Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Inn at the Spanish Steps-Small Luxury Hotels This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Condotti 85, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#173 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.0
    Perfect location. Great staff. Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If in the apartment you were looking for two rooms the second room is a single sofa bed and not really geared up for an adult in my opinion. But it worked ok for us. The main bathroom flush didn’t really work which wasn’t ideal. The plug sockets are all old so could use adapters putting into them all.

    Location was great. We were given an upgrade from a twin room to an apartment in the annexe building which is probably a little more tired than the main building but it was lovely none the less. Great space, lovely to have a living area, and separate spaces as I went with my dad. We both had a bathroom each and a room each. Loved the roof terrace to have breakfast on each day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    4.2
    Location and bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is, definitely, not worth being part of SLH, not what is expected. Breakfast was awful, quality of food was bad. The elevators were only big enough for 2 and not working most of the time. Rooms were tiny, bathroom was awful, furniture was old. The only thing good was the bed. I wouldn’t recommend it for my enemies.

    Location and bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.3
    The bed was super comfy and the staff were so friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms could have been a bit bigger but lovely Italian decor!

    The bed was super comfy and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Brilliant location and great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    3.8
    Such a bad experience never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are shabby (we tried 2 rooms), furniture is old, aged with no matching style as if they have been collected from flea market. Very noisy at night and window does not close propely. Extremely expensive for what you get.

    The only good thing is the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and had great recommendations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the location was nice in that we were close to things- it was pure chaos at most hours right outside our doors. People selling their wares right outside our windows- luckily rooms are not on the ground floor!

    The staff was very helpful and had great recommendations. It was nice to have breakfast included and the rooftop space was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location to explore all the sites with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed in the breakfast. I have stayed at other Small Luxury hotels of the World and this is by far the smallest breakfast selection I have seen. Maybe this was my fault for not asking, but I did not find out that I could order an omelet until the third day of my stay. However, the coffee was excellent.

    The staff goes out of their way to make you feel very comfortable. They are very friendly too and will make dinner reservations, organize airport transfers, taxi's, etc. The location is fantastic. A majority of the famous sites are walking distance from the hotel. The two main shopping streets (high end and normal stores like H&M, Zara, etc.) are a 2 second walk and 5 min walk away. The restaurant recommendations from the hotel list are excellent. The rooms are very small, but the beds are very comfortable. There is air conditioning too. The hotel is perfect for a couple, friends and older children, but I wouldn't recommend it for small children. There are many stairs that you have to climb to go to the breakfast room. I am not sure if there is an elevator as I did not see one. It would not be stroller friendly and the hotel is very small without extra space to relax with small children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    4.6
    Low value for high money (and no-cancellation policy).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Low value for high money (and no-cancellation policy). What was supposed to be a "deluxe two-bedroom appartment" was in fact two separate appartments located next to each other. 6th floor with an old and small elevator that broke down from time to time so you had to walk up. And then you found that the room cards didn't work so you had to walk down again and go to the reception (located 150m away down the street). Standard of the rooms - average. TV sets were old and turning them on (and even off) required assistance from the personel. The showers did not function properly (low pressure, malfunctions, no hot water in the evenings). Attitude of the reception staff - unfriendly: no appology for anything, instead a scournful "you have all those problems all the time". Overall quality: 3-4 stars maximum. Obviously they consider a prime location to be sufficient and make little effort to the service and quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    4.6
    Apart from the location, really poor quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Separate buildings. Smelly ground floor. Very old tiny elevators. 3 stars at best.

    Location is great. Near spanish steps and major shopping areas and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.6
    I strongly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is great everything around u,, luxury boutiques,restaurants, Spanish steps is walking distance,, room is clean and comfortable,, breakfast lounge is very nice and the staff are so friendly and cooperative,, and the lady Karina at reception was so helpful and welcoming,, I strongly recommend this hotel 👍🏻🌺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    4.6
    Such a bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too uncomfortable. The room was cold and too noisy( hotel was having a reconstruction so we had to change room ) and the hotel had too many stairs it made it hard to get in or out the building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable experience with super friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift so we took the stairs instead!

    The service was very personal and friendly. The room had all the amenities you could wish for and high quality toiletries. The breakfast buffet was great and had more than I expected and the coffee outstanding. Location is second to none, near shops and restaurants and metro stop. Easy to walk to all the main sightseeing sites. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    10
    I’ll recommend to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything

    First class service , location and facilities among the best in Rome. Stayed in the new separate suite, on Villa del Croce, which is very well appointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.6
    Definitely an excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Without doubt one of the best hotels in Rome, a large and beautiful room, amazing views from the balcony and terrace, best location there, service number 1 recommend, recommend !!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very tiny lift-barely big enough for two persons.

    The room was large. The breakfast was exceptional. The location was great. The hotel manager looked after us personally. All staff went out of their way to be helpful. The air conditioning worked well and did not turn off after a set time as is usual with Italian hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    10
    Extremely happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff including the Manager were fantastic, very pleasant stay. The position of the hotel is short walking distance to most attractions in Rome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    Fantastic view, beautiful room, friendly people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not only was the food exquisite, the room met all expectations, the staff was friendly and the owner treated every guest like a personal friend! I very much enjoyed my stay here, and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    comfort bed with decent size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom is the only thing can be improved.

    comfort bed with decent size breakfast was delicious very good location, you can reach most of attractions by walk in 30mins friendly staff, we will be back again!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Stunning place near Spanish steps and all the shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I never wanted to leave and will be back again

    What an excellent location, helpful staff, great breakfast and the Amex rooms were large and had two enormous balcony areas with 360 degree view of Rome. It is stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, excellent location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing we did not like it.

    Great services! The team makes you feel very good as soon as you enter in the hotel. We received an upgrade of the room and the view was spectacular. The food, the room, the terasses were excellent! For sure we will return in this cosy boutique hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    Luxury hotel close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel in Rome. We will be returning when we come back to Italy. The bartender Adam was one of the highlights of our entire trip, he should be a stand up comedian, we absolutely loved the drinks we had at the rooftop terrace because of him!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    6.7
    city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were housed in a separate building, 5 minutes down the street from the reconsense, a very small room, a terrible view of the courtyard from the window, an extremely tangled control of the TV cart with the Sky receiver, which makes normal viewing impossible, constant trampling in the corridor of annoying Asian cleaners, a thin door does not create effect of separation of the room from the corridor and all the time you expect that to you in the room will burst, which does not contribute to a quiet rest. The shower does not work well draining, and in general under the camouflage under the high cost is old age and shabby.

    city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.6
    Close to Spagna and the fashion district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are small but this is Rome and this is always the case. You have to get use to the room size. The bed is very comfortable and this makes up for the floor space.

    Spagna is a great area with lots of shopping and places to eat. You can walk everywhere and the train is very close by. The Inn at the Spanish Steps is an excellent location with very helpful staff. The terrace upstairs is very large and you have breakfast here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Amazing and best place if you want convinience and roman luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is really to improve. It is a simple continental breakfast, however not even fresh. The breads and croissants stale and the choices more than limited.

    Amazing location close to the spanish steps and in the main road of the shopping and restaurant district. Really easy to reach and access all important sights of Rome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    8.3
    Nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant recommendations were ok but not fabulous. Otherwise great for a city break and we would recommend this hotel.

    Nice and comfortable. Recommend for location. We had a great time. Loved the terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    We would recommend this hotel because of its location and friendly manager and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was tiny and an experience but did its job and carried us and our luggage to our room.

    Great position near The Spanish Steps. We were upgraded to an apartment just down from the main building which was within walking distance to some great restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.9
    Extremely stressful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big problem that I had was my Mother paid for this trip with her credit card and I took her card with me to the Hotel, 1200 euros had been taken off her card a week prior for the accommodation charge so I just took some cash euros for spending money. The day after arrival the Hotel staff informed me that they could not accept the credit card payment as my Mother was not present and then proceeded to demand that we pay again, and if we couldnt then we would have to leave, all very stressful and a crazy policy to pursue which I was told has occurred 53 times this year already. I am still waiting for the refund of the credit card monies to be returned having been forced to pay again 1200 euros but in cash. Even more frustrating was that Italian Banks do not perform any money transfers over the weekend or on Mondays so as we were leaving on Tuesday we were really stuck in Rome with no access to cash and being threaghtened by the Hotel staff that they were going to throw us out out. My 16 year old daughter was terrified and it completely ruined our trip. The new Manager appeared on the morning we were leaving and was very apologetic, I hope he will change this policy, but please be warned!!!!

    The location, we were in the annexe which is situated a hundred yards away which is basically an apartment block which you walk through in order to reach the two top floors which have been converted into guest rooms, very nicely decorated and furnished beautifully with a wonderful roof terrace for guests use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    10
    Would stay here again. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was A+.

    We were in the annex. Our room was big, bright and clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Antonio the manager even called and checked the car service for us when they were late. Cristo was the best getting bags and giving directions. Location was the best for getting around Rome. Walking distance to almost everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    We would recommend this hotel to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No safety bars in the shower.

    The view of Rome from the patio. The upgrade we received at the same price. The location. The recommendations for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is divided into buildings along the street. No general hotel facilities. No dining room

    The property was very central with easy access Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    5.8
    Never again.
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other than Stephen the reception staff were rude, argumentative and had appalling communication skills. The toilet leaked and lamp shade was torn - the hotel for the price felt shabby, not charming.

    Stephen was great but communication with the rest of the staff was appalling prior to arrival and other than Stephen, unwilling to extend the level of service/cooperation one expects for the price. Location amazing but there are lots of other hotels also close but much cheaper. The bell boy was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Location but smallest room for 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was the smallest room in a 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. A small detail but the clothes hangers were anti-theft (surprising, again in an upscale property) Pillows were hard as a rock.

    Excellent location, very attentive and helpful staff, snacks and pastries with coffee, tea available all day. Charming facilities but be prepared to climb steep stairs to breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Elegance, comfort, location and a trained staff. Thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were a few issues with the water pressure but this is an ancient hotel so it happens.

    Take their cancellation policy VERY seriously because no matter what, they cannot and will not change your reservation. On that note, we desperately wanted to cancel our reservation and they were not able to accommodate our requests but they did go out of their way to make us feel wanted and special the moment we arrived. We were upgraded to a superior room with a direct view of the Spaniah steps. The rooms are all beautifully decorated, the hotel is in the best location, it is old and charming. The breakfast and snacks are appetising and fresh. The wait staff are well trained and very nice. We often ate off site and found great restaurants within one or two blocks from the hotel. The shipping is everywhere with the finest brands in the world just outside the front doors. We totally recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful stay. My daughter and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at the Spanish Steps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The staff was very attentive. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite, with modern furnishings. Great, spacious bathroom. Excellent location!! Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    6.7
    Discusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos and information given do not represent the reality!!!! My room was in a different building than the hotel!!! Luggages arrived after one hour!! Room entrance was opening to breakfastroom with full of people!!! Room was starting to smell from 6am scrambled eggs!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    8.8
    we are on our honeymoon, and this is the first place we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was not that excellent as other services.

    we are on our honeymoon, and this is the first place we lived in Italy, all the staffs were very nice, the room was quite good, the location was great, convenient to the tube station and some other famous places, and there are soooo many yummy restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.0
    We would not stay here again. Unacceptably tiny shower and mislead about location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They exaggerated the proximity of the "apartment" to the main inn. Has we known we would not have booked and we dont recommend that others book.

    Front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    10
    Great stay at the Inn at the Spanish Steps-Small Luxury Hotels!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were lots of scammers near the Spanish Steps and Fountain forcing you to buy flowers! :(

    The location was at the center of the premier shopping area and near all the other tourist sites in Rome. The hotel was easily accessible by train in case you want to visit other attractions such as the Colosseum and Ruins. There was a taxi station right in front of our building which made it easy for us to move around Rome. There were lots of restaurants around the hotel and some were open til late evening. The staff were very helpful and were willing to assist us with our needs. All in all, we had a great stay at the Inn at the Spanish Steps! We will definitely choose the same hotel when we go back to Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is good but could be better. Should provide a cover for the food.

    The location of the hotel is superb. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location. Great if you're in the main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like being in the annex 3 blocks away from the main hotel. It made you feel like you were staying in your own apartment - which some people might like - it wasn't what we were really looking for. Our key cards stopped working the night before we were leaving (?) and I had to call the front desk from my cell phone (thank goodness I had cell service overseas). If I didn't have my phone, we would have had to walk 3 blocks to the front desk and then back to the annex where our room was located. It was pretty late and not what we wanted to be doing. Someone did bring the keys to us but it was a bit of a bother.

    The location was great. Very centrally located. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The staff was very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.9
    A nice boutique hotel at one of the best locations in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No grab bar in the bathroom making getting in and out of bathtub(no stand alone shower) a bit challenging.

    Great location for restaurants and shopping with traditional Italian decor and a very nice rooftop terrace serving sumptuous breakfast(included in Room charge) and evening drinks with snacks(at extra cost).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    8.3
    The Inn at the Spanish Steps is location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Inn was great, but they had multiple buildings, which is good and bad. Room was recently renovated and large, but had to climb some steps or take an old small elevator. Not bad for centuries old building, but not the glamour you might expect in a larger high end facility. I would certainly recommend based on location and staff service.

    perfect location for the Spanish Steps, the best shopping in Rome, tons of cafes, restaurants, Via del Corso road, etc. All about location here. Staff was fantastic. One of them even did all of my train reservations on line for me, gave me the ins and outs of where to go, how to get there and what to expect as a tourist.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    10
    Great hotel excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn't a problem for us but we were surprised our room wasn't in the main hotel. We would totally recommend this hotel--just know that this is a collection of rooms in several small buildings so you won't be surprised.

    Great bed, excellent location, awesome shower, delicious breakfast. The rooftop terrace was amazing. Also the concierge was very helpful before our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    9.2
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stairs and small elevator.

    Morning full breakfast on the rooftop garden and the central location of the hotel including it's location to high end boutiques with limited traffic access.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    3.8
    The reception is far from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception is far from the room. Too many stairs for reception and to get to the room. Poor cleaining done in the room and on the terrace. Many stairs to get to the breakfast area. No bathtub in bathroom Poor room service and poor menu

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Short stop-over at Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt a bit cramped than normal and was difficult to place my luggage in the room to avoid blocking a pathway, also the lights on the floor couldn't be switched off unless you had to open the circuit breaker, which was not allowed to be touched by the customer but couldn't sleep at night with at least one light open so had to eventually open and close the lights on the floor using the circuit breaker in the room.

    The room I booked was on a separate building as what the hotel had mentioned before prior to my arrival and the place was quiet and cozy, though it was slightly far from the main building, you were alone and out from the busy area of the Spanish Steps but only a few meters away. Room felt a bit cramped inside but otherwise it was good. The staff were also very helpful and accommodating my request and was even able to check in early but for the late check out, they were fully booked, which was understandable. The restaurant they even recommended for lunch and dinner was superb and excellent, it was authentic Italian food and not the commercialized ones.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    10
    Small but very friendly and great position and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small but very friendly and great position and wonderful roof terrace with complimentary snacks in the afternoon. Not for those who like modern lavish hotels

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    10
    Perfect location in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find a ATM that worked. Do not exchange money in the area they charge way too much.

    The complimentary morning breakfasts were great. Perfect way to start the day and the views were spectacular! You couldn't ask for a better way to experience ROME. The shopping was steps away and all the historical sites were walking distance. It would be hard to find a better location for access to the entire city!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    9.6
    a great hotel as long as you're not sensitive to dust...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit dusty, a problem for allergic people, the bad linen could be washed more often

    great location, attentive staff, great breakfast, nice terrace, clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2017

    9.2
    Delightful Small Hotel in the Historic area of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There really wasn't anything that I didn't like, well if you're really picky, the elevator was more like a phone booth and didn't go all the way up to our floor. I took the stairs most of the time anyway. The room was a little small but really about what I expected. So there you have it. Overall we had a delightful stay at The Inn at The Spanish Steps.

    The hotel was in a terrific location, easy walking distance to just about anywhere you would want to go. Morning breakfast was very nice, coffee was excellent. The evening spread was unexpected and quite good. We often had dinner out then dessert there. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooftop lounge was marvelous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    10
    Best hotel.We' II come back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location couldn't be better.watching the spanish steps from your bed....The room was great and wide.It had everything we need and more.We got the room earlier than the check in time and even got huge upgrade- to a room with private balcony and beautiful view.The staff were all so friendly, helpfull and professionals from the second we ordered till the time we left.We want to thank especially to Massimo,Rika, Franko and Sara .Thank you all. Don't hesitate.That hotel is a great choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    3.3
    Beware of booking in separate building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived, it was late and cold, we were asked to walk with their bellboy, dragged our luggages to an outcasted separate building around 8mins distance. It was the only room outside of the second floor of the old dirty looking building, no staff there during the night. (It was not even inside the apartment building) We had to walk back to the main hotel for breakfast the next morning. We complained but they said their 22 rooms main hotel building was full that night. We were transferred to the main building the next day and it was a much better stay.

    Staff is polite Nice breakfast place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was amazing! The hotel was very comfortable and super relaxed. The staff always went above and beyond to satisfy us which was wonderful! Ava from the terrace was such a help and very friendly always made us feel welcome and at home - she is such a great soul! Also, Sarah and Careen from front desk made the visit great with all their recommendations :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    10
    Wonderful location, big comfy rooms, lovely stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No good for thoose who driving - in historical centre of Rome generaly parking (and even just stopping)is a massive problem.

    Absolutely brilliant - starting with little things, like very good quality of provided toiletries to absolutely gorgeous breakfast and ever so attentive to every guest and friendly stuff! We enjoyed beyond belief!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    7.9
    Amazing location and staff.. few problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small except the bathroom which was very good The lift was very small only enough for two people The concierge were not that helpful though friendly and nice

    One of the best locations in rome Amazing friendly staff Nice terrace with good free breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2017

    6.3
    Not great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very small, the area where breakfast is served is cramped and very dated. The cold breakfast is not very appealing and would be a lot better if it was a hot buffet.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    9.2
    Great start for our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was 2 double beds together which is a bit annoying slipping in the hole between, a king bed would have been so much better.

    The staff are super friendly and helpful Breakfast on terrace at the pen house +++ Super clean multiple times a day Location is best being close to everything most within 20 minutes walk max Very spacious room Great location for honeymooners

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath didnt drain properly. That was all. Slight minor convenience,

    The welcome. Upgraded room. Breakfast. Location. Rooftop terrace when it wasn't raining.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    10
    Amazing location, wonderful small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is wonderful, very easy to get everywhere from there and we had a wonderful view of the Spanish Steps. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    9.6
    The perfect stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift was tiny

    The location was fantastic. Breakfast on the balcony was a real treat. Happy hour included a buffet of delights. The room was luxurious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    6.3
    The 5th floor breakfast buffet was okay, the staff very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the location is very convenient the property itself is in dire need of refurbishment, the rooms are small (which is okay and expected) and very run down considering the price point.....but the location is great.

    The 5th floor breakfast buffet was okay, the staff very kind and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    10
    Great Hotel with old world charm and a Top Notch Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was perfect for us. However for someone with physical disabilities, it might not be a good choice because the elevator stops at half floors so you need to either walk up or down stairs.

    Great Hotel! The staff was wonderful. They were so helpful and pleasant. They arranged private transportation and tours that were top notch. The rooftop terrace was great for breakfast, just relaxing or drinks in the evening. By the way, the breakfasts were wonderful, presented beautifully and very tasty. The bathrooms have great amenities. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Very quiet considering it is on a pedestrian area. Via Condotti and Spanish Steps location are a real plus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    5.0
    Where are the steps?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Inn at the Spanish Steps doesn’t offer a view of the steps. Instead, you will see a wall or the very edge of Piazza di Spagnia. This hotel is a hodgepodge of rooms spread over five different buildings around Via Condotti, Via della Croce, etc. It is a product of Italian creativity and a blind ambition to create a hotel in the neighborhood dominated by world’s most expensive retailers. There is simply no space available. No space for breakfast room and no space in your room. My wife asked for an omelet and it was brought from a kitchen located a couple of blocks away. You can imagine how it tasted. The service is friendly and reasonably good. The biggest problem is noise. This is the area where all the deliveries are made at night. The narrow tunnels of the streets below amplify and deliver all that noise to the rooms. We know Rome rather well. This was an experiment to try a different neighborhood. The experiment failed. We will not stay at this Inn again. Considering the constricted location and all the small inconveniences their prices are ridiculously high.

    They try to provide good service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    7.5
    Quiet hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several different steps in a small room.

    Location was perfect and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Quaint little apartment was very quiet, perfect for a good nights sleep after a busy day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    6.3
    Location is the BEST in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room appointment, fit and finish of fixtures, beddings and matress needs improvement considering they charge rates like a 5star hotel. If they charged cheaper like a 3.5-4 star hotel then their accommodation will suffice

    Location is the BEST in the area. The accommodation is good and decent. I only rated it low because for the price I paid, I expected 5 star treatment from the room appointments and cleanliness comparable to other hotels that charge the same rate. For the money they charge it needs improvement.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom

    Location, hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff did everything they could to make our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly staff did everything they could to make our stay in Rome as memorable as possible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.7
    Lovely terrace for breakfast and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hot water for a night when we would have liked to shower.

    Lovely terrace for breakfast and comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    3.3
    Nighmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everthing

    Horrble bullding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Best stay in Rome to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing everything was exceptional

    Location and everything was perfect free upgrade upon arrival

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.8
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some leakage in the main shower.

    excellent location, comfort bed, good food, wide room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    I will definetly come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing that i didnt like

    The staff were super lovely and very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    6.7
    Very good location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not like actually in Booking.com, so bugs fling on the food, some room smiling to bad and the smell come out from the toilet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Everybody that worked there was so friendly, the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would of been nice to have had a gym..but you mistake for not checking.

    Everybody that worked there was so friendly, the location was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    3.0
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    No

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: