Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tenuta Di Ricavo 4 stars

Località Ricavo 4, 53011 Castellina in Chianti, Italy

#7 of 17 hotels in Castellina in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 246 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    We loved it and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not up to the standard expected of such a lovely place. Portion control second rate jam! Boring bread and croissants. One cup of decent coffee allowed!!! C’mon guys...

    Delicious food and wine at dinner. Charming and attentive staff. Beautiful house and grounds with lovely pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were tired and needed updating ( except the bathroom which was quite nice); frustrated that the hotel was more concerned about making money than client needs. ( We had to check out one day early due to a family situation and the hotelier insisted on charging us for the night. The hotel was not full and there could be no argument that they had to refuse another client due to our reservation)

    View

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great special occasion destination!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit remote, location wise if you are not driving, but it adds to the charm. We rented a chauffer driven van from Poggibonsi train station. Beautiful drive.

    We celebrated our anniversary here. Loved the restaurant menu and the natural beauty of the property. Lovely toiletries as well. The lady in charge of the property is very welcoming and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay but surprised by a few things.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have a car... and driveway into property is made up of rocks so watch your vehicle. Hostess was lovely as was staff, but we had a family matter that required us to leave one day early. Hotel refused to refund the amount of that one night. Although I understand the rules of booking, any first rate hotel would have not charged us for a night we didn’t stay ( especially under the circumstances). Food was ok- nothing special.

    Nicely laid out.... pretty location. Rooms updated and large bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We travelled with a group of friends. The standard of accommodation varied quite widely between the rooms. When booking check as to exactly what you are getting.

    We enjoyed the rural charm of this property. The accommodation was very comfortable, the staff helpful and the breakfast varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard. Bathroom really small, terraces not aesthetically pleasing.

    The staff were superb! The waiters and waitresses couldn’t have been friendlier or more helpful. The cleaning ladies were excellent and smiles abounded. I was treated like a princess on my birthday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, in a beautiful setting on the hills outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, with limited choices, insufficient staff to keep up with stocking the buffet or clearing tables (quite a dirty environment as a result). Room was adequately furnished, but a little tired and slightly damp (due to woodland location). Not great value.

    Great location, in a beautiful setting on the hills outside Castellina. Nice swimming and shallow pools. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous location and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor compliant is no milk for a cup of tea in the morning otherwise perfection

    What a beautiful location. We loved the room junior suite, the breakfast was well catered and the peace and quiet was amazing. Location allowed access to so many attractions in the around Castellina. Would highly reccommend it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyable stay. Breathtaking view over Chianti countryside from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and in a very quiet area so very peaceful Food in hotel was good and reasonably priced Good parking on site and close to a lot of places if you’re planning to drive around Chianti

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    An Undiscovered Gem of Chianti!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t wait to come back next year! Thank you Christina for taking such good care of us.

    Stunningly beautiful, gorgeous estate secluded in the enchanting area of Chianti. Like a royal family heirloom, this property is boasts amazing grounds including swimming pools. Architecture features include well crafted stonework, an metal work, wood burning fireplace - undiscovered gem. Top notch staff - Maria, Vito and warm host Christina are friendly, warm and very attentive. Rooms are pretty, well appointed, modern and en excellent value - until the rest of the world finds out. Perfect for couples, families, groups or if you are touring Tuscany my motorcycle. I recommend that you book your rooms now. PS: You must try the restaurant for dinner. It’s noted to be one of the top dinner spots in Chianti!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    i would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    could have had some extra softer pillows for the bed. the pillows were a bit stiff

    the ambience of the property is spectacular. the layout and grounds are beautiful. staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Everything. The property is absolutely beautifully decorated and renovated and the grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is great as well. We can’t wait to come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Pretty place for great photo opps, lovely and helpful staff, but not a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was terribly uncomfortable. That, by far, was the most difficult part. Of other interest is that the shower head was left pointing up and out one day after the housekeeping staff came. I didn't notice, while the shower was warming up, until I came in and found the bathroom flooded.

    Room was clean and staff was lovely. Mixed reviews on the restaurant. Parts were fantastic, other parts a little lackluster.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    restful and ideal for touring Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    country road to hotel itself could be better

    off the immediate tourist track but still very accessible for surrounding countryside and places of interest. Good, clean.comfortable accommodation very good breakfasts and excellent restaurant and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We loved the helpful staff starting with Christina at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that you absolutely need a car as the nearest town is about 4km away. But in return you have an absolutely quiet atmosphere

    We loved the helpful staff starting with Christina at the front desk. She was wonderful with helping us plan day trips to great locations, Voltera and Siena. This hotel has such a homey feeling. If you want the real Tuscan experience this is it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Idealic, relaxing, quite and freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, very nice stuff and excellent restaurant, indeed a gem which was unexpected. Service excellent and staff very attentive in all details. Superb place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Our second stay in Tenuta di Ricavo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second stay in Tenuta di Ricavo. Beautiful and quiet location in the Tuscan countryside. Great restaurant with outdoor seating and atmosphere, directly at the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    A little gem under the Tuscan sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peace and calm in the middle of Chianti. Several good days out touring the locality and the hotel was a perfect place to return to each day. It has boutique beauty and chic charm. Excellent value for money. Rooms were large but retained an authentic feel. Restaurant was excellent and staff were extremely friendly. I highly recommend this place if you are seeking a short exposure to Chianti

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    The property was beautiful, peaceful like a getaway in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirt road to the property from the main road was very dusty,and the landscaping along that road was nonexistent.The bedding didn't fit into the decor and looked old.

    The property was beautiful, peaceful like a getaway in a getaway, with very polite and helpful staff. Excellent food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    The complete quiet, very rare these days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The complete quiet, very rare these days. No cars, music just chatter at mealtimes and birdsong-- no barking dogs, loud music, just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A beautiful and tranquil place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were excellent as was the food in the restaurant. Our room was in the old Manor House and was very grand, full of antique furniture. The staff were extremely friendly - nothing was too much trouble. The owner was very helpful and was able to recommend places to visit. We stayed there for one night 25years ago and promised to return. We will go back again. It really is a magical place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    A bit old-styled, but a nice comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite disappointing. The rooms were comfortable, but too dated in their decor.

    Christina was a lovely host, always around and very helpful. The room was large, with a balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Calm, peaceful and scenic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfasts offered a wide range cold items, sufficiently mixed to cater for all guests. You could have whatever types of coffee you required. The room we had with a terrace, was exceptional, from the view over looking a wooded valley, to the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and the lounge and bathroom were clean and well presented. The complex is built around an old isolated hamlet which adds to its charm. Take you time and admire your surroundings and you may be lucky enough see deer early in the morning,fireflies in the evening and the hear the occasional cookoo. We stayed at the end of May Well worth a stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    A must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved every aspect of this property. The staff were lovely, the breakfast was great and the accommodation is excellent. A really beautiful place set in the woods. We highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.3
    We were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess our stay here didn't live up to our expectations. We'd hoped for better views from our room. But we backed into a tree and there were imposing brick walls either side of the balcony partition. There's not really a 'bar' area to sit for a drink in the evening. We had some bad weather so we weren't able to sit on the terrace. We felt that there was an overall lacking in atmosphere and the average age of the guest was 70.. We also found food and drinks to be expensive but you're a bit stuck if you did want to leave the car behind and relax.

    We were upgraded on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The room was spacious with a small sitting area. The grounds within the hotel itself are beautiful. The staff helped us organise a wine tour locally (which was free) and a brilliant tour :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location for traveling the wine roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few updates would be nice. Newer bedspreads and draperies. Windows were not light blocking so early wake up with bright sun. Pool area very basic.

    We had an excellent dinner and breakfast while staying there. Adjoining rooms for 5 of us. Wandering the property was fun. Great location. Enjoyed the small towns close to us. Enjoyed the Dievole winery tour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    It was a lovely relaxing stay in a great part of northern Italy. The gardens were lovely to sit and
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the area the bush the quiet ness. The food was fabulous. The history of property was interesting and the walks were terrific. All in all I would return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Location is excellent if you are looking for quiet Italian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Location is excellent if you are looking for quiet Italian countryside with easy access to culture. Hotel has bags of charm and is very comfortable. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Peaceful, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Peaceful, beautiful surroundings. Very comfortable accommodation, nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. Manicured poolside with plenty, comfortable sun loungers, Great choice for breakfast, we had lunch which was delicious with a decent selection of wines. All the staff were super helpful and friendly - would recommend .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Hidden gem in Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to drive out in the evening as no street lights on in paved road for 1.2 km at the entrance to the property.

    The quietness and the nature around. The restaurant at the hotel had very good food with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Lovely and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool got a lot of flies and bugs and would have be benefited from a replant by the pool as at times it was stressful trying to stop them from biting.

    Friendly and out standing service Very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Beauty and serenity in Chianti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was nice but expensive. It was the only expensive part of our stay.

    Peaceful beautiful location close to great little town of Castellina. Has two pools, family run restaurant for breakfast lunch or dinner. Breakfast was included and had so many wonderful choices. Clean spacious rooms. A library full of books to read with many sitting rooms throughout the main house.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    Very nice historic feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu was limited but could be expected given that there are only a handful of people. Food was very good.

    Overall very nice stay. The rustic feel was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    This property allowed me to enjoy Tuscany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything,

    Wonderful, unique property . Comfortable rooms. Great service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous venue, lovely food, very relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous venue, lovely food, very relaxing atmosphere. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Food was amazing, beautiful place, excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was amazing, beautiful place, excellent staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    One of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything... It's the most beautiful place...so relaxing and comfortable....pleasant very helpful staff...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent accommodation in Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully serene location. Restaurant meals were excellent. Breakfast superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Everything is 10 out 10, it's perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and perfect hospitality. Very good restaurant too.Hoping to return soon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Nice place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very nice and calm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant is very good and the service in general is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing retreat in beautiful Toscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to properly adjust hot water in the bathroom.

    Amazing location, very helpfull staff, quietness and peacfull surrounding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    A good place at Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have better TV Content option

    Very nice place and location A place to relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Authentic Vibe in God's Country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really negative to say. Dated decor but that helped with old world charm.

    Authentic vibe and natural beauty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    fantastic atmosphere , grate landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fantastic atmosphere , grate landscape

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful environment, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful environment, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    We spent 3 beautiful days here to celebrate our anniversary. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom had a shower curtain! Toilet a plastic seat!

    The peacefulness of the whole place. Romantic. Secluded.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, beautiful views and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot and a bit dated for my liking

    The marvellous location, staff were friendly, extremely cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    The Tuscan Feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows

    Relaxing, quiet, great food, staff and area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    A perfect place to vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wished the restaurante had a bigger menu.

    The place was just beautiful, loved the room and the pools overlooking the hills.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Good hotel, excellent staff, perfect area, very good food in hotel's reasturant - simply great & beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    Nice place to relax, excellent dining,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    no noise and trafic in area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too remote location. behind a sand road.

    no noise and trafic in area

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.8
    Great Stay in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific location to explore the Chianti region of Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.9
    peaceful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant excellent, staff very helpful & hospitable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing Days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The STAFF was great. Always friendly and helpful and discret.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.6
    Great air conditioner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great air conditioner! Awesome restaurant! Beautiful grounds! Great location! Comfy bed!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sign posts could be susceptible.

    Everything!! The hotel itself; the staff; the location; the countryside and neighbouring towns and villages; the restaurants; the historic sites; the roads!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    The place is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is fantastic! Realy quiet, inside the forest. Excellent view. There are beautiful hicking paths. The room and the bathroom are big and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The owners are friendly and kind.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    ambient, stuff, cleanness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's a little bit overrated La pecora nera, still good, but nothing special. Some playground for children could be nice.

    ambient, stuff, cleanness

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    wonderful. Outside in the nature we spend a fantastic time at this place. we played chess on a nice fireplace before sleeping. Then the breakfast on the next day was very very good. If you wanna relax and spend some time in the forest stay at tenuta. wonderful. thanks for everything. we sure come back.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful setting in forest, with friendly and attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful setting in forest, with friendly and attentive staff and good restaurant. Nearby Castellina in Chianti itself is a lovely old town with small square and plenty of nice places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    10
    Everthing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everthing. A small unpaved road lead to this amazing Tenuta, giving the spirit of Chianti zone. Friendly staff, great breakfast, very confortable, very clean and great location to explore Tuscany roads.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    My partner and I had such an incredible time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My partner and I had such an incredible time. The staff were knowledgeable of the sights to see and places near by to enjoy. We especially enjoyed the restaurant La Pecora Nera. The staff were outstanding and the food was incredible. A big thank you to Alessandro for his excellent recommendations on the local wine.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything! Set in picturesque surrounds, the location, ambience, staff and facilities were amazing. We were provided with a free upgrade upon arrival to make our stay more comfortable and we sincerely appreciated it. I could not recommend the property more highly.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    We appreciated the warm welcome at the Tenuta di Ricavo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We appreciated the warm welcome at the Tenuta di Ricavo and the romantic atmosphere. The calm surrounding was stunning and the restaurant served excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Christina and all of her staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Christina and all of her staff were fantastic. We stayed 3 weeks in Italy and and toured all the big cities and sites and Christina's dining was the best!!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Tranquil, peaceful, great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tranquil, peaceful, great facilities. Lovely rooms, helpful and pleasant staff, this is our second time at Tenuta di Ricavo, it is a very special place.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    Great location for exploring Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel felt tired, very seventies. Mattress old, bed squeaked. Bathroom fittings felt old and poor quality. Very cheap toilet seat, horrible shower curtain, large unattractive strip light in bathroom, flat screen TV balanced on an old style TV wall mount. Restaurant food seriously salty, others complained about this too. It did not improve despite requests to use less salt. Menus boring, main courses had no sauces, and the same 4 options offered plus one special each night. On the last night the special desert was apple pie with ice cream, whereas the main menu offered apple pie with cream!!

    Great location for exploring Siena, San Gimignano, Pisa and Chianti country, although the 1km unmade road would benefit from some attention. Very peaceful except for 2 annoying dogs barking early each morning. Wifi was good - had a router in our room, although not all rooms have this facility. Room was clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Amazingly beautiful property tucked away in the country side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. There is no elevator, but the staff helped haul our luggage up.

    Amazingly beautiful property tucked away in the country side. Close to tourist attractions like Siena and Sangimignano if you have your own car. Without a car, this property will be difficult to access. Great facilities, wine and dine options. Spacious bedrooms. Serene, quiet and peaceful. Would readily recommend to anyone who is looking forward to a vacation in the Chianti hills

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    We were on a car touring holiday - so had stayed at a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The roadway to the hotel was a little rough but not a problem with care for low ride height cars. We did suffer from insect bites despite precautions - but we noticed from looking at other people this was something general to the area and not only the hotel. It was August and very hot

    We were on a car touring holiday - so had stayed at a few hotels before this one. The hotel and the accommodation ( 1 bed Suite) was excellent and spacious with own balcony with sun loungers. Lovely setting which is in a very peaceful location away from it all. Good choice at breakfast and very relaxed atmosphere. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good base for sightseeing the area.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    This hotel felt like we were staying with family or good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast only comes with percolated coffee. If you want an espresso, you get the first one free then you have to pay. Boiled eggs are provided but if you want any other kind you pay extra. That is not a complaint, I just found that odd compared to other hotels in Italy.

    This hotel felt like we were staying with family or good friends. The place was fully booked and every guest was relaxed and smiling throughout the day. You are surrounded by serenity, beauty and comfort within the property and in the surrounding hills. All the people on staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a central location and all the famous tourist attractions are a short drive away. This hotel performed above and beyond our expectations and thoroughly deserves an excellent rating.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    Superb and helpful reception staff, who gave us fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were so sorry to leave such a super place.

    Superb and helpful reception staff, who gave us fantastic support in exploring Chianti to its full. Fabulous views from every angle. Utterly picturesque building, just how you visualise an Italian villa to look.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.7
    Very nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and drinks far too expensive. €5 for a small glass of beer. €6 for a plate of 'vegetables of the day', which turned out to be one sliced zucchini.

    Very nice location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fabulous place. This family-runned place is very carefully maintained. The garden is beautiful. There are two neat pools, 1 hiking path, and a gym(I didn't go). I booked a suite, the sitting room and the balcony is comfortable. The lamb they cooked is the best I had in Italy. Very good for family with kids and for relaxation.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: