Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Torre Dei Borboni 3 stars

Salita Della Madonna, 04027 Ponza, Italy

#8 of 9 hotels in Ponza

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 538 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Great views but lack drinking water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is NO potable/drinkable water at the hotel. The guests have no option but to pay for the bottled water in the room. Complimentary water was not provided in the room. I have travelled in Italy many times and have ever experienced lack of drinkable water in the hotel. Rooms are very small and basic for the high rate being charged.

    The panoramic view of the sea from our room and the general property was beautiful. The location was optimum very close to the restaurants, shops and the port. Excellent coffee served at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    The only good thing about this place is the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not Working, room very small for the amount of money I paid No shampoo was given with the room. Very Noisy in morning. The Bed and Pillows were uncomfortable.

    The only good thing about this place is the location and the view and the Air Conditioner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Torre Dei Borboni!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady on the front desk displays unwelcome attitude to people that don't speak Italian. Some people working in Ponza unfortunately might display very wrong attitude when facing idiomatic and cultural barriers.

    Alessio, Marco and Angelo are awesome people and work lined-up targeting customer satisfaction. They were really proactive and committed to help. Room was nice and clean, location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing view, the terrace is worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unlucky with the room, they assigned us a room that was particularly loud and it was hard to sleep through the noise

    Incredible view of the island. The structure has been renovated recently, which gives it an extra touch. Loved to come back once again to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay I am definitely going back. The staff, the views the location, what more do you want!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room in the Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn’t work and the mattresses and pillows a bit softer

    The staff were super friendly, the location and the atmosphere of the hotel was amazing and the best views of Ponza. There is no question it is my new hotel in Ponza!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    The best environment
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing we've never find so professional and friendly people. We really want to say thanks to all of them. Breakfast is huge amount of delicious food. The economy room with sea view is lovely. The terrace/solarium/swimming pool is astonish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved the hotel and pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked transportation for our luggage from the ferry to the hotel.

    Loved the hotel and pool area. Breakfast was great and Location wonderful with an amazing view. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Travelers beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving at the hotel we were met by a staff member who greeted us with (you don’t have a booking) so I then showed her the booking number. She then asked for our passports and went to stick them in a mail cubby. At that point I voiced I would not be leaving out passports there. She then began tapping her watch. Then when I would not budge she wrote down the information from the passports she needed. She asked us to follow her to the tower room we had reserved. Carrying our own luggage up into the old area of the hotel only to reach the room and have her instruct us that it was not ready. Then we are walked back down to the lobby then are given the choice of two rooms, both of which were just average, no where near the room we had booked. Later that afternoon after dinner we head back to the hotel. Where the new reception is a young man is on his phone, who even look up and also doesn’t great us. We then approach the desk to ask if there is laundry service or if there is a place to have laundry done in the town. Without even looking up he answered No. Thank god we only booked one night. Even though we are on the island for a week I would not spend another dime there.

    Breakfast was decent, and the room had extra towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    I traveled specifically to the Island of Ponza as this is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I traveled specifically to the Island of Ponza as this is where my grandafather is originally from. He recently passed away and knew I was planning a trip to Ponza, and it meant so much more to me to go. The hotel was located just a few steps away from the cemetery, which my great grandfather and other ancestors are burried. It was great to be able to check out where my grandfather grew up. Not many people spoke english, which made it difficult, however made the experience much more authentic (the hotel staff spoke english.) As my ferry was cancelled and I arrived later then planned, I didn't get to enjoy the hotel much, however it was a beautiful property and best location I could have asked for. If i return to Ponza, which I hope I do, I would love to stay at this property again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel with unrivalled views over the sea and Ponza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is located up a steep hill with patchy cobbles... not a problem for us, but would have required taxis had I eg. taken my parents too. Bonus was hotel had van to collect and drop off luggage and passengers for ferry.

    Gorgeous hotel with unrivalled views over the sea and Ponza town. Lovely breakfast and reasonably priced bar given the going rate for cocktails etc. on the island. Compact but beautiful room with great shower, lovely decor and amazing terrace surrounded by bougainvillea. Well located for Ponza town and harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    I will not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would not suggest for middle aged people, there is a long climb to reach the hotel and it is very tiring. There is no shuttle provided by the Hotel and taxi not easy to get.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Ponza residence close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overly noisy breakfast staff, many ants in our room, uncomfortable bed. The bar's open hours (16-21).

    The view, the pool and the location. Reception staff was very kind. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast staff unbelievably rude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in the Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff were appallingly rude, neglected to say good morning and were practically throwing plates around the dining room making the most horrendous noise whilst we were getting our food. When we asked for coffee or tea it was a fearful experience due to the filthy looks we got. Also, you can't boil eggs in no water, they didn't seem to think it was necessary to fill up the boiler with more water. I used the timer provided to boil my egg only to open it and it was still raw (that was on the day when the boiler was actually full) The whole place could be amazing and probably has been in the past, but it's all a bit shabby and run down with manky shower curtain and all the paint in the rooms is flaking off so the when you put your clothes on what looks like the suitcase shelf they become covered in white paint stuff. And although there were only two of us our suite was for four but there was only one chair in the whole two big rooms.... odd.

    Plenty of food to choose from at breakfast. Reception staff really lovely. Pool looked a bit temporary but it was actually nice. Amazing view from our window

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.4
    Could have been much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room 207 is small and very basic. The bed was 2 singles pushed together - not usually a problem but in this case the mattresses were at different levels. The fridge would not work as the plug didn't fit the socket. The bathroom door was so warped it dragged noisily on the floor and was impossible to shut. The wood at the bottom of the French doors was rotten. The shower had nowhere to put toiletries. The room had no shelf or dresser and suitcases had to remain on the floor.

    On the plus side the climb up was not as bad as previous reviews suggested. The views are spectacular and the hotel in general is good - but definitely overpriced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location for a stay in a friendly 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware taking a taxi from the ferry to the hotel - it's just a short walk (albeit uphill) so there's no need to pay 11 euros!

    The staff were very friendly - particularly the hotel manager Marcos who was extremely helpful. This hotel has the best location in Ponza town and is only a short walk from the water front but this is uphill. We were there in early May when the island (and the hotel) was half empty so good for relaxing and having the hotel terrace to ourselves! Tip: book a room with a sea view - there are no balconies

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    10/10 would go back again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathrooms were very small unfortunately which makes it a bit hard for tall/big people... breakfast was too focused on quantity over quality.

    amazing calm location with an incredible seaview from the pool and rooms and not far from the lively harbour and restaurants ! Very friendly staff, the manager speaks good French and English.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Perfect view pool service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Unbeliavble view from sea view room, breakfast, terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool

    Unbeliavble view from sea view room, breakfast, terrace

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Location, breakfast, staff, pool and terrace was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, breakfast, staff, pool and terrace was excelent. Good hotel for holidays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay on Ponza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were lovely, the location and great and the view was spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    I can recommend anybody, who want to spend amizing time in Ponza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the best view on the island from the hotel, 5 minutes from port and restaurant,excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky bed, doors banging loud Through night, tv worked when air con off

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    The view is breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is breathtaking!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    The View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The View. The friendly faces.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    The spectacular view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast is very continental style.

    The spectacular view of the sea.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Hotel Torre Dei Borboni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: