Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Strand Hotel 3 stars

Via Tuscolana 892, Appio Latino, 00174 Rome, Italy

#864 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 640 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom - not cleaned properly. Service-the most receptionist unhelpful, view from room-on street, to somebodys garden with mess, comfort-its noisy from street, other rooms, pool-dirty mostly, the pictures are not like the reality

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, breakfast ok but only one kind of toast bread , few crossaints. The pool is dirty and I don't recommend to swim but it is nice to lay on sun-bed

    Classic 3stars hotel Great localisation, very close metro and shops , restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air condition installed but not working, door to balcony couldn't be locked, overall worn out. Could use a complete makeover.

    Cheap Hotel/Room where I needed to be...most important. And it had a working fridge and TV which was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    honestly, i wasn't there to enjoy the swimming pool, but at last, try to keep it clean to give a good impression to clients.. at least.. don't share photos that doesn't fit the reality... The noise isolation is horrible, by the night people come in screaming.. i was on the 2nd floor and i was able to ear the reception phone ringing.

    The Staff.. "Oleg" is a very kind guy! he helped me to check tickets to the vatican, gave me many options to visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is allora completely occupied by bed.

    It is near metro station. Ideal place for a one night stay. Large and confortable bed. Great Bath services.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location could be closer, although very close metro access makes it easy to get into city. It is very hidden from the street though, would recommend they put a sign somewhere in view of the street to make it easier to find.

    Comfortable room, helpful staff, good access to metro, did our laundry for us which was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's great that the rooms are spotless but maybe something to cover the smell of detergent would be nice. :)

    Great location, friendly staff & the fluffiest pillows ever!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or anything I the bedroom Heating wasn't working not was Air con... room hardly had any lighting We got bit by bugs in the bed

    Receptionist

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location 15-20mins on the metro line. Not far from Ciampino Airport. Helpful reception staff. Hotel is across the road from a big supermarket. Stayed in the budget double room, big enough for two people very clean and comfortable for the weekend. The shower is amazing. When I return to Rome hope to stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just there are no sign of The Strand Hotel outside and its a bit challenging finding it on the main street.

    I really like that everyone was friendly at the desk specially Oleg! This facility is a couple of stop from Termini although its close to everything from small coffee shops and pharmacy i definately recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is is his strong smell in every room, every year (I have been there at least 8 times)! Each time I come back home my suitcase and my clothes smell terribly, I have to wash all my staff after each stay in The Strand. Breakfast is terrible, typically italian though. Walls are thin - I hear my neighbours at night...

    The bed is super comfortable, the neighbourhood is great (restaurant Le Streghe; metro; supermarkets), pool area in summer time is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is small and has little variety.

    Hotel is very close to a Metro station, staff are lovely and very helpful. Hotel is pleasant with small but ample pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Location Location and the breakfast was small and it had little to offer.

    Soft linens, comfort and privateness of the swimming area, service was helpfull and aircondition worked perfectly. Price was good for a good hotel:

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little hard to find - needs better signage. The indoor spa was closed

    Was very happy with this accommodation. Good location. Staff were very friendly. Our room was located on the good floor near reception. It was serviced every day. It is a little dark but that didn't bother us. Never sampled the breakfast. The receptionist recommended lovely nearby restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recepcionist tried to charge us twice for the renting. That was a very unconfortable situation for us.

    I love the bed and the pillows. Very confortable. Its very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - location - the hotel is in the middle of block of flats, not findable - under you is metro (so you feel the shaking), above you are planes (noisy) - very unpleasant odour in rooms - smell of weed from the kitchen - not working AC, hair-blower and fridge in the room (but we got a new room) - not much tidy - you can't get in or out the hotel by yourself, reception has to open the gate for you (so we were waiting) - paid parking was not mention in the description, 12 EUR for night is not fair, while we were the only car parking here and you half of the "garage" is used as a hotel storage, parking on the street wouldn't be safe at all - not safe neigborhood

    the pool and the friendly guy at the reception desk were the only good things about this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, also room and swimming pool could be looked after better.

    The location was great, far from Rome but very easy to access as the metro is just a couple of metres away. No lift, some stairs. The staff is very friendly, specially thanks to Olly who was doing his best, very kind gentleman. Restaurants, supermarket, nail and hair salon around. Parking outside hotel is free but we parked inside for €12 as found safer. Swimming pool could be a bit more looked after. Room was good for the price, could be more looked after but beds were comfortable and we had private verandah. Hotel has a lift. Not many options for breakfast, we decided to eat out. Overall good for the price we paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I totally missed on reviews, the hotel is directly below the flight path of the airport. Earplugs are a must! Bathroom was poor, cracked sink, broken toilet seat, leaking bath/shower enclosure. The shower was also placed at the wall point centre to the bath with the screen to one end. It meant you could not shower properly without soaking the room. I found bed and pillows very hard but my husband thought they were great. I should always remember to take a travel kettle as nothing is provided in most hotels in Italy which is a shame. Breakfast was 5e but very basic but good for Italian hotels. There was supposed to be indoor pool sauna etc but these were apparently for refurb but I got the feeling it was just all closed for good. Outside pool supposedly a bar side pool. Pool was ok if not a bit dirty but no bar available and photos a little misleading. Pool was refreshing and welcomed in the extreme heat. Overall I would not have been happy if I paid the original price but, as always, seeing the city makes up for anything disappointing.

    The hotel is close to the Metro which means quick access to the city (when no strikes). Room was clean but basic. (to give you an idea, not as big as a Premiere Inn) Bathroom a good size. There is a 24hr supermarket very close by. Small pool very welcome in the heat with a good number of sunbeds. Good modern compact gym.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners were polite however they did not clean the room properly or check the balcony before giving us the room key. We only made a comment about this on the last day and cleaned the room ourselves. Breakfast options were poor. Cornflakes, and pastries, the bread was very dry, only one juice to choose from, I would not advertise the breakfast as a buffet as it run out most mornings before 9, so some people couldn't even have a slice of bread. The pool is also smaller than pictured, and the pool bar was not in use. The health facilities were not in use either however the gym was reasonable. I sleep with earplugs so this did not affect me much however please be aware there is a landing strip close by and the metro passes directly underneath the building, and you feel it.

    The hotel accommodated for our early check in. Our stay was pleasant, clean towels everyday and staff were always available and polite. The metro is also close by!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooded in the first room A/c didn't work at all in the second room Hairdryer broken in the 3rd room

    Staff worked hard to accommodate our requests due to us changing rooms 3 tomes. In 3 days

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a quadruple room we ended up in a standard room with four beds – which meant very crumpy There is no hotel sign on the street which means that one must trust navigation guide and stop exactly at the number on the street of the hotel address. He/she will then notice a metal sign with the hotel' s name on the wall next to the street number. Parking is accessible on the rear of the hotel after asking reception for directions.

    The hotel is conveniently located next to a Metro Station that takes you directly to all of Rome' s main sightseeing attractions . Within 20 to 25 minutes. The hotel has a swimming pool for relaxing - even though small but nevertheless pleasant. It is modernised.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for 2 adults and one baby but they put us in a small room without space for the crib. The swimming pool was dirty. The only good thing was the localization

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was amazing and there was a little pastry shop maybe three blocks down that was AMAZING! The hotel was cute but small and perfect for a relaxing day. The hotel room was a little small but for the price can you really complain? Visiting Rome was amazing and this hotel just helped. If you stay here and want to get back and forth to the colloseum take the metro train, easy to navigate and cheaper than a taxi! $12 for two full days and it takes you all over.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to drink even water. No mini bar means no cold drinks. If you need water you have to walk 10 minutes for 7/24 supermarket. There is swimming pool but not for swimming. Do not expect to swim.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am very unsatisfied with the accommodation that were booked through your website. My daughter and I are here in vacation and needed a few days of relaxation by the pool. We chose this hotel in particular because it had a pool, poolside bar and great shopping. Upon arrival we found out that the poolside bar nor the pool will be open until after we leave and the shopping is very sparse in this area. We are almost confined to the room with nothing to do because the area does not appear to be safe to wonder around. Neither your website or the hotels website made mention of any of these details and now I wish that we could just leave today. Very unhappy customer Thanks

    The property (when the pool is cleans, the spa and the poolside is open) would be a great sport to relax after a few days of touring Rome! It is away from the city and the accommodations ( I am assuming, because we didn't get a chance to experience them) would be a wonderful delight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, only a 5 mins walk from Porta Furba metro station and so easy to get to all of the main attractions on the metro! Staff were great, very friendly and accommodating. Rooms very clean and good value for money! 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked if they had an iron but they don't have things like that, so had to go out and buy one , and the pool isn't open till June

    The hotel was ok, clean and basic you are about 15 stops on the metro to the Vatican , the hotel is situated not far from the metro which is ideal , the pool wasn't open as it does not open till June

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I booked this place because the photos of the rooms were very nice. But it turned out to be only the photos that are nice. Also, hot water wasn't available until checkout after using spa at the time of check in.

    Wasnt really anythhing I was satisfied with.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Lounge or Bar, car park was 12 euros a day (not mentioned prior to arriving) also no mention of the 4 euros per day per person 'City-Tax' If we had known of these extras we may have chosen a different hotel.

    Reasonable location near a Metro

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi bad (only working good if you are in the bathroom), fridge not working even after staff tried to repair it, bath very tiny, kurtax has to be paid the end(most ppl spent almost their entire money), promised wake up call -> not happened, room smelled smoky (good i had a balcony to let some fresh air inside)

    Comfty bed! , balcony, guy with glasses from staff very helpful (think hes names oleg)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub stopped working after 1 day😢 Also there was only 1 plug socket so we could only charge 1 phone at a time. It's also now well labelled, we got there late due to delays and it felt like we was just walking down an alley it wasn't clear that the hotel was behind a big black metal door.

    The bed was so big and really comfortable! The hot tub was also really good when it worked!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well apparently you can hear and feel the vibration from the subway that passes under the building starting from 5:00 AM from the floor level. One wall of the room in wich we stayed was splattered with something and it still had a squashed insect on it. The sheets on our bed had holes in them and the towels are overused and torn. The shower cabin was looking like it was going to collapse at any moment. And the room smelled strange too. The pictures from the presentation are far from the actual conditions.

    The staff is very helpful and the location is very close to a subway station. The surrounding area looks very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC worked but it had water dripping down every time it turned on so we ended up giving up and kept it off. Also, it's not in the best neighbourhood.

    Pool was nice, had a comfortable room for the price and the balcony area was also good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet wi-fi was very bad, I couldn't work in hotel for low connection. Moreover the room had a strange odour, like smoke in the room, and all my clothes has taken this

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel next to very busy road - noisy. Not clear how to get too. Staff not helpful. Air conditioning does not work even though we asked a number of times! Wifi not good

    Bed comfty

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic and sometimes they had run out by 9am when breakfast finished at 10am. We asked the hotel to book us a taxi to CIA airport at 4am and they did so but booked the taxi to Flamincino airport, meaning our driver took us to the wron airport giving us VERY little time for our flight, still had to pay the full price. I'm surprised the hotel had booked it wrong seeing as we told them specifically which airport it was and what time, they even printed out our boarding passes for us!

    The pool area was lovely and the bedrooms were cleaned daily. It's In a great position to get to the city and you can get lots of various types of metro tickets depending how long your stay is. There is also a 24/7 supermarket and pharmacies if needed!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool needed to be cleaned!

    The Metro was near and took you easily to the city. The rooms were modern and they cleaned every day. Nice staff also. We had a really good stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast staff needed prodding to refill dishes; no safe or room fridge - but it is a basic base...so pay more if you want more!

    You get what you book for; a basic hotel in an out of centre student neighborhood. The aire conditioning worked for the full 2 weeks [temps outside average 35C]; the staff put up with our very poor Italian & tried their basic English. The main reception guy spoke very good English . The Metro was 5 mins walk. When plumbing went wrong in one room they tried to fix & moved us when they could. If you are willing to walk there are a couple of great restaurants who only serve the locals [take google translate or learn Italian]

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was tempremental and needed reset twice. When working it kept the room nice and chilled though :)

    I thought for a small place it was lovely. Room was clean and exactly what we needed. Being small meant they can get it right and I think they have done that here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, little dirty, AC didn't work. Pool was dirty. The staff was nice and did all they could to make our stay more comfortable.

    Location, near metro station. Kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did't work properly and was very loud. The electricity suply didn't work most of the time. The toilet and shower are tiny and there's not even a shelf for hygiene articles. We got 1 roll of toilet paper for 5 days. At times a terrible smell was comming out of the pipes. Huge balcony but not a single chair to sit and very noisy because of air conditioning devices. Despite all the inconvinients we suffered, no apologies from the personal at our departure or compensation of any kind. The breakfast consisted on coffee/tea, cheap pastry, white sandwich bread and cheap ham. The hotel is about 14 underground stations from the historical center, luckily direct line.

    The Jakuzzi-Suite is beautifull and full equipt. Unfortunatelly, this can't be said about the other rooms. It's a nice hotel but they show no love for the details and no interest for basic customer comfort.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the hotel are misleading, the neighborhood is rundown. The single room is extremely small, The shower is small as well. Spend the extra money and get a better hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos were deceptive, as the Hotel isn't nearly as big. And the amenities such as Breakfast & Spa aren't actually what they seem.

    The location was close to Transport Links. Not visible from the main road which is both good & bad. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit hard to find it, not visible from main street.

    Friendly staff, gave us lot of useful information about the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was vanderfull gived super advices

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised, no facilities now

    Good value for money. Not far from centre of Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room has a little problem

    Comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel lacks of restoration

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion hotel, Needs to be redecoreated asap

    Greaf coffee, great showet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels wasn't changed Shower broken

    Location Staff is excellent !!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The people were very friendly!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wellness was out of service. At least some discount should have been provided...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and pool were out of service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa open hours 10th til 8th would have liked to have it available later in the evening too.

    Spa :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast's

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast basic but ok

    pool, location, staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room maybe needs more light

    Simple and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisiness

    Outdoor pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was falling apart. Several things broken or not working properly

    Brilliant receptionists

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from centre and unsafe street

    Its have a balcony, but wiev isnt impressive.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lack of small fridge and electric kettle in the room

    The localisation is great. Few meters to metro and it takes 10 minutes to get to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit small. Furniture needs replacing. No drawers. No adequate toiletries.Shower too small but clean.

    Friendly staff. The area with good shops,restaurants and close to transport system especially the Metro.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very basic. Small, shower tiny. No tea making facilities in room. In the flight path, and metro runs underneath so quite noisey

    Metro was so close to hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the hotel assistants tried to extort us. The bedding had blood stains.

    The layout of the hotel is beautiful. The jacuzzi and pool were a lovely bonus.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I arrived Friday night 01 April at 21:30 and the guy at the reception was not welcoming at all , not helpful did not great did not say hello did not speak at all. The shower had no curtain and the water would just splash out No towels available for the pool

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stuffs were not so friendly, guy at the reception clearly came to work with the real out of bed look and very slow. You need to bring your own towel from home to use in this hotel, because you're not allowed to use the towel of the hotel if you want to use the pool/gym etc. All visitors will need to show the ID and be blocked at the reception. So no free walk in/ out. This hotel uses cloth that normally will be used to only cover bed as the blanket. And it was not clean at all and old. Impossible to have a dry bathroom after shower. No matter how hard you try to keep the water in the shower. I stayed 8 night, my room was cleaned only once. I had to ask at the reception if my room could be cleaned up. Most annoyingly is the doorbell of the hotel went every 15 minutes, even in the middle of the night. The maindoor of the hotel is Always closed. Everybody has to ring the bell to get the door open from the reception. And sometimes there is nobody at the reception, so the doorbell kept ringing and ringing. As if I asked to stay in this hotel for free. Everything was so not professional.

    The only thing of this hotel that is ok is the strong shower.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not feel safe in neighbourhood. Rooms were a bit smelly... but there was cleaner everyday to change towels etc. Breakfast completely disaster .... not even bread for breakfast just dry waffles. ... not worthed money.

    Good connection to centre of Rome (few minutes walk to underground station). Room on the ground floor much higher standard.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had problem with the jakuzzi. It wasen't working correctly and also you could not be able to open the sink. Also when you turn on the jakuzzi there was bad smell coming out from the pipes. When we arrive the lady in the reception was talking on her phone for about 10 minutes and we have to wait untill she will finish.

    Clean room and massive bed in the room. Also, the hotel is very close to the red line of underground station. Took as about 15 minutes to get to the central of the city. Great place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First room smelt so intensively (e-smog) that a room change had to be arranged. Room was fairly clean, bathroom not. Sleeping with open window was impossible due to traffic noise.

    Staff was very keen to help!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As is the case with a lot of hotels in the area, you are situated under the flight path for Ciampino airport. However, added to that the hotel is also situated above the metro - so as a business traveller it can get a little noisy at times, when trying to sleep. Breakfast could have been better to look at and tasting.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room, tin walls (we had to whisper in the morning so people at breakfast wouldn't hear us, as clearly as we heard them)

    The staff ware excellent, the reception guy was really helpful and friendly spoke perfect English, wished I had more time to enjoy the outside pool.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Couple

    At the first we got the room on the ground floor (01). It was terrible, small room. After complaining, they changed for the room on the first floor.

    Good value for money, especially for Roma. Close to metro station (less than 5 minutes walk), 8 stations to the canter. Good garage if you are traveling with the car. Room on the first floor was very good, having terrace.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment? No cups,plates,cutlery,kettle or pots and pans?? Felt a little like being in a basement/dungeon when looking outside needless to say don't expect a view. On arrival no hot water either (this was rectified) but took a while (understaffed). The final comment would be that while packing to leave we were locked into the apartment (accidentally) by the maid, for almost an hour! I called the desk on my Mobil which took a while to answer, my first question "do you speak English?" Was greeted with the receptionist hanging up the phone! Great!! We thought, and had to ask an elderly Italian gentleman to let us out through a private gate which he luckily had keys for. When checking out an hour late we had a grumble at reception but were only recompensed slightly €20 discount (after resistance) when I said I would complain to booking.com. I have been honest and this was our experience. Yours may well be completely different x

    The jaccuzzi was a lovely touch. And very relaxing.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Strand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: