Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Scandinavia Venice 3 stars

Campo S.Maria Formosa, 5240, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#118 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing and very helpful.the room was not ready when i arrived but Elena gave me directions to have a walk around until it gets ready still 1 hour prior the check in time.on departure i was allowed to leave my luggage at the reception and was again given direction and weather forecast by a gentleman whose name i forgot but was super helpful. The room and shower were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room wasn't very good and wouldn't go below 22 degrees celsius.

    The reception staff were exceptional. They provided us a room to change in on arrival, despite check in not being for another few hours and they gave excellent advice regarding the local area and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in, had windows but could not be opened as it's not facing any open area, therefore room was quite stuffy

    The host was very informative and location of the property is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an additional “ city tax” we had to pay, which we was not aware of... it’s just another expense you have to budget for.. should just be in the total price when you book really

    Great location, vibrant square but quiet at night. Few nice little bars and places to eat near by. And only 15 mins walk from the water taxis.. all the staff where great, advice, information, anything you wanted and they where happy to help

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although only 10 mins from where the water taxi dropped us (at Rialto) you underestimate how maze-like Venice really is and then there's the luggage. If it wasn't for a lovely old Venetian man we could still be wandering around.

    We were on the top floor and had a small terrace to the front overlooking the Campo Formosa which was a lovely space. It was never crowded but had a few vendors, some outdoor restaurants and the buskers were skilled musicians. We were only 10 minutes from San Marco but far enough away to get away from the bustle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location,surrounded by good restaurants Minutes from the main attractions....once you decipher the endless little streets and alleys! Excellent front desk service Elena made us SO welcome on check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC is not work during stay and had to open the windows which did not have screens, got a lot of mosquito bites while sleeping.

    Good Location and good breakfast, friendly staffs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit hard for my liking but I’m used to a really soft bed so it’s just personal preference.

    The location was amazing and the staff were so helpful from the moment we got there to the moment we left, nothing was to much trouble, they gave us a map with directions to different locations, then helping us to find our way to the nearest stop for the airport. There was a good variety at breakfast. Venice is such a beautiful city and I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Heating in the room: it could not cope with cold weather. We were cold in the room and despite complaining to the manager, nothing was done.

    Excellent location & helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The continental breakfast could be improved a little, rolls are very small, not a lot of hot food either, buts its enough to start your day off, would be nice if there was coffee facilities available after breakfast too.

    Loved it, the hotel was beautiful, and spotlessly clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located well, close to a lot of areas of interest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on top floor with very beautiful view on square - that was really unexpected. In general the room was clean with warm air conditioner in wintertime. Breakfast was quite good and included in rate (but no omlets unfortunately)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to change the room because of construction works directly over our our room.

    The location in the heart of San Marco was perfect and the staff very friendly. Even if we had to change our room the staff was very helpful and cooperative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We came to Venice Monday 22nd January - Thursday 25th January (spent four days and three nights) the hotel was superb, was given a lovely room and ensuite and even bonus a balcony. It was such a lovely room and not only the room is lovely, the staff make you feel so welcome, very friendly and very helpful, lots of formative about Venice from staff. They really do look after you. Breakfast was lovely. Early morning till 10am. Perfect as after 10am can go out after that for the day/ evening. There's loads of shops, restaurant, very local and central. The location of the hotel is perfect. There's co-op down the road. (Drinks and snacks) st mark square round the corner, a walking distance and you are there. Venice is a beautiful city and this hotel is worth visit. If I was coming back to Venice again, I would stay at this hotel again! I will recommend all my family and friends to stay here in the future. Thank you so much for making our stay welcome. Gemma and Sean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home afterwards.

    Our third stay spanning over a decade. Lovely staff are all still there, good clean rooms in a beautiful square. And new for 2018 they have a lift!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the mosquitoes are a little aggressive, we woke up in the middle of night to battle with them lol. From the hotel itself, due to limited space in Venice, I'd understand the breakfast area is a bit crowded sometimes; soundproof can be an issue this bothers you;

    The location is super convenient, so close to Rialto bridge, San Marco, etc. The staff are also very welcoming and helpful, we remembered Elena particularly because she greeted us on our arrival and told us all the key information we need to know to make our trip in Venice a pleasant one

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask reception for someone to kindly remake our room upon arrival. There were strains of hair right under the sheets, hair also found in bathroom towels and inside the bathroom.

    Nice location. Major sites accessible by walking. Friendly staff. Great restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast. Excellent location - set in a lovely square and equidistant from St Marks, Rialto bridge and Fondamenta Nove. Good restaurants nearby. 6 -7 min walk from Rialto Bridge "bus stop". Decent size co-op supermarket 3 min walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more power points in the room. We booked a triple room and the third person in our party had to sleep on a trundle bed which was a bit uncomfortable...needed a better mattress for an adult.

    Great location in a safe area with easy access to shopping and tourist sights. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing!! A great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos show the hotel in a better light than its current condition. However it was clean and not uncomfortable. We were there in winter and the room was a fine temperature.

    The location was great. The gentleman who checked us in was so lovely and marked out some excellent routes on the map to get around and see the best of Venice. He also gave us advice on where to eat.. a lovely pasta restaurant (the name escapes me) reasonably priced and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and we were on the top floor. We were aware of the lift situation before booking. Work is currently being done and the lift will be installed in a few weeks

    Great location and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't really like the decoration of the room, it could have been better.

    I like the staff professionalism and friendliness, also like the breakfast and its location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not big but sufficient. The bathroom was not of the new and modern kind, but all was clean and working well.

    The location is perfect, and so was the view of the beautiful square from the room! Breakfast was nice, lots of variety (croissants, cakes, cereals, fruits, yogurts, ham, cheese, bread etc). Staff is super nice as well. They recently finished building an elevator that should be operational soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The icing on the cake would have been fresh juice rather than juice drink but it was fine.

    Really easy to walk to all the central sights St.Marks, Doge's Palace, Fenice, Rialto, Art galleries, shops, etc., or to catch a Vaporetto to travel further afield. Perfect situation. Variety of fresh choices for continental breakfast. Lovely creamy Italian cheeses with continental meats and vegetables, fresh bread and pastries, good coffee. The Campo S. Maria Formosa, which our room overlooked is like a little village on its own. Positively delightful hearing life go on - without any traffic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, excellent staff always willing to help, everything worked, wi-fi was free and the air con was a little noisy but kept us at the right temperature

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, Venice is extremely expensive for accommodation, so the price was expensive (140 EUR/night) for this type of 3* hotel, but it is Venice. Otherwise was ok. Bed blankets are really old wool ones, quite strange for a hotel, but still ok. There is a fragrance air freshener in the bathroom that was so strong that we had to leave it in the balcony (would be great if they can change it for other one less strong).

    Very helpful and kind staff. Bed was very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. We were given a room with a small balcony over the piazza and was very pleasant, and completely quiet at night. The building is quite charming, an old palazzo with old style features. Breakfast was good, and the district is perfect to visit Venice, 5min walking to San Marco square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so open windows invited mosquitoes. We had good Autumn days, but summer would be a problem. Don't bring heavy baggage as stairs will be awkward.

    Authentic Venetian hotel in great location. Antique furnishings and artwork throughout. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive very old furniture, no lift, basic accommodation. Breakfast could've been better. Air con was rubbish

    Perfect location. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and en- suites very small by Irish standards.Would have liked a few more toiletries but not a big deal.

    Staff very friendly and helpful,Elena most especially.The location is good with plenty of Restaurants and Bars nearby.Hotel has no bar but a good vending machine with wine/beer and glasses available at reception.If you get a room overlooking the square it's lovely to look out and see all the activities but stalls do set up earlier.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it is time to make some renovation at the bathroom, seems it was made in the past decade ;)

    Perfect location, great view on the Santa Maria Formosa cathedral, close to everywhere: just 5 min walk to San Marco square & 7 min walk to Rialto, a few nice osterias nearby. Friendly staff - we enjoyed hospitality of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were the best I have come across. A cheerful greeting every time and very helpful. The hotel was very old and charming, with all the modern conveniences, overlooking the piazza.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location. MInutes from San Marcos but not in the middle of a million tourists. Staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast was very good and wonderful locals restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, impressive interior where you can feel a spirit of the city, but still feel very comfortable. Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. Definitely the place where I would like to come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but more fruit would be appreciated. Even if a bowl Of mixed fruit was offered or some water melons and bananas..

    The staff at the hotel were excellent! We had a great room on the top floor with a fantastic view. Room Number 25 is probably one of the best rooms in the hotel. I feel you don't mind climbing stairs to the top floor, you should ask for this room. The receptionist advised us at check in that there was no lift. She offered to arrange to have out luggage brought to our room. We were happy to bring it ourselves as this wasn't a problem for us. Great service. Great friendly staff help a great hotel thrive. We used the atvo Ryanair bus. We bought return tickets at the airport. It was quite handy. We also got the boat bus number two from the bus station and we got off at Rialto bridge. It was about a 6 minute walk from the bridge to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are given free WIFI, however it was limited in the usage. However this didn't bother me as I had data to use.

    The central location was perfect to be near some of the most beautiful landmarks, as well tourist attractions, while still having the privacy to enjoy the world go by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we found some hair on the bed sheet

    Great Location ( we had a room with a view over the beautiful Campo Santa Maria Formosa), nice & very helpful staff, decent breakfast, air condition, fridge and safety box.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to find from the water taxi after the airport. The location of the hotel was fantastic! The small square where the hotel faced onto was amazing as it was a 5 minute walk from st marks square but was also very relaxed. We also had a balcony with our room that opened out onto the square. This made our holiday! The hotel staff were super friendly and gave us useful information. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be returning in the future!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or tea making facilities in room - but there was a vending machine.

    Lovely character hotel. We had a room with balcony in 4th floor - small but lovely. No lift so glad we travelled light - although we were offered help. Friendly staff - great breakfast - ideal location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a 2 not a 3 star as advertised hotel. Very basic facilities - no tea and coffee in room, no bar, all fittings and fixtures worn including unusuable shelves in bathroom. This is a no frills venice experience so if you are just looking for good location and place to sleep this is is, if you want anything else stay elsewhere

    the staff were friendly, the location was central and the breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, needs more selection of fruits and perhaps a hot alternative dish also. Too many sweet choices.

    The room was lovely, very quaint and fitted out with period old furniture. Fantastic view as we had a room with a balcony. There is a beatiiful staircase with many steps but the room and view was worth the climb! Staff very friendly and helpful also!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a couple more toiletries in bathrooms bearing in mind many people travel with hand luggage only with fluid restrictions. Breakfast could have been slightly better but no real complaints Would definitely stay there again

    Fantastic friendly staff with excellent English and good sense of humour. Relatively easy walk from water taxis. Interesting decor comfortable decor. Good air conditioning although it was 32 degrees during stay able to sleep well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was far from the canal. And the room was far from my expectation. I think the hotel wanted old style decoration, thats why I chose but they over furnished with old furnitures. You could hear the noises coming from the furnitures.

    The most thing that I loved was the staff. Especially the lady at the reception, was friendly, nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We asked the guy on reception if he could suggest a decent restaurant and he recommended one that the staff use when they go out together. We ate there three times and we weren't ripped off. Everything about this hotel enhanced our weekend in Venice. Our room even had a small terrace overlooking the square. It is a great place to stay and is ideally located for most of the main sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room did not look as it did in the photos. Bathroom was dirty. Bed linens smelled bad. AC did not work so we did not go to sleep until 5 AM the night we arrived at the hotel. Breakfast looked unappetizing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the hotel a little bit tricky to reach on foot from Rialto bridge due to steps/bridge crossings - I was travelling alone, with a heavy and inconvenient bag. However as soon as I arrived at the hotel a porter took control of my bag and I was immediately at ease. On the day of my departure a hotel porter carried my bag from my room all the way to the water taxi pick up point.

    Good location, easy to walk to food, shops, sights. Delightful staff who made helpful recommendations of where to go/eat etc. Comfortable facilities, the room was well air conditioned, clean and spacious. I really enjoyed my time here and would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy as our room faced the main square but that's perfectly normal. After all, this is venice so this is to be expected

    The location and the ambience. Stefano at the front desk who checked us in was very helpful and professional ! He pointed us to the right locations to eat, shop And thought us how to get around .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old furniture but it seems this the style of the most hotels in venice so it was ok

    The staff service speically Elina she is provided us a helpful info about venice and San Marco with nice hospitality thank you Elina .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Breakfast has a variety of choices (especially cheese and dessert) 2) The location is walkable distance to the attractions. 3) The receptionists are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift and a lot of stairs.

    Location was great, very close to everything. Staff members were very friendly and helpful. Lovely hotel. Small fridge/mini bar in the room was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice.

    A greta hotel with nice staff and perfect location. View from my room was of courtyard Santa Maria Farmosa and it was perfect. Close to Rialto bridge and other attractions

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The people who work there (the hotel staff) were great. The senior man at the reception was very helpful and the woman and the other man did all they could to help and always with a smile. Breakfast great, very clean and comfort rooms, restaurants all around and shops. We couldn't ask for more! We didn't encounter no crime and people were generally generous in the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds are not comfortable ,need to change the mattress to better ,when we asked to remove one of the extra beds becuse its super soft they replaced it with better one ;but still 2 out of 4 mattress was just acceptable (the double bed with 2 single mattress),the bathroom might need a deep cleaning

    Great location in the center of Venice the nearest sea bus station is Rialto bridge direct from the Venice Airport Marco Polo (35-45mins) the the orange line then 10-15 mins walking to the hotel ,friendly staff,the room size was good we had the biggest room in the hotel with cool view to the square area, late check out is possible,easy check in and out,average brakfast as expected for such hotel type included in the room rate .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator! 4 flights of stairs with a bag, they did offer to carry it up but I said it was ok. No toilet downstairs so once you checked out you couldn't use a toilet.

    Nice room with a balcony and view onto the square and nearby church.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby finishings throughout. Our double bed was two narrow singles with separate sheets. The door kept out no sound from the hallway. The hallway was littered with odd furnishings, even in the middle of the corridor. The breakfast was entirely artificial and prepacked. The coffee was from a vending machine.

    Our room looked out onto the square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room: you hear every movement of your neighbors... very basic design even for 3 star hotel, very small bathroom, bad coffee (!)

    Very good location, nice and welcoming personnel. We followed their advices regarding the choice of good local restaurants, and we are very satisfied with their suggestions (we are quite demanding in terms of itlian food))

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture. Rooms are not well isolated, heard our neighbors all the time. WLAN signal was very weak in the upper rooms. Breakfast was rather modest and very simple. However in Venice and compared to the price is acceptable. If you have heavy bags you will need help to get them to the rooms

    Very nice, friendly and helpful reception. Perfectly situated in the center of the city. I would recommend this hotel if you are on budget. It is not a honey moon material though. But we were happy and left with a smile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double-bed is actually twin-beds put together, which can prove a bit uncomfy for a couple. Room showing minor signs of decay, but nothing worrying. You can also here some of the noises from the street - we actually liked it, but if you're looking for perfect silence, than probably not the best choice.

    Staff are so nice and welcoming, helpful and ready for any question. Room is comfortable, with antique-like, stilish furniture. Nicely located in a "campo" (square), minutes away from main attractions, yet not so touristy, which translates into good dining options in the area and less crowds during high season. Breakfast is nice (rich by Italian standards, actually!). All in all, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel staff were very rude at times, booked for double bed and they just joined two single bed and 2 single bed mattress on top of that. Also, after asking the hotel staff to change the same got the reply that there is no double bed in the hotel and all rooms have the same setup, that was annoying sometimes beds get separated and you have to join in the middle of the night, totally frustrating. would not recommend anyone to go for the hotel especially for couples.

    only thing good was the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer in the bathroom. As it was a wall hairdryer it had less power and you have to hold the button down to keep it on

    The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, they totally made our stay. They went out their way to help my husband plan his route and times for getting to the marathon pick up point. They went out their way to ensure they provided him with upto date and accurate information for the water taxis & advised him of the quickest way to walk. They were very friendly towards my 5 year old daughter and new born daughter. Nothing was ever a problem and they were always so polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room over looking the Plaza, very noisy. Market stall set up early every morning, people talking through the night in the Plaza, one night someone was playing a drum! Breakfast very basic.

    The staff were very helpful, good location & the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, no refrigerator but if you not travel In summer and not having Heavy luggage not any problem

    Very helpful people, nice breakfast, great location!!!near to San Marco, close to Rialto, very close to palazzo ducale and boats to visit islands of murano -burano etc is by foot about 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good continental breakfast. Good central location. Not too far from Rialto stop. Room 24 has balcony overlooking campo. Typical Venetian property with marble stairs, so no lift but worth the climb. Staff very helpful and friendly and offered to carry cases.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have trouble with steps, be careful with this place. We were on the fourth floor, which is The fifth floor, American. 66 steps straight up! No elevators! If you are on the first floor, second for American, maybe you would be OK. But just know that before you book!

    Incredibly wonderful staff! They made us feel right at home from even before we walked in the hotel. The breakfast is wonderful, after it, a slice of pizza for lunch is enough! They held our luggage after check out while we shopped the rest of the day. We felt confident and trusting them with our luggage. Wonderful location, on a score with a beautiful church across the square. We had a balcony that overlooked it. Also vendors on the Square, and accordion player, two outdoor restaurants. I'm sure there are better vantage points in Venice, but not for the money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very firm (but that seems to be the normal in Europe!).

    The location was fantastic! Staff was extremely friendly. For Venice, the price was great when comparing it to other places. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    58 steps to our room. We said it was ok but just a warning to people with dicky knees hips etc to ask for a downstairs room. No lift at all in building. Someone took our bags up. Feel sorry and guilty about that. My bag weighed 28 kg. Still wouldn't have changed a thing tho. Great place.

    Position fabulous. Staff really friendly and happy. Room great with a small balcony and overlooking the piazza where every day life of Venice was taking place. Breakfast very good. 3 canal bridges within 30 metres. Violinist playing in piazza. Church bells. Wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel very busy and some guests a little noisy - breakfast was chaotic as not enough tables and some seats not very accessible for a buffet style breakfast

    Staff friendly and available, had good information about Venice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, good choice for breakfast and food was very good. Hotel is in a quiet location but close enough to walk to all the main sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was pretty bad at high times (evenings and mornings). One of our phones simply stopped connecting after the first night, no matter what we did. Seems like a lot of hotels in Venice have rough wifi. Since we used it each night to try a little planning for the next day's explorations, it made it a little more difficult. But, hey, just disconnect and do whatever and it won't be a problem at all!

    The AC was great, the shower was hot (if you wanted it), location was great and easy to find with a map, breakfast was great! Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bang for buck there is really nothing to dislike about this hotel. The WiFi could be a bit quicker, but that's it. And who watches TV in Venice? You open the window!

    This is how being welcome as a guest feels. We asked for a room with a view to the square and got one. Marvelous. The staff was super friendly, not just at the reception, even the cleaners when we were tardy with the checkout. Also, they are very helpful with advice as to how to go to places, which vaporetto to take etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster wifi and iron in room.

    Friendly and helpful staff; great breakfast; we had a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the square - perfect and quiet location, away from the crowd yet close to the main attraction.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are elderly or can't walk up steps remember this hotel has no lift. Porter will take your bags to the room though, they are very helpful staff. Also remember if you have lots of luggage you really will need to get here by Water taxi from Santa Lucia station and it will cost you €70. If you don't have much to carry you could take the public water buses for about €2.

    Venice was amazing, the highlight of our Italian holiday and although quite expensive I feel this is a once in a lifetime experience so is worth it! The location is great, in a piazza, walking distance to all the main attractions! Nice breakfast, lots to choose from. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no lift but old building and staff portered luggage without asking

    Helpfull and friendly staff and beautiful Venetian furnishings. Room looked out onto the main square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our quadruple room was small but then again all rooms in Venice are small.

    Perfect location for our young family! We had a view over the piazza which was filled with life and the kids loved it!! Staff were very friendly and helpful with providing information. Great breakfast room right on the piazza.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi signal was near non existent in room but good in lobby. double bed was 2 singles pushed together.

    staff were very friendly, hotel looks very nice inside, very traditional. Is reasonable price wise as venice is expensive. breakfast is good and restocked. able to hold bags after check out

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs are a bit steep but then we are still fit enough!

    Friendly staff, location near to all but a bit off the main track. Comfortable room, very clean and nicely appointed. Very leisurely breakfast with good selection. We had a little balcony from which to watch the sunrise and set over the lovely little square. We just felt very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very hospitality staff, beatifull suit, thank you a lot!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Scandinavia Venice traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: