villa was closing soon and so the inventory was low.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. We loved our room #2

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    The whole package

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wonderful dinner and breakfast with excellent local specialties and the very friendly service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Wanted to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View, the room, the property is beautiful. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    The room, the stunning open views from our room and by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, the stunning open views from our room and by the pool, the food, the atmosphere and the all the attention to detail permiating, throughout the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    Perfect stop over place for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not easy to see the hotel sign in the dark so we got a bit lost.

    Perfect stop over place for us. A beautiful hotel with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Gorgeous views and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gorgeous views and good location. Peaceful and very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff and great food. Would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    The tranquility of the area and the thoughtfulness of our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent.

    The tranquility of the area and the thoughtfulness of our hosts.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: