Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Suites Torre Dell'Orologio 4 stars

San Marco 202/A (Check-in at San Marco 848), San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#248 of 310 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, staff is very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet connection could be a bit faster ...

    Location is perfect, staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is also very good. We rented a junior suite, which was perfect for two adults and one kid at the age of 2. There was a separate living room and a bedroom, also there was a small kitchen box with a fridge and microwave. Overall, very good hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Bottom line: perfect! We will defineitely pick this hotel again! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't rate it excellent because our first impression was unfavorable: reaching the hotel was confusing and harassing (I asked for directions by mail but got none - just the exact address). Everyday something went wrong (no electricity, no hot water, bothering nextdoor noise, kettle but no cups, no robes & slippers) - but ALL was immediately attended to and rendered our Carnival stay just perfect! Please add hard boiled eggs to breakfast - the omelettes are aweful.

    We were upgraded from our booked junior suite with canal view to a full suite with canal view - a whole beautiful comfy flat! The suite, the hotel, the staff... it felt like home. The location is perfect: only a few steps to San marco, another few to best restaurants (Bistrot Venise, Le Chat Qui Rit, da Mano) and Teatro Goldoni and not far to other major sites.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Location was very good - walking 5 min to St Mark's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Airport shuttel was well organised-but charges were nearly 3 times more than normal taxi. Direct private taxi from Airport to Hotel location costs app Euro 110-whereas we paid Euro 270- as our travel was split part in a big car and part in private taxi - which was not needed.

    Location was very good - walking 5 min to St Mark's square and the Grand canal front. Many attractions were nearby. Staff members were very co-operative, friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location,comfortable mini apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two beds in the bedroom so if you are a couple you need to either squeeze in in a bed or use two separate

    The suit is a small apartment, very big considering it’s location. It’s conveniently located 50 meters from San Marco square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.0
    Check this property carefully before booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heat and it was cold. The concierge did turn the thermostat on for us and showed us the 'green' light, but there was no heat. When we were in the room we wrapped ourselves in blankets. It was very uncomfortable. Also, though we were very proud to be able to find our way directly to the hotel door BE AWARE that when we arrived a notice was posted on the locked door that check-in was at the Hotel Royal San Marco along with directions and a map! It would have been nice if that info was on their web site, booking.com, or sent to us in our confirmation. So we walked 1/2 a mile dragging our luggage back through San Marco square, over another block, turned right, climbed 12 stairs, crossed a canal, went down 12 stairs, and found our check-in point.

    The breakfast room was nicely furnished with a great assortment of warm and cold food, coffees, tea, etc. and good service. The Suites were spacious, but furnishings were very old and torn. Though promoted with kitchen and microwave facilities, no plates, glasses, silverware, bottle openers, dish towels, etc. we're provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Location is impossible to beat right next to St Marks Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is a little hard to find at first. We went to a back door to the suites first before finding we needed to head somewhere else. Not exactly easy to a tourist with bags in Venice. Room was clean though tired and dated. Some of the wood panels had peeled away and not been touched up. Bed was very low and a little hard.

    Location is impossible to beat right next to St Marks Square. Suite is massive with a lot of space to spread out and relax. Bathrooms look recently renovated and very nice. Breakfast was good of a morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    It was a great location and overall accommodations. I'd recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in a separate building from the main lobby. It was a bit of a winding path to get to but manageable.

    It was a great location and nice room. The balcony and view were nice. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    disappointed in booking.com/hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking.com stated property had 2 BEDROOM and sofabed in lounge (3 couples in booking), but only 1 bedroom. Very disappointed that there was blatant misleading information from hotel and booking.com, spoiled the short time we had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    A weekend in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The directions to reach the hotel should be more elaborate, we had to move around thin lanes and bridges with our luggage and a kid to find the reception. The friendliness of staff. Considering they had to manage 4 hotels instead of one it is understandable, but still the business of hotel means they should be courteous and friendly at all times, even under pressure.

    The locality is good, all major attractions nearby and boat bus service as well. It takes about 15-20 mins to get to LIDO beach. The rooms was comfortable and quiet, but although on their website it says they have a Canal view, it doesn't.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable but not Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room I booked was a Luxury Junior Suite, this was not a Luxury Junior Suite. We stayed in 2 other 4 star hotels one in the city the other in the country side and they were so much better than these rooms. They were big and spacious but very very dated. It is not luxury but very comfortable.

    Location was superb for all major attractions in Venice. A great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like walking thru a maze to find your room. Way over priced for what it was. I would never recommend to anyone.

    Property was hard to find. Room was nothing like the photos, way more bland and bare. Canal view was a joke!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Close to everything with room for a family/
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great. The suite had two bedrooms and two bath with a large family room area. These larger suites are in a separate building from the main hotel but the rooms are clean and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist whom we first met, there was no concierge at night when we arrived, we had to carry our bags all the way through 2 elevators and a long corridor ourselves although we paid 300 euros per night !!!! They booked us transportation through an agency for going back to airport with a very high cost 270 euros for 3 bags and an infant stroller

    The location The view in my suite over a canal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was pretty good, and especially if you don't have a lot of time in Rome, their location is everything. It is about 2 minutes walking from the San Marco Piazza, there is a lot of stores and restaurants nearby. Breakfast was pretty good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.0
    Clean and good location, not particularly accommodating to those with extra needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested late check out via booking.com, did not receive a response. Hotel unable to accommodate with late check out. I never ask for special treatment but I am heavily pregnant and our flight was late in the evening. It was a long day for me in a very warm Venice. I also requested if they could accommodate us with a room for an hour to allow us to freshen up after a day in the city waiting for our flight time. Disappointing that they weren't keen to accommodate given my circumstances. Also a sweet wrapper was thrown at the door outside our room and interestingly it remained for the length of our stay. I can't imagine how many staff members would have walked by and left it there! The previous hotel we stayed at was 5 star so it's probably bad luck that I noticed these little things here but I do feel there is a level of staff not really caring about customer service as hotel is fully booked regardless!

    Room was clean and bathroom was modern

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.4
    soso
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    heating system does not worked at night, so very uncomfortable. we informed about that to staff (an old man). He was rude and unfriendly. Except him, Other staffs were very kind.

    microwave is very useful for us! location is goooood!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect. Nice, large, junior suite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Venice visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to use two sets of elevators and climbing another set of stairs to get to our apartment.

    Beautiful solid wood panels and exquisite glasswork.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    excellent hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing that we disliked

    the location, the spacious suite, the helpful staff, the breakfast, the fair price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are not very friendly. The best of this hotel is the location. To sum up,comparatively low cost performance.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Spacious room,very quiet,,breakfast excellent,Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious room,very quiet,,breakfast excellent,Best location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Spectacular view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view the people were all wonderful

    We had an amazing stay, the view was better than expected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast is the .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is the ........

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    The Way you get în and get ouț from suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Way you get în and get ouț from suites.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    The suite was very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos that I saw when booking were not at all like the room we booked - that was a little disappointing

    The suite was very spacious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been slightly more comfortable. Would have preferred a double to 2 singles.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a kitchenette in the apartment but no cups, plates or cutlery so unable to make even a drink on arrival. Very disappointing as this facility was important to us when we booked. Everything else was superb!

    Ideal location. Very spacious apartment with the added bonus of a patio. Good selection of food at breakfast. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.2
    spacious room with beautiful view to the canal;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spacious room with beautiful view to the canal; very quiet. Breakfest room not convincing with ferocious supervisors; very good situated close to San Marco

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrved late in the evening and were sent to the apartment.Next day I reported that it was the wrong apartment since I had reserved a two bedroom one. The staff was unhelpful and just said that was the only place they had free.

    Location! The apartment was very nice and spotless.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    6.7
    Very good location at San Marco square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Head to Royal San Marco Hotel to check in. Bed big but like a rock with lounge looking tired and the suite in need of a coat of paint. Even with the location it's probably not worth the money we paid.

    Very good location at San Marco square. Close by water transport and most major tourist attractions. Good size suite and a good choice for breakfast. Staff helpful and room kept very clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    5.4
    the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the room was unbearably hot and they did not have air conditioning. we could not open the windows because the odour from the canal....it had a kitchen but no supplies, so it was of no use really....the breakfast was very disappointing...some staff were friendly but others acted as though we were an intrusion.....I would not recommend this hotel to others.

    the location was good.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    8.8
    Location - very central yet quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    fresh bright and smart kitchenette was completely empty other than two glasses and tea boiler the hotel is advertised as having a restaurant - in fact it only has a breakfast restaurant and not even room service the guy who took us from reception to suite took the shortest way but least convenient for small kids in stroller. same guy also said 'goodbye' about 6 times...

    Location - very central yet quiet Suite smartly designed and quality renovated

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    7.5
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We requested (was mentioned in booking) one full size bed but found two separate mattresses instead. It was very uncomfortable. Although rooms were nice and clean you can see how they were worn out. Also requested a silent room which wasn't. The most terrifying thing was breakfast. A total chaos full of mess and one waitress desperately trying to manage everything. Absence of hot food and water was constant. Tables were cleaned only after everybody were done with breakfast. The last but not least - the only thing slower than Wi-Fi is a turtle.

    The location was excellent. Rooms were clean, nice and cozy. Chanel view amazing.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the amount spent, would have expected a better experience. Breakfast room is too small to accommodate guests. Staff was informed that there is no table to eat at, she replied that breakfast is for thirty more minutes instead of offering another option. 30 more minutes would not fix the lack of a table to eat at.

    Great location!!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    9.6
    We loved the authentic style of the hotel and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was not in all rooms, but common areas.

    We loved the authentic style of the hotel and rooms. Generous sized deluxe room. Great breakfast and donuts were delish. Location was fantastic - next to Saint Marc's square and on a key lane to Rialto bridge.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Our room was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not bad but could have been better.

    Our room was lovely

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.3
    I Like the room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much noise

    I Like the room size

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    4.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    needed 15 steps up and down to get to elevator, very old and dirty interior, not clean enough, very rude and uncooperative staff

    location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Do not go to free glass factory tour, they will not send you back, you need to find a way to go back by yourself.

    Best location

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old furniture

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    The location in perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All kind of meat in the breakfast were pork, there should another kind

    The location in perfect

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    Wifi is free of charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi is free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    Bed sheets gave my son and i skin irritation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed sheets gave my son and i skin irritation. Possibly due to type of wash products.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: