Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Duke Hotel 4 stars

Via Archimede 69, Villa Borghese Parioli, 00197 Rome, Italy

#208 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1713 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very far from the city center and no services (shops, restaurants ...) in the vicinity of the hotel.

    Very quiet area. Comfortable rooms. Regular shuttle service to go closer to center. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel provided a free shuttle drop off/pick up to piazza del popolo , which was very helpful. The Borgese Park is very close and very nice for walking around. Rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Happy, relaxed staff helped to make our staff very pleasant. The accommodation was very clean and very comfortable, as well as quiet. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is located within 'striking distance' of the main attractions and the shuttle service is useful, although perhaps not regular enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was so spacious. Our room was quiet and very comfortable. It is in a more residential area but it was perfect for us. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As an English visitor, I would have liked to have tea making facilities in the room and also a separate shower, not on over the bath.

    The hotel was quiet and peaceful in a good area of Rome. The shuttle bus service into the city was very useful. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't any proper ventilation in the room . There wasn't any complimentary water available in the room.

    The Breakfast is really good. Staff is friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served to 10:30 however not much left, we came down at 8 on the last day and noticed a big difference Staff at breakfast rude Cleaner barged into our room one morning- she was so rude, told me to put the do not disturb sign. Explained we didn’t have one, she stormed off then came back and stuck it on our door. She could have just knocked and waiting, I had just got out of the shower. Or we should have been made aware. Pillows very uncomfortable No early check in

    Shuttle service / drivers were very pleasant Little cafe/bar up the road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Actually, I could ask it at my check in, but I was on a hurry... I would prefer a room with a better view as I booked the standard double and not the small double room. In conclusion, it was a great stay...

    Very clean, fully equipped and of good materials bathrooms. They have free shuttle service to the city center...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff always helpful and courteous. Shuttle bus is great so don't worry that location isn't dead central. They'll even store then shuttle luggage on the last day do you can pick up en route to the airport. The hotel is located in a smart residential area with good restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving it

    Eveything. Lovely large room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Shuttle to city centre. Great restaurant. Excellent value for money. Wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little but tucked away so tough to get to.

    Nice breakfast spread. All the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They even made us a small boxed bfast the morning of our departure because we left early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View fron the room ... you look at an old building The shuttle bus is ok ... it is a bit out of the way but it is a great value

    Nice rooms... spacious .... clean .... large bathrooms .... great !! Great value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ve had really pleasant stay at The Duke Hotel. Great hotel, clean, great breakfast, very comfortable beds, polite and helpful staff. Free shuttle to downtown is a great plus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Shuttle Service was booked out for two hours - some drivers and some doormen have been quite unfriendly

    - Good breakfast - Clean rooms and very nice housekeeper

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to report here.

    Everything was fabulous. An elegant hotel indeed. It is situated in a residential area 15 minutes outside of the city which suited us very well. Very quite area. The hotel provides an eight-seat city shuttle bus free of charge every 30 minutes for day and evening to and from the city to a drop off/pick up point. Just need to book it with reception. Buffet breakfast utterly delicious with plenty of choice including eggs and bacon. Room/bathroom spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We will go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really, one should onlky be aware that the hotel is in a residential area but as i was there by car this was not an issue and they provide a free shuttle to the centre

    nice and quiet hotel, very clean and nice rooms and excellent bathrooms with powerful shower over the bath, reasonably good breakfast choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you book the shuttle bus well in advance you will have to sort alternative transport as it’s quite small.

    The room was brilliant. Great size, bed was huge. Shuttle bus was handy and inclusion of breakfast was brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, the rubbish bins were emptied below our window. The access to electric points to charge computers and mobile phones were not accessible. The television lacked English programmes.

    The room was adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location (perfect for Auditorium Parco della Musica), extensive breakfast buffet (Julius Ceasar would have liked it) and extremely helpful staff at the reception desk ! Grazie Duke (Massimo): you were great !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside and this had nothing to do with the hotel itself was that there is little else in the local area as it seemed very residential. There was a corner shop however within 10 yards. Perhaps we just didn't find the local restaurants tho!!

    The hotel itself was lovely and the staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the dining room was gorgeous. We choose the location because it was within walking distance of the Stadio Olimpico and it was - once we stopped getting lost!! The shuttle bus in to Rome centre worked perfectly for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to make me a cup of tea or coffee in the room

    Very friendly , helpful , attentive staff Quiet area, no problem to get to sights because of the excellent, free shuttle service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I THINK FOR A 4**** HOTEL THERE MUST BE IN THE ROOM COFFEE ,TEA COMPLIMENTARY .ROOMS NEED A SMALL RENEVATION

    VERY GOOD HOME MADE BREAKFAST NICE , BIG SMILE , HELPFULL AND PLEASANT STAFF LAURA WAS THERE FOR EVERY BODY. AT THE RECEPTION EMMANUELLE WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It took a few of the staff a little bit of time to warm up to us. Thereafter, they were much more approachable.

    I loved the space in the room and the cleanliness. There were also some exceptional staff members that really made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left a lot to be desired. I could hear the guest in the next room when he was on the phone, his tv and his alarm clock

    Very comfortable room.well appounted all the amenitues one needs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like getting back my old BMW, instead of the brandnew Alpha Romeo that was handed to the lady just before me ;-) Really, nothing to dislike whatshowever. Cinque stelle *****

    This hotel has a quiet location, no hassle with the car and nice-food-restaurant ! The perfect starting point for visiting concerts and musea. Thank you Duke - like your stile ;-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We love this part of Rome north of the Villa Borghese gardens. It is quiet yet plenty of local attractions and restaurants. While it is not in the city centre it is still walkable (we frequently walk home at the end of the day from, say, the Colosseum) but you can catch the old train close by to the Metro easily, and the hotel offers a free shuttle service to the Centre. Great breakfasts, nice clean rooms, professional staff. We have stayed there 5 times in the past 3 years and would return in a flash.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest since I’m an active person, a gym would be great. And since I travelled with a tea lover a kettle and cups in the room would be an essential.

    Reliable staff - they will do some requests out of their way to please the guests. Free shuttle bus from the hotel to the centre 👍🏻

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much variety for vegetarians- breakfast.

    The hotel was easy to get to, situated in a nice residential area. The staff was very helpful, especially the lady who was supervising breakfast- don’t remember her name unfortunately. The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an excellent hotel with a great breakfast and excellent staff, plus a mobile phone wit international calling!! Others we stayed with said the same things about the Duke. I WILL stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the area is a nightmare It wasn't an issue for us, but for anyone without a car it might be the challenge to move around (I'm aware of the shuttle bus the hotel provides, but it is tiny and fills up quickly) Beware that you can't order iron to the room

    This is a decent hotel that is way past its days of glory. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy - large variety of fresh produce, including warm croissants and delicious cappuccino. Staff has been very accommodating in catering for the needs of our toddler.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having transferred from a cruise, we arrived several hours early and were going to leave our bags and go off locally to pass time but we're told our room was ready which was much appreciated. The hotel provides in room a "handy" phone offering free international calls to many regions as well as data. Also as the hotel location is mainly residential, a free shuttle is run to and from the city which takes about 10 minutes. Extremely useful and we were most impressed. Staying right in city would be too hectic for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a little far from most of the downtown attractions, making it difficult to walk to and from the hotel. However, they have a great complimentary shuttle service that will take you downtown—and pick you up—at a location that has a metro stop and IS walkable to much of downtown.

    The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was delicious, and it was a lovely, quiet place to stay. We very much appreciated the help of the staff with information about our visits to museums, the Vatican, and our day trip to Pompeii.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle services, not frequent enuff

    Room cold, shower was not working properly...staff took too long to respond Shuttle should be every 3o minutes without book

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The business centre was just one desk with old equipment and in a noisy area where one could not really concentrate. Printer did not work properly. Shower is old and water pressure very high.

    Hotel is clean and nice. Bar/lounge area are pretty. Good location. Breakfast and restaurant are fine. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There we nothing not to like

    Fantastic quality hotel . Staff were always on hand for your every need. Even down to letting me park my car directly outside the front doors. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sent airport transfer request twice, never heard back Long way to walk from the bus stop, no help with luggage

    Spumante for breakfast, shuttle to the centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like anything. The staff is very rude. Our room was not cleaned for 3 days. The restaraunt and so called bar is a joke. The location is very poor. Nothing close had to take a taxi everywhere. Would never stay here again.

    Did not like anything. The staff is very rude. Our room was not cleaned for 3 days. The restaraunt and so called bar is a joke. The location is very poor. Nothing close had to take a taxi everywhere. Would never stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were spacious, lobby area not many seats but rather grand in style. Breakfast, quite a variety of pastries, yoghurts and fruit and a small selection of hot food. You can order more selection for extra cost. Fabulous hotel with courtesy shuttle to the piazza m. Recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. A little far from the centre but the metro is only a short walk and the evenings are quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not expecting such a fancy hotel for the price we paid. What an absolute bargain! The rooms are so beautiful and the bath/shower is great too. Comfortable bed, so much space in the room. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is amazing! A free shuttle to and from a main metro station makes the location perfect. It is in a quiet area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent. Staff was very pleasant and polite. The hotel is nicely decorated, clean and wit excellent service. They gave us suite instead of regular room as an gratis upgrade. It was a nice gesture and we appreciate it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our suite had living room and private balcony with tree shade, etc. The breakfast buffet was great and the staff went overboard to make our stay the best ever.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the room was not cleaned the next day - renting an iron is not an option. Ironing is a paid service and you need to wait few hours - air conditioning is set and temperature cannot be regulated. It was really too hot in a room. - there was a cigarette smell in a non-smoking room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very out of the way for where we wanted to go ie Colosseum, Vatican City areas. It was also a fair way from the airport and because uber was so expensive we took public transport which included a crazy amount of wait time and a bit of walking. It was a 10 minute walk with luggage and a good part uphill from the bus stop.

    Breakfast buffet was great! Staff were helpful and the room was very tidy with all the basics. There was also a mini supermarket on the same road if you wanted to save some cash on food 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The feeling of a grand hotel, in quiet area of Rome, yet within easy reach of the centre. Free shuttle bus throughout day. Comfortable lounge and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would desperately have liked to be able to make a cup of tea in our room. Many hotels have this facility providing a kettle, cups & tea bags, coffee etc. Especially for an early morning/late night cuppa'. We would be more careful next time about being closer to the city so you could walk in easily & find local places to have dinner. To be fair, they do have an excellent shuttle service to & from the hotel. You just have to make sure you book both ways in high season or else you can easily miss out.

    Loved the breakfast. Lots of choice. Summer fruit especially nice flavour & texture. Liked our room - spacious & comfortable. Liked being able to store our luggage & use the shuttle in the afternoon after checking out at midday. Dining room spacious. Some staff excellent. Nice food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the room. A bit far from Flaminio station, walking distance from the nearest station. (not really recommended though) A bit expensive for the price. Need to book shuttle bus and impossible to find the bus stop for the first time, which is not really convinient. The man forgot to book the taxi and we nearly missed the bus to the airport. There was nothing around the hotel excluding a mini market which closes so early.

    The woman at the reception was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was gorgeous. The room was cozy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had ants everywhere in the first room when we woke up in the morning. We got a new room, but the staff didn't even apologis. Also, the transfer from the hotel to the city was many times full so we had to book our own taxi.

    The breakfast was really nice. They even served prosecco, which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary tea coffee provided in room, this really should be a provision.

    Fortunately the hotel provided a shuttle service to Via Popolo otherwise it was not the best location for the fabulous sightseeing in Rome. Breakfast was very good and served in a very nice dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds were not comfortable. Not many restaurants near the hotel.

    The hotel is outside of city center and they offer a shuttle to a Piazza with many different times for drop off/pick up. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mention shuttle bus had to be booked only a six seater and ends at 11.15pm.The bar was mostly never in use as it provided no entertainment and functions were on taking up the whole area on some nights. Also hardly any room to sit on toilet as a radiator cover was taking up leg room. Over expensive definitely not a 4 star hotel. No gym facilities. No leisure facilities. Just a room with a small breakfast area. And at the end of the trip they hit you with a city tax. I don't know why as the hotel is a few miles outside the city.

    The breakfast selection in the morning was ok. And there was a shuttle bus from the hotel to the town but had to be booked only 6 seats so bit of a pain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Althuogh there is a free shuttle , the way to the public transport ( metro ) is 5 minuten downhill but 15 minuten uphill

    Friedly staff, very comfortabele room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one word of caution - the transport to Popolo Piazza only runs every half hour and takes just 6 people. The staff do try to accommodate you but if you are in a party of four like us, you need to book the transport early.

    The staff were very efficient and helpful. The rooms were lovely and the beds were comfortable. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above re extra charge on train tickets if paid for by visa.

    The Duke Hotel delivered on my expectations. Is is a great, one off, hotel with quirky historic features. Staff was great,, especially the lady making a beatiful cappucino at breakfast . I think her name is Giulia. Location was good as we wanted to be close to contemporary art collections. Somewhat less was the chrge of 10% if paying by visa on tickets and services handled by reception ( already attracting a €10 handling fee). So we just paid cash for train tickets. Service was terrific. Would stay there again and recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in the same room many times. This time, there was a very bad smell in the bathroom that did not go away. It may have been from something wet, or the plumbing in the room. It made the overall experience very unpleasant.

    I have stayed here multiple times over the past few months when I have to go to Rome for work. It's in a good location, with a parking structure right next to it (if i can't find street parking), the staff are friendly, and its a good price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff (male staff) could be more friendly

    Shuttle service from hotel to city point is great, hotel is very clean and nice. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not the friendliest of Italy, but the ladies at reception were nice. And also luggage handlers friendly and efficient. I do not like showers in the bath tub.

    It is peaceful and clean residential area. Old but stylish hotel. Room was nice, but cold. Pet friendliness was a big plus. Food good. Bed was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very helpful staff. Good location, hotel runs a complimentary shuttle service to the closest tourist attraction. Good breakfast spread, however if you would like a good precisely made coffee- ask for it, as the one on display is just a filter coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    noise of the elevator above normal level in room-110. This hotel is otherwise very quiet and Peacefull.

    breakfast and service were very good. Staff were very helpful with their knowledge and time, making for a very enjoyable stay. A special thanks to the dinning room staff. All were exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exactly as it should be! halal cuisine and food on demand for muslim guests offer a halal menu in addition to their regular menu,,, this hotel really doesn't offer everything for everyone!

    closed to my university

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is located in good neighborhood near the center. There was alawys a shuttle bus ready to transport you to the center of Rome(included in price of the room). Personal of the hotel was very polite and friendly. The room was perfect, cleaned daily. Breakfast was very good ! Definitely will visit it again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality is seriously underwhelming for a 4 stars. Some features are outdated or more in line with a 3 stars. Some of the staff, especially in the restaurant, is at times unprofessional. Left overs from other guests in room breakfast service chilled until the following morning on the floor next to my room.

    Generally clean, staff is nice. Cosy lobby. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We first stayed in this hotel 11 years ago. She was a Grand Dame then. She is a little tattered and worn mistress now. Needs a bit of refreshing. Also, if a hotel in this class advertises A/C, check to make sure at what time of year they turn it on. We were there in early April. We're Texans and use A/C year round. We were told that they didn't turn on the A/C until May, by government decree. Oddly however, the first floor reception and dining areas were air conditioned. Hmmm.

    The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and gracious, especially Alessandro who retrieved my diamond earrings from the night stand I had mistakenly left out when we went out for the day and Valentina who went out of her way to arrange a car service for us and hotel room that was lovely. Guissepe kindly made us coffee at 5 in the morning, well outside his duties, but we were going to stand in line for Easter Sunday mass and he took pity on us. The lady who was the Breakfast room manager, whose name I failed to get, was welcoming, wonderful and accommodating. However, the other attendees and the bar staff was very difficult and unhelpful. The hotel is well out of the way, in a nice neighborhood. It is very calm and peaceful. Having said that, it is also well out of the way. Depends on what you value most. We prefer quiet and peaceful, so it met our needs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the staff not exactly the most guest friendly (to be more specific: at the reception some male staff).

    Plenty of choice regarding breakfast. Staff creates Espresso or Capuccino by demand which are delicious (also have Americano or Instant coffee). The Hotel interior looks really great, and the room we stayed in is really comfortable and clean (Deluxe).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a bit of an upgrade. Classy place but getting slightly rundown.

    Excellent breakfast. Good wifi. Very good price for a 4 star (because the location is a bit out of the way for tourism).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the walls are thin and the rooms are close to each other, so it's easy to hear your neighbors' conversations, especially when there are kids.

    Nice hotel near Villa Borghese. There is a parking garage next to the hotel, which made it convenient. Friendly staff, and clean rooms. The breakfast in the morning was basic.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little hard, a few problems with the tv that wasn't fixed (not that we really intended to watch it).

    Free Shuttle service was a great option! Although hotel a little out of the way, shuttle dropped off next to Metro station, giving easy access to most of Rome. Hotel was clean. Staff were friendly & efficient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More vegetables at breakfast, because only cherry tomatoes were available. Personally I totally disliked the egg omelet but the rest were very good.

    A lot of fruits at breakfast, nice restaurant and a very nice face, always smiling and supportive (I'm talking about miss Laura, you'll recognize her, I'm sure). They offered us a limo transfer service, from and to the airport, at a very competitive price and for the rest of the days, a free shuttle to and from the Piazza del Popolo.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel arranged for a taxi to pick me from the airport. I informed the hotel that I could be contacted through Whatsapp number. At the airport we delayed for about two hours to go through immigration procedures because there were a lot of people. When we got out I sent an email to the hotel informing them that I had arrived. The hotel advised that the taxi driver had left and I could get another taxi. When Checking out of the hotel I was charged cancellation fee for the taxi and I was advised that Whatsapp is not recognised as form of communication of which I expected that they should have told me before arranging the taxi for me considering that I did not have local mobile number.

    Well cleaned place

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    all good overall

    it is worth having a room upgrade. we had a superking bed which was very comfortable. breakfasts were very good. internet worked well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative point,even thow we had booked a basic double room and we knew that is rather small,but as mentioned perfect,was the really terible view from our window towards the back of some uggly-mess apartments.

    The Duke hotel is an amazing,luxury hotel located in a rich,residential area,nearly 2,5 from Piazza del Popolo which for us at least even thow we are rather young seemed to be a big distance with the easy booking shuttle service who provides the hotel is more than ok.The hotel itself is spotessly cleaned,luxurious,elegant with super friendly and helpfull staff (special regards to Mr Francesco from the breakfast team) and with an amazing breakfast with products of a very high quality!Perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could be a little hard to find without GPS.

    This hotel was in a great area with good restaurants and cafes within a short walk. There is a parking garage available for an extra cost which is really convenient if you are traveling with a car. The hotel has a classic luxury feel, is clean and comfortable even for a family of four. The wifi signal was great throughout the hotel. Breakfast had a large selection of fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurt, meats, cheeses, juices, teas, and even eggs and bacon. The rooms are comfortable and larger than most you find in the city. When we return to Rome we will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very grumpy staff, made me like I was not welcome. When I asked questions the answers were short and abrupt.

    Comfy and tidy rooms, stunning lobby and reception area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain about.

    The breakfast was excelent. Plenty of choices. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and very kind. An excelent place!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception at departure can be faster.

    Room ,wifi and breakfast are very good. The hotel also give a android that can you sue freely for national and international calls ! Also internet is available. There is a free shuttle from hotel to plaza de people (center rome)

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Duke Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: